Mod. Notice 2017 Toots Hibbert Medal (Bay 13 MVP) - We Have a winner!!!

Between Cooksen and Chappy we had a 2nd set of votes for nearly 80% of the voting weeks (or basically the entire season apart from rounds 7-10). That's without including the weeks the others voted.

How many mods have we got mate?

Props to Cooksen and Chappy but the rest exist in name only

I just don't see the point in rewarding a poster for flogging the same dead horses weak after week (which by Podgey's standards are pretty lazy trolls anyway) when other posters at least try different things, as well as attempting to inject humour and involve others. That's why so few Crows flogs poll, and why some Hawks/Cats posters will poll much more heavily than those ones that spend most of their time in the embarrassing shitfight thread.

It was funny when you first started binning everything, but then that wore off and it was just removing content

Everyone has their schtick. HP's was reasonably varied, he would attack AFL HQ, the AFL's place in the world as a sport, political correctness with AFLW and gambling. It was better than when the entire Bay was full of 20 & 3, 30 & 2 etc. threads, which were pretty funny anyway

Maybe there should be another mod then. Wooshette can you find another mod?

I've said it for years, there needs to be a minimum voting requirement to remain as a mod. If you miss a week you get a warning, two weeks in a row or three warnings in one year and you're out

672.gif

I've said it for years, there needs to be a minimum voting requirement to remain as a mod. If you miss a week you get a warning, two weeks in a row or three warnings in one year and you're out
LOL

I’m seeing a lot of comments aimed at nobody ... I’m guessing old mate Mensa is blowing his top ITT

He wants to boot mods who don’t vote in the Toots

How many mods have we got mate?

Props to Cooksen and Chappy but the rest exist in name only

The other two did their share of votes, just lower percentages.

I didn't say you didn't vote for him. I know you must have because most of the other mods don't bother

My point was there's more than just my votes, yet no one else saw fit to give him even a single vote. So it's hardly just me that feels that his work didn't stack up compared with others.

It was funny when you first started binning everything, but then that wore off and it was just removing content

Everyone has their schtick. HP's was reasonably varied, he would attack AFL HQ, the AFL's place in the world as a sport, political correctness with AFLW and gambling. It was better than when the entire Bay was full of 20 & 3, 30 & 2 etc. threads, which were pretty funny anyway

That's where we differ, I felt 20 and 3 was much more amusing than this. Plus there were less individual threads on it, they were just larger, not weekly updates of the same shit.

He wouldn’t have threads binned if he bumped his similar threads, instead of going the Zeboyz strategy of 'new thought, new thread'.

And you've been told before that's not how we determine mods, there's more to modding than MVP votes. If that system came in we'd cycle through a shitload of mods (or just get lazy voting habits), which isn't the point of it all.

I'm sure it's come up before, but we'd look at taking poster votes, but that also becomes more work for us.

100% mate. No doubt the mods have taken weeks off when I've put forward some of my best work. It's an outrage, the mods should show the Bay13 awards season the proper respect it deserves.

Think about it Woosh. More turnover of mods would be a good thing. Everyone brings their own ideas and energy to the table, but after a while they have contributed what they can and someone else can come in with a fresh approach

If they get stale to the point where MVP voting is a chore and not a privilege, that's a sign it's time for someone else to step in with more enthusiasm for the role

That's where we differ, I felt 20 and 3 was much more amusing than this. Plus there were less individual threads on it, they were just larger, not weekly updates of the same shit.

He wouldn’t have threads binned if he bumped his similar threads, instead of going the Zeboyz strategy of 'new thought, new thread'.

Nah I was a 20 & 3 fan as well. I was the one that found Nathan Brown. I've always rated HP

You're right with his threads but I felt that it was mostly because you binned them all. He wanted to get back on the Bay with the discussion

If that system came in we'd cycle through a shitload of mods (or just get lazy voting habits)

Nah I don't reckon. You and Cooksen would be fine. Impunity would be gone (about time), David Schwartz and Big Joe D would have to step up and take it seriously but that's what we want.

Yeah it's an internet forum circlejerk award but it is named after a deceased poster. We should do it a little bit properly

Think about it Woosh. More turnover of mods would be a good thing. Everyone brings their own ideas and energy to the table, but after a while they have contributed what they can and someone else can come in with a fresh approach

If they get stale to the point where MVP voting is a chore and not a privilege, that's a sign it's time for someone else to step in with more enthusiasm for the role

It’s not my site, I pay my 20 bucks a year so I don’t see ads, and I abide by whatever rules the owners want, thats as invested as I am.
I dont know why someone as passionate, and intelligent, as you doesn’t start your own site.

Mod. Notice 2017 Toots Hibbert Medal (Bay 13 MVP) - We Have a winner!!!