Mega Thread 2012 List Management: Part II

would love to target 13 surely one of Whitfield, Toumpas, Wines, O'Rourke, Mayes, Menzel, Macrae, Stringer would be available as all mids and if Hille retires, Grundy can be included as another id really like. Even Vlastuin, Kennedy, Garlett would be worst case.

Yay! Pick 13, we're saved! All it costs is a KPP that we havent replaced yet.

I am being a little bit dramatic, but I am half serious.

Pears and Hooker are key defenders that we need. Our defence has been bagged and trading one out and a second round pick is great, but what are we going to do when we're struggling for depth next year? Unless you have a clear plan for what pick 13 would get us and how we can manage our list in the short term, I think that we're all just a little seduced by a number.

Melksham was pick 10 and we all know how much this board has loved him this year, so we're all happy with;
Pears and 32 for Melksham
Hooker and 32 for Melksham
Gumbleton and 32 for Melksham

I rate Melsham, for the record, but it's nice to put things in perspective and admit how fickle we are.

Pears and Hooker are key defenders that we need. Our defence has been bagged and trading one out and a second round pick is great, but what are we going to do when we're struggling for depth next year? Unless you have a clear plan for what pick 13 would get us and how we can manage our list in the short term, I think that we're all just a little seduced by a number.

Melksham was pick 10 and we all know how much this board has loved him this year, so we're all happy with;

I rate Melsham, for the record, but it's nice to put things in perspective and admit how fickle we are.
Yeah theres a risk, hell whitfield could be a bust. But if GWS said yup we'll take one of these three deals, would u really say no? It would be the best deal we have been offered yet. Anyways, these deals wont be enough, GWS have complete bargaining power, they can pick and choose the deals that have best value. You can bet ur life Collingwood will be offering Dawes. And theyll be shattered they lost Wellingham.

Not a bad idea Jack Package

Yoda_ im not sure what your fascination is with Ross. Hes lucky he wont be delisted.

He uses the ball well, he is actually a very good contested mark for his size, he takes the game on, he is a good decision maker coming out of defense.

All these things we lack in the senior team coming out of defense. I would hold onto Ross for another year and see if his body holds up, that seems to be the one problem in his AFL career to date, continuity.

Has David Hille retired? Would like to see him with us for a year think he could be quite handy.

I'd really like to see the pick used to select a KPP.

He was shitting his guts out and couldn't do the camp. Had some sort of weird illness, lost heaps of weight.

For the purpose of the rookie list you still would have though that he was someone looking into? I mean it's all well and good getting mature aged players such as lee but there ceiling of improvement have already been reached, physically speaking?

I know its all good in hindsight but we are crying out for midfielders who can kick, here's a young kid with upside, why not have a look.

For the purpose of the rookie list you still would have though that he was someone looking into? I mean it's all well and good getting mature aged players such as lee but there ceiling of improvement have already been reached, physically speaking?

I know its all good in hindsight but we are crying out for midfielders who can kick, here's a young kid with upside, why not have a look.
I'm not saying it was right, I'm explaining why he dropped.
Looking like a bad call now (although Long was a worse call than Lee)

Sick of the obsession with draft picks. The draft is a lottery, that’s all. You’re taking a punt on a 17yo kid who may or may not work out, no matter what number he’s drafted at. Draft picks have been ridiculously overrated in recent years and are thankfully coming back a bit in terms of currency (Sydney’s success probably has a bit to do with it).

The odds are better in the early rounds, but there’s still plenty who don’t work out. I actually agree with Roos on it – drafting is such an inexact, bullshit “science”. How the hell do we really know if this kid is gonna work out? Roos reckons he himself wouldn’t have been “drafted” at age 17, and he played 350 games.

I don’t know why on earth we’d trade out an established KPP that has shown he can perform at AFL level, just to move up places in the draft... unless that pick was being used to trade for some other player. Crazy stuff.

You need kids coming through so you should use the 4 or 5 picks or whatever you get each year (which we have and will), but trading out established players for “better picks” is just idiotic, unless the bloke you’re trading has no future at your club and is leaving anyway, in which case you get what you can.

I think all that’s happened is GWS themselves realise this. GC do not, they’re taking the Melbourne route (which Melbourne aren’t even really doing any more). Good luck with that.

As long as they’re not ridiculously old, I’ll take the solid, mature, senior footballers who have actually shown they can play AFL footy.

To be fair, the club's only traded either when the guy himself wants out, or when they don't see a spot for them in future.
None of our talls are in the former category, and I don't see them in the latter, either.
We haven't gone in for horse-trading.

To be fair, the club's only traded either when the guy himself wants out, or when they don't see a spot for them in future.
None of our talls are in the former category, and I don't see them in the latter, either.
We haven't gone in for horse-trading.

Yeah I know, just venting really. Keep hearing from mates how we should trade Hooker / Gumby / Pears and get better draft picks. Stupid, stupid stuff imo.

The only way I’d trade is if one of them wants out or the coaches decide he has no future with us... Gumby is perhaps the only one who this might be (may want to leave).

I just think draft picks have become stupidly overvalued, but they seem to be coming back a bit, which I think is good. People actually think a good draft pick is fair compensation for an established, capable AFL player. I’ve used the example of Wellingham – he’s shown he can play good AFL footy, it’s a good deal for WCE. He’s a sure thing, you know what you’re getting – a far better bet than the gamble Collingwood will get with pick 17.

The whole AFL culture just has this fascination with youth – a kid who’s never played a game is more desirable than a bloke who’s played 100 reasonable, solid games... just because he’s 5 years younger. Never mind the fact he may be a complete dud. The AFL is the only game where it’s more important to crap on about how good we could be in 5 years, rather than worrying about next year. I know you need a balance but it’s just skewed far too much. I think it’s just the future hope crap that clubs sell to their supporters.

Yeah I know, just venting really. Keep hearing from mates how we should trade Hooker / Gumby / Pears and get better draft picks. Stupid, stupid stuff imo.

The only way I’d trade is if one of them wants out or the coaches decide he has no future with us... Gumby is perhaps the only one who this might be (may want to leave).
There are a number of reasons why guys might not be seen to have a future at the club - body might not be right, head might not be right, others might be pushing through, might not suit the game-plan or be prepared to change their role.

So... GWS are happy to trade their early picks
GWS want a tall, quality defender; probably don't want Pears or Hooker with their injury/form struggles
Fletcher for pick 2?
nah, it would kill me to see Fletch win a Premiership with them in 5 years time

I'm not saying it was right, I'm explaining why he dropped.
Looking like a bad call now (although Long was a worse call than Lee)

It's all good mate, Nelson might prove to be a rubbish player and we're not the only club to pass on him.

But my argument (discussion not arguing) is the rookie list is meant for players like these.

I wont be happy if we take him with our 2nd round pick in this draft. I put money on it happening.

Just in relation to Shane Nelson i know a fair bit about him, has always been a standout junior winning district awards with him since he was 15 ect i think hes 2 years younger.

Im still unaware why he didnt get drafted last year like most people that talk footy in WA. Last year he had an illness but still managed to win the kicking test, come 3rd in the sprint test with 2.87, featured top 10 in the agility with 8.13 which i think would have been 2nd or 3rd this year at the combine. All this with illness to me thats even more impressive. I dont think he did the repeated sprints, beep test or the 3km time trial the more endurance type activities due to being sick.

Hes gone through a tough year. After the draft camp where he couldnt perform at his best due to illness, he lost a mate in an accident that week or the week after, he than lost his dad to some strange circumstances through the afl season and still played the following week at WAFL level and was a star that day playing close to his best game of the season 31 posses and a goal from memory. Hes than put all that behind him and avg 25 disposals playing 12-13 league games of WAFL football where he picked up 23-25 sandover votes in his first year from limited games. Than he comes to the state combine and improves his results 2.82 in the 20m sprint (0.05 quicker), 7.85 agility (0.28 quicker) and 24.31 for repeated sprints. Im surprised he didnt get a mention of his beep test either as i would expect that to be pretty solid. From memory when playing colts in 2010 he ran a 14.9 beep test as a colt, so he has the endurance.

Personality issues? i dont see it. Hes probably shy but thats about it and i dont see whats wrong with that.

I hope he gets drafted he has done everything possible in the past 2-3 years statistically and results combined is probably better than any other draftee ever and he has done it, in much harder circumstances.

The reasons why he probably didnt get drafted is a combination mix IMO? plays for west perth they struggle to get players drafted and have players go under the scouts nose, his impact on games is questionable you look back at stats and he has 28 and 2 goals but when watching the game you certainly dont notice or see him that much, this also lends into his kicking even though he could walk up to the buckley test and hit this target, that target his penetration and damage with the footy is questionable, his size hes small and pretty light for a midfielder but he can play inside and out, maybe his interviewing was bad (understandable with losing a mate and feeling like shit through illness).

So... GWS are happy to trade their early picks
GWS want a tall, quality defender; probably don't want Pears or Hooker with their injury/form struggles
Fletcher for pick 2?

It's all a smokescreen to make up for them hoarding draft picks through the mini draft, which was supposed to get them these senior players. They may trade 1 of them...maybe.

I was joking about the pears for 13 trade btw, I'm only serious if it goes through.