Review 2017 trade period

Yesterday Bickley said he heard we were going to bring in 3 players, Gibbs, a mid (Gibson) and a 3rd which we were guessing was going to be Francis.

I’m wondering were we going to give our 2018 2nd rd pick for Francis before we had to give it to Carlton?
Possibly... but it sounded like Essendon were able to get their deals done without our pick (whatever it was), so if they were going give up Francis, it would have had to have been a Charlie type overpay situation I would think.

Listening to the Essendon recruiting bloke on the radio, it sounded like it would have taken a pretty damn good deal for them to do it. Then again, that was basically post trade period so I suppose it would make sense to talk him up.

Congrats on getting Gibbs, will play some awesome footy over the next few years for your boys, pick 12 for Cameron is great value but probably wrong timing, but who knows, maybe you guys pick up a ready made player in the draft.
Regarding Francis most if not all Essendon fans didn't want him going anywhere, He's got so much ability I would have hated losing him and feel the club really didn't want to trade him from the start and made it really hard for the Adelaide teams to come up with a trade because how much he is valued inside the 4 walls at Essndon.

In the end I think you guys done really well with your back to the wall before the trade period even began with Lever and cameron situations, i hope you guys walk away pretty content.
I'm sure watching Gibbs next season will change some of the more negative opinions on your trade period, the guy is a bloody gun.

What’s wrong with us?
He was NEVER going to come to us. We were used to up his offer from Port nothing more, nothing less. Family connection with Port. We have a much stricter off season approach (something he isn't known for). Very clever by Motlop and/or his Manager.

Can all those who were adamant last year they wouldn't ever ever ever give up 2 1sts for Gibbs form an orderly queue.

Now can those who are happy with this year's deal step out of line.

Just leaves me and a few others. You all reckon Port fans spin. Some of the stuff here would make Janus blush
We didn't have another 1st to fall on last year, no one wanted a trade. This year we knew we had a 1st via Charlie and 2 next year so it made more (Not total) sense.

As for trade week/s I reckon we did well. Richmond, Sydney, West Coast and the Giants didn't improve their squads and all of a sudden the latter look a bit vulnerable.

Geelong took a punt on Gaz but if he plays 70% of the games they're a better side forward of centre. Defensively they still need work IMO.

Port and Essendon did well, though the latter have taken a huge risk with a headcase Stringer and Smith with a dodgy knee. Port, if they can get more out of Watts and Motlop than their previous clubs will do well.

Everyone else largely relying on organic growth with Melbourne paying enormous money for a 3rd tall. St Kilda, North and Collingwood hugely disappointing efforts particularly the Saints who I think will go backwards.

I’ve responded to that a number of times, do you think the clubs would have put these guys in jeapordy when they offered Lever and Motlop contracts?
I would hope not. Motlop's offer was obviously the money saved from Lever, rather than raiding the "war chest".

My issue with the trade period is we needed to bring in another quality player.

Gibbs is quality but Gibson really just is a stop gap.

We’ve lost Lever, Cameron and Smith for 2018.

One more player would have been very handy, everyone bags Motlop but watch him next year and we will regret missing out.

Some say Port were into him for months, well considering all the talk about Charlie, why weren’t we?
Mate we had a go. There is not much control that you have of where the player wants to go. All you can do is do your best.

In terms of Gibson, he might be a stop gap but he is someone who releases someone else to do more damage. Ideally, I would have absolutely LOVED to get both Motlop and Gibbs but at a minimum we needed to bring in one quality player which we did.

Gibson will play a lot of games for us. He will have a specific role to play in the midfield. That releases someone else to play another more damaging role. If Gibson can produce the sort of numbers that he produced this year for North, that is a very under-rated signing.

Knight all of a sudden does not have to tag. He can play more of an attacking game rotating between forward line and wing. Atkins, Douglas and even Gibbs get freed up to rotate across the HBF to cover for Smith.

We still have a lot of improvement from our best 22 to come. Our development program is second to none. People ripped us a new one this time last year and mocked the organic growth line but by the end of the season we played off in a GF. As disappointing as it is to not win it, you could argue that we didn't have Smith for just about all of our finals campaign. We lost McGovern for the PF and GF. Lever's last 6-8 weeks has been nothing to write home about plus he missed 5 games during the season.

Players generally get to that consistently good level once they hit the 80 game mark. Even from our best 22 last year, there are a number of players who can go up another level. Crouch brothers, Greenwood, McGovern, Milera etc... all have improvement left in the tank. Some more than others.

I think the club has proven that we are right up there as one of the best teams in developing talent. We played off in a GF without having a single top 10 pick on the list.

It would have been a disaster if we didn't recruit Gibbs. We did, plus we added a player in Gibson who comes in for a specific role, adds depth to the midfield and releases other, more talented players to fill in other, more attacking roles.

I am very comfortable that after another strong pre-season, some of those younger players will improve even more and make us a better team next year. Our midfield now days is genuinely A grade. We can roll out 4 proven guns in Gibbs, Sloane and Crouch brothers. Geelong might be their only other team who can rival that but even their star recruit is 34 years old and has not played more than 15 games in any of the last 3 seasons. Plus he us getting soft tissue injuries lately. A sign of old age.

Gibson - I don't think he'll play in the 1sts. Will be a ressies experienced player imo.

Not so sure on that one. The guy obviously prepares himself well and his body is sound given the number of consecutive matches.
He is going to be mega hungry to impress given he is at a new club and on a one year deal.
I have a feeling he is going to surprise us all.

That’s the answer I was looking for.

RFA, we have cash, time and his brother to make it happen.

West Coast are going to be in for some pain this year and he may be ready for a move.

We need to start a death riding West Coast thread.

So we have death riding for

- Melbourne
- Carlton
- West Coast

Should we just death ride all clubs??? :)

I think this year we got Geelong covered. 2 taggers in knight and Gibson... For duckwood.. Old man ablett.. And danger.

Not so sure on that one. The guy obviously prepares himself well and his body is sound given the number of consecutive matches.
He is going to be mega hungry to impress given he is at a new club and on a one year deal.
I have a feeling he is going to surprise us all.
absolutely. I think he will fill the lock down role we have not had adequately filled since Rob Shirley. A guy like Gibson, if he could quell or reduce the influence of a Dustin Martin or Patrick Dangerfield or a Petracca or a shiel will be invaluable as it will free up our mids to do the damage. Assuming his body holds up and given his track record, there is no reason to think it won't at this stage, it looks to be a very shrewd piece of recruiting

Mate we had a go. There is not much control that you have of where the player wants to go. All you can do is do your best.

In terms of Gibson, he might be a stop gap but he is someone who releases someone else to do more damage. Ideally, I would have absolutely LOVED to get both Motlop and Gibbs but at a minimum we needed to bring in one quality player which we did.

Gibson will play a lot of games for us. He will have a specific role to play in the midfield. That releases someone else to play another more damaging role. If Gibson can produce the sort of numbers that he produced this year for North, that is a very under-rated signing.

Knight all of a sudden does not have to tag. He can play more of an attacking game rotating between forward line and wing. Atkins, Douglas and even Gibbs get freed up to rotate across the HBF to cover for Smith.

We still have a lot of improvement from our best 22 to come. Our development program is second to none. People ripped us a new one this time last year and mocked the organic growth line but by the end of the season we played off in a GF. As disappointing as it is to not win it, you could argue that we didn't have Smith for just about all of our finals campaign. We lost McGovern for the PF and GF. Lever's last 6-8 weeks has been nothing to write home about plus he missed 5 games during the season.

Players generally get to that consistently good level once they hit the 80 game mark. Even from our best 22 last year, there are a number of players who can go up another level. Crouch brothers, Greenwood, McGovern, Milera etc... all have improvement left in the tank. Some more than others.

I think the club has proven that we are right up there as one of the best teams in developing talent. We played off in a GF without having a single top 10 pick on the list.

It would have been a disaster if we didn't recruit Gibbs. We did, plus we added a player in Gibson who comes in for a specific role, adds depth to the midfield and releases other, more talented players to fill in other, more attacking roles.

I am very comfortable that after another strong pre-season, some of those younger players will improve even more and make us a better team next year. Our midfield now days is genuinely A grade. We can roll out 4 proven guns in Gibbs, Sloane and Crouch brothers. Geelong might be their only other team who can rival that but even their star recruit is 34 years old and has not played more than 15 games in any of the last 3 seasons. Plus he us getting soft tissue injuries lately. A sign of old age.
I know you and I don't always see eye to eye on things, but your making all kinds of sense to me here! Agree on pretty much everything. If I can elaborate on 1 point it would be the 80 game mark comment. I just checked it out and have a look at the players reaching that portion of their career next few seasons.

Matt Crouch 77 games, already All Australian
Kyle Hartigan 69 games
Paul Seedsman 69 games
Brad Crouch 62 games
Curlty Hampton 60 games
Rory Atkins 57 games
Mitch McGovern 36 games
Jake Kelly 35 games
Riley Knight 31 games
Wayne Milera 24 games

Not 1 player above 25 yet, with 7 regular starters in 2017, 1 who came back in after injury, 1 who went out due to injury, and 1x 1st round draftee who needs to build his tank. Looking at that we have quite a few players looking like they are primed to have a breakout year!

I think this year we got Geelong covered. 2 taggers in knight and Gibson... For duckwood.. Old man ablett.. And danger.
I'm just surprised no one is lumping shit on Geelong, a team that is criticized for lacking depth, and has no 1st rounder for the 3rd year running. And just brought in an expensive 34 year old who hasn't played a full season since 2013 due to injury. And in the process got rid of 3 starting 22 players in Menzel (who came 3rd in their goal kicking in 2017), Darcy Lang (who was their 2013 1st round draft pick) and Steven Motlop (who the AFL adjudged worth a 1st round compo pick).

Is no-one seeing the obvious faults in this strategy? I feel like i'm taking crazy pills?

As much as it kinda sucks in a few ways, we really need to be heartened by the fact other clubs head hunt our players as it illustrates how highly rated our player development is. Think of players as investments, most of the time we get much more in return than what we spent, this has got to be a good thing long term. Would be a lot worse if we were shopping round overpaid spuds who have gone nowhere like Port Power est. 10000000BC

I'm just surprised no one is lumping shit on Geelong, a team that is criticized for lacking depth, and has no 1st rounder for the 3rd year running. And just brought in an expensive 34 year old who hasn't played a full season since 2013 due to injury. And in the process got rid of 3 starting 22 players in Menzel (who came 3rd in their goal kicking in 2017), Darcy Lang (who was their 2013 1st round draft pick) and Steven Motlop (who the AFL adjudged worth a 1st round compo pick).

Is no-one seeing the obvious faults in this strategy? I feel like i'm taking crazy pills?
You're 100% correct. Problem is that there isn't a Kornes or Rucci equivalent designated to hang shit on Geelong.

Look at who a lot of the top media talkers are (I refuse to call them journalists because they are not) and who they support - Geelong.

One minor point... Menzel is still at Geelong.

I have been saying that about Geelong since Dangerfield went there. Seriously, their best chance at success was in Dangerfield's first season there given their list profile. Every year since then, they have been losing high quality players and replacing them with less talented player that are in their prime, foregoing their early picks.

This year they have pick 19 to strike gold with. Its a list with wrong age profile and not enough quality youth coming through. I actually think that they are no better than they were last year. Not convinced that GAJ will play many games.

Review 2017 trade period