Mega Thread 2013 TRADE PERIOD discussion thread - Aidan Riley (Crows) added as a DFA

I'm willing to get my hopes back up. Offer up every pick and all of our mediocre former top 20 picks. (Strauss, Tappy, Blease, Dunn etc) Ok I don't remember when any of those guys were picked and could be well off, I'm drinking.

What? You don't want a lightning fast player who gets 8 ineffective touches a game and can't run out 4 quarters? Crazy!

No but seriously, thanks for the perspective on Greenwood. Surprised we didn't go after him last year given that he wouldn't have needed to adhere to any structure at all playing in our 'midfield' under the geniuses Neeld and Royal.
To be fair though, which of our players got more than 8 effective possessions in any game last year or the year before other than Jones? We have zero pace on our list bar Blease and people want to trade him out? If anything else, at least he gives kids a reason to start following us by taking the game on and trying to make something happen. Usually kicks a goal or two when he actually is picked to play as well, which was hardly ever. Give him a go under Roos. Way more upside than down I reckon

Blease is our x-factor and could potentially be anything from a lazy ineffective speedster to one of our most damaging players.

I love watching him play, it's always a joy to see him take the game on do something a bit different. It doesn't always pay off but hopefully he can gain the confidence to do it more so than not.

To be fair though, which of our players got more than 8 effective possessions in any game last year or the year before other than Jones? We have zero pace on our list bar Blease and people want to trade him out? If anything else, at least he gives kids a reason to start following us by taking the game on and trying to make something happen. Usually kicks a goal or two when he actually is picked to play as well, which was hardly ever. Give him a go under Roos. Way more upside than down I reckon

Yeah I don't particularly want to trade him but if he's the steak knives to get a deal done for a player who can actually play in the midfield for longer than 40 seconds I won't be losing sleep over it. At this stage it's hard to see his fitness getting to the level required - although a decent run of games would probably help with that.

Nor Buddy to Sydney, Tippett to Sydney etc. They've got no idea whatsoever.

I don't think it counts but on footy classifier on grand final week hutchy said the swans should make a play for buddy an outlined a contract offer, it's on YouTube if you wanna check

It would have to be the luckiest Stab in the dark ever

Gday Fellas,

Why is everyone so keen for Vince? There is no way any club would give up pick 20 for bernie vince he's a decent player but he's 28!

Richard Douglas is the sort of underrated 26 year old midfielder that we would fit our criteria perfectly.
Offer him 4 year contract $500+
Offer a combination of picks to allow adelaide to bring in Polec possibly pick 20 or around there

I really like Douglas but who else do you think fits our mould?

Yeah I don't particularly want to trade him but if he's the steak knives to get a deal done for a player who can actually play in the midfield for longer than 40 seconds I won't be losing sleep over it. At this stage it's hard to see his fitness getting to the level required - although a decent run of games would probably help with that.
I would rather see Blease play on the wing or in the forward line somewhere. Sure, his engine isn't where it should be but there have been injuries in there too. We have plenty of other players that could be used as steak knives without the upside of Blease. I just don't get why we'd trade someone who hasn't really been given a go, and who has blistering pace, something we have been short of for years

Even considering injuries, I don't think you can offer a 22/23 year old the excuse that he hasn't been given a go.

I'm more inclined to view it as he hasn't shown a thing.

What other stakes knives? We can't offer players we don't value cuz they certainly won't get a game elsewhere

The only steak knive players we have are blease , tapscott , Strauss , fitzy, spencer

Even considering injuries, I don't think you can offer a 22/23 year old the excuse that he hasn't been given a go.

I'm more inclined to view it as he hasn't shown a thing.
Without looking at the stats, it seemed to me like he was in the side one week and out the other or more often the not the sub. This was Neeld selecting the teams as well. So we discount his pace and goalkicking, not to mention the fact he gives fans something to be excited about because we have so much pace and players that kick goals? I think we'll just have to agree to disagree

Well I do agree with you that he has never really had a decent string of consecutive games, and there were times when I was frustrated at him being dropped.

But yeh, I still think we would have seen more from him by now if he had what it takes.

What other stakes knives? We can't offer players we don't value cuz they certainly won't get a game elsewhere

The only steak knive players we have are blease , tapscott , Strauss , fitzy, spencer
But why would other clubs value Blease if you guys think he can't run out a game and hasn't shown anything?

Probably a fair call on the other players, but that's a good list to start with I'd have thought.

But why would other clubs value Blease if you guys think he can't run out a game and hasn't shown anything?

Probably a fair call on the other players, but that's a good list to start with I'd have thought.

He has fantastic attributes don't get me wrong and I wouldn't delist him or anything , just that he really has 1 maybe 2 more years to show consistency or he will be the fastest player at morwell

And I can live with that. If we can actually obtain a decent midfield this year, he might do a bit better when we don't start having the ball 150 times less than the opposition as well. With another preseason and Roos on his hammer, he might just turn into a great player to shoot a handball out to on the half forward flank

Surely the hope is he can turn into a Lewis Jetta type
Needs to have more than just being quick though

When Blease ran miles on end in that game against Freo last year at Etihad, and evaded players on the way too, was one of the most exciting time of recent Melbourne history.

He can turn into a real great player still, and I believe he will.

When Blease ran miles on end in that game against Freo last year at Etihad, and evaded players on the way too, was one of the most exciting time of recent Melbourne history.

He can turn into a real great player still, and I believe he will.

Christ we choked hard in that game.