2015 Brisbane Lions Board Elections - Democracy comes to town Dec 17th

A good way to get a dysfunctional board is to appoint inexperienced people that are out of their depth, thus making board activity and debate at a high level difficult to achieve.
It's a great way to get the high quality board members off side, as they feel like they are part of a circus.
All due respect to a guy from a supporter activist group, but these are no the sorts you want at board level I'm afraid. You sure as hell don't find these sorts of folks on the boards of the most successful (off-field) clubs.

Its akin to getting the Motoring Enthusiasts Party a senate seat.
You know that's not his day job, right?

Agree.

However successful boards are generally made up of successful people in a variety of fields. By successful, I mean captains of industry type folk - not middle managers and public servants who really really like the club heaps.

Maybe I'm entering a bit of class warfare here, but someone like this TLR guy would be better off being an employee at the club in the digital and communications space, not a board member setting strategic direction of the entire organisation.

And let us not forget that these "activists" are putting pressure on the incumbents (who supports THEM?:mad::drunk:) to perform at a high level. We seem to have had rubber stamping too long at board level and the shake up last year and the broad field this year can only be good. Kliemt and Rizzler don't need to win to be successful IMO, it is about accountability and a strong challenge.

And if they do win? Great then they get a crack. If they are out of their depth then it will be a tough couple of years for them otherwise it could be the making of them. Excluding people based on their lack of business connections to the new moneyed aristocracy is the sort of exclusionary horseshit that is ruining this country. Let's keep that attitude out of our club. I want a meritocracy, let's get the best people for the job, and let's not be afraid to fail on the way.

Agree.

However successful boards are generally made up of successful people in a variety of fields. By successful, I mean captains of industry type folk - not middle managers and public servants who really really like the club heaps.

Maybe I'm entering a bit of class warfare here, but someone like this TLR guy would be better off being an employee at the club in the digital and communications space, not a board member setting strategic direction of the entire organisation.
Maybe you're making assumptions about his credentials?

You know that's not his day job, right?

Yes, I have read his about me thing. Great work with Social Media for QLD Police. Ideal candidate to run digital and social media for the Brisbane Lions as an employee.

No known business acumen, governance experience, legal or financial experience etc. Not an ideal board candidate (in my own opinion) for an organisation like the Brisbane Lions, or any other organisation of that size.

3 random club selections:

Hawks board - http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/club/people/the-board

Swans board - http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/club/board-members

Pies Board - http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/club/the-board

No offence to Mr Kleimke, but he should be applying for a job, not seeking a position on the board. Again, just my opinion.

Perhaps being close to 60 years old, makes me a bit of a dinosaur - but I prefer candidates that are established, experienced and successful business executives with useful networks and board level skillsets. When the board starts running the twitter account, I'm sure he will be perfect then.

I want a meritocracy, let's get the best people for the job,

Precisely.

Proven successful business executives from all varieties of backgrounds and industries.

Outstanding work with QPS social media coverage aside. If you are a business leader in this field, you are running a company that provides services to large organisations in that field.

For lack of a better analogy, I want the kind of guy that runs twitter, not the guy that uses it well. (yes, not getting the CEO of twitter, its just an analogy!)

Yes, I have read his about me thing. Great work with Social Media for QLD Police. Ideal candidate to run digital and social media for the Brisbane Lions as an employee.

No known business acumen, governance experience, legal or financial experience etc. Not an ideal board candidate (in my own opinion) for an organisation like the Brisbane Lions, or any other organisation of that size.

Swans board - http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/club/board-members

Pies Board - http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/club/the-board

No offence to Mr Kleimke, but he should be applying for a job, not seeking a position on the board. Again, just my opinion.

Perhaps being close to 60 years old, makes me a bit of a dinosaur - but I prefer candidates that are established, experienced and successful business executives with useful networks and board level skillsets. When the board starts running the twitter account, I'm sure he will be perfect then.
Despite my previous rant, I see your point QAFL_Fan, but I still think there is room for someone who can act as a member advocate on the board. Maybe one of the limitations of our deliberately small board is that there is not a perceived room for that kind of member.

Agree.

So you'll be voting against the club's own appointees of Andrew Wellington and Sarah Kelly as they come up for voting, correct? After all one is only a CA and the other is a lecturer at UQ - probably on par with a Social Media Director.

cucumber-American.jpg

:thumbsu: :footy: :rainbow:

The other thing we need on the board is a variety of viewpoints, successful business people tend to bring that viewpoint. I'm happy enough with Holmes and if Springfield goes ahead same with Sharpless (prefer Leigh as Chairman though). What other types bring is that variety of viewpoint that can assist the Club (hence why our specialty appointments are made).

Haha mate, you just buggered your own argument...

HAWKS BOARD

Richard Amos - Director
Richard is a Managing Director of leading business and communication strategy firm Royce and his relationship with the Club has spanned over two decades. Recruited to the Hawks in 1979, Richard played from 1980-1982 and was involved with the Club as an anti-merger campaigner in 1996 before he joined the Board for two years from 1998-2000.

From what I've been told Kliemt is a huge campaigner too!

Precisely.

Proven successful business executives from all varieties of backgrounds and industries.

Outstanding work with QPS social media coverage aside. If you are a business leader in this field, you are running a company that provides services to large organisations in that field.

For lack of a better analogy, I want the kind of guy that runs twitter, not the guy that uses it well. (yes, not getting the CEO of twitter, its just an analogy!)
The guy that runs twitter is probably not the guy that uses twitter best.

I wasn't forming an argument, I was expressing an opinion.

your point is ridiculous.

Mr Amos is the Managing Director of a private firm.

Mr Kliemke is a public servant looking after social media.

Mr Amos runs the type of business that allows people in roles like Mr Kliemke to execute their strategy and ideas.

It wasn't my intention to be-little him, so I'm best not discussing it further. I was just expressing my view that its a dangerous slippery slope when an activist group gets a following and ends up in positions of too much influence without the neccessary credentials.

If you disagree, thats absolutely your right and your vote is your vote and you should do as you please.

I wasn't forming an argument, I was expressing an opinion.

your point is ridiculous.

Mr Amos runs the type of business that allows people in roles like Mr Kliemke to execute their strategy and ideas.

It wasn't my intention to be-little him, so I'm best not discussing it further. I was just expressing my view that its a dangerous slippery slope when an activist group gets a following and ends up in positions of too much influence without the neccessary credentials.

If you disagree, thats absolutely your right and your vote is your vote and you should do as you please.
Activism does not equal advocacy.

Despite my previous rant, I see your point QAFL_Fan, but I still think there is room for someone who can act as a member advocate on the board. Maybe one of the limitations of our deliberately small board is that there is not a perceived room for that kind of member.

Every member of the board should be a member advocate. As a long term lions fan, I can understand why that fact is not readily accepted after the likes of Kelly, Johnson and Bowers.

But you have a guy like Greg Swann as CEO, they want to be dealing with people 'operating at their level'.

I am treading a fine line here, and don't want to insult Mr Kleimke given my eternal thanks for his work on the jumper - so I won't discuss the issue further.

Might start with getting his name right then.;)

Is he?

You seem to only value experience in the private sector. Seeing as the Brisbane Lions operates in an environment more akin to the public service where there are many different stakeholders (the AFL, the membership and governments at local, state and federal level) I would see public service experience as a great asset to compliement the private sector experience of the majority of the board members/challengers.

Precisely

Boards run things.

Employees do things.
I hate employers/boards with no real world/practical experience.
We had a board with no football experience, and see where that got us. That's been fixed, but is only one aspect of the flawed admin. Different experiences and expertise is required, not just accountants, businessmen and ex-footy coaches.

RALEIGH TO BRING LIONS PREMIERSHIP CUPS BACK TO GABBA

Brisbane Lions board candidate Chris Raleigh promises to bring the Lions three premiership cups back to the Gabba from their current home at the Lions social club more than 20 kilometres away if elected to the board. Raleigh will also ensure the Lions premiership flags will fly at every home game. According to Raleigh, “having the cups on public display and having the flags flying at all Lions games at the Gabba is such an essential move. I also promise to have the cups on display at all Lions games in Melbourne”.

Chris Raleigh is an Intellectual Property Lawyer with Queensland University of Technology in addition to being a trade marks attorney and sessional academic with the QUT Law School. His qualifications in the area of law, sport and entertainment include a Masters of Intellectual Property Law from the University of Melbourne, a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Queensland plus post graduate and undergraduate degrees in Film and Television Production from the Victorian College of the Arts, Queensland College of Art and the University of Miami, Florida. Most importantly, Raleigh is an 18 year member of the Lions, a player sponsor of James Aish and a Lions Coaches Club Member.

“My role as a lawyer at QUT involves giving legal advice regarding the development of intellectual property, ideas that in most cases aim to have both commercial value and the potential for public good. In many ways the Lions aim to do the same. They strive to be commercially successful while also recognising for a lot of fans the immeasurable value of what the Club actually means to them”.

“When I publicly announced in June I was running for the Lions board I was the first independent candidate to do this in 10 years. I travelled to nearly every Lions game this year and gave flyers out to fans about my intentions of running for the board. I was so fortunate to meet hundreds of passionate Lions fans around the country (and also New Zealand at the Anzac day game). It would be a tremendous honour to represent these fans on the board”.

“It’s time for the Lions to have an independent board member. I can’t remember the last time the board process was open. Having a democratic board process is so essential, it is the final step for our club to move forward and I think the fans will engage better with the club if there is an independent director”.

What I will bring to the Lions board is as follows:

1. Give Lions fans a passionate, independent voice on the board;

2. Provide high level, strategic legal advice in all areas relevant to the Club free of charge;

3. Assess every decision on the basis of what is best for the Club, not my bank balance;

4. Bring the Lions premiership cups back to the Gabba and display them at all home games in addition to flying the premiership flags;

5. Have more affordable Lions social functions for adult fans such as a trivia night with a player sitting at each table with fans;

6. Organise regular information sessions to keep fans more up to date and involved with all board matters; and

7. I will be personally contactable at all times by all fans while on the board and invite fans to email me at any time at christopher.raleigh@qut.edu.au.

This past decade our club has had Captains of Industry sitting aloft in their ivory tower, tapping each other on the shoulder.

They managed to disenfranchise the hoi polloi and lead the club into a massive debt.

As such I'm all for a diverse range of skills and experience on the Board. But more than that, I'm thrilled we're actually getting a choice for the first time in a very long time.

I look forward to reading more about the candidates and what they can bring to the table.

Agree.

This one now reminds me of the people that say that government should be run like business but from my observations in dealing with business most of them are poorly run as they tend to have no strategic direction as they tend to run far too lean and give little thought to holistic needs due to this lack vision as to their future.

It also reminds me that if this was the case above and we stuck to a certain "class" of people we may as not have elections period in any facet of society as anyone new coming in may lack what we think is expertise and with that experience.

I too am close to 60 years old and your opinion, and you are more than entitled to them as I am mine, are from my observations typical of the White male who pines for a stability that they only think existed in their time and want change based only on their empirical observations that government, business, sporting clubs etc in general can only be run by those of your own class.

2015 Brisbane Lions Board Elections - Democracy comes to town Dec 17th