2013 SEQAFL Division 2 2013

Moro actually had a good one on the weekend, his mate pulled out a few doozys though... It's good to see that the umpires are already starting to slow down on the new rules like "diving in to the legs" and "arms up in the protected area" common sense is starting to prevail...

Thanks mustard for the nice words.... you must be from Alex. :) I thought i must have been ok when graham said "i only had to yell at you once today Moro" Not sure about the doozeys from"my mate" though but hey that's your opinion. Hopefully we atre slowing down on those things because the players didn't do them otherwise our coach won't be happy.

I know our club had an issue with a Brisbane umpire, we knew we weren't going to get any favours from him,especially if we played a certain Brisbane club, we knew we where pushing sh*t up hill.

The ump in question literally cost us a game. With a very bizarre free kick, in our Goal square. Then the Siren blew about 5-10 Sec after the free kick, we lost by a couple of points.

No point whinging about Coast umpires, Brisbane has some pretty ordinary umps as well.

I know our club had an issue with a Brisbane umpire, we knew we weren't going to get any favours from him,especially if we played a certain Brisbane club, we knew we where pushing sh*t up hill.

The ump in question literally cost us a game. With a very bizarre free kick, in our Goal square. Then the Siren blew about 5-10 Sec after the free kick, we lost by a couple of points.

No point whinging about Coast umpires, Brisbane has some pretty ordinary umps as well.

I think i know who you're talking about Sherrin;) Do you want to name names or what the issue was???

its a tough gig umpiring i think we all admit that - obviously when one teams players is being called by name by one of them you do feel like your in for a tough day tho!!

Hey Moro do you think some of the AFL umpires take the "no umpire abuse" a bit far. Mics on the umpires on the weekends game picked up Ricky Pettards comment to one umpire of "oh my god your having a mare" and the bloke paid a 50 for dissent. When its all said and done i understand the "respect my authority" view point but surely thats going a bit far?

its a tough gig umpiring i think we all admit that - obviously when one teams players is being called by name by one of them you do feel like your in for a tough day tho!!

Hey Moro do you think some of the AFL umpires take the "no umpire abuse" a bit far. Mics on the umpires on the weekends game picked up Ricky Pettards comment to one umpire of "oh my god your having a mare" and the bloke paid a 50 for dissent. When its all said and done i understand the "respect my authority" view point but surely thats going a bit far?

BOC - I think we might have to agree to disagree there mate as I think it is and was fair enough in Pettards case. I would do the same thing. We are told zero tolerance on abuse and many who have played in games I have done will tell you I am renowned for it.;) This is one of the reasons I am so popular.:) I don't think you've had the Moro experience but maybe one day

You're right it's a tough job and we never make everybody happy. On top of this how far do you let it go?? If I let it go this week it could get worse next week when there is a young fella who decides to give up umpiring due to the abuse. Overall if you say anything personal you could expect a 50 or a card depending on what is said. In the end I know it's frustrating at times but my advice is to take the bad decisions as what goes around comes around and you'll get one go your way at some stage.

As for calling players by name I believe it helps. When you umpire blokes regularly you get to know their name so why not use it, doesn't mean anything IMO.
Umpires have a tough job and we shouldn't take abuse or advice from the field because we get enough from outside the boundary.
Are you back playing this week??

BOC - I think we might have to agree to disagree there mate as I think it is and was fair enough in Pettards case. I would do the same thing. We are told zero tolerance on abuse and many who have played in games I have done will tell you I am renowned for it.;) This is one of the reasons I am so popular.:) I don't think you've had the Moro experience but maybe one day

You're right it's a tough job and we never make everybody happy. On top of this how far do you let it go?? If I let it go this week it could get worse next week when there is a young fella who decides to give up umpiring due to the abuse. Overall if you say anything personal you could expect a 50 or a card depending on what is said. In the end I know it's frustrating at times but my advice is to take the bad decisions as what goes around comes around and you'll get one go your way at some stage.

As for calling players by name I believe it helps. When you umpire blokes regularly you get to know their name so why not use it, doesn't mean anything IMO.
Umpires have a tough job and we shouldn't take abuse or advice from the field because we get enough from outside the boundary.
Are you back playing this week??
Fair points - but we do disagree somewhat - i think if there is respect in whats said then there is nothing wrong with a bit of banter between the umpires and players - wouldnt tolerate swearing or demonstrative behaviour, but I think the AFL could look at the NRL (did i actually say that out loud) where refs have the discretion to take the emotion out of the situation and tell the player its not called for or to pull his head in.

How thats applied at an amatuer level is again open to interpretation which is probably where the problem is!

Mind you, that said i have heard a cpl of umpires give some proper sledging back to players who may have questioned there performance or offered advice. One umpire had clearly had enough last year and told a player "mate your 15 goals down and you think its my fault - maybe you should try and get a kick". theres not really a comeback to that!!

Hopefully back this week mate - not that Richo or Chunk#5 have missed me down there!!

Fair points - but we do disagree somewhat - i think if there is respect in whats said then there is nothing wrong with a bit of banter between the umpires and players - wouldnt tolerate swearing or demonstrative behaviour, but I think the AFL could look at the NRL (did i actually say that out loud) where refs have the discretion to take the emotion out of the situation and tell the player its not called for or to pull his head in.

How thats applied at an amatuer level is again open to interpretation which is probably where the problem is!

Mind you, that said i have heard a cpl of umpires give some proper sledging back to players who may have questioned there performance or offered advice. One umpire had clearly had enough last year and told a player "mate your 15 goals down and you think its my fault - maybe you should try and get a kick". theres not really a comeback to that!!

Hopefully back this week mate - not that Richo or Chunk#5 have missed me down there!!

Yeah well in some games in the past players have thought i may have sledged them too but surely they just heard me wrong:rolleyes:. I don't mind banter between the players and myself i actually like it.
We try to give warnings but when it's flowing thick and fast and about every decision it just get a bit much.

Enjoying the week off this week boc?? What's your prodiction for tomorow night??
I'm gunna back us in by 47points with a good return to form by the whole team .

Go devils

Mate we play on Saturday against kenmore our week off is next week.

Think u boys by about 38 - That said from experience up there (we played a wed night match last year) that it gets cold and dewy about 9ish so may be lower scoring in the second half.

Would like to think we can get the points against the bears in a cpl of good games.

A public service announcement:

If you would like to catch a local game of football this evening, there is a Triple Header at Yeronga:

* Div 2 Seniors - Yeronga V Caboolture - Downs Oval (Field 1), 7:45pm
* Div 2 Reserves - Yeronga V Caboolture - Stevenson Oval (Field 2), 7:00pm
* Div 4 Central - Yeronga V UQ - Downs Oval (Field 1), 6:00pm

We're looking forward to a top night of community football. Hopefully, we may see some of you there.

Enjoying the week off this week boc?? What's your prodiction for tomorow night??
I'm gunna back us in by 47points with a good return to form by the whole team .

Go devils
With only two matches this weekend you would think a few rival coaches might have a look at the Friday night game then make the trek down the highway to watch the Roos at Scottsdale drive.

Any scores devil or toucan? Get a good crowd in?

Plenty of people getting to Scottsdale drive to watch number 3 rip another backline apart roopen... Fingers crossed he drops a few tomorrow for me!

Any scores devil or toucan? Get a good crowd in?

Plenty of people getting to Scottsdale drive to watch number 3 rip another backline apart roopen... Fingers crossed he drops a few tomorrow for me!

Got up by 80 odd boc muggsy kicked 10.5 slippery condition in the second half . Good to get a win in front a good size crowd . Good luck today.

Just about to do the League reports now......

Seniors: Yeronga 22 - 18 - 150 def Caboolture 10 - 12 - 72
Highscoring game in almost perfect Autumn evening conditions. There was a good number of people attending - but of course, we would always like more. It certainly helped that the game for the Thirds (Div 4) had to be moved from UQ to Yeronga - extra people already at the ground.

Reserves: Yeronga 18 - 12 - 120 def Caboolture 6 - 6 - 42
Didn't get to see a minute of this game (volunteers working overtime last night - they're all champions). I believe it was a highly competitive game early - but we ran away in the second half.

For those interested, our Thirds also had a challenging win by about 3 goals over a switched-on UQ.

Big thanks to both Caboolture and UQ (in particular, their respective Presidents) for their help with getting these games organised.

Redcliffe at Home for the Seniors/Reserves next Saturday!

Good to hear local clubs working with each other Toucan. Should be less insular thinking like this. At the end of the day good competitions are built around the strength of a number of clubs, not just one or three. I reckon Fri night games are a pretty good idea actually, esp if the clubs are within cooee of each other. (not so good if travel is involved). At this time of year good conditions (generally) and although blokes have had a full days work, many guys work Sat mornings prior to coming to a match anyway. Just think its not a big issue and obviously wasn't for Muggsy!!

smy1305,
Some may think me a goose for this, but I often say: we're all in it together. It does no good for any of us to see a club suffer or fail. We need to keep pursuing mutually beneficial goals. Personally, I always felt there was great merit in some of the socialist aspects of SQAFA (but I know others will disagree - and that's fine).

With regards to last night's games, I'm prone to drift into hyperbole when talking about my club - but the conditions were almost perfect for night football in Brisbane. Dew is unavoidable - but no mist, no fog - and 32 goals in a game suggests that the ball was travelling quite well throughout the game. One late embarrassing note: the sprinklers came on. We've got no control over that - and are unable to turn them off. Fortunately, it was only in the final 90 seconds of the game. But still.......

Overall, it was a couple of community clubs putting on a good show for local footy. Because of the distance to travel, Caboolture is clearly not the obvious choice for a Friday night fixture - but their support was pleasing. Kenmore or Coorparoo would be good options for Yeronga. (Or there is always the Thirds regularly playing Home games on Friday nights!)

Sounds like a great night - I was at the reds game and was a ripping night condition wise.

Agree re Friday nights - in theory and with right draw can work.

Driving rain on the coast as we speak - sunshine and zinc cream one week, long sleeves and screw in the next - how good is qld footy!!

I agree Toucan - nothing wrong with a bit of evening up from big brother - if its good enough at the top end its good enough at this level. I reckon most club pres meetings with AFLQ ppl should involve discussions around win/win scenarios for all clubs where possible.

So he should Stuy - is the one position on the ground that you could play till you are 40 imo if any good. He is playing a massive drop in standard from his whole career basically.

Might be lost in translation smy but credit where credit is due to fults and mugsy. All well and good to say it is levels below where they have played before, but i think you'll find both often deal with 2 on 1 and a bloke loose in the hole and while the quality of div 2 has improved, neither would be getting the delivery like they had at NEAFL or PHC level.

Plenty of examples over recent years of guys having played good quality football and then not dominating lower levels - AFL players like ben fixter, Nathan Ablett, trav Johnson, jay neagle spring very quickly to mind.

Might be lost in translation smy but credit where credit is due to fults and mugsy. All well and good to say it is levels below where they have played before, but i think you'll find both often deal with 2 on 1 and a bloke loose in the hole and while the quality of div 2 has improved, neither would be getting the delivery like they had at NEAFL or PHC level.

Plenty of examples over recent years of guys having played good quality football and then not dominating lower levels - AFL players like ben fixter, Nathan Ablett, trav Johnson, jay neagle spring very quickly to mind.
Dont forget Fulton is 37 years of age..... great effort.

Yeah but not at FF for those blokes BOC (and stuyd - like I said, FF is one position where age is irrelevant imo, seen big fat bastards dominate games out of here let alone a bloke in reasonable nick. Age is just a birth certificate, has no bearing on ability imo) - I'm not downplaying his efforts but the bloke could seriously play in his day. Div 2 footy would be pretty straight forward for him, no matter how many blokes sitting on him. I'm sure in a side that is winning by as much as you are currently he is getting better than average delivery too - its not Plugger Lockett playing for the saints circa 1985 where he won everything off his own bat I imagine! Look, good luck to him (and Robina) but to my mind it would be no different to putting Fev in the mix in the O&M league and just dominating (which he is). I think we occasionally forget that there is a significant step up from division to division and the better players make it look pretty easy sometimes.

2013 SEQAFL Division 2 2013