2013 Dreamteam/Supercoach Questions Thread

Wright won't drag your team, but he won't pull the monsters you need to win. He;ll score 80-100 every week, so his price tag is spot on

IMO, there are better options at his price. Dustin Martin is one example. Dusty is also a DPP and i feel he may explode this year after getting he 2nd year blues last year
Seems likes a sound reason, except he was a third year player in 2012 :p

There seems to be a dearth of good forward options, and the fact that Martin is a near-lock is a bit of an indictment on his peers as I feel he has been severely overrated. Time will tell but I think the FWD position is a good place to select a few smokies.

Seems likes a sound reason, except he was a third year player in 2012 :p

There seems to be a dearth of good forward options, and the fact that Martin is a near-lock is a bit of an indictment on his peers as I feel he has been severely overrated. Time will tell but I think the FWD position is a good place to select a few smokies.

Well if he;s heading into his 4th year, its an even bigger reason to pick him ;)

I agree with most of your post, but I'm not sure Sam Rowe is good choice. Sure, he may be a bolter, but the blokes just coming back from Testicular Cancer and you'd expect them to ease him in quite slowly. I know Carlton have a severe lack of KPF, but I'm not sure he'll do much in 2013.

Depends, what he is, is a cheap fwd/ruck options and considering there's a number of decent ruck/forward options, I'll probably have at least 2 in my forward line, I'll use him as a cheap 4th ruck who can be swapped forward for one of my fwd/rucks if required.

I'll probably put him in my team anyway. :p

I just think people are expecting him to be a bit of a bolter that they'll make some coin from. He'll be fine if you're just using him to cover injuries.

I'll probably put him in my team anyway. :p

I just think people are expecting him to be a bit of a bolter that they'll make some coin from. He'll be fine if you're just using him to cover injuries.

I'll pick him because he's more likely to play than any of the other cheap fwd/ruck options, I doubt he'll prove to be hand on the score sheet, purely handy in that if required, he allows me to move a premium forward/ruck from my forwards to my rucks as a back up, meaning I can take a bit of a risk with my 3rd ruck option.

Hey Guys,

Thoughts on Brent Reilly for a defensive position, what type of numbers will he bring in each week?

Cheers

If you're after a defender who'll probably score 80-90 each week, then you could probably do worse. Is finally playing the outside role that he always should have. Sadly Craigy thought he should be turned into an inside midfielder. He was never soft, but just didn't have the reflexes and quick, accurate hands required for the role, he's much better when allowed to run in space and deliver the footy.

Personally he's on my radar, excuse the pun... because like usual I'm having a lot of trouble structuring my defense, there's a complete dearth of reliable premiums and very few decent rookie options. I'm thinking about grabbing a guy to get me through the early rounds with decent scores who I can trade out when I better know who the premium defenders are for the year.

Thoughts on Rory Sloane as a Super Coach selection?

Should do well, burnt out a bit towards the end of last year, but has really come on as an outside player, using his pace and workrate to his advantage. His skills have improved immensely too since arriving at the club. Could develop into a true premium.

Hello all....I am sure others will ask so getting in early!

Aiden Riley....I thought he looked very good indeed in both games. You have such a strong line-up...will he play and is he a good ...say...#7 midfielder? Would appreciate your thoughts.

Cat questions happily answered btw.

Aiden Riley....I thought he looked very good indeed in both games. You have such a strong line-up...will he play and is he a good ...say...#7 midfielder? Would appreciate your thoughts.

From what i have heard he was getting a lot of the ball in the SANFL but not sure if he is in the top 22

Let's see..
1 - Thompson
2 - Dangerfield
3 - Sloane
4 - VB
5 - Wright
6 - Douglas
7 - Vince
8 - Mackay
9 - Crouch (I expect him to be fast tracked into the team ahead of less talented but more experienced players like Riley)

By the this point we're reaching the list of "fringe" players - those who can expect to be in & out of the senior team, depending upon injuries. That's definitely Riley's domain - along with the likes of Martin, Lyons & Kerridge.

Would have to say no mate. As a Crows fan i actually really love Riley as a player. He always looks lively, is great around the contest and works hard. However him and a few other young guns despite their raw talent/potential, will struggle to crack into the side unless injuries occur. Players like Riley, Grigg, Kerridge, Lyons all have loads of potential and i'd love to see them in the side, but I cant see anyone they could be dropped for. Despite thousands of others, I'm expecting Crouch to see a lot of vests as well this season despite his talent, purely cos there just aren't enough spots.

Who now replaces the Doughty + B.Smith hole?

Talia, Rutten, S.Shaw, Reilly locked best 22 from what i understand about the crows based on last year.

Does NVB push back, does crouch, kerridge play back line. Will tmabling be an ideal replacement for B.Smith?

What can Martin, Lyons, Grigg do

You guys have plenty of depth, does Johncock now go back?

Has Dangerfield been set for more forward time? someone on the DT board mentioned that but i doubt it

Who now replaces the Doughty + B.Smith hole?

Talia, Rutten, S.Shaw, Reilly locked best 22 from what i understand about the crows based on last year.

Does NVB push back, does crouch, kerridge play back line. Will tmabling be an ideal replacement for B.Smith?

What can Martin, Lyons, Grigg do

You guys have plenty of depth, does Johncock now go back?

Has Dangerfield been set for more forward time? someone on the DT board mentioned that but i doubt it

Its hard to say at this stage. There are a lot of players gunning for those 2 spots now that Smith is injured. From what i've seen i dont think Crows are ready to use luke brown just yet. To be honest i think Tambling may get the gig first up. While his disposal is average at best, Tambling can actually put in a decent spoil and tackle hard, so they may use him on the smaller defender. Johncock will stay forward, so im assuming luke brown may step in for the injured smith for a couple of games, however the crows may also run Martin off of HBF. NVB has been down there before, but that was under craigy and i think sando likes to us VB as a run with defensive midfielder. So yeah your guess is as good as mine. I think players like Grigg, Kerridge or Lyons are a bit slow and may get caught out defensively. Think Sando will be looking to replace doughty and Smith with some pacey players considering that is what we are seriously lacking with those 2 gone (smith for now).

Needs to be elevated and his a long chance for round 1 but has been very impressive so far, is Rory Laird. Solidly built small defender that may get a look in based on how good his NAB is. watch closely but its a long shot for now.

The rookies like Kerridge, Grigg, Lyons, Riley etc will bob up for games here or there but i cant seem them breaking into our midfield unless injury strikes. We already have 8-9 rotating through. Even Crouch i can see wearing the vest a lot if we choose not to use a versatile sub in the mould of Henderson. They may get a stint in the forward pocket as well, but nothing major at this stage.

Yeah i think people misinterpreted that. I think Crows will jsut be looking to rest Danger forward rather than have him on the bench. Obviously after the season he just had and his ability, you're not going to stick someone like Danger back up forward again. That's what Craigy would do and we're well past that i think :p

It might sound funny, but I think that goal Brown kicked will give him a tonne of confidence. I know he is a defender and it was only NAB cup, but it might just show him he belongs at that level and show him the rewards are there if he works hard.
I think Brown will get an opportunity early in the year along with Tambling. Whoever plays better will retain their spot when Smith comes back.

It might sound funny, but I think that goal Brown kicked will give him a tonne of confidence. I know he is a defender and it was only NAB cup, but it might just show him he belongs at that level and show him the rewards are there if he works hard.
I think Brown will get an opportunity early in the year along with Tambling. Whoever plays better will retain their spot when Smith comes back.

yeah i would really like to see Brown in the side. There was huge hype around him lining up round 1 early last year until he got injured in a brawl right before the season kicked off. ever since then he has sort of died off a bit. Would logically be the ideal replacement for Doughty as they are very similar players, and i really like Brown's kicking and decision making. Think at this point one could assume Tambling and Brown will line up round 1. however the spot is still very much up for grabs.

Fingers crossed Tambling doesn't get selected. I still have nightmares about 2 of his disposals from the St Kilda game on Sunday.

The first of these was a handball, as the Crows attempted to clear a pack 15m out from St Kilda's goal, directly in front. Tambling had 5 players running clear, yet chose to handball it to the player running into the congestion, with 4 Saints players standing around him. Talk about a hospital pass.

The second was a poor kick, once again, trying to bring the ball out of defence. Tambling was on the boundary, about 40m out from goal. His option - kicking the ball to a position 45m out from goal, directly in front, missing every single one of his team mates in the process by at least 5m. Andy Otten was the poor bugger who ended up fetching the pill, only to be set upon by a Saints tackler. Fortunately for Andy, he didn't have to find a way out of Tambling's mess - the umpires pinged the Adelaide runner before Otten could get done for HTB.

Sorry.. Tambling might get a bit of the ball, but his disposal and decision making is sub-par even for the SANFL. I do not want to see him in our defensive 50m arc ever again. He's just not good enough.

Fingers crossed Tambling doesn't get selected. I still have nightmares about 2 of his disposals from the St Kilda game on Sunday.

The first of these was a handball, as the Crows attempted to clear a pack 15m out from St Kilda's goal, directly in front. Tambling had 5 players running clear, yet chose to handball it to the player running into the congestion, with 4 Saints players standing around him. Talk about a hospital pass.

The second was a poor kick, once again, trying to bring the ball out of defence. Tambling was on the boundary, about 40m out from goal. His option - kicking the ball to a position 45m out from goal, directly in front, missing every single one of his team mates in the process by at least 5m. Andy Otten was the poor bugger who ended up fetching the pill, only to be set upon by a Saints tackler. Fortunately for Andy, he didn't have to find a way out of Tambling's mess - the umpires pinged the Adelaide runner before Otten could get done for HTB.

Sorry.. Tambling might get a bit of the ball, but his disposal and decision making is sub-par even for the SANFL. I do not want to see him in our defensive 50m arc ever again. He's just not good enough.
Just watching it now, was the first moment more or less immediately after the second you mention? While they were both pretty awful, at least it was just an isolated point in time and was bookended by some nice clearance and kicking by Tambling. Not to mention we got a goal out of it all, somehow.

Ricciuto was actually quite ignorant of Tambling (seemed to think he was traded for in 2011 and played only one game) but he and Dwayne actually made a good pair in the commentary box.

Shit, I'm becoming a Tambling cheerleader :p

Just watching it now, was the first moment more or less immediately after the second you mention? While they were both pretty awful, at least it was just an isolated point in time and was bookended by some nice clearance and kicking by Tambling. Not to mention we got a goal out of it all, somehow.
Could well have been, though I honestly can't remember - and I have no desire to watch the game again. As mentioned, Adelaide's runner infringed, resulting in a turnover at CHB, 55m out from St Kilda's goals (thus saving Otten & Tambling an ignominious and ugly turnover). This could well have resulted in the ball being bombed long, leading to Adelaide attempting to clear it - only for Tambling to send the ball back into the middle of the mess when he should have passed it to a player in the clear.

Plausible, but I can't vouch for the accuracy...

Hey Guys,

Thoughts on Brent Reilly for a defensive position, what type of numbers will he bring in each week?

Cheers

This report refers to SC prices and scores.
Brent Reilly $494.2k/92.4 DEF – For years Reilly had played as a run with midfielder and consistently averaged mid 70s in SC. With the arrival of Sanderson & Milburn to the Adelaide coaching staff Reilly was repositioned to defence and given a role as a negating defender. This change in roles led to an increase in Reilly’s SC average of 14ppg. Had Reilly been named a defender last year he would have been the 3rd highest scoring defender in SC with 2032 points. This included ten scores of 100+.

Even with the change in roles Reilly’s possession numbers remained around the same as the previous 3 years (19.8) but what was notable during 2012 was the change in his kick to handball ratio going from 1.2:1 (2009-2011) to 2.5:1. He also had a career high number of marks in 2012 with 150 (average 6 per game) ranking him 6th in the AFL. A highlight of Reilly’s 2012 season was his ability to read the play with intercept possessions and marks from the opposition – he ranked 2nd in the AFL for a general defender in these last 2 stats. He conceded 27 goals to his direct opponents – the most of any Crow – but finished the season without conceding a goal in his final seven games. Reilly has also been quite durable only missing one game over the last 3 seasons.

Summary – Durable, footy-smart, defender who was used to launch a lot of the Crows attacks from D50. The intercept marks and possessions are SC gold. Safe bet who will most likely hold his average.

This report refers to SC prices and scores.
Brent Reilly $494.2k/92.4 DEF – For years Reilly had played as a run with midfielder and consistently averaged mid 70s in SC. With the arrival of Sanderson & Milburn to the Adelaide coaching staff Reilly was repositioned to defence and given a role as a negating defender. This change in roles led to an increase in Reilly’s SC average of 14ppg. Had Reilly been named a defender last year he would have been the 3rd highest scoring defender in SC with 2032 points. This included ten scores of 100+.

Even with the change in roles Reilly’s possession numbers remained around the same as the previous 3 years (19.8) but what was notable during 2012 was the change in his kick to handball ratio going from 1.2:1 (2009-2011) to 2.5:1. He also had a career high number of marks in 2012 with 150 (average 6 per game) ranking him 6th in the AFL. A highlight of Reilly’s 2012 season was his ability to read the play with intercept possessions and marks from the opposition – he ranked 2nd in the AFL for a general defender in these last 2 stats. He conceded 27 goals to his direct opponents – the most of any Crow – but finished the season without conceding a goal in his final seven games. Reilly has also been quite durable only missing one game over the last 3 seasons.

Summary – Durable, footy-smart, defender who was used to launch a lot of the Crows attacks from D50. The intercept marks and possessions are SC gold. Safe bet who will most likely hold his average.

I hate trying to pick my defenders, there's very few cheap options, very few elite options and of the guys in the middle its a real chook raffle as to who will "break out" making it worthwhile. Considering we've got a hell of a lot more trades this year, I'm seriously considering Reilly as a bloke who will consistently score 80-90 odd, in SC, and should play every game. As has been mentioned, he's our designated kicker, usually uncontested so high DE% and length in kicks and also takes a lot of marks, including interceptions. I wouldn't exactly call him a premium, but I just want a few consistent scorers to hold up my defense until it becomes clear who the true premiums are.

2013 Dreamteam/Supercoach Questions Thread