2018 - Best 22

Depends in what role he is playing fwd. Allowing Martin to move more fwd reaped rewards for Tiges.
If we get a contested beast of our own in that part of the ground , why not.
Maynard could be in similar beast role in our defensive half, enough grunt in our midfield on both ends.

From a Galaxy S8 far far away
He has played forward most of his career. He has impacted in 1. Dustbin played a little forward and a lot from the middle from the start of his career so got into the games more. he also didnt have a great tank. Its been 4 years. throw him to the wolves

B: Murry, Dunn, Crisp
HB: Varcoe, Moore, Howe
C: Wells, Adams, Maynard
HF: DeGoey, Reid, Sidebottom
FF, Hoskin-Elliott, Cox, Elliott
FOLL: Grundy, Pendlebury, Treloar
INT. Goldsack, Fasolo, Phillips, Scharenberg

Emg, Langdon, Greenwood, Stephenson, Broomhead

Latest thoughts...

Langdon Dunn Crisp
Howe Moore Maynard
Hoskin Elliott Pendles Sidey
De Goey Reid Wells
Fasolo Cox Elliott

Grundy Treloar Adams

Phillips Daicos Varcoe Broomy

Emg Goldsack Brown Shaz Thomas

First 18 should be the equal of any in the league - when fit and firing - with the bench to add run, skill and all can hit the scoreboard.

Aish and Shaz still need to fulfill potential to make the side, though they could still prove to be good enough by round 1.

Would love to squeeze brown into the bench, and I'll happily do so if he plays some impressive footy in the pre-season games, and / or one of the current bench names make too many mistakes in said games. Phillips I'll be keeping an eye on, but his last game of 2017 was v impressive, so he stays for now.

Murray looks solid, but needs to prove himself. Would rather keep Crisp and Maynard in the small back / mid rotations for now.

Adams Mihocek Goldsack
Howe Reid Pendlebury
WHE DeGoey Maynard
Elliott Moore Stephenson
Varcoe Cox Sidebottom

Grundy Wells Treloar

Crisp, Phillips, Thomas, Daicos

Going off the fact we know Moore will be playing back at this stage.

FB- Maynard - Dunn - Howe
HB- Crisp - Moore - Varcoe
C- Phillips - Treloar - Wells
HF- WHE - Fasolo - DeGoey
FF- Elliot - Cox - Sidebottom
F-Grundy - Pendlebury - Adams

I/C - Goldsack, Langdon, Broomhead, Sharenberg

Aish probably first in.

I think its a decent balance. I am all in favor of 1 tall in terms of Cox but Fasolo will need to lift his defensive pressure.

Crisp and Varcoe off the half back. Both can kick and we need to use the ball well there.

Sidebottom obviously rotating through the midfield but he has a natural goal sense so id like to see a fair bit of time forward.

2nd string midfield - DeGoey, Sidebottom, Wells.

Honestly all bench players are lucky besides Goldsack. They will need performance otherwise id be throwing time into younger players.

langdon dunne murray
crisp moore scharenberg
Hoskin-elliot maynard treloar
elliott reid fasolo
Howe cox stephenson

grundy sidebottom pendelberry

wells, goldsack, varcoe, adams

Aish probably first in.

I think its a decent balance. I am all in favor of 1 tall in terms of Cox but Fasolo will need to lift his defensive pressure.

Crisp and Varcoe off the half back. Both can kick and we need to use the ball well there.

Sidebottom obviously rotating through the midfield but he has a natural goal sense so id like to see a fair bit of time forward.

Honestly all bench players are lucky besides Goldsack. They will need performance otherwise id be throwing time into younger players.

Is Reid an oversight or a deliberate omission?

Oversight I knew I forgot someone. If Reid is fit honestly would take either Cox or fasolos or dunns spot.

All good.

You've reasonably assumed that Moore will be in defence, so it seems reasonable to then assume that Reid is a forward option. I'm not sure that he could or should be the only tall option up forward, so I reckon it makes sense to keep Reid and Cox together (or Grundy when he alternates with Cox).

No reason to ditch Dunny based on last year's form, but Fasolo is definitely on shakier ground.

All good.

You've reasonably assumed that Moore will be in defence, so it seems reasonable to then assume that Reid is a forward option. I'm not sure that he could or should be the only tall option up forward, so I reckon it makes sense to keep Reid and Cox together (or Grundy when he alternates with Cox).

No reason to ditch Dunny based on last year's form, but Fasolo is definitely on shakier ground.
The way I see the modern game is there is no way we can carry Cox, Grundy, Moore, Dunn, Reid and Fasolo in the same side. Unless fasolos defensive pressure improves we simply can't have 3 players (Cox, fasolo, Reid) in the same forward line who can't apply big pressure

Best way for forwards to apply defensive pressure is to apply offensive (read scoreboard) pressure so I'm not sure why there's such a focus on reducing rebound over hitting the scoreboard. Improve delivery into F50 and the pace it gets there and then make the most of those opportunities and it diminishes as an issue. Not saying we don't have a F50 defensive pressure issue, just that it shouldn't be the focus ahead of hitting the scoreboard.

B. Scharenberg ~ Dunn ~ Murray

HB. Howe ~ Moore ~ Crisp

C. Sidebottom ~ Pendlebury (c) ~ Adams

HF. Wells ~ Reid ~ Maynard

F. Elliott ~ Cox ~ Hoskin-Elliott

R. Grundy ~ De Goey ~ Treloar

I. Stephenson ~ Sier ~ Murphy ~ Varcoe

C. Buckley

Best way for forwards to apply defensive pressure is to apply offensive (read scoreboard) pressure so I'm not sure why there's such a focus on reducing rebound over hitting the scoreboard. Improve delivery into F50 and the pace it gets there and then make the most of those opportunities and it diminishes as an issue. Not saying we don't have a F50 defensive pressure issue, just that it shouldn't be the focus ahead of hitting the scoreboard.
Just looking at the last 2 premiers mate, Cleary forwardline pressure was a huge focus.

^ The Sier inclusion is just a guess at a big shock player coming on.

Realistically a player like Goldsack is on or Langdon or Aish etc.

But what the heck throw Sier in

Just looking at the last 2 premiers mate, Cleary forwardline pressure was a huge focus.

Zoning is nothing new, certainly not restricted to the last 2 years. We did the same intensive forward pressure thing in 2010-11. It largely comes down to players available and we're light on for super-quick small forwards so not sure why you'd look to then reduce opportunities to counter through offense by restricting the number of players in the side who can actually take a mark and kick a goal. It's pretty basic really, retain the footy and you don't need to pressure anyone, win a fair share of 50/50 1v1 contests and the ball doesn't rebound as much, kick goals instead of points and you don't need to worry about quick transitions.

Aish probably first in.

Also forgot Murray and Thomas.

Should be interesting to see where people slot in

^ The Sier inclusion is just a guess at a big shock player coming on.

Realistically a player like Goldsack is on or Langdon or Aish etc.

But what the heck throw Sier in
What about Stephenson, Murphy and Murray. 4 guys who have yet to debut is a mighty call.

Sack and Langdon, who got voted into the young leaders group, are clearly best 22 players. Up to the new boys to put some VFL runs on the board first for mine. Stephenson the best bet to be best 22 come seasons end of the 4. The other 3 I see as more VFL players in development for 2018.

B. Crisp ~ Dunn ~ Langdon

HB. Howe ~ Moore ~ Varcoe

C. Maynard ~ Pendlebury (c) ~ Adams

HF. Wells ~ Fasolo ~ Sidebottom

F. Elliott ~ Reid ~ Hoskin-Elliott

R. Grundy ~ De Goey ~ Treloar

I.From - Aish ~ Thomas ~ Goldsack ~ Scharenberg ~ Broomhead ~ Wills ~ Phillips ~ Greenwood

What about Stephenson, Murphy and Murray. 4 guys who have yet to debut is a mighty call.

Sack and Langdon, who got voted into the young leaders group, are clearly best 22 players. Up to the new boys to put some VFL runs on the board first for mine. Stephenson the best bet to be best 22 come seasons end of the 4. The other 3 I see as more VFL players in development for 2018.
I’m sure you are more right than me.

I was a bit Hail Mary pass a little bit projection a little bit,if it’s same same we’re not going to be different.

But if I was picking a round 1 side quite a few of them would not be getting a game.
Goldsack Langdon Aish etc would be.

...surprised there doesn't seem to be much love for Tom Phillips -even on the bench.

He played 18 games last year, averaging 21 possies -with a season high of 29 and a goal against the Hawks. He also kicked 2 goals and had 23 possies against the Dees in our last round win. He seems to be on an upward trajectory. I'd put him ahead of Shazza, Sier, Stevenson, Aish, Murray, Murphy, Kirby, Daicos, Brown, etc

...surprised there doesn't seem to be much love for Tom Phillips -even on the bench.

He played 18 games last year, averaging 21 possies -with a season high of 29 and a goal against the Hawks. He also kicked 2 goals and had 23 possies against the Dees in our last round win. He seems to be on an upward trajectory. I'd put him ahead of Shazza, Sier, Stevenson, Aish, Murray, Murphy, Kirby, Daicos, Brown, etc

I don't think Phillips is really competing against most of the players you've put him ahead of, although putting him ahead of Sier, Aish, Daicos and Brown seems fair enough.

I like Phillips. I had him at no. 23, and for mine his claim to a spot comes ahead of Aish, Broomhead, Thomas, and Greenwood. He still has some developing to do, and his disposal under duress needs to get better, but he has the right attitude to suggest that he'll improve.

I put untried players such as Murray and Stephenson ahead of him because I think they can play roles which can improve our team more dramatically, but I acknowledge that they haven't done anything yet to earn a spot, and Phillips is a more likely candidate to play senior footy from round 1 this year than either of them.

2018 - Best 22