Game Day 2017 Collingwood Intra Club

It tires me the acceptance we now have of mediocrity. I tried to be a bit more nuanced earlier in the night when referring to Blair and Greenwood, but it went over a few heads so its time to be blunt!

Nuanced. We'd settle for accurate. Thought Aish was very good, particularly early.

A quick summary of how I saw the senior list players.

Faz - looked sharp
JdG - did well
Wells - had a run
Grunds - OK
Billy - very good showing
Tyson - OK
Treloar - outstanding - BOG
Jesse - was terrific
Pendles - smoooooth
Blair - did well
Shaz - got through the game, but doesn't look like the messiah.
Tails - very good, 1 vote
Aish - quiet, but classy
Dunn - OK
Mayne - Just OK I thought. Missed a couple he should have kicked which is, I believe, a worrying continuation of his career trend
Trav - OK
Levi - will want to do better in the JLT
Phillips - good - he would be pleased with his effort
Sidey - OK
Crisp - OK
Dakes - looked very classy; I'm getting excited
Sinkers - good early
Moore - quiet
Ramma - wonderful
WHE - just loved that goal
Maynard - did OK
Howe - 2 votes
Smith - fine
Ox - did well
Did Kirby and Mackie play?

Nuanced. We'd settle for accurate. Thought Aish was very good, particularly early.
This line of discussion is appealing, with the soft tones embodied in the possibility of 'nuancing' an assessment, perhaps blurring the line between alternative facts and facts.

My response would be that there is no point assessing anyone on today's performance, other than Elliott, White, Treloar, De Goey and others who flashed in and out.

I am on record as suggesting in reluctantly confident words that Elliott was unlikely to play again, and I am so glad to be wrong. He looks like Elliott of old. Some like the measured factual approach, others like to anticipate the best and worst that can happen and let opinions ride their emotions. Somewhere in the middle it all meets.

It was too hot today for players to sustain anything substantial on a first hitout. It is what it was, a first up friendly game played in a relaxed style to a layback audience. Not worth getting in a knot about from where I viewed it. .

Lynden Dunn is listed at 192 cm. Standing alongside him after the game, he seemed shorter than me, and I am about 183 cm. Talk about telling porkies.

At half time I got chicken and lemongrass noodles from the Vietnamese street food stand. When it was ready, I sat and ate it at a table, appreciating the opportunity to finally sit down. Returning to the game, it was all over after one quarter. Until I read TD's comment that only three quarters were played, I thought I had missed an entire quarter ordering and eating food, and thought I had totally lost all sense of time.

Cox physically looks an ungainly creature, with daggy shorts and what looked like a piece of toilet paper flapping from his shoulder. He did well in the ruck when he didn't jump too early, but didn't do a lot around the ground, apart from a solid, unopposed overhead mark in defence. Grundy didn't reach any great heights also.

Really, assessing the worth of players in a game without much pressure and played in searing heat, is a bit of a futile exercise. Also there was the problem of putting a name to some of the faces. No 55 looked like a mobile flagpole, tall and skinny, destined to make the numbers for a practice game then be seen no more at senior level.

Wells looked overweight and in need of a few match simulation opportunities. Blair cops a lot of flak, but he was more prominent than many in the first half, even if he missed relatively easy goals. I thought Jesse White did as well as any of the second string tall men. Didn't see a lot of Schade, who seemed to be swapping with the man he dwarfed, Dunn. Still if he was on Moore, he totally blanketed him.

All in all, the intensity of the game was surely diluted by heat and intense sunshine, though when I returned from my oriental repast, much of the playing field seemed to be bathed in shadow. After the game, the security guys fought a losing battle trying to persuade the kiddies to stand behind the fence when the players were doing their lap. Even Bucks turned a blind eye to a young boy scooting around the boundary to score an autograph from Pendles.

Also quite funny with the likes of Mackie not being a household name with the fans. He gave an embarrassed smile to a group of men who were rather too loudly pondering who the hell was number 44. 'I am a cousin to the Andrew Mackie' he fessed up, 'not his brother'.

When the light and shade finally established a delicate balance in the evening, the AAMI Park igloos, the Hisense Centre buildings and a silver jet flying directly overhead in a bright blue sky, formed a picturesque backdrop to the football action and crowd. 'It's an Emirates' someone suggested of the airliner, waving the red Emirates give-away cap chucked his way earlier in one of several handouts from the club, or rather, its sponsors.

It was great to have football back, even if the standard of what we watched was hard to judge. I was glad to be a spectator in the shade, not a player in the heat. Not a day for players to work overtime at trying to impress, though Blair probably tried as hard as anyone to fight for a spot in the 22.

One final though early observation is the physical size and shape of Rocca and Scott Burns, who both looked to be in awesome physical shape. Someone remarked that Rocca actually looked fitter than he did in his playing days. Buckley seemed to leave the coaching to his mate from Adelaide and who ever else was at a loose end on the night.

Reading big footy on the train home, I missed my stop by three stations and had to take a train back in the other direction. The ticket inspectors nabbed a woman trying to evade their clutches by alighting from the carriage. By that stage I had passed through Elsternwick and Gardiner Stations, neither of which seemed familiar from my previous travels on this line.

Awaiting the return trip at North Brighton station, I sat next to a young guy who was subsequently accosted by the railway patrol for slipping under the boom gates and threatened with a $300+ fine. Politeness and honesty finally won the day for him and he fortunately copped a warning.

He then told me that he equated crossing against the boom gates to not wearing a helmet when skating. He had a skateboard but no helmet, so at least tonight,I guess he was intent on pushing any legal parameters limiting his behaviour. I assured him that, yes, I had once been young and knew exactly from where he was coming.
What a fine post.
Detailed on character and a sketched background coming to life.
Cleverly staying away from too much football as the inevitable bun fight on some obscure point gains the hold of too many in this heatful day

Agreed. I was about to change my wording but your quote now makes a liar of anything I subsequently may have corrected 1984 style. He is not a dud skill wise, but he is small and light, a delicate creature unable to sustain a collection of senior games to establish any kind of senior standing. He is a dud only because of the question marks over his physical ability to create an on field presence, and much of that is due to him rarely playing a game of AFL football.

Your assessment was OTT of course, but I too am waivering on Broomhead. I'm sitting about seat A2 on his bandwagon, but I'm not liking what I'm hearing of late in regards to his rehab considering he was due back in full training almost a month ago.

He needs an even break of course I just don't even know if he'll grasp it when it comes given the further increased competition for spots this year! I really hope it clicks though because, IMO, he potentially has so much to offer at AFL level.

A quick summary of how I saw the senior list players.

Faz - looked sharp
JdG - did well
Wells - had a run
Grunds - OK
Billy - very good showing
Tyson - OK
Treloar - outstanding - BOG
Jesse - was terrific
Pendles - smoooooth
Blair - did well
Shaz - got through the game, but doesn't look like the messiah.
Tails - very good, 1 vote
Aish - quiet, but classy
Dunn - OK
Mayne - Just OK I thought. Missed a couple he should have kicked which is, I believe, a worrying continuation of his career trend
Trav - OK
Levi - will want to do better in the JLT
Phillips - good - he would be pleased with his effort
Sidey - OK
Crisp - OK
Dakes - looked very classy; I'm getting excited
Sinkers - good early
Moore - quiet
Ramma - wonderful
WHE - just loved that goal
Maynard - did OK
Howe - 2 votes
Smith - fine
Ox - did well
Did you mention Schade?

Sinclair was my best, thought Adams, Sidebottom and Maynard were also good. Baffled by the Scharenberg fixation. Took one really nice mark, but otherwise was not a standout at all. Good to see him get a good run at it though.

In breaking news 6 game veteran doesn't light it up after 18 month absence. Better take him out the back and be done with it!

Agreed. I was about to change my wording but your quote now makes a liar of anything I subsequently may have corrected 1984 style. He is not a dud skill wise, but he is small and light, a delicate creature unable to sustain a collection of senior games to establish any kind of senior standing. He is a dud only because of the question marks over his physical ability to create an on field presence, and much of that is due to him rarely playing a game of AFL football.

Some players although skilled have very low pain tolerances and niggles that some play with make others falter and flail. Broomhead has either been incredibly unlucky, doesn't have the frame for AFl footy or has a bit of the lesser pain tolerance.

it was not much above normal training for me, to make any good judgement on players. it will
come when more pressure is involved. there are some things to like, like young daicos.
but they all had time and space. its when they have not and still show skills is when l am impressed

He didn't have time and space when he kicked that "P.Daicos" type goal.
There was also intensity shown throughout the game but obviously a step down from playing another team. So I do agree with the premise of not taking too much from it.

What was worrying for me was our ball movent into the f50 was not great imo, only the VFL forward was hit up on leads and that was only in the last quarter.

Moore and White couldn't get near it but the few times it went to them was reminiscent of how we used to bomb on Clokes head in a congested pack.

I hope to see vs Essendon much better ball movement and also better leading patterns by the forwards;.

He didn't have time and space when he kicked that "P.Daicos" type goal.
There was also intensity shown throughout the game but obviously a step down from playing another team. So I do agree with the premise of not taking too much from it.

What was worrying for me was our ball movent into the f50 was not great imo, only the VFL forward was hit up on leads and that was only in the last quarter.

Moore and White couldn't get near it but the few times it went to them was reminiscent of how we used to bomb on Clokes head in a congested pack.

I hope to see vs Essendon much better ball movement and also better leading patterns by the forwards;.

That's not quite true re the forwards hitting up I50. Moore, White and Mayne all did it in the second period and Cox in the third. They were all on the black team at the time which went hand in hand with how they moved the ball.

It felt like similar frailities defensively as 2016 to me, but onditions and standard of opposition obviously played a role. There'll also be buzz killington's that don't appreciate these comments post an intra club in Feb so who know's really.

That's not quite true re the forwards hitting up I50. Moore, White and Mayne all did it in the second period and Cox in the third. They were all on the black team at the time which went hand in hand with how they moved the ball.

It felt like similar frailities defensively as 2016 to me, but onditions and standard of opposition obviously played a role. There'll also be buzz killington's that don't appreciate these comments post an intra club in Feb so who know's really.

They didn't do it with any regularity and mostly Moore was having to jump over a pack unsuccessfully, think Moore took 1 mark from a lead and mark type set play, Jesse was similar.

This is one of those issues which would be easier to comment on with a view of the entire ground, rather than just a televisual sliver of it. My TV impression was that the black team were happy to work the ball backwards, to set themselves up and then to quickly sling it around the boundary.

It didn't seem especially effective, but maybe it was an effort to add some versatility to our forward entries. Last NAB Challenge we were quite effective in going to the 'hot spot', but that becomes rather predictable rather quickly...

But as I say, better to get a full ground view of things. It's pretty hard to judge the leading patterns of our forwards when we only see the last split seconds of their leads.

My take on last night is it is mostly meaningless in trying to interpret anything into the season proper but is fun to watch and gives a few indirect pointers.

What I took away was

1. Biggest thing by far was seeing Elliott, Shaz, Ramsay and Wells playing, the 1st 3 the whole game. Baring setbacks we can assume all 4 are good to go for round 1 and by the match interview Reid will be also. That is the news of the night.

2. The small medium back positions going to be intensely fought and these guys will be going hammer and tongs to get a position during pre season matches. Considering 2016 and last night I would lock in Howe and Maynard. Smith, Ramsay, Goldsack and Sinclair are going to be hard to toss out. Shaz and Oxley were solid last night but will probably have to wait a little while for now. Sharenbergs aerial work last night was great and he will build greatly during 2017 and hopefully become a part of the 22. Langdon has picked a bad time to have such a long injury. All this may change over the pre season because they all look well placed at this stag of the season.

3. Cox was good last night and his ruckwork continues to evolve. If he can improve the timing of his leap he becomes unbeatable in a ruck contest where he gets a run at it. As a 2nd string ruck coming up against other 2nd stringers he could become dangerous.

4. I saw Daics for the 1st time at training 2 weeks ago and he stood out. Again last night he just seemed comfortable out there. Early days but interesting

5. Max Lynch moves really well for a big man and is a strong 18yo. As a late rookie pick he has made a good start.

6 The blinded dislike of Blairy in this thread has been amusing to read. It is not in my DNA to be so anti a Collingwood flag player who only ever does his best but still it has been funny to read some of the opinions so clearly formed before the match had started. Just dont understand posters need to pot the guy.

This is one of those issues which would be easier to comment on with a view of the entire ground, rather than just a televisual sliver of it. My TV impression was that the black team were happy to work the ball backwards, to set themselves up and then to quickly sling it around the boundary.

It didn't seem especially effective, but maybe it was an effort to add some versatility to our forward entries. Last NAB Challenge we were quite effective in going to the 'hot spot', but that becomes rather predictable rather quickly...

But as I say, better to get a full ground view of things. It's pretty hard to judge the leading patterns of our forwards when we only see the last split seconds of their leads.

Yep not entirely blaming forwards the black team was definitely slow to move the ball on many occasions allowing the grey team time to get back but there were also entrys into the f50 where they had space but seemingly unable to break free or not honored.

At the ground the forward entries were pretty haphazard but the forwards didnt really extend themselves. Of the AFL players out there only Moore and Cox are regular leading forwards and Moore clearly wasn't interested last night and Cox mainly rucked. Moore didn't present at all. I think we really need to wait probably to the 2nd pre season game to get even a feel for this. The 1st match traditionally is a try out for fringe playters and wont be near what our 22 for round 1 will be.

My take on last night is it is mostly meaningless in trying to interpret anything into the season proper but is fun to watch and gives a few indirect pointers.

What I took away was

2. The small medium back positions going to be intensely fought and these guys will be going hammer and tongs to get a position during pre season matches. Considering 2016 and last night I would lock in Howe and Maynard. Smith, Ramsay, Goldsack and Sinclair are going to be hard to toss out. Shaz and Oxley were solid last night but will probably have to wait a little while for now.

Hmm personally didn't think much of Goldsack's game and it is very reminiscent of a lot of his games non eventful. Can never fault his endeavour but imo we have better options moving forward he should be a depth player.

Yeah I was almost going to make another grouping for Sack almost in my post. He was as you described but he will be challenging for a spot at least. Like Blair he will give his all and it is up to the more talented types to kick them out of the side.

Blair played a good solid game but there is one thing i dislike about that comment that is oft thrown around.

Blair's bar for what many consider adequate -solid performance for "holding his spot" is often very much lower then some performances from other (what some see as more) talented players. The ones pushing through often have a similar stat line (sometimes greater) to Blair but often offer a higher ceiling.

Blair was not even in the bests when he had a small stint in the VFL he had similar teens output as he does at AFL level.

Is it fair to have one players bar set at point "a" but have a younger (which usually leads to more inconsistency) players bar set to point "b" which often asks for above and beyond that of player "a"?

Game Day 2017 Collingwood Intra Club