2012 Membership Tally

Poor effort by Carlton supporters so far. On 20 thousand members and they have one of the most supporters.

You'd think 3 years of finals would get them to 60k minimum.

Tight arses:D

Will get 50k though

Anyone purchasing memberships for a club that they don't usually support this year? I live around the corner from Arden St so might grab a North package to help them out. They're one of the few Melbourne clubs still in their original suburb, and I reckon having a local footy club is great for the community.

Not really.

Carlton is still at Princes Park.
Richmond at Punt Road.
North at Arden St.
Bulldogs at Whitten Oval.
Geelong at Kardinia park.

Only have Collingwood, Hawthorn & St Kilda have moved, with Essendon moving.

Admittedly, some of those clubs have other training facilities (e.g. Richmond has Cragieburn), but the main base remains the traditional home.

Not really.

Carlton is still at Princes Park.
Richmond at Punt Road.

North at Arden St.
Bulldogs at Whitten Oval.
Geelong at Kardinia park.

Only have Collingwood, Hawthorn & St Kilda have moved, with Essendon moving.

Admittedly, some of those clubs have other training facilities (e.g. Richmond has Cragieburn), but the main base remains the traditional home.

Princes Park isn't in Carlton, it's in Princes Hill/Parkville. And I'm aware it's splitting hairs, but Punt Rd Oval is on the East Melbourne side of Punt Rd.

Semantics aside, I guess I'm referring to clubs that still have that connection to their immediate, local community. Geelong are probably the strongest of the Victorian clubs in this regard, but the Bulldogs and Roos are probably the only others that have a significant local association.

I mean, why else would you go for North, apart from because you live there? :p

Princes Park isn't in Carlton, it's in Princes Hill/Parkville. And I'm aware it's splitting hairs, but Punt Rd Oval is on the East Melbourne side of Punt Rd.

True, they're not in the actual suburbs, but they're on the borders, and are the traditional homes of these clubs.

I'm not sure any teams really have 'strong ties to the local community' any more (at least, not compared to 50+ years back), although I'll agree that Geelong and WB are better than most (not so sure North are at that kind of level though).

Semantics aside, I guess I'm referring to clubs that still have that connection to their immediate, local community. Geelong are probably the strongest of the Victorian clubs in this regard, but the Bulldogs and Roos are probably the only others that have a significant local association.

I'm not sure you would get a much stronger connection than Carlton's connection to Lygon Street. The physical location of the ground a couple of kilometres up the road and a couple of blocks over doesn't really have a bearing. If anything I would say Carlton's stereotypical image is mired in Lygon Street and its local area.

Princes Park is in Carlton North & shares the same postcode as Princes Hill (3054).

Parkville's border ends at Macarthur Rd & Royal Pde.

Carlton's m/ship tally as at 3/1/12 - 21720

I'm not sure you would get a much stronger connection than Carlton's connection to Lygon Street. The physical location of the ground a couple of kilometres up the road and a couple of blocks over doesn't really have a bearing. If anything I would say Carlton's stereotypical image is mired in Lygon Street and its local area.

It would be interesting to see real solid evidence based data on where fans come from, what they do etc.

The old notions of Carlton/Essendon being Anglo establishment while Collingwood/Richmond were Irish outsiders still exists in what I'll call the "genetic make up" of the idea of what a fan of the clubs is but I wonder how true if at all it now is.

Are Carlton fans richer than Richmond fans?
Are Collingwood fans more city based than the suburban same olds?

It has been stated many times in this thread and in years gone by versions of this thread that Carlton are always slow starters in Membership renewal. It may seem like a poor number currently but I'm pretty sure the club is up on last years total at the same time, and will probably push 50K members.

Look for the number to spike up in February and March.

It has been stated many times in this thread and in years gone by versions of this thread that Carlton are always slow starters in Membership renewal. It may seem like a poor number currently but I'm pretty sure the club is up on last years total at the same time, and will probably push 50K members.

Just under 2k up on last year & you are spot on about the figures spiking in February & March. The numbers generally jump by about 15k during those 2 months.

unfortunately thats just aint guna happen.andy d wants records!

The powers that be have their eye on 1,000,000 memberships and there will be goldfish memberships if there needs to be.

Its about perception, politics, image. Membership revenue per club is easily enough found out. Its as low as 170 dollars per member at some clubs and other clubs will follow but its all about headline numbers and that average will go down across the board.

Overall its not a bad thing if it creates profile but arguments about the numbers of memberships sold are meaningless when many of them cost less than a pair of decent jeans.

Membership figures that include 3/5/zero game memberships are pretty meaningless given how little many of them cost.

Season ticket memberships would be far more interesting to see.

Not everyone can make it to every game. Someone who buys a 3 game might be just as passionate as the person with a top-tier membership, but have more commitments outside of going to the footy. They still deserve to be counted as a member.

I've noticed this as well over the past few years. Is there any actual reason as to why it takes place? Are the Carlton membership department doing anything about it (considering its been happening for a few years now)?

It seems similar to the low turnout for Collingwood matches in the first month of the home and away season. League wide the numbers look healthy, but by Collingwood standards we generally start the year off slowly attendance wise. For instance in round 2 2009 only 43,169 went to watch Collingwood v Melbourne on a Saturday arvo at the G and from memory it was a perfect day for footy. The next week Collingwood v Geelong only drew 58,521 which is basically unheard of for those two teams since 07. In 2011 it was 35,773 against Port in round 1 followed up by 40,578 against North the next week.

All 4 are healthy against the league average, much the same as Carlton's current membership figure, but it just seems like an anomaly compared to the figures that would be expected of those clubs.

Not everyone can make it to every game. Someone who buys a 3 game might be just as passionate as the person with a top-tier membership, but have more commitments outside of going to the footy. They still deserve to be counted as a member.

Membership isn't a count of passionate supporters. Otherwise we'd just count anyone that buys a ticket. Why does a 3 game ticket holder count, but not a person that buys single tickets to 3 games?

It has seemed to drag into the first month of Footy too. If I recall correctly, Carlton was well behind Richmond until round 3-4 last year

Membership figures that include 3/5/zero game memberships are pretty meaningless given how little many of them cost.

Season ticket memberships would be far more interesting to see.

It would be interesting to compare total money earned from all types of memberships for each club. That would give a true reflection of member support.