2017 trade/draft thread

Schache is worth parting with a 1st rd pick and we have a good trade relationship with Brissy but not sure what deal would satisfy them ..
Schache would need our 1st pick and then some

Love watching Brayshaw play, has all the tools to be a star. Hope the issue with concussion is not something that sticks around regardless of where he plays.

We seem to have had very few issues with concussion over the past 5 years or so. Wonder if we're actively doing about it, or maybe we just have less players with the instinct to chase the ball at any cost...

Brayshaw has looked at times to have the class as an inside mid yet he is unable to break into Melbourne's top team. Why? Is it the concussion or is it something else? I would be reluctant to go hard on someone with repeating physical flaws and his all too frequent concussion is worrying. Just think about Hawthorn with O'Meara with his knee problems right now!

He went pick 3 and Melbourne are going to want something significant for him so our first round plus is probably what they want (I would expect they want 1st plus second or third or player). You may argue that he is worth less but I sense there is still emotional investment in him and they have not given up yet. He was going to be pivotal to their rebuild.

This year, We have a chance to get a gun genuine KPF with our 1st round and the gun key forwards are usually taken early. I would only consider Brayshaw if if we were to trade out next year's draft picks or trade a player that wanted to go to Melbourne.

Question: If Duggan or Gaff wanted to go home, what would be needed by either side to bring Brayshaw across? I would want something else from them if they took Gaff but Duggan seems a little light and perhaps a swap of later picks.

Brayshaw has looked at times to have the class as an inside mid yet he is unable to break into Melbourne's top team. Why? Is it the concussion or is it something else? I would be reluctant to go hard on someone with repeating physical flaws and his all too frequent concussion is worrying. Just think about Hawthorn with O'Meara with his knee problems right now!

He went pick 3 and Melbourne are going to want something significant for him so our first round plus is probably what they want (I would expect they want 1st plus second or third or player). You may argue that he is worth less but I sense there is still emotional investment in him and they have not given up yet. He was going to be pivotal to their rebuild.

This year, We have a chance to get a gun genuine KPF with our 1st round and the gun key forwards are usually taken early. I would only consider Brayshaw if if we were to trade out next year's draft picks or trade a player that wanted to go to Melbourne.

Question: If Duggan or Gaff wanted to go home, what would be needed by either side to bring Brayshaw across? I would want something else from them if they took Gaff but Duggan seems a little light and perhaps a swap of later picks.
Assuming Gaff is worth a first rounder, then you could consider a swap of the two a reasonable trade (either Gaff for Brayshaw or the pick generated from the Gaff deal to Melbourne). Duggan wouldnt get it done alone, you'd need to offer up our second I reckon.

Who do you consider to be the players we could afford to shop around this year?

Assuming Gaff is worth a first rounder, then you could consider a swap of the two a reasonable trade (either Gaff for Brayshaw or the pick generated from the Gaff deal to Melbourne). Duggan wouldnt get it done alone, you'd need to offer up our second I reckon.

Gaff is worth so much more than Brayshaw, they would be adding in extra in that scenario.

Given neither have really established themselves Brayshaw for Duggan are closer to a straight swap.

Gaff is worth so much more than Brayshaw, they would be adding in extra in that scenario.

Given neither have really established themselves Brayshaw for Duggan are closer to a straight swap.
Possibly, but I reckon they'll put more value on an inside player with a more rounded game compared to an outside player with nil contested game. However Gaff is proven whereas Brayshaw doesnt have the runs on the board.

Gaff for Brayshaw plus Melbourne's 2nd? Would be a good deal for us.

I would be hesitant to trade Duggan. Prior to his corkie we were beginning to see him come into some form.

Gaff for Brayshaw is overs. Like kane249 says, we would want way more. Besides, Melbourne are overflowing with inside mids and Gaff would actually be a great get for them. If we were to trade Gaff and our second for Brayshaw and their first, I would be willing to work it further.

If Baryshaw was interested in a move, Melbourne have a real dilemma. A top draft pick in Nov 2014, he has had 2 and a bit years to establish himself and despite a brilliant 2015, he has not lived up to the expectations and now has the concussion question mark on him.

Duggan was only taken 8 spots ahead of Brayshaw and in hindsight it might be said that Melbourne reached with Brayshaw. Besides, I am not wanting to trade Duggan for Brayshaw.

Gaff for Brayshaw is overs. Like kane249 says, we would want way more. Besides, Melbourne are overflowing with inside mids and Gaff would actually be a great get for them. If we were to trade Gaff and our second for Brayshaw and their first, I would be willing to work it further.

If Baryshaw was interested in a move, Melbourne have a real dilemma. A top draft pick in Nov 2014, he has had 2 and a bit years to establish himself and despite a brilliant 2015, he has not lived up to the expectations and now has the concussion question mark on him.

Duggan was only taken 8 spots ahead of Brayshaw and in hindsight it might be said that Melbourne reached with Brayshaw. Besides, I am not wanting to trade Duggan for Brayshaw.
The concussion question mark is huge. It could be a career killer which even though its harsh, is a lever for us. You could possibly trade our third with Gaff and make it work if the concussion thing is that serious.

I thought Brayshaw was always mooted in the top 5 of that draft. I didn't think Melbourne reached with him at all. Agree, no way Duggan is mentioned in the discussions unless the offer is too good to resist.

The concussion question mark is huge. It could be a career killer which even though its harsh, is a lever for us. You could possibly trade our third with Gaff and make it work if the concussion thing is that serious.

I thought Brayshaw was always mooted in the top 5 of that draft. I didn't think Melbourne reached with him at all. Agree, no way Duggan is mentioned in the discussions unless the offer is too good to resist.
You must have a very low view of Gaff's value. I would want Brayshaw and their third before I even considered parting with Gaff.

Serious underating of gaff. He is one our best mids and most importantly one of the hardiest players in the comp who barely misses. Games. What we get In is a kid who has heaps of potential but is also one decent head knock away from retirement. To me the risk is too much.

Also didn't gaff want a longer contract but settled for a shorter one with the ability for an extention, due to our salary cap tightness?

Gaff is a 25 year old AA mid who recently won the best and fairest. There is no chance Brayshaw would be enough on his own. But I think the chances of Gaff going are so remote there's probably not much point exploring that trade possibility.

McGovern is an interesting one. We could certainly do with another dangerous forward as our stocks are either ageing (Hill, LeCras) or faltering (Darling and to a lesser extent Cripps). That being said, I'd rather we focus on a quality young mid or otherwise retain it in the hope of drafting a KPF.

Possibly, but I reckon they'll put more value on an inside player with a more rounded game compared to an outside player with nil contested game. However Gaff is proven whereas Brayshaw doesnt have the runs on the board.

Gaff for Brayshaw plus Melbourne's 2nd? Would be a good deal for us.

I would be hesitant to trade Duggan. Prior to his corkie we were beginning to see him come into some form.
Duggan less tradeable than gaff?Wow

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk

Disagree I would not swap Gaff for Brayshaw...not in a million years.
Also don't like the Duggan for Brayshaw idea and if Duggan would not get it done then thats a pass from me. As Duggan for Brayshaw already has us coming out second.

The concussions are a massive X for me and a serious red flag.

We have traded for Jetta and Redden with little to moderate success ( Being polite here ) so CAUTION should prevail.

People get "hung up" on what pick a certain pick a player got drafted at , when assigning value down the track which is a fraught with danger.
A players value ,in the here and now, has no correlation to where he originally was drafted at.

Cost this and next year's 1st's.
If he was gettable at that price it might be worthwhile. If we are looking for a replacement KPF then he would fit the bill. If we were to pick a KPF with next year's first then there is no guarantee that he would be any good, or as good as Schache, so that's the first pick gone. Schache is top end talent like Kennedy which our later first round picks are not going to allow us access to. But why would he want to come to WA? Isn't he a Victorian? We aren't that big a destination club yet are we? So this is all hypothetical.

Melbourne would snap your hand off for gaff for Bradshaw and a second rounder

Gaff is a 25 year old AA mid who recently won the best and fairest. There is no chance Brayshaw would be enough on his own. But I think the chances of Gaff going are so remote there's probably not much point exploring that trade possibility.

McGovern is an interesting one. We could certainly do with another dangerous forward as our stocks are either ageing (Hill, LeCras) or faltering (Darling and to a lesser extent Cripps). That being said, I'd rather we focus on a quality young mid or otherwise retain it in the hope of drafting a KPF.

I'd love to get McGovern but it sounds like we will need to pay him a truckload (600k+ per year) and would have to pay up in a trade to Adelaide. We generally bring lube to trade week so heaven knows what we'd give up to get him. I'd rather use the cap space go hard at a free agent that we dont have to pay for.

He might take a lesser cash value to play footy with his brother Jerem..