2012 Predictions

Just to be different I'm going to do something crazy and suggest Hawthorn may do exactly what they have done every season since 2008 and fall short of their massive expectations.

Seem to have heard the exact same reasoning from October --> April every year since then.

Edit: May or may not believe this, would just like some different convincing as to why, and what's different now. Rather than the same stock standard yearly assumptions put forward.

Wait, does this mean you beleive the ladder will finish

1. Essendon
2. Carlton
3. Collingwood
4. Geelong
5. West Coast
6. Hawthorn
7. Brisbane
8. Adelaide
--------------
9. Richmond
10. Port Adelaide
11. North Melbourne
12. Melbourne
13. Sydney
14. Fremantle
15. Greater Western Sydney
16. Western Bulldogs
17. Gold Coast
18. St Kilda

It's where they finish most of their history.
Stop trolling kid.
No i didn't say that. I said just because I put the dockers a little lower than what most of their fans think it doesn't mean I'm trolling. It's about where they finished last year too.
To be honest, its more reasonable to put them there then thinking there going to shoot up to the top 4 within a season. I think the dockers might be rating their list a bit too highly if they think its a troll comment.

1. Hawthorn
2. Collingwood
3. Carlton
4. Geelong
5. Carlton
6. Fremantle
7. West Coast
8. Richmond
9. Sydney
10. North Melbourne
11. Essendon
12. Adelaide
13. St Kilda
14. Western Bulldogs
15. Brisbane Lions
16. Gold Coast
17. Port Adelaide
18 Greater Western Sydney - 0 wins

1. Hawthorn
2. Collingwood
3. Carlton
4. Geelong
5. Carlton
6. Fremantle
7. West Coast
8. Richmond
9. Sydney
10. North Melbourne
11. Essendon
12. Adelaide
13. St Kilda
14. Western Bulldogs
15. Brisbane Lions
16. Gold Coast
17. Port Adelaide
18 Greater Western Sydney - 0 wins
Where's Melbourne

LOL every year Richmond supporters stumble into this thread & plop themselves at 7th or 8th.......Jeez when will you blokes learn ? when will you finally realise that it just doesent happen with your club anymore ?

The 8 is going to be extremely tight this year it will be very hard to predict but i can GUARANTEE Richmond will not be there.

LOL every year Richmond supporters stumble into this thread & plop themselves at 7th or 8th.......Jeez when will you blokes learn ? when will you finally realise that it just doesent happen with your club anymore ?

The 8 is going to be extremely tight this year it will be very hard to predict but i can GUARANTEE Richmond will not be there.

and you guys dont? please.

Richmond have more chance of making the 8 than Gumbleton making it OneDay.....

1). Hawthorn
2). Collingwood
3). West Coast
4). Carlton
5). Geelong
6). Fremantle
7). Sydney
8). Richmond
9). North Melbourne
10). Essendon
11). Adelaide
12). St. Kilda
13). Melbourne
14). Bulldogs
15). Gold Coast
16). Port Adelaide
17). Brisbane
18). GWS
Reasonable, except the saints will make the top 4 and Fremantle won't make the top 8.

1. Hawthorn
2. Geelong
3. Collingwood
4. Carlton
5. West Coast
6. Fremantle
7. North Melbourne
8. Essendon

9. Sydney
10. Richmond
11. St. Kilda
12. Melbourne
13. Adelaide
14. Bulldogs
15. Brisbane
16. Gold Coast
17. Port Adelaide
18. GWS

7th-12th will be very close.

Reasonable, except the saints will make the top 4 and West Coast won't make the top 8.
Haha very funny but we've already proved ourselves as premiership contenders. Very unlikely that the dockers will make the top 8, just as they proved this year when they had another dissapointing season.

Thanks for proving yet again that most West Coast fans are fairweather supporters with no real idea about football at all. Where West Coast placed this year has absolutely no bearing on next year (surely you would know this considering you won the spoon in 2010?) and it's unlikely everything will fall into place for you again as it did this year. FWIW I have West Coast in the 8 but they will be sliders for mine.

Saints a sure bet for top 4? What with a completely new coach and game plan and an ageing core of stars led by a captain who is past his best and a 30 yr old midfielder who just had a knee reconstruction, obviously top 4 is a cert :rolleyes:
So Considering your first theory, teams like Greater Western Sydney and Fremantle have just as much chance at finishing on top as Hawthorn does?

Everything falling into place? Is that your excuse for us finishing higher then you last year. We had our injuries too mate, open both eyes.

They had the worst possible season and still earnt a home final, a slight improvement will nearly see them there. Sure there ageing and in 3 years time they won't be as great but next year they'll give it another good crack and wouldn't be suprised if they won it

given the unpredictability of footy and tipping the top teams,along with injuries,bad weather,bad luck,random accidents,life itself,shark attacks,not to mention the much feared footy gods,and coaches brain implosions - i reckon these teams will be in the top 8-in no particular order:-

geelong,nth.melb,carlton,freo,essendon,westcoast,collingwood,hawthorn...

carlton will be pushing for top 4..i feel 2 teams may be displaced from the 4,or at least slide on last year..one may be westcoast-not to say they cant finish better than last year when it counts..freo the dark horse..westcoast the wildcard(again)..maybe the pies will slide a bit also-nathan maybe buckley,but he aint malthouse,yet.

Look at Fremantle's injuries this past year, add a defensive gameplan that will make them near on unbeatable in Perth, and they're top 6 easily, possibly top 4.

West Coast on the other hand had a dream run with injuries last year, and they were only a follower anyway, following Collingwood's gameplan. Geelong figured it out, so now everying is copying that, and your (well, Collingwood's) gameplan is going to push you back, at least Collingwood have enough talent to prevent too big of a fall.

Top 8 is possible, but you're going to finish 2012 lower than Fremantle unless Worsfold creates a revolutionary gameplan, or you maintain an impeccable injury list WHILE Freo struggle to field 22 in more weeks than not.

Both WA clubs are likely to finish in the top 8 IMO. I think we'll finish above Freo, but I'd have both of us in the 5-8 range. From looking at the squads of both teams I think our side looks slightly more balanced, especially up forward. Freo stronger in the centre if they can get everyone on the park.

Will be interesting to see how Ross Lyon changes things. He should play Pavlich as a full time forward, relieve some of the pressure on Mayne who can then play his best role as a third tall, locking the ball into the forward 50. Sandilands, Mundy, Barlow, Hill, Morabito, Lower, de Boer, Fyfe, and possibly Suban and Ballantyne at times should be a strong enough midfield without Pav playing through there.

The player I would like to see more of is Josh Mellington, watched him a few times for West Perth and he looks good, smart forward who is very dangerous close to goal. Zac Clarke is another who is an great prospect. They have a lot of x-factor, game breaking type players on the list, but I thought in 2011 they struggled with the more basic aspects- structures, blocking and communication with each other. Ross Lyon in that sense should be a great coach for the side. It might take him a year or so to fully work out the best way to play, but from 2013 onwards the Dockers will have a really dangerous team.

Worsfold doesn't need to come up with a revolutionary gameplan. We used a tall, mobile forward line this year, which is where a lot of our success came from. Having talls like Darling, Kennedy and Naitanui who are also excellent at the defensive aspects is something that very few other clubs have. Our midfield depth is nowhere near as strong as the other top 5 clubs this year, but having the best ruck combo in the league helped us in the middle. Contested marking power will be a key for us again next year, and playing on the narrow ground at Subi 12 times will help. If Kerr plays a full season, and Shuey, Gaff and Naitanui continue their improvement we'll be better through the centre next yearm I think we'll drop mostly due to the harder draw and a few more injuries.

Worsfold thinks we have two sort of 'premiership windows'- the first before Kerr, Cox and Glass retire, and the second a few years after when the younger players start to hit their peak. I think that's a fair assessment, we should be pushing very hard to win the flag in the next few seasons, not totally convinced we have the class yet.

Both WA clubs are likely to finish in the top 8 IMO. I think we'll finish above Freo, but I'd have both of us in the 5-8 range. From looking at the squads of both teams I think our side looks slightly more balanced, especially up forward. Freo stronger in the centre if they can get everyone on the park.

Will be interesting to see how Ross Lyon changes things. He should play Pavlich as a full time forward, relieve some of the pressure on Mayne who can then play his best role as a third tall, locking the ball into the forward 50. Sandilands, Mundy, Barlow, Hill, Morabito, Lower, de Boer, Fyfe, and possibly Suban and Ballantyne at times should be a strong enough midfield without Pav playing through there.

The player I would like to see more of is Josh Mellington, watched him a few times for West Perth and he looks good, smart forward who is very dangerous close to goal. Zac Clarke is another who is an great prospect. They have a lot of x-factor, game breaking type players on the list, but I thought in 2011 they struggled with the more basic aspects- structures, blocking and communication with each other. Ross Lyon in that sense should be a great coach for the side. It might take him a year or so to fully work out the best way to play, but from 2013 onwards the Dockers will have a really dangerous team.

Worsfold doesn't need to come up with a revolutionary gameplan. We used a tall, mobile forward line this year, which is where a lot of our success came from. Having talls like Darling, Kennedy and Naitanui who are also excellent at the defensive aspects is something that very few other clubs have. Our midfield depth is nowhere near as strong as the other top 5 clubs this year, but having the best ruck combo in the league helped us in the middle. Contested marking power will be a key for us again next year, and playing on the narrow ground at Subi 12 times will help. If Kerr plays a full season, and Shuey, Gaff and Naitanui continue their improvement we'll be better through the centre next yearm I think we'll drop mostly due to the harder draw and a few more injuries.

Worsfold thinks we have two sort of 'premiership windows'- the first before Kerr, Cox and Glass retire, and the second a few years after when the younger players start to hit their peak. I think that's a fair assessment, we should be pushing very hard to win the flag in the next few seasons, not totally convinced we have the class yet.

Totally agree, this is one of the reasons why Harvey was sacked, we had no game plan, most people believe that it was Chris Scott who was doing the majority of the game day stuff.

1. Hawthorn
2. St Kilda
3. Collingwood
4. West Coast Eagles
5. Geelong
6. Fremantle
7. North Melbourne
8. Brisbane Lions

9. Sydney
10. Carlton
11. Melbourne
12. Essendon
13. Adelaide
14. Gold Coast Suns
15. Port Adelaide
16. Richmond
17. Western Bulldogs
18. Greater Western Sydney

NAB Cup - North Melbourne
Premiership - St Kilda (Gotta have faith :))
Brownlow - Sam Mitchell
Coleman - Nick Riewoldt

1. Hawthorn
2. St Kilda
3. Collingwood
4. West Coast Eagles
5. Geelong
6. Fremantle
7. North Melbourne
8. Brisbane Lions

9. Sydney
10. Carlton
11. Melbourne
12. Essendon
13. Adelaide
14. Gold Coast Suns
15. Port Adelaide
16. Richmond
17. Western Bulldogs
18. Greater Western Sydney

NAB Cup - North Melbourne
Premiership - St Kilda (Gotta have faith :))
Brownlow - Sam Mitchell
Coleman - Nick Riewoldt

At least it's different! :thumbsu: