List Mgmt. 2012 free agency and trade period - rumour, speculation and discussion

By the way, in my opinion, if we need to create a spot it should be Joel Corey's. It won't happen, but I think it should. Controversial I know. He's been a true champion over the years and an absolutely integral part of our success, but it just seemed to me this year that he struggled to have any impact. He was a shadow of his former self. It was very sad to watch, actually. I know he's going another year, but it really feels to me like it's one year too long. He should take a leaf out of the Ling, Scarlett, Ottens, Mooney, Milburn book, and realise when his time is up.

Hmmm ... apparently we're after HMac, Rivers & Caddy, plus we need at least 3 selections in the draft, plus we have two less 'A' rookie spots available.

I think the club really rates Stringer (despite his off-field mistake this year), and he is due to be either elevated or delisted, so I think he will be elevated. So that removes one of our 'A' rookies, and correct me if I'm wrong, but I think that can be achieved by using one of our three draft picks.

So now we have 5 vacancies still to create, plus we have to get rid of another 'A' rookie.

The other 'A' rookies are Burbury, Eardley, Sheringham, Simpkin and Walker. I suspect (hope) that Sheringham and Simpkin would be in the gun out of that lot. Maybe the club would consider something like delisting both to give them a chance to get picked up by someone else, and then picking one back up ourselves in the rookie draft if he misses out (probably Simpkin if they both miss out, given he just won the VFL B&F).

As far as I am aware, the rest can all remain as rookies for next year. There may be one or two we might have upgraded if we had the list space, but I don't think any of them are demanding it with their performances, and given how tight it seems to be then I would think we would leave them there for now if we could.

So, that leaves 5 main list vacancies. Wojo, Scarlett, Byrnes and Hogan are already gone, so despite all the panic I think it actually only leaves one spot to create.

If we get McIntosh then I suspect it could be Orren (assuming Dawson wants to stay, which I really hope he does). Other potentials are probably Gillies (hasn't developed as hoped) and Cowan (desperately unlucky to be badly injured in a VFL premiership year). The other possibility, of course, is that we trade one or more players to get either the McIntosh or Caddy deals done, which would remove the need to delist anyone.

There, done. No worries!
Very similar thought to mine,although i think we will only try for 2 out of Caddy, McIntosh and Rivers in order to also upfrade Walker.

Well if we do pick up Rivers, Walker, Macintosh, that will take up Wojo's spot, Scarletts, and Byrne's spots. This means we have to delist/trade 2 more spots for the draft (Hogan retired). I don't think promoting a rookie will be the best with such quality draft, and I think most we draft will be better then the rookies anyway. We have to get rid of Gillies. I think the only other person going is Simpson. If we get Macintosh, then Simpson Wont stay. That's two trades. So when we get those picks we might group them up and get a slightly higher pick.

Rivers -----------> Scarlett
McIntosh --------> Stephenson
Caddy -----------> Hogan
Pick 15 ----------> Byrnes
Pick 57 ----------> Wojak
Walker/Stringer---> Gillies

My best guess above. Might be that a player goes in the McIntosh trade allowing us to either use pick 36 or upgrade the second player out of Walker/Stringer. Next player out would have to be one of Simpson or Cowan I would have thought.

If we get Rivers, Caddy and mcintosh (i guess mc will give us better ruck depth if nothing else which i still feel is questionable.) plus menzel and varcoe returning and a full year from vardy...I will be putting 50 bucks on us for next years flag..

with all those players in i put a potential 22 (plus 4-5 very good emergencies)

It is a VERY good line up
Already did at $14...

My guess
If we get caddy, rivers, hmac we take 2 picks into draft with walker upgrade
Out wojo, scarlett, hogan, gillies, o, cowan

With rookies stringer, sheringham and simpkin are all offered with our second and third round for upgrade

We then rookie o and cowan
O is paid for 2years as he was on an afl list, and paid as rookie next year

This is why bourke was of no value, no available spots
If walker agrees to stay on rookie list club would make an agreement to list following year

Cant see it any other way

O won't accept rookie because of his financial situation, in any case only had a 1 year deal so they could delist. will be interesting to see if we keep all our rucks if we get hamish.Cowan delist and re-rookie is risky but may happen.

They won't leave Walker on the rookie list, if they do they will lose him, clubs want and need talls. He'll be the third draft pick. Reckon all the other rookies will be available for trades and some will attract interest. Stringer is a tricky one, he has too much ability to let go for a very cheap return, but due to his off field issues clubs may not be willing to trade for him. If they can get a good trade I think they will shop him, but if they can't they may want to try and find room to upgrade him-we will see.

Maybe the club expects that there's another retirement to come if they are being this active trade wise? Just a thought I had, could be wrong.

Well if we do pick up Rivers, Walker, Macintosh, that will take up Wojo's spot, Scarletts, and Byrne's spots. This means we have to delist/trade 2 more spots for the draft (Hogan retired). I don't think promoting a rookie will be the best with such quality draft, and I think most we draft will be better then the rookies anyway. We have to get rid of Gillies. I think the only other person going is Simpson. If we get Macintosh, then Simpson Wont stay. That's two trades. So when we get those picks we might group them up and get a slightly higher pick.

If we get both Caddy and Hmac and Rivers we will probably be using our compo, 2nd rounder and losing the byrnes late pick, so we will only have our first rounder as a major pick inside 50, hence why the club would be happy only taking two picks if we can get those guys. Although we may get a late pick or a pick upgrade for Gillies or one of the rookies, and that may be used in the HMac trade. I hope Simpson will stay but I am sus as to whether he has told the club he wants out as I',m not sure why they'd target Hamish otherwise.

There is no way O will accept a rookie position.
Zero chance.
That was my thinking as well. He was offered the chance in the past to be rookied by other clubs but it isn't viable with his family situation for him to be on rookie wage

I have a feeling that the club has a higher opinion of Cowan that what most of the supporters do. I know his name has come up a few times during the year as a player they would have liked to have been available. I know the player reviews were all overly positive (I have now pegged Hamling as the second coming of Buddy Franklin ;) ), but I have a suspicion that they are expecting a break out season for him next year. Not sure exactly how he finds a spot though, a fair few have put their hands up this year. And I know we can't keep everyone...
This is what we want at GFC...multiple players chasing multiple spots. It is the art of List management. Having just too many players for the roles available, but not so many that players leave because of lack of opportunity. You can't have enough MFs in my opinion and I expect Stringer to figure strongly next season (he played 8 straight prior to his club suspension) along with GHS playing at least 10-12 games before establishing himself in the Top 22 (or not!).
Eardly will be a Top 22 in 2014 for sure with a handful of games next year. Walker will play a LOT next year. Mitch Brown will either establish himself in the AFL or get traded next year imo.
We are in very, very good shape!
Plus we virtually get 3 A list recruits in Menzel, Vardy and TV in 2013. The pressure from below will be intense!

This is what we want at GFC...multiple players chasing multiple spots. It is the art of List management. Having just too many players for the roles available, but not so many that players leave because of lack of opportunity. You can't have enough MFs in my opinion and I expect Stringer to figure strongly next season (he played 8 straight prior to his club suspension) along with GHS playing at least 10-12 games before establishing himself in the Top 22 (or not!).
Eardly will be a Top 22 in 2014 for sure with a handful of games next year. Walker will play a LOT next year. Mitch Brown will either establish himself in the AFL or get traded next year imo.
We are in very, very good shape!
Plus we virtually get 3 A list recruits in Menzel, Vardy and TV in 2013. The pressure from below will be intense!
Yeah, great post. I agree wholeheartedly re midfielders, you need a good balance across the ground, but good midfields win premierships. We seem to have some good potential mids running around in the VFL, the key to our continued success is those boys pushing their way into the 22 and forcing the MC to choose them above our aging stars. Lets hope that some of them can prove to be our next generation of A listers.

I share your enthusiasm for Eardley, he is one determined kid. Would love to see him get a few games.

I'm suprised so many people would prefer Dawson Simpson over Stephenson. Stephenson can also play as a key forward and a defender. He's a great mark and a good kick. I believe Simpson has asked to be traded and has been lucky to last so long at the club as he was going to be delisted in 2009 until Mumford walked out.

Gillies will go. He asked to be traded to Hawthorn last year and was pretty average in this year's VFL finals series.

Walker will be upgraded to the senior list, he can play as a forward, defender, and ruck, plus his family history at the club would help. Played a good game against Essendon at Etihad.

Cowan will probably stay, was a stand out in the NAB cup before his injury.

Stringer was interviewed in today's Geelong Addy, said he hasn't been told if he'll stay or not, and the Addy reported the other day that the club is waiting to finalise our trade/free agent before working out if there is enough money to keep Simpkins.

Also players ages won't be a factor, Neil Balme has stated in the past that the clubs policy is that they go after players who they think can play at least 100 AFL games. In Stephensons case he is a ruckman and they usally mature later in their career and can play into their mid 30's.

I'm not sure how to start a new thread yet (or even if I can) but just now on twitter - @CatsInsider: The Cats are pleased to announce ex Lions, Pies player and Suns assistant Shane O'Bree has joined our coaching panel.

Should be a good addition. And hopefully he gets along well with Caddy and can help get him over the line ;)

strange post because Stephenson played a few senior matches and did neither of those things you mentioned.
He did it at VFL level but did squat at senior level.

He was going to be delisted after one year at the club in 09?
Are you able to provide some proof to this statement by any chance?

You are aware he had a significant setback this season which is why he was looked at as being a complete failure to many supporters in 2012.

So thankful the club have greater judgement than supporters.......29yr old or a 23yr old, who you gonna choose?
Yeh' take the 30yr old so he gives you 3 good years and then is finished leaving you right back to square one again ;)
(same supporters who wanted Hawkins out and Mitch Brown traded)

Neil Balme stated on SEN (He's a regular on Friday mornings with Kevin Bartlett) that Simpson was going to be delisted until Mumford left. We had Ottens, Blake, Mumford, and West all in front of him, and Mumford was told by Balme that he would play ahead of Blake in 2010 along side Ottens and be groomed for the lead ruck position if he stayed. But Geelong couldn't match Sydney's money. Unfortunately being radio I don't have written proof.

But footscore, I think you have a short memory. Stephenson was superb against West Coast's combo of Cox and NicNat, and with a broken hand! Also played well against Collingwood. Simpson's been at Geelong for 5 years and made little inroads on moving up the order in the ruck. So to use a setback from 2012 as a reason to keep him, what was his reason's for every other season? He's one attribute is his leap, but your kidding if you think Simpson is as good or better a complete ruckman then Stephenson. Is their a rule a 29 year old can't play more games then a 23 year old...? I think a player like Dustin Fletcher, whose now 37 has played more games in the last 9 seasons then a lot of 23 year olds will play in their careers. Stephenson wouldn't be on the Geelong list if the club didn't believe he had 5 years (100 games) in him.

Also I've never wanted Hawkins or Brown traded. A tall key forward is always a long term prospect. But I am glad your not recruiting at Geelong because we wouldn't have J-Pod!

Simpson has the potential to be an elite tap ruckman because of his size. He needs to be given another few years. Hopefully 7+ games next year and then maybe a breakout season in 2014.

Stephenson will at best be a b grade ruck, he is 200cm so slightly smaller that most of the A grade rucks and doesn't have great mobility or skills. He will never be able to match it with the best ruckmen in the game.

To win a premiership you need better than just good honest plodders.

Interesting that HMac mentions at the start that he grow up as a massive cats fan, if he does end up at Geelong gotta help that he grow up with such passion for the club.

nahh I don't have a short memory mate you wanna know why?
I actually copped flack from Cat supporters (who turned out to know better) because I said Orren and West will hold their own against Freo RD1 and also against the Eagle duo's but Orren unfortunately let me down.

I since seen him play ripping games in the VFL but his only solid performance at senior level was against Collingwood.

Not getting personal but I think supercoach features Dawson Simpson's only two matches this season as having won the hitouts to advantage and this same stat is also a prominent feature in Simpson's VFL games where his hitouts gave midfielders first use.
Orren has been a terrific player but he's obviously not an AFL made player as some footballers just struggle to dominate against quality opponents.
No rule in keeping a 29yr old ruck as opposed to a 23yr old ruck but Geelong is focusing on pushing for a flag in 2015....the club states this and I cannot see Orren (32ish) being much of a force that year whereas Simpson could be well into his prime and holding down the no.1 ruck position.
Orren starred against the dorks mate

It's what everyone already knew but I thought I'd still share this:

“@BradMilzy: “@BradGreen18: @BradMilzy Good to catch up today mate..”

Great to see you old mate!! Dinner next week? #rivsshout #onplentyatthecats”

I think you have gotten a great pick up with Rivers IMO.

Neil Balme stated on SEN (He's a regular on Friday mornings with Kevin Bartlett) that Simpson was going to be delisted until Mumford left. We had Ottens, Blake, Mumford, and West all in front of him, and Mumford was told by Balme that he would play ahead of Blake in 2010 along side Ottens and be groomed for the lead ruck position if he stayed. But Geelong couldn't match Sydney's money. Unfortunately being radio I don't have written proof.

But footscore, I think you have a short memory. Stephenson was superb against West Coast's combo of Cox and NicNat, and with a broken hand! Also played well against Collingwood. Simpson's been at Geelong for 5 years and made little inroads on moving up the order in the ruck. So to use a setback from 2012 as a reason to keep him, what was his reason's for every other season? He's one attribute is his leap, but your kidding if you think Simpson is as good or better a complete ruckman then Stephenson. Is their a rule a 29 year old can't play more games then a 23 year old...? I think a player like Dustin Fletcher, whose now 37 has played more games in the last 9 seasons then a lot of 23 year olds will play in their careers. Stephenson wouldn't be on the Geelong list if the club didn't believe he had 5 years (100 games) in him.

Also I've never wanted Hawkins or Brown traded. A tall key forward is always a long term prospect. But I am glad your not recruiting at Geelong because we wouldn't have J-Pod!
Matt I also heard the Balme speaking in Sen this morning and he said no such thing don't know why you would make that up. obviously to support your argument but don't make up shit in order to do so!!:rolleyes:

I didnt hear SEN but ill say that NEil said that Tomahawk winning the B&F was exciting for him and he celebrated by dropping into the HOTDOG hut and Donut KING on the way home.