BigFooty Official 2015 Big Footy Phantom Draft (Trial Run)

I'll be tossing and turning all night over this pick!

Gresham/Hibberd/Gresham/Hibberd...

But Richmond have decided to draft Vic Metro's MVP Jade Gresham, due to Matthew Kennedy fitting a similar HBF/Midfield role to Hibberd (who we have already drafted)

Richmond Pick 31 Jade Gresham (Vic Metro)
Height: 177cm Weight: 74kg
DOB: 24/08/1997
Club: Northern Knights
Position: Midfielder

Don't be put off my Jade Gresham's height, he is a major ball winner collecting 22, 27, 26, 20, 22 disposals in his 5 games at the Under 18 championships.

Gresham won Vic Metro's MVP and is the first indigenous captain for the Northern Knights.

Gresham might not be super quick however he is an inside midfielder that reads the taps around the stoppages well. At Gresham's size, he's likely to become a similar player at Richmond to Anthony Miles- However for him to put on weight, he'll likely need to spend some time in the gym. Gresham will add a different dimension to the Richmond midfield and may begin his career as a small forward.

Gresham also has the ability to player forward, hitting the scoreboard in majority of his TAC Cup games playing as a crumber. He ultimately will be end up as an inside midfielder due to his good ability to read the ball as an inside midfielder.

He has great leadership abilities with many from inside the Knights proclaiming how good of a leader he is- Another positive for clubs with Gresham being a great leader and someone that is well respected by others.

#32 Collingwood - Harry Himmelberg (NSW – GWS ACADEMY – KPF)
Height: 192cm, Weight: 84kg, DOB: 08/05/1996
Recruited from: Eastlake

More than happy to take my second academy talent and my second key position talent in this draft and the player I deem the best available talent here.

Collingwood are screaming out for that next generation key forward and with Hipwood and Himmelberg I may just have found two, with the option to also use Hipwood as a tall defender long term depending on whether the club settle on Moore as a forward of backman.

With Himmelberg. He is a rapidly improving talent going from a nobody last year to one of the stars in Div 2 through this years u18 championships. Has performed strongly through the u18 champs with strong disposal, mark, tackle and goal per game numbers by position. Then critically he also has the talent and some points of difference that can separate him from the next key forward at the next level.

Himmelberg is a one touch player and has exceptional ability at ground level with his ability to pick it up cleanly and as well as tackle and pressure going the other way. In addition to being a freak at ground level, Himmelberg also is a big time threat in the air and will really attack the ball and elevate for his marks, showing strong hands overhead. The area requiring work will be his set-shot goalkicking, but as someone fairly new to the game, that can improve.

Interesting you've picked him here Snoop, possibly would have still been around by your next pick. Fingers crossed he comes back ok from the injury, has some serious talent!

He certainly does. Before his injury had him inside top 20. Such a determined kid he'll be fine getting back.

Pick #34 Sydney - Mitchell Hibberd 191cm 85kg Clarence (TAS)

Figured the swans could do with some run off half back and Hibberd performed strongly at the Under 18 Championships with some great games for Tassie. Not afraid to take the game on, and is a good size for a modern half back, 6ft3 and 85kg with some size to come. Fits the Grant Birchall/KK mould to a degree, question whether he may also be able to translate his game into the middle, he knows how to find it but that may take a few years. Sydney have a very deep and powerful midfield so he would most likely develop off that half back flank. Skills sound, nothing outstanding, he has moderate hurt factor but sweeps up well and is of a fairly attacking nature. He's certainly bolted up the order of late and I'm keen to see exactly how high he really goes. Love his size and I reckon he's going to make a fairly solid best 22 contributer.

Pick # 35 West Coast. Greg Clark 193cm 82kg. Subiaco. Midfielder.

This is around the mark that I think Clark will go, he does, however, come with some question marks, is his success as a midfielder attributable to his size, or does he have more to offer than just his bulk. For a player his size he does cover the ground well and endurance is not a problem and at times he also plays the outside role well. He is one of those players who does most things well but nothing is elite. What he has done consistently through out his Colts games is amass high possession counts , he averages 22.8 . Its no secret that West Coast are in the throws of restocking their midfield and the recent additions of Yeo, Sheed and Duggan have gone a long way to help. Clark would be the big bodied midfielder that is very much in vogue at the moment, Yeo in part can play that role however his skills and versatility make him more useful in other roles. From a character perspective you won't go wrong with Clark , he is a hard trainer and has leadership qualities that were recognised when he was named captain of the WA Under 18's for this years championships. He is an AFL Academy kid and is an interesting prospect. He was one of WA's better performers at this years Championships and his prospects were most probably hurt a little by having played in a pretty ordinary and sub standard WA group this year.

This selection is quite speculative but one I am comfortable to make. I also gave very strong consideration to selecting the Calder Cannons little pocket rocket Hisham Keratieh who is an out and out little ripper. West Coast's forward line is well maned with the exception of a dynamic crumbing forward and I believe Keratieh would also be a good option with this pick.

In the end I have gone home grown.

Chris25 your up Fremantle is on

Pick 36 Fremantle - Brandon White (188cm, 77kg defender/midfielder from Dandenong Stingrays)

Who?

White is an underrated player on BigFooty. Probably top 30 for mine. His season has gone unnoticed though. Very strong defensively, also good skills and a handy turn of pace.

I'll do a proper write up when I'm home and get a chance.

Pick 37 - Brisbane

Stephen Tahana

I am a bit of a fan of taking a bottom aged AA who didn't quite live up to expectations in their senior year. Often they are just marking time until they get into the AFL. Tahana is one who impressed me a lot last year as an excellent defensive back who gave really good dash and ball carry from the back. I see him playing that role in the AFL.

He has been playing a fair bit through the midfield and he flashed a few decent skills but to me he looked lost too often and did not really have a feel for where to go to win the ball and receive. At the back he can be taken to the ball and the positioning going forward is a fair bit easier. When he gets the ball behind the play he has good wheels and can turn defense into attack quickly and clear the area. Skills are solid and he will hit most of his targets.

I see him a Jarmen Impey type defender who will get the job on tricky small medium forwards early in his career and I expect him to become more of a factor in the offense as he develops. He did a really good job on Ah Chee when he played on him this year. He is strong through the core and is a good tackler.

Pick 36 Fremantle - Brandon White (188cm, 77kg defender/midfielder from Dandenong Stingrays)

Who?

White is an underrated player on BigFooty. Probably top 30 for mine. His season has gone unnoticed though. Very strong defensively, also good skills and a handy turn of pace.

I'll do a proper write up when I'm home and get a chance.

Agreed, reviewed footage last night and he stuck out as one I'd overlooked.

#33 - Hawthorn.

Matt Allen, 193cm KPF, SA.

Why: Coming tomorrow

Expected this to be somewhat divisive, but anyway.
Allen may not have the biggest bag of tricks or the widest skillset, but guys who can find it on the lead and take the ball out in front of his eyes will always have a place for me, and Allen certainly looks like he can do that. My only criticisms of his forward game are that he tended to lead wide for SA and he got a bit cute when lowering his eyes, but the ideas are good and he sees his teammates pretty well.

Wouldn't be asked to work miracles at Hawthorn, he'd draw the ball and the hawks mids would draw him to the ball, makes for a nice match.

Career role player? Perhaps, or perhaps there's a little bit more untapped potential there that might show itself now that he's put his cricket on the backburner and focussed on footy (he did have a rookie contract with the adeaide strikers last year).

BigFooty Official 2015 Big Footy Phantom Draft (Trial Run)