Certified Legendary Thread 2017 Richmond Premiership Salt Mine

Which team's supporters are the saltiest?

• Adelaide

Votes: 121 28.5%
  • Brisbane

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Carltank

Votes: 25 5.9%
  • Trelol and his super team

Votes: 21 5.0%
  • Essendrugs

Votes: 22 5.2%
  • Fremantle

Votes: 2 0.5%
  • Geelong

Votes: 223 52.6%
  • GWS Giants

• Gold Coast

• Hawthorn

Votes: 4 0.9%
  • Melbourne

Votes: 14 3.3%
  • #lolnorf

Votes: 181 42.7%
  • Port Adelaide

• St Kilda

• Sydney

Votes: 3 0.7%
  • West Coast

Votes: 5 1.2%
  • Bulldogs

Votes: 4 0.9%

Cat supporters are salty, no doubt, and it's beautiful.

But...and this is off topic and potentially a lightning rod for knuckleheads...
the saltiness in politics is astonishing.
JA beats a disgraced former NSW premier and the twittersphere nearly dissolved in a pool of salt.
Cats fans have nothing on some of the hysteria I've read there. Pure hatred.
Lot of campaigning in politics:D

So, his article from the day before was more fitting, he obviously received backlash and needed to respond lol

Michelangelo Rucci: How Adelaide froze on the Grand Final stage

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...de-froze-on-the-grand-final-stage/news-story/

IT was not Adelaide’s time. It is Tiger Time.

After 37 years — 35 without a grand final appearance — Richmond proved there was an AFL club that wanted the premiership more than Adelaide.

And the Tigers also proved the Crows were not alone in having years of adversity and turmoil to shed from their backs. Richmond — the club that was on the brink of financial collapse as the AFL era began in 1991 and endured a rebellion of the board 12 months ago — has cleared away decades of pain in one amazing afternoon at the MCG.

ebce46e1c72af34f7cb5b4b9f5d33528

Adelaide had no answers to the Tigers swarm. Picture: Getty Images
Strange as it seems, Adelaide froze — in Don Pyke’s coaching box, on the field and in the Crows’ seemingly certain march to the flag. The team that was on a mission to end its 19-year premiership drought collapsed to a Richmond group that certainly knew no fear. The AFL’s highest-scoring team could not kick a winning score on the day Adelaide needed to score most.

But strange things do indeed happen in grand finals, even on the well-prepared AFL running sheets. Having annoyed the Richmond faithful by taking the Tigers out of their traditional black jumper, the next slap in the face came with the team’s entry onto the MCG with those “canary yellow” clash guernsey. Someone forgot to hit the play button on the Richmond club song.

They could not stop the anthem after the match — just like the Crows could not stop the Tigers during the game.

What do they say about poking tigers? The Richmond club has craved an AFL premiership for far longer than Damien Hardwick’s team has sought respect. Neither needed any more insults.

And there was no pause button on that manic, high-pressure Richmond game that brought the Tigers to this grand final. That eagerness to be at every contest — and bite and bite hard — did make a mockery of the pre-game forecasts built on a large volume of statistics from the previous 27 weeks of the premiership season.

e03b7fa95db7b2d5db5897f44d9a1df7

Rory Sloane had a crack, but the Tigers overwhelmed him and his Adelaide teammates. Picture: Sarah Reed
Adelaide is supposed to be the league champion of the second quarter; Richmond the dunce (as measured by the Tigers winning just nine of 24 second terms this season, compared with the Crows’ 21-3 count). But grand finals are played in the present — not with credit points from previous games.

The scoreboard turned over with five behinds for Adelaide while Richmond scored 4.1 during the second term. So the numbers on statistical and trend sheets do lie. The Crows had more of the ball (97 disposals to 78) in this quarter. This could suggest Adelaide was wasteful with opportunities. But the game was telling a different story.

Richmond had more players making it to more contests to put more and more pressure on their Crows rivals who could not find freedom nor time on one of the AFL’s vast expanses. When Adelaide players are dishing out rushed handballs rather than moving into space to time their next plays, the game is against them.

The image of Richmond players thriving — rather than wilting — in the most-demanding first half was Bachar Houli. His example of playing with energy and without fear was infectious. There was not just effort; there was extra effort. There was not just pressure; there was extreme pressure.

The only true mirror image at Adelaide was vice-captain Rory Sloane … and he would have looked over his shoulder often in the second term to wonder if he was the “lone ranger”.

d4087c29e4cb317c617eb26385e97160

Charlie Cameron could not replicate his preliminary final efforts against the Tigers. Picture: Getty Images
The gap between Adelaide’s fourth goal — an opportunist snap from Hugh Greenwood at a ruck contest in the 27th minute of the first term — and the fifth from captain Taylor Walker in the 15th minute of the third quarter told most of Richmond’s upper hand. Adelaide scored 0.7 while searching for respite from the Tigers’ constant clawing at their possessions. Richmond scored 7.5

In those 49 minutes — 49 pressure-defined minutes — Richmond won a flag in the way Don Pyke had talked of his premiership vision: Many contributors, hunger for the contested ball and intense focus for the contest. They were the 49 minutes that put a long-suffering Tigers supporter base on the verge of emotions they have never known.

The repetitive line about “pressure” in the Richmond performance is about never giving up on a tackle; always lunging at a Crows rival to create a spill; forever trying to win the ball back from Adelaide. And when the finger pointing started in the Adelaide defence late in the third term, the ambitious Richmond catchphrase — “Dare to Dream” — highlighted the Crows were not capable of working as one to find a solution.

After 37 years, it is Tiger time!

Plenty of comments below the article lol

Didn't south australia get an invite to be a part of the so called expanded afl and like western australia gratefully accepted knowing full well that prelims and the granny would be played at the "G" which was later changed to granny only and the prelims were played interstate if the interstate team finished higher on the ladder. The "G" ground dimensions have only changed due to OHS concerns, other than that the only other times anything has been done different is Olympic, Commonwealth games or new drainage/plumbing .The centre square area is a controlled drop in/pull out pitches. The surface is a lot better than previous years. We use the same size footballs, there's four sticks at opposite ends and the crowd is more corporate than member based. The "G" is the home of footy. Kochie you can go and get stuffed! And as for Geelong who cares!

Fair dinkum they joined our league knowing that the Grand Final is played at the MCG, they are no different to somebody that moves next to a airport then complains about the planes

I know this makes me old, but whenever I hear non-Vic fans complaining about the travel, I remember the big debate over whether the VFL should expand nationally.

It was good for the game that we did, but my God, if there'd even been a sniff that 30 years later, interstaters would be whinging about how unfair it is that they have to travel every time they lost a match, they never would have been let in.

Burns, salt, bu77hurt

You guys have like totally the most diverse range of comebacks

The richmond trumps.

You might have won - but you are shit and deep down you know it - and in a years time you will be looking at impeachment....

Didn't south australia get an invite to be a part of the so called expanded afl and like western australia gratefully accepted knowing full well that prelims and the granny would be played at the "G" which was later changed to granny only and the prelims were played interstate if the interstate team finished higher on the ladder.
Just supporters lookign for excuses, first they attacked the umpiring and now they're going after the venue.

Or they could, you know, try something new and admit that their team was just shit on the day.

Oh ... haven't you heard ... all teams were shit in 2017, except for Richmond, who were the merde de la merde.
Yeah I know everyone was shit.

Too bad for opposition supporters that they didn't enjoy 2017. They've ensured I will enjoy 2017 for many many years to come, even more than I would have if the salt hadn't gone nuclear. :)

Keep going fellas. Rub it in to all the haters and milk it for as long as possible. **** 'em

We had to put up with the salt for a while, and no doubt we were insufferable at times, but it's ******* footy. It's a competition not a tea party.

Sure it's good when the clubs are humble, and even talking to people in real life. But this is big footy FFS.

Let's not pretend that if Richmond lost you wouldn't have been trolled into oblivion.

Stick it up them (especially the Geelong flogs)
I've begun to understand why Hawks fans detest the Cats. Previously I've never noticed they have an Essendon level of entitlement.

Didn't south australia get an invite to be a part of the so called expanded afl and like western australia gratefully accepted knowing full well that prelims and the granny would be played at the "G" which was later changed to granny only and the prelims were played interstate if the interstate team finished higher on the ladder.
Not just applied; fought tooth and nail to be let in! Adelaide nearly tore itself in half when Port made a solo bid for a VFL team in the late 80s, with the rest of the state freaking out about possibly missing out. It was lawyers at 20 paces over which Adelaide team would be let in.

None of them back then were saying, "But we'll only come in if the Grand Final is played in Adelaide sometimes," or "You have to count SANFL premierships."

That said, I understand why they complain. It's just for us old-timers, it feels a bit like you let a mate crash at your place for a few days and now he's moaning about how come you have the nice bedroom.