List Mgmt. 2015 Trade, Free agency and draft rumours

The question I have is whether this is just people rehashing the same media report, and passing it off as something that they've then heard from a source, or if there really is something coming directly from players...

Is this a little game of Chinese whispers at play?

I would think that Port and Koch would go to Chinese big bank investors to keep Chad at Port. There is no way they would let him out of their grasp. If we offered him a mill a year they would offer 1.5...and get rid of Boak to keep him...he's too valuable to let go.

Three years a go at half time in the prelim, I went outside disgusted at the G, with fellow hawk mates we went to have a dart and a Port Adelaide member who had driven up with his family to watch the big game ( he had AFL tix) got talking. He said " you guys will end up with Dangerfield in a couple of years" , we said bull dust, he replied " nah mate, you guys pulled Burgoyne from under everyone's nose and he was only 27 and paid well over half a million, watch what happens". I shared this possible nothingness because my Hawk mate is adamant we've got him!! I still think he is gonski to Cats but....that doesn't mean we didn't get ready for something big. All this talk about no cap space is rubbish, if the big fish is willing, you make cap space!! Our mids have all signed up for next year, so we may feel Jed, Jor, Howe , langers and Shiels along Lewy could be around little while longer yet so getting more goalkicking , speedy, forward like wingard isn't off the table at ALL! And Barrett is now adamant Hawks are dead serious about Bennell as well. Thought I'd share this for the sake of it.

yep but look at it from the other players perspective at the club who are not being paid anyway near that. Franklin was afforded that as he was already part of the fabric of the club and everyone at the club knew what he could do and had done for this club. No one would have begruded him the money. You don't want to tear at the fabric of your club by paying someone a lot more than everyone else including some of the great players at our club currently
When the decline starts, and believe me, it's started already, we will need to at least seriously think about bringing in a player that could possibly be in the top echelon of highly paid players to extend our time at the top
We haven't had access to top-line talented kids for a very long time
Dogs, Pies, Giants, Suns, Power, Tigers, Saints, even Dees, have LOTS of talented kids stockpiled, gaining experience, and should be a force in the coming years

One thing Hawthorn are very good at is keeping its plans to itself.

We could well be into Dangerfield or Bennell, maybe even both, but the likelihood that anything will be known of our intended target until we chose to let it be known is pretty much a certainty.

And then Bang! We land our man.

Well, that's how it's seemed to work in recent memory.

When the decline starts, and believe me, it's started already, we will need to at least seriously think about bringing in a player that could possibly be in the top echelon of highly paid players to extend our time at the top
We haven't had access to top-line talented kids for a very long time
Dogs, Pies, Giants, Suns, Power, Tigers, Saints, even Dees, have LOTS of talented kids stockpiled, gaining experience, and should be a force in the coming years
Totally agree.

Now is the time we look to trade out genuine quality for 2015 1st Round + 2016 1st Round.

Not because I want to or because I see our guys as trade-bait, but because I want 2017 & 2018/9 success as well.

I'll finish this on the hypotheticals board.

The Wingard rumours are bizarre. Maybe Chad and Hodgey had a catchup once and discussed the merits of trying to elbow someone into a post while they ran the ball back in. Chad said it wouldn't be possible, Hodgey said it was. Bet was if it ever happened that the loser signed for the winner of the bet's club.
Chad told Hodgey to make every post a winner.

We could well be into Dangerfield or Bennell, maybe even both, but the likelihood that anything will be known of our intended target until we chose to let it be known is pretty much a certainty.

Spot on I agree, but then we do have a tendency to pull a left field selection out of the hat. Frawley probably being the exception. I have so much faith in the club now to nail draft and trading I just sit back and enjoy the ride cos u know something good is coming down the pike.

Interesting , JOM is closing a deal on a property in Stkilda atm and has knocked back a 3 yr extension from the Suns .
I'll watch this one grow legs and take off like the rumour you guys planted a few years back about Mackie purchasing a property in Hawthorn during trade week.
I think it was Big Ronnie's handiwork back then.

For what ever reason, I just don't think we will land a big fish this season.

I believe the club (Fox) when they say our salary cap situation is tight, as i would expect it to be. The Buddy money would be completely gone by now, with the Frawley and McEvoy, and increased salaries of our young guns.

I do think next year is when we will make the move, as I would expect a few of our veterans to have retired by then. If we can land O'Meara next year, I would be very happy for us to be relatively quite this offseason.

The only player I would think we may entertain is Bennell, if we can get him cheaply and on a modest salary. But I doubt that will happen though.

Interesting , JOM is closing a deal on a property in Stkilda atm and has knocked back a 3 yr extension from the Suns .
Now that he has a house in Melbourne, if he gets recruited by Hawthorn it is his own fault. JOM, JOM, JOM, JOM!
vlcsnap-2010-03-10-07h41m42s197.jpg

You know , watching the other clubs racing around and carrying on as they are , it reminds me of the story of the old bull and young bull standing on top of the hill !!
Ah yes!
Young bull: let's race down the hill and shag a cow!
Old bull: let's walk down and shag them all!

For what ever reason, I just don't think we will land a big fish this season.

I believe the club (Fox) when they say our salary cap situation is tight, as i would expect it to be. The Buddy money would be completely gone by now, with the Frawley and McEvoy, and increased salaries of our young guns.

I do think next year is when we will make the move, as I would expect a few of our veterans to have retired by then. If we can land O'Meara next year, I would be very happy for us to be relatively quite this offseason.

The only player I would think we may entertain is Bennell, if we can get him cheaply and on a modest salary. But I doubt that will happen though.

Agreed. I take the view that the only way the "big fish" joins Hawthorn is if he is prepared to accept a contract that is significant less in dollar value than he could take elsewhere, in the hope/expectation that playing in a successful team will net financial benefits elsewhere outside of the pay-packet.

But I wouldn't be surprised if the club is looking at and talking to targets that may come onto the list after 2016 when some of our older players start to pull the pin on their careers.

Reckon you have gone early on 2013. The 2006 draft was supposed to be a super draft. There was some fine players from that draft no doubt but on the whole I'd rate it below par. Who could have forseen all of Thorp, Gumbleton and Hansen sucking, Leuenburger being injured all the time, Armitage taking 10 years to come good, Andres Everitt, James Sellar, Mitch Brown, Shaun Hampson, Jarryd Morton, Gary Moss and Brent Renouf all to have ordinary to poor careers? That draft is basically the poster draft for unmet potential. The point is 2006 had a lot of talented juniors who never made it largely due to injury but two years in everyone was still talking about it being a super draft. I have a lot of question marks over the 2013 draft. Outside the top 20 there is only a handful of players that will make it (not including rookie elevations, father sons, academy picks). About a quarter of that draft was rookie elevations!

Hawks did ok out of the 2013 draft
24 Billy Hartung Good get (almost in our best 22)
38 Dayle Garlett miss but worth the risk considering we were going to draft Sicily with this pick
56 James Sicily looking good
59 John Ceglar (when Hale retires will be constantly in our best 22)
71 Will Langford (In our best 22)

Rookie draft
17 Dallas Willsmore (may make it, promoted to senior list in 2014)
33 Derick Wanganeen (played a couple of games, delisted miss)
48 Zac Webster (promoted to senior list probably will be delisted)
57 Ben Ross (played 4 games in 2014 then delisted)
61 Kurt Heatherley ( Gibbo's replacement being promoted to senior list
65 Shem-Kalvin Tatupu (He is coming along nicely may play some game next year)

From what I can see the 2013 draft looks mighty fine to me

Hawks did ok out of the 2013 draft
24 Billy Hartung Good get (almost in our best 22)
38 Dayle Garlett miss but worth the risk considering we were going to draft Sicily with this pick
56 James Sicily looking good
59 John Ceglar (when Hale retires will be constantly in our best 22)
71 Will Langford (In our best 22)

Rookie draft
17 Dallas Willsmore (may make it, promoted to senior list in 2014)
33 Derick Wanganeen (played a couple of games, delisted miss)
48 Zac Webster (promoted to senior list probably will be delisted)
57 Ben Ross (played 4 games in 2014 then delisted)
61 Kurt Heatherley ( Gibbo's replacement being promoted to senior list
65 Shem-Kalvin Tatupu (He is coming along nicely may play some game next year)

From what I can see the 2013 draft looks mighty fine to me
With a name like Beama, did you have a father that played footy in green and gold stripes.

Disney would trust Clarko with the latest Star Wars plot. Should cast him in the next one.

Clarko Binks?

With a name like Beama, did you have a father that played footy in green and gold stripes.
No got the name from when I used to play cricket as a leg spinner. It was from delivery I bowled first ball after tea about 20 years ago.

The ball came out early and went into orbit, the opposition batsman choose to avoid the ball when it re entered the atmosphere and it hit the top of leg stump. We all burst out laughing (the umpires, me, my team mates and his) while he walked off the ground very annoyed. The poor guy was even booked for descent by umpires for what he said while walking off the ground which made it the more amusing.

So from that day I have been know as Beama.

Oh yeah my dad did play for Yarra Junction in the 60's & 70's which did have green and yellow its strip.