Unofficial Preview 2015 AFL draft thread - needs, wants, prospect discussion, the whole nine yards - all in here

Knightmare:
Blake Hardwick (VIC – FWD/MID)
Height: 181cm, Weight: 78kg, DOB: 05/02/1997
Recruited from: Eastern Ranges
Reminds me of: Sam Lloyd
Brief bio: Hardwick is a high volume goal kicking small forward who seems always to be in the right place at the right time and has had some big hauls this season including 12, 10 and 8 goals this season in the TAC Cup. He is very much someone with a goal first, goal second, pass third mentality, as someone who will when he senses any opportunity will go for goal himself. Hardwick is mostly a marking forward who has only average hands overhead but leads to the right spots, gets to the drop of the ball and finds the spaces left behind in the forward 50m. He isn’t a particularly gifted ground level player or a particularly outstanding pressure forward. Hardwick has only on a small few occasions pushed up the field and at the next level I imagine he will need to integrate this into his game to have an AFL career. The times he has pushed up into the midfield he has found the footy to a reasonable standard but has lacked impact with his influence moderate-low. Hardwick has a reasonable powerful build and strongish body, he has good acceleration but is not overly agile and lacks any freakishly quickness.

Blake Hardwick would have teams salivating over him if he was a key forward. He’s got the mullet, he’s a physical beast and he plays like Jason Dunstall.

Hardwick plays out of the goal square, where he beats his opponents consistently on the lead. He’s got some nice acceleration off the mark, but his top speed isn’t terrific. He’s a smart small forward, who knows exactly where to lead.

Marking is Hardwick’s strong suit. He’s a sure bet to take a mark on the lead, but he’s also equally adept overhead and in contested situations. He usually takes around five marks per game, and one or two of those will always be contested.

Hardwick is the leading goal kicker in the TAC Cup. He has kicked bags of 12, 10 and eight this year and really picked up the slack since Sam Weideman has missed through injury. He’s a wonderful set shot kicker, kicking 45.14 so far. He doesn’t mind if he’s 50 metres out on a tight angle, as his routine is the same for every kick. It’s technically sound and he stays cool under pressure.

He’s not as great in terms of field kicking. He’s started developing an inside midfield role, and he’s struggled as a distributor by foot when he has drifted into the centre. That’s more of an issue with time, space and getting used to a new role.

Hardwick isn’t just a shorter guy posing as a key forward. He’s excellent when the ball hits the deck, as his speed and strength allows him to break free from packs and he cannot be taken down in a tackle. He relies more on his smarts and strength when it comes to crumbing, rather than natural freakish ability. He’s a good snap for goal, but not the type to kick miraculous goals.

He’s a bruiser in every sense of the word. He hits the pack courageously and often takes others down with him. He’s got great core strength and he could easily play from round one next year.

The issue with Hardwick is whether or not he can end up like a Mark LeCras, or if he will be a Matthew Little type – that is, one who dominates weaker opponents but can’t have much of an impact at AFL.

He’s got the physical tools to become a decent inside midfielder but he hasn’t really got the tank as of yet. He looks like he’s going to be one of the steals of the draft. We’ve seen with Hawthorn and the Western Bulldogs that unconventional forward lines can work quite well.

The rest of the league still has an issue with height bias which should see Hardwick slip, but he’s got plenty to offer.

His best option is to just break down the door for selection based on pure weight of goals. He’s probably not going to be a star at AFL level, but he’s got the opportunity to become a valuable role player.

Sando: "three really smart decisions by Graeme Wright and the HFC"

Sando obviously hasn't read the rantings of the commentariat on here then. I mean what would Sando know that our keyboard experts don't.

Bound for Glory Profile:
Blake Hardwick
Height: 181 cm
Weight: 78 kg
Position: Small forward/inside midfielder
Strengths: Overhead marking, physicality, crumbing, set shot kicking
Weaknesses: Consistency, field kicking, finding the football
First year projection: Immediate impact

Kicking: Above average
Marking: Elite
Endurance: Average
Speed: Average

"Blake Hardwick would have teams salivating over him if he was a key forward. He’s got the mullet, he’s a physical beast and he plays like Jason Dunstall."

All I need to know. He has my vote of approval.

Getting a hard wick about the prospect of him playing like Piggy

Not a bad result for the club! I still think Gresham was to be the first with the minor shuffling done after the saints pick & Lovell with the second. Bonner is no real surprise & will look great in brown & gold, not to mention putting some heat on positions.... No nothing of Hardwick so I'm crossing my fingers he's Breust mk2.

We lose in 2012 one missing piece in the puzzle ,a key defender ,we recruit one Brian Lake ,,,,well bugger me if we don't win the next 3 flags with lake winning Norm smith in one and going close in the other 2 .Lake retires after the 2015 flag and we have arguably the best defender in the draft available with our first draft pick to replace him (logical choice you would think ) what do we do pick a guy with a horrendous injury with our first pick but hey still a lot of good young kids around with our 2nd but we go for ........ a 173 cm mid from Tassie . Been following this club and our picks for years and this is going back to the dark days when Peter Schwab was running the show.

Blake Hardwick would have teams salivating over him if he was a key forward. He’s got the mullet, he’s a physical beast and he plays like Jason Dunstall.

Hardwick plays out of the goal square, where he beats his opponents consistently on the lead. He’s got some nice acceleration off the mark, but his top speed isn’t terrific. He’s a smart small forward, who knows exactly where to lead.

Marking is Hardwick’s strong suit. He’s a sure bet to take a mark on the lead, but he’s also equally adept overhead and in contested situations. He usually takes around five marks per game, and one or two of those will always be contested.

Hardwick is the leading goal kicker in the TAC Cup. He has kicked bags of 12, 10 and eight this year and really picked up the slack since Sam Weideman has missed through injury. He’s a wonderful set shot kicker, kicking 45.14 so far. He doesn’t mind if he’s 50 metres out on a tight angle, as his routine is the same for every kick. It’s technically sound and he stays cool under pressure.

He’s not as great in terms of field kicking. He’s started developing an inside midfield role, and he’s struggled as a distributor by foot when he has drifted into the centre. That’s more of an issue with time, space and getting used to a new role.

Hardwick isn’t just a shorter guy posing as a key forward. He’s excellent when the ball hits the deck, as his speed and strength allows him to break free from packs and he cannot be taken down in a tackle. He relies more on his smarts and strength when it comes to crumbing, rather than natural freakish ability. He’s a good snap for goal, but not the type to kick miraculous goals.

He’s a bruiser in every sense of the word. He hits the pack courageously and often takes others down with him. He’s got great core strength and he could easily play from round one next year.

The issue with Hardwick is whether or not he can end up like a Mark LeCras, or if he will be a Matthew Little type – that is, one who dominates weaker opponents but can’t have much of an impact at AFL.

He’s got the physical tools to become a decent inside midfielder but he hasn’t really got the tank as of yet. He looks like he’s going to be one of the steals of the draft. We’ve seen with Hawthorn and the Western Bulldogs that unconventional forward lines can work quite well.

The rest of the league still has an issue with height bias which should see Hardwick slip, but he’s got plenty to offer.

His best option is to just break down the door for selection based on pure weight of goals. He’s probably not going to be a star at AFL level, but he’s got the opportunity to become a valuable role player.

Well that just won me over, seems a great get.

Burton - win
Lovell - not convinced
Hardwick - win

Hopefully Lovell becomes a jet! Welcome to the club boys

Drafted from: Eastern Ranges/Doncaster East (VIC)

DOB: 5/02/1997

Height: 181cm

Weight: 78kg

HAWTHORN has recruited mid-sized forward Blake Hardwick with pick 44 in the 2015 NAB AFL draft.

The 181-centimetre 18-year-old enjoyed a strong TAC Cup season for Eastern Ranges.

He finished as the competition’s leading goalkicker, slotting 56 goals from just 16 matches.

The next best player in the competition was 20 goals behind.

On three occasions Hardwick kicked eight or more goals in a match, including a season-best 12 majors against Bendigo Pioneers in Round 16.

A strong ‘lead-up’ forward, Hardwick has proven a difficult match one-on-one match up, boasting the ability to burst away from contested situations.

He featured in four games for Vic Metro at the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships, averaging 10.8 possessions and 3.8 marks per games.

We lose in 2012 one missing piece in the puzzle ,a key defender ,we recruit one Brian Lake ,,,,well bugger me if we don't win the next 3 flags with lake winning Norm smith in one and going close in the other 2 .Lake retires after the 2015 flag and we have arguably the best defender in the draft available with our first draft pick to replace him (logical choice you would think ) what do we do pick a guy with a horrendous injury with our first pick but hey still a lot of good young kids around with our 2nd but we go for ........ a 173 cm mid from Tassie . Been following this club and our picks for years and this is going back to the dark days when Peter Schwab was running the show.

Hahaha, you're a tool mate. Take your drivel somewhere else!

Cal Twomey's (AFL Media) take on our picks:

"Have liked what the Hawks have done with their night by taking half-forwards Ryan Burton and Blake Hardwick, and small midfielder Kieran Lovell. Lovell will be likened to Sam Mitchell from the moment he walks into Waverley, and the other two offer some extra firepower in attack (as if the Hawks need any more!). The Hawks are done for the night but should leave pretty pleased."

Pretty positive. Good enough for me

http://m.afl.com.au/news/2015-11-24/live-the-2015-national-draft

Begs the question - why aren't you in Adelaide tonight?

Unofficial Preview 2015 AFL draft thread - needs, wants, prospect discussion, the whole nine yards - all in here