2016 Pre-Season (All news, press conferences, training reports, Photos)

<blockquote class="twitter-video" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">.<a href="https://twitter.com/rockwiz38">@rockwiz38</a> doesn&#39;t lie, Josh Schache doesn&#39;t miss <a href="https://twitter.com/brisbanelions">@brisbanelions</a> <a href="https://t.co/zJrj8EodCH">pic.twitter.com/zJrj8EodCH</a></p>&mdash; AFL Queensland (@AFLQ) <a href="">February 5, 2016</a></blockquote>
<script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Schache has a perfect set shot.

I can see why they are talking about playing him round 1, he only needs one mark and he's probably got a goal.

Coincidence or not,(with the 2 goals shown) but from a defence point of view, it's good to see them forcing the forwards wide. Is this a valid observation to the guys who are watching?

I cant aee schache ot playing round 1 you just need to develop quality talls and hes ready made. Will be some tough times for him but id say he will kick a goal a game on avg. Just have to play him for mine. Hes the best tall talent you have
If i read that right you meant you cant see how he cant play round 1. Which is more then fare as i agree. Problem is we will more then likely play Close freeman and walker first.

Coincidence or not,(with the 2 goals shown) but from a defence point of view, it's good to see them forcing the forwards wide. Is this a valid observation to the guys who are watching?
Pritty solid obserbation there rusty. Or just that they where close to the boundary line so they filmed it because they could. Either way i hope your right.

Its a bit of a conundrum really. Freeman and Walker are the most logical choices for Round 1, in my mind. Close, Hipwood and Schache would be next in line, but not in that order...Close>Schache>Hipwood would be my bet. I can see us using Bell as a third tall almost, like with Robinson was doing, now that hes likely to be used as a midfield enforcer.

Ill bet my lunch money close gets selected ahead of all of those forwards. Not saying i agree but they seem sold on him making it.

I could see them doing the Close/Freeman/Walker combo. Gives them Walker/Freeman as chopout rucks so we can give Martin a break. Even if they do 10-15% of the rucking each it'll take a massive load off Stef, allowing him to still do a 30hitout/20disposal game and help dominate like he does.

If i read that right you meant you cant see how he cant play round 1. Which is more then fare as i agree. Problem is we will more then likely play Close freeman and walker first.
I think only one of close/walker play as that big forward who can ruck. Need more endurance and flexability with cap on rotations schache gives that with his big engine. Something to watch

Yeah its a great problem to have to be honest. Leppa loves his talls though.

Well if Schache keeps scoring more goals ahead of the likes of Freeman and Close then l think Schache will be round 1 ahead of the others. Walker l reckon is a walk up start for round 1 as he was brought over to get the number 1 defender.

So I just got back from watching the latest scratch match at Yeronga. I basically concur with Stelle's observations and would add:

Schache is legit. Get him in the team for round one. Took another really good pack mark, some nice marks on the lead with Merrett all over him, some smart ball use around the ground and along with that great set shot goal, he kicked a ridiculous dribble goal from the pie stand out of a pack in the first quarter that had Rockliff yell out to Gary O'Donnell "make it 20, give him another 5 years"

Bell - probably best on ground for mine. Not a third tall at all, just pushes forward hard from the midfield and runs into space to get uncontested marks that lead to shots on goal.

Zorko - probably just behind Bell. Good game, plenty of it

Hipwood - really impressive. Moves well and great hands, had 3 shots on goal in the first quarter alone and just finds space through good movement. Kicking however was atrocious. Kicked 1.2 and one out on the full and 3 of them were pretty much sitters. Some bad kicks around the ground too

Freeman and Hammelman both kicked a couple and show some good signs.

I thought Archie was ok. Martin definitely beat him, but he got a little bit of footy (more in that Natinui contested style rather than the extra midfielder uncontested style of a Martin) and took a great contested mark in the defensive 50.

Keays and Mathieson both ok again.

Harwood and McGrath both looked good and offer some good attack on the footy and toughness.

There's probably heaps I've forgotten that others will mention, but that's a quick wrap. Someone else's turn at Burpengary!

Oh, and feel free to ask any questions.

506af4ad74c5b64afe001151._w.1500_s.fit_.jpg

Struggling to keep it on with Schache. Must....be...patient. I love hearing how well he's doing though.

2016 Pre-Season (All news, press conferences, training reports, Photos)