Game Day 2017 Collingwood Intra Club

Just to reiterate, it was stinking hot at OP tonight, and really uncomfortable in the sun. The vast majority of fans were crowded into the limited shaded areas. Playing under those conditions would have been very draining and challenging.

On a side note, was interested to see Neil Balme there.

Lynden Dunn is listed at 192 cm. Standing alongside him after the game, he seemed shorter than me, and I am about 183 cm. Talk about telling porkies.

At half time I got chicken and lemongrass noodles from the Vietnamese street food stand. When it was ready, I sat and ate it at a table, appreciating the opportunity to finally sit down. Returning to the game, it was all over after one quarter. Until I read TD's comment that only three quarters were played, I thought I had missed an entire quarter ordering and eating food, and became concerned that I had totally lost all sense of time.

Cox physically looks an ungainly creature, with daggy shorts and what looked like a piece of toilet paper flapping from his shoulder. He did well in the ruck when he didn't jump too early, but didn't do a lot around the ground, apart from a solid, unopposed overhead mark in defence. Grundy didn't reach any great heights also.

Really, assessing the worth of players in a game without much pressure and played in searing heat, is a bit of a futile exercise. Also there was the problem of putting a name to some of the faces. No 55 looked like a mobile flagpole, tall and skinny, destined to make the numbers for a practice game then be seen no more at senior level.

Wells looked overweight and in need of a few match simulation opportunities. Blair cops a lot of flak, but he was more prominent than many in the first half, even if he missed relatively easy goals. I thought Jesse White did as well as any of the second string tall men. Didn't see a lot of Schade, who seemed to be swapping with the man he dwarfed, Dunn. Still if he was on Moore, he totally blanketed him.

All in all, the intensity of the game was surely diluted by heat and intense sunshine, though when I returned from my oriental repast, much of the playing field seemed to be bathed in shadow. After the game, the security guys fought a losing battle trying to persuade the kiddies to stand behind the fence when the players were doing their lap. Even Bucks turned a blind eye to a young boy scooting around the boundary to score an autograph from Pendles.

Also quite funny with the likes of Mackie not being a household name with the fans. He gave an embarrassed smile to a group of men who were rather too loudly pondering who the hell was number 44. 'I am a cousin to Andrew Mackie' he fessed up, 'not his brother'.

When the light and shade finally established a delicate balance in the evening, the AAMI Park igloos, the Hisense Centre buildings and a silver jet flying directly overhead in a bright blue sky, formed a picturesque backdrop to the football action and crowd. 'It's an Emirates' someone suggested of the airliner, waving the red Emirates give-away cap chucked his way earlier in one of several handouts from the club, or rather, its sponsors.

It was great to have football back, even if the standard of what we watched was hard to judge. I was glad to be a spectator in the shade, not a player in the heat. Not a day for players to work overtime at trying to impress, though Blair probably tried as hard as anyone to fight for a spot in the 22.

One final though early observation is the physical size and shape of Rocca and Scott Burns, who both looked to be in awesome physical condition. Someone remarked that Rocca actually looked fitter than he did in his playing days. Buckley seemed to leave the coaching to his mate from Adelaide and who ever else was at a loose end on the night.

Reading big footy on the train home, I missed my stop by three stations and had to take a train back in the other direction. The ticket inspectors nabbed a woman trying to evade their clutches by alighting from the carriage. By that stage I had passed through Elsternwick and Gardinvale Stations, neither of which seemed familiar from my previous travels on this line.

Awaiting the return trip at North Brighton station, I sat next to a young guy who was subsequently accosted by the railway patrol for slipping under the boom gates and threatened with a $300+ fine. Politeness and honesty finally won the day for him and he fortunately copped a warning.

He then told me that he equated crossing against the boom gates to not wearing a helmet when skating. He had a skateboard but no helmet, so at least tonight,I guess he was intent on pushing any legal parameters limiting his behaviour. I assured him that, yes, I had once been young and knew exactly from where he was coming.

Meh, i dont take anything out of nab cup or JLT series or what ever it is either. Last year 3 teams went undefeated in it - Fremantle, Collingwood and Melbourne. None made finals.
Happens every year, I remember a few years back the Lions were bound for the top 4 on the back of PS form lol.

Lynden Dunn is listed at 192 cm. Standing alongside him after the game, he seemed shorter than me, and I am about 183 cm. Talk about telling porkies.

At half time I got chicken and lemongrass noodles from the Vietnamese street food stand. When it was ready, I sat and ate it at a table, appreciating the opportunity to finally sit down. Returning to the game, it was all over after one quarter. Until I read TD's comment that only three quarters were played, I thought I had missed an entire quarter ordering and eating food, and thought I had totally lost all sense of time.

Cox physically looks an ungainly creature, with daggy shorts and what looked like a piece of toilet paper flapping from his shoulder. He did well in the ruck when he didn't jump too early, but didn't do a lot around the ground, apart from a solid, unopposed overhead mark in defence. Grundy didn't reach any great heights also.

Really, assessing the worth of players in a game without much pressure and played in searing heat, is a bit of a futile exercise. Also there was the problem of putting a name to some of the faces. No 55 looked like a mobile flagpole, tall and skinny, destined to make the numbers for a practice game then be seen no more at senior level.

Wells looked overweight and in need of a few match simulation opportunities. Blair cops a lot of flak, but he was more prominent than many in the first half, even if he missed relatively easy goals. I thought Jesse White did as well as any of the second string tall men. Didn't see a lot of Schade, who seemed to be swapping with the man he dwarfed, Dunn. Still if he was on Moore, he totally blanketed him.

All in all, the intensity of the game was surely diluted by heat and intense sunshine, though when I returned from my oriental repast, much of the playing field seemed to be bathed in shadow. After the game, the security guys fought a losing battle trying to persuade the kiddies to stand behind the fence when the players were doing their lap. Even Bucks turned a blind eye to a young boy scooting around the boundary to score an autograph from Pendles.

Also quite funny with the likes of Mackie not being a household name with the fans. He gave an embarrassed smile to a group of men who were rather too loudly pondering who the hell was number 44. 'I am a cousin to the Andre Mackie' he fessed up, 'not his brother'.

When the light and shade finally established a delicate balance in the evening, the AAMI Park igloos, the Hisense Centre buildings and a silver jet flying directly overhead in a bright blue sky, formed a picturesque backdrop to the football action and crowd. 'It's an Emirates' someone suggested of the airliner, waving the red Emirates give-away cap chucked his way earlier in one of several handouts from the club, or rather, its sponsors.

It was great to have football back, even if the standard of what we watched was hard to judge. I was glad to be a spectator in the shade, not a player in the heat. Not a day for players to work overtime at trying to impress, though Blair probably tried as hard as anyone to fight for a spot in the 22.

One final though early observation is the physical size and shape of Rocca and Scott Burns, who both looked to be in awesome physical shape. Someone remarked that Rocca actually looked fitter than he did in his playing days. Buckley seemed to leave the coaching to his mate from Adelaide and who ever else was at a loose end on the night.

Reading big footy on the train home, I missed my stop by three stations and had to take a train back in the other direction. The ticket inspectors nabbed a woman trying to evade their clutches by alighting from the carriage. By that stage I had passed through Elsternwick and Gardiner Stations, neither of which seemed familiar from my previous travels on this line.

Awaiting the return trip at North Brighton station, I sat next to a young guy who was subsequently accosted by the railway patrol for slipping under the boom gates and threatened with a $300+ fine. Politeness and honesty finally won the day for him and he fortunately copped a warning.

He then told me that he equated crossing against the boom gates to not wearing a helmet when skating. He had a skateboard but no helmet, so at least tonight,I guess he was intent on pushing any legal parameters limiting his behaviour. I assured him that, yes, I had once been young and knew exactly from where he was coming.
I often marvel at the ability of some to entertain the masses with their words.
Well played sir.

Think there Bans are up in next 2 weeks
They are allowed to play on Friday. Bad luck for both of them to miss by two days as they have been training very well.
Broomhead didn't play. Bucks said that although he's returned quite well, he's not ready for body work.
"He might be ready towards end of the preseason, but not rushing."

I often marvel at the ability of some to entertain the masses with their words.
Well played sir.
Sometimes it just all comes together, often it misses the mark, and sometimes it just rankles and you find yourself under siege. I appreciate your encouragement. Really I do! No wonder you lost your training wheels.:)

They are allowed to play on Friday. Bad luck for both of them to miss by two days as they have been training very well.
Broomhead didn't play. Bucks said that although he's returned quite well, he's not ready for body work.
"He might be ready towards end of the preseason, but not rushing."

I am getting Worried a bit on how much Broomhead has Missed

Sinclair was my best, thought Adams, Sidebottom and Maynard were also good. Baffled by the Scharenberg fixation. Took one really nice mark, but otherwise was not a standout at all. Good to see him get a good run at it though.
Sinclair! Are you sure? Why? I mean you may well be right but what does that say about my ability to follow the action that only twice did I notice him. He had a good opponent the first time I saw him, but he was beaten. The second observation was much more positive as he rebounded with a dash through the center and reminded me that he is not necessarily the dud I once thought he was. I didn't see much of Scharenberg either, though I did see a few things.

A quick summary of how I saw the senior list players.

Faz - looked sharp
JdG - did well
Wells - had a run
Grunds - OK
Billy - very good showing
Tyson - OK
Treloar - outstanding - BOG
Jesse - was terrific
Pendles - smoooooth
Blair - did well
Shaz - got through the game, but doesn't look like the messiah.
Tails - very good, 1 vote
Aish - quiet, but classy
Dunn - OK
Mayne - Just OK I thought. Missed a couple he should have kicked which is, I believe, a worrying continuation of his career trend
Trav - OK
Levi - will want to do better in the JLT
Phillips - good - he would be pleased with his effort
Sidey - OK
Crisp - OK
Dakes - looked very classy; I'm getting excited
Sinkers - good early
Moore - quiet
Ramma - wonderful
WHE - just loved that goal
Maynard - did OK
Howe - 2 votes
Smith - fine
Ox - did well

I am getting Worried a bit on how much Broomhead has Missed
Broomhead is a dud (but not in terms of his skills). He is incapable of playing more than a few games before getting yet another injury or illness. I know he has many supporters on here, and though I'd love to join the fan club, I just know he is going to disappoint yet again with yet another physical ailment or impairment. Forget him Dave. Then if he does unexpectedly string half a season together you'll be as pleasantly surprised as the best and worst of us.

Broomhead is a dud. He is incapable of playing more than a few games before getting yet another injury or illness. I know he has many supporters on here, and though I'd love to join the fan club, I just know he is going to disappoint yet again with yet another physical ailment or impairment. Forget him Dave. Then if he does unexpectedly string half a season together you'll be as pleasantly surprised as the best and worst of us.
Dud's a bit harsh TGG. What little we have seen of him he has shown quite a bit of potential. However I do agree with you regarding him disappointing us again. I have given up on him. I think he is going to perpetually get injured or have some other problem which keeps him out.
Shame as he could have been a real asset around goals.

A quick summary of how I saw the senior list players.

Faz - looked sharp
JdG - did well
Wells - had a run
Grunds - OK
Billy - very good showing
Tyson - OK
Treloar - outstanding - BOG
Jesse - was terrific
Pendles - smoooooth
Blair - did well
Shaz - got through the game, but doesn't look like the messiah.
Tails - very good, 1 vote
Aish - quiet, but classy
Dunn - OK
Mayne - Just OK I thought. Missed a couple he should have kicked which is, I believe, a worrying continuation of his career trend
Trav - OK
Levi - will want to do better in the JLT
Phillips - good - he would be pleased with his effort
Sidey - OK
Crisp - OK
Dakes - looked very classy; I'm getting excited
Sinkers - good early
Moore - quiet
Ramma - wonderful
WHE - just loved that goal
Maynard - did OK
Howe - 2 votes
Smith - fine
Ox - did well
My muddled recollection of the game actually lines up well with your appraisal. Good summary.

I wrote late last year that watching Daicos up close he looked a few years off being a senior player...

I was wrong!

Also don't underestimate how important the run from Sinclair & Ramsay out if the back line this year will be.

Sent from my warped mind

Apparently Sinclair's and Ramsay's spots in defense are going to be taken by surplus midfielders because defense is easy to train and those guys just don't offer enough offensively. Go figure!

Dud's a bit harsh TGG. What little we have seen of him he has shown quite a bit of potential. However I do agree with you regarding him disappointing us again. I have given up on him. I think he is going to perpetually get injured or have some other problem which keeps him out.
Shame as he could have been a real asset around goals.
Agreed. I was about to change my wording but your quote now makes a liar of anything I subsequently may have corrected 1984 style. He is not a dud skill wise, but he is small and light, a delicate creature unable to sustain a collection of senior games to establish any kind of senior standing. He is a dud only because of the question marks over his physical ability to create an on field presence, and much of that is due to him rarely playing a game of AFL football.

Game Day 2017 Collingwood Intra Club