Mega Thread 2014 Free Agency and Trade discussion

Garland was probably the least impressive of the back 6 this season just like frawley before him he lost all his confidence in out bodying his opponents and taking defensive marks

It's scary how many of our players inevitably stall
Just needs a new role. Dunn and McDonald played as our two key defenders so Garland needed to come back and play as the rebounder. Let him train as one over preseason and he'll be okay.

That photo of Mitch Clark's pressure points on Nathan brown was my favourite photo

Now we need Jesse hogan to get him in a headlock

One last time

footy10-20120611163306250649-600x400.jpg

campaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaignercampaigner

A day of mixed emotions.

Lumumba for Clark? I said it a while back and I'll say it again. A good trade for us given the circumstances. I have little doubt Harry O will churn out 60-80 decent games for us. Clark, on paper is a better player but in reality has some past and present issues that make him a risk. Geelong will be fairly happy only losing Varcoe while I think Collingwood lose out marginally. Not a bad trade all-round though... Time will tell.

Taking picks 2, 3 and 23 to the draft? This I'm not so sure about. We have gone down this route many times in the past for absolutely no gain.

"But Prendergast and Neeld are long gone" I hear you say. That's true, and we have a pretty good brains trust now, but even the best recruiters make mistakes. They make mistakes because the draft is a complete lottery. There's no way of predicting which talented kids will dominate and which will struggle. Taking a quick look at the draft's entire history, I'd say there's an 80% chance one of our top picks doesn't become a superstar, and maybe a 50% chance both don't. I would have much preferred to see us trade out one of the picks, or both, for experienced talent but from what I gather Mahoney tried and failed (not his fault, just the way things went).

Still another day to go and you never know what can happen but at this stage it looks like another 17th or 18th placed finish next year...

Is McCartin really a can't miss prospect?

I can understand holding onto 2 for Brayshaw, but unless we are certain of Petracca sliding I find it baffling that we didn't try to trade out of 3. The CHF/FF combination of Jesse and Paddy makes sense in my head, but it won't matter if the ball only comes down there once a twice a quarter.

Is McCartin really a can't miss prospect?

I can understand holding onto 2 for Brayshaw, but unless we are certain of Petracca sliding I find it baffling that we didn't try to trade out of 3. The CHF/FF combination of Jesse and Paddy makes sense in my head, but it won't matter if the ball only comes down there once a twice a quarter.
McCartin shouldn't be playing until 2016. And they certainly won't be getting a game together any time soon.

Looking at #2 and #3 picks from the past few years: Kelly, Billings, O'Rourke, Plowman, Coniglio, Tyson, Bennell, Day, Trengove, Martin, Naitanui, Hill, Cotchin, Masten, Gumbleton, Hansen, Thomas, Ellis, Roughead, Griffen, A Walker, Sylvia, Wells, Brennan, Ball, Judd.

Bolded are players that I'd be pretty happy with at those picks. 17/26. Trengove, Plowman, Sylvia, Brennan and Hansen wouldn't devastate me either. I think we'll be okay.

EDIT: Also, importantly, most of the inside mids have come good, which is why I seriously hope we can grab Petracca and Brayshaw.

Sylvia, Morton, Watts, Scully, Trengove and Toumpas were all considered great picks at the time. Every year there are disappointments. Some of it can be put down to development but most of it can be put down to luck.
Yeah, nah.

I have to admit. I am having trouble visually picturing what Harry O' Brien would look like in a Melbourne guernsey. He's just not one of those players who I would spontaneously associate with a red and blue jumper.

If anyone has time on their hands, can someone photoshop Harry O' wearing a Melbourne guernsey? I can't do it myself as I have no skills on Photoshop whatsoever.

Any image would be much appreciated.
71pv6s.jpg

Best I could find (no tattoos though)

Here you go mate. No need to thank me.

2iiiecl.jpg
Nooiicccceee!!!! It looks exactly how I pictured it in my head.

On a serious note about the 2014 free agency trading, I really hope that Harry O' grows his dreadlocks back like in the picture. If he doesn't, our backline will be completely dysfunctional and Paul Roos' defensive gameplan will be completely useless next year.

No special sauces just unsubstantiated speculation...

Howes' tweet this arvo had me thinking.."Fair bit going on today #tradeperiod"

From Talking Carlton...

"apparently GWS offered pick 6 for howe and then howes manager asked collingwood if they were interested for pick 5 cos howe doesnt really want to go to GWS

um

wtf?"

You haven't been waiting since 2012 to see them play a senior game though.

No, but I'm going to have to wait another year for Scharenberg. He's done his knee and won't play in 2015 either.

As his Ultimate Footy Coach in a league where you keep your list from the previous year with changes only coming from trading/drafting I am sadly aware!

I love it.

It seems to be more realistic than Jack Attack's one which indicates just how amazing your Photoshop skills are. Well Done.
I'd love to take credit. But I didn't make it. I have no photoshop skills whatsoever lol