Position 2017 Rookies

DECLAN MOUNTFORD - Loves to tackle, should av. 15 touches & very athletic Has to b in your team, u might wana do a reshulfe #JeppasJuniors
He does not appear in many best 22 squads that I have seen, from BF or Journos. Fringe apparently.
The fact he is picked is nice tho. If Parfitt don't play, Mountford may be it.

Anyone fielding 3-4 rookies then picking a non playing one as loophole on bench? I think that's the best way to get the most out of your fielded rooks?

Lock Jack Graham in for a mid spot. Next year. Fractured ankle, will be put on the LTI list along with Hampson.

I'm tempted to take a punt on the kid. Never seen him play though.
Neither haha
Contested animal apparently, and he plays for Carlton, so he'll play a lot, worth a punt imo (moreso than Taranto)

Anyone fielding 3-4 rookies then picking a non playing one as loophole on bench? I think that's the best way to get the most out of your fielded rooks?

Who is everyone gambling on to take that is not likely to play till later on?

Myers i reckon would be the best choice.

Agree with this. I'll also add that having a loophole is extremely important, so Strndica stays at R3 for me
I'm also weighing up R3, preuss or Strndica.

I have Nankervis in forwards.

Worried if Preuss got extended run ( Goldy injured, or play both ), will miss out on his price hike.

Although Goldy is pretty durable, so may go Strndica ( for loophole )

Mate! What do you think of D Mountfords selection and will he be around for a bit?
I like him, a good role player, he will spend time on Mitchell for some time, so tagging does weaken his potential SC output. He's quick, an accumlator, plays multiple positions, kicks goals regularly and is reliable, so I would not put is past him to stay in, but Cunnington needs to come back in next week and mountford is the obvious one to go out.

So only put mountford on the bench if you have got no options at this stage.

I am, they must rate him very highly to chuck him in with no JLT. Which also means he should get many games if he stays fit.
They must be confident his ticked all the right boxes in his preseason training.

Current Rookies at the moment:

Marchbank, Hampton, Otten (Hibberd, Stewart)
Petrovski-Seton, Powell-Pepper (Barrett, Pickett, Parfitt)
(Cameron)
Hoskin-Elliot, Turner, Eddy (Taranto, Butler)

Thoughts?

I like him, a good role player, he will spend time on Mitchell for some time, so tagging does weaken his potential SC output. He's quick, an accumlator, plays multiple positions, kicks goals regularly and is reliable, so I would not put is past him to stay in, but Cunnington needs to come back in next week and mountford is the obvious one to go out.

So only put mountford on the bench if you have got no options at this stage.
Bugger, I thought it may have been last minute gold.

THanks man.

No point taking more than one donut IMO (Starndonutica)

Strad only works if you have forward ruck cover and i do not! I need a playing R3 currently and Preuss was just named for North so he gets that spot!

Mids i have 3 bench options so best to use the non playing loophole there cause my other 2 will see plenty of the field and Myers will be back in about Rd4 ish then i will reassess!

Thoughts on Kanga's rookies Jy Simpkin vs Kayne Turner

Scoring potential and JS?
Simpkin is a cyril type of small forward arm, while Turner is more the pressure poppy type. Both are very well liked by north fans.

Turner will not get a heap of it, but he will lay a heap of tackles, pressure and has a knack of kicking regular goals.

Too early to tell for Simpkin, but he has more long term midfield potential than Turner. He is quick, is hard at the footy and has a bit of x-factor about him. He would accumulate a lot more than Turner in the long term.

Turner you could trust his scoring to be regularly around the 50-70ish mark, while Simpkin will put up similar numbers, but has a scope for higher numbers around the 80 mark if he has a good start to the year.

Roll of the dice mate, good luck.

Bugger, I thought it may have been last minute gold.

THanks man.
Cunnington is the issue, but if he tags out Mitchell, someone else like a Hibberd could make way for Cunnington.

Mountford is not worth the risk if there are other rookie options.

Bloody hell, just noticed otten, stewart and hibberd are all on sunday games. Doesnt help making a decision on marchbank tonight if they are named on the extended bench.
Hibberd is guaranteed to play.

Simpkin is a cyril type of small forward arm, while Turner is more the pressure poppy type. Both are very well liked by north fans.

Turner will not get a heap of it, but he will lay a heap of tackles, pressure and has a knack of kicking regular goals.

Too early to tell for Simpkin, but he has more long term midfield potential than Turner. He is quick, is hard at the footy and has a bit of x-factor about him. He would accumulate a lot more than Turner in the long term.

Turner you could trust his scoring to be regularly around the 50-70ish mark, while Simpkin will put up similar numbers, but has a scope for higher numbers around the 80 mark if he has a good start to the year.

Roll of the dice mate, good luck.
Simpkin for me. I just think he's our highest draft pick in ages. Will get games pumped into him.