Mega Thread 2013 TRADE PERIOD discussion thread - Aidan Riley (Crows) added as a DFA

Something involving Sloane perhaps?

Watts + 19/20? Not the worst deal for them if they really rate Jack.

I think that's a good deal for Adelaide. Melbourne appear to be paying slight overs.
They get a 23yo, 196cm player that can play back or fwd& also into the ND (start of 2nd round).

We get a hard at it mid but I think we would want their first pick too to even it up (3rd round pick) about #39/40

Personally I hope we keep Watts

I actually wasn't. Might be slight covers but we could do worse than a books who has runs on the board at afl level. If he doesn't average> 20 pos 3 tackles and a few clearances I'll go he. CBF checking my facts (I know someone will be keen to prove me wrong here) most importantly no risk that we can't develop him. In this case he is ready to go
IMO I don't see him as anywhere near worth pick 2, while he is not a bad player, I would be gutted if we give pick 2 away for him.

Sorry to intrude. But i thought Melbourne had multiple selections in the first round?

Considering Sloane is out of contract and Adalaide are banned from the first two rounds. If you were to make a play for Sloane wouldn't you hold pick#2 (Aish or other highly rated mid) and use your end of first round selection?

If we get Sloane for Watts, far out that would be a great trade on our behalf. He'd be a great inclusion for us.

Jimmy T you make me want to scream.

<insert Michael Jackson gif>

I still believe he'll develop into a great footballer. The poor kid is still coming off 2 hip reco's, a knee injury and also hardly any footy time last year. He just needs a bit of time.

Haha, I thought he did some really good things - under pressure he just falls to pieces in general though.
Yeah I meant to post that in the game day thread. I love the kid, reckon he'll be a very good player and I don't think he's behind the curve in terms if development for a first year top five draft pick.

And I too thought he was mostly good yesterday. The wanting to scream was after a particular bit of play where he was free in the corridor and received a mark and he could have immediately played on or gone back and taken his time but he was indecisive and half played on, got corralled backwards and tackled. Holding the ball. Quick response by Adelaide. 12 point play, effectively, for the crows.

He is a bit indecisive at AFL level, but I reckon that comes from his combination of youth and playing in this team.

Yeah I meant to post that in the game day thread. I love the kid, reckon he'll be a very good player and I don't think he's behind the curve in terms if development for a first year top five draft pick.

And I too thought he was mostly good yesterday. The wanting to scream was after a particular bit of play where he was free in the corridor and received a mark and he could have immediately played on or gone back and taken his time but he was indecisive and half played on, got corralled backwards and tackled. Holding the ball. Quick response by Adelaide. 12 point play, effectively, for the crows.

He is a bit indecisive at AFL level, but I reckon that comes from his combination of youth and playing in this team.

Yeh I'm not exactly sure what some others expected of Toumpas this year but I think he's developing nicely, and he has certainly improved since the start of the year. He needs to stop looking for the perfect option every time though, he should just go with the first option he sees. I think that's why he ends up going around in circles and getting stuck sometimes. I'm happy with his first season, and any talk of trading him is just embarrassing.

I'm not sure if I'd completely agree with that either, cthorange. I think taking the first option often sets up a team mate under pressure to be pummeled, and Jimmy does this a bit too (again, no more than any other first year player).

The whole team needs to work on decision making; it's not the first option, or the perfect option, it's simply a good option that should be taken. Problem is that with this teams terrible work rate and apparent inability to find space, a good option is often not evident.

And, to stay moldy on topic, I agree completely that any talk of trading him is completely ridiculous!

Sorry to intrude. But i thought Melbourne had multiple selections in the first round?

Considering Sloane is out of contract and Adalaide are banned from the first two rounds. If you were to make a play for Sloane wouldn't you hold pick#2 (Aish or other highly rated mid) and use your end of first round selection?

no point even considering sloane because he is contracted until the end of 2015.

You can still trade contracted players..?

I'd say there is no point considering Sloane because he is your second best mid after Dangerfield, a gun player, and still young. I have no idea why people have this idea that the Crows would trade him just so they can get into the first round.

Nope? We had compo picks for Scully and used them last year.

I'm not sure if I'd completely agree with that either, cthorange. I think taking the first option often sets up a team mate under pressure to be pummeled, and Jimmy does this a bit too (again, no more than any other first year player).

The whole team needs to work on decision making; it's not the first option, or the perfect option, it's simply a good option that should be taken. Problem is that with this teams terrible work rate and apparent inability to find space, a good option is often not evident.

And, to stay moldy on topic, I agree completely that any talk of trading him is completely ridiculous!

I should clarify a touch, I think Toump should kick to the first decent lead he sees when he is in a position to kick the ball (his kicking is one of the main reasons we recruited him), but I'm definitely not condoning handpass circles to stationary players, which is all to common for us at the moment. But like you said with the lack of work rate, who knows if there is a lead up ahead to kick to anyway!!

If we get given the priority pick; who do you guys think the best player we could get for it would be?

There is a thread for this :p

I think it would be stupid for us to take Boyd so I guess we trade it for a player and a downgraded first rounder

Need to consider trading Watts. We may not have a choice given his comments the other week looks like he may want out. Not for a draft pick though needs to be an experianced mid. If Clark can get fit we will have him forward next year with Hogan, Dawes adn Fitzy all able to play forward. Frawley, Garland, TMac, Dunn daown back. Pederson can play either end. Watts may not be missed. If he stays I hope he can prove me wrong but hasn't filled me with confidence to date.

I would be happy to trade for a pick that we can then on trade to GWS for Adams.

For some reason, my gut feel is that Sloane ain't going nowhere. Adams could be on the move but surely every other club are salivating as much as we are on that front?

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/i...y-with-the-crows/story-fnig5e6k-1226682186707

"Yeah, two years ... it's my call then ... so I'll stay," said Sloane with a telling grin.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...renton-sanderson/story-fni5f4l8-1226643359290

"We wouldn't do that trade, no," Sanderson said.
"Rory Sloane will be here for a long time. I rate him very highly, as high as you can go."

Sorry guys, I don't think Sloane will be traded - regardless whether Melbourne or anyone pays overs. Fans love him. Teammates love him. Coach loves him. Been talked up as Captain or at least Vice Captain for next year.