List Mgmt. 2018 NAB AFL Draft: November 22nd & 23rd

Who would you prefer with our first selection?

• Max King

Votes: 91 38.1%
  • Bailey Smith

Votes: 47 19.7%
  • Connor Rozee

Votes: 17 7.1%
  • Jye Caldwell

Votes: 37 15.5%
  • Unknown Smokey?

Votes: 4 1.7%
  • Jack Lukosious

Votes: 12 5.0%
  • Isak Rankine

Votes: 72 30.1%
  • Ben King

Votes: 7 2.9%
  • Sam Walsh

Votes: 13 5.4%

I remember going to a war museum in, or around, Phillip Island. From memory, and I could be wrong, it contained the apparatus that drew the numbers in the draft lottery. I remember being fascinated by the exhibit and wondering how it had literally changed peoples lives.
I think the balls and the barrel are now held in the National Archives. I'm number 293 in this photo. Thankfully 292 and 294 were selected.

ShowImage.aspx

The fickle finger of fate about to point at???

27096ed66dfa9f75e539b03bcef89016

Lets look at a decade of top 5 picks.
2005: Murphy , Thomas , Ellis, Kennedy Pendlebury
2006: Gibbs Gumbleton Hansen Leuenberger Boak
2007: *Kruezer Cotchin Maston Morton Grant
2008: Watts Naitanui Hill Hartlett Hurley
2009: Scully, Trengove Martin, Morabito Cunnington
2010: Swallow , Bennell Day Gaff Polec
2011: *Patton, Coniglio, Tyson, Hoskin-Elliot Buntine
2012: Whitfield , O'Rourke , Plowman, Toumpas , Stringer
2013: *Boyd Kelly Billings Bontempelli Kolodjashnij
2014: McCartin Petracca Brayshaw Pickett DeGoey

So 15 Talls. 2 or 3 who turned out to be out and out guns. (20%) ( ones with * were going to be the GOAT ). At least 6 who were disappointing.( 40%)
35 others. At least 17 who were very very good. ( 48% ) Around 7 who were very disappointing ( 20% )

I want us to pick a midfielder.

I didn’t realise how old you were Baz, we span a few generations on here. I would have been too fragile for the army, I can’t handle watching footy without losing it. I would have been like Brando in Appoclypse Now after 3 weeks in training.

Yeh I am getting on a bit. Thats why I want the Saints to get cracking and get another flag while I am still here.

I didn’t realise how old you were Baz, we span a few generations on here. I would have been too fragile for the army, I can’t handle watching footy without losing it. I would have been like Brando in Appoclypse Now after 3 weeks in training.

King of your own private army of ferals ?

So 15 Talls. 2 or 3 who turned out to be out and out guns. (20%) ( ones with * were going to be the GOAT ). At least 6 who were disappointing.( 40%)
35 others. At least 17 who were very very good. ( 48% ) Around 7 who were very disappointing ( 20% )

Anyway , as a segway, if you used the above barrel to pick players from those drafts, you are far more likely to end up with a gun midfielder than a gun tall.

I think the balls and the barrel are now held in the National Archives. I'm number 293 in this photo. Thankfully 292 and 294 were selected.

ShowImage.aspx

The fickle finger of fate about to point at???

27096ed66dfa9f75e539b03bcef89016
upload_2018-10-10_8-26-31.jpeg

It is the same one. Here is a photo of the barrel and the marbles are in the cloth on the right. Currently at the National Vietnam Veterans Museum on Phillip Island. I sent an e-mail to the museum this morning just to make sure I wasn't inventing a memory. They sent me the photo attached along with the response pasted below.

upload_2018-10-10_8-31-26.png

Maybe we should throw a rookie pick towards Nick Meese, though i'm not sure if its relevant to the Viet war.
If he was only 19 it may be relevant however he's way older than that ;)

So as great as it's been toying over what we'll do with our first pick (we weren't takin' for rankine for nothing guys, c'mon).

Why not shift our attention to what we can potentially pick up with our later picks...

Who are the players who showed plenty earlier on but have since dropped off?
Who are the players who showed little to begin with, but have impressed lately with either end of season form or their combine results?
What state league players could we be potentially interested in?

No one has grabbed Collins yet, we’ve delisted Goddard...

Guess your forgetting all the compromised drafts and early access picks that would’ve been top 5 in normal drafts but hey run with it.

I can include the likes of Hogan, who was going to be the next coming of Jesus, but my Demons supporting mate tells me there's something not quite right with him and he's not as good as McDonald.

I missed the lottery by a year. Just as I got to a point to worry about it, the war was over. Phew. Years later I worked with two guys who had gone to Vietnam. Nothing was known about PTSD etc at that point, and they certainly didn't talk about it. But their behaviour could be very erratic. I heard not long ago that one of those guys got sorted to a degree in his sixties after finally getting help.

A bullet missed there in more ways than one. Respect to those who went.
Served in the Army Reserve infantry in the early eighties. The regulars were Vietnam veterans and they were all fu**ed up in some way. Just needed the right conditions to trigger them and they would change from Jekyll to Hyde. Could be one too many to drink, could be talking about immigrants, the weather, girlfriends, politics...they would fire up really hard and then in no time it would be finished...no hard feelings like it was all in a normal day

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Served in the Army Reserve infantry in the early eighties. The regulars were Vietnam veterans and they were all fu**ed up in some way. Just needed the right conditions to trigger them and they would change from Jekyll to Hyde. Could be one too many to drink, could be talking about immigrants, the weather, girlfriends, politics...they would fire up really hard and then in no time it would be finished...no hard feelings like it was all in a normal day

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app
You have just exactly described the two guys I worked with. Great blokes, but out of nowhere real anger, blazing eyes, moodiness. And then also elation and almost hysterical laughter. You never knew what you were going to get. Alcohol quite a trigger though.

Nobody really thought of Vietnam as a possible cause back then. At least I don't remember excusing the behaviour with that in mind. Seems incredible with the knowledge we all have now. The earlier wars were the same.

Hang on we actually have a couple of decent father-sons next year?!

I missed the lottery by a year. Just as I got to a point to worry about it, the war was over. Phew. Years later I worked with two guys who had gone to Vietnam. Nothing was known about PTSD etc at that point, and they certainly didn't talk about it. But their behaviour could be very erratic. I heard not long ago that one of those guys got sorted to a degree in his sixties after finally getting help.
A bullet missed there in more ways than one. Respect to those who went.
Now people want to win the Lottery , so they can go to Vietnam. How quickly we move on. I have the utmost respect for veterans. It's a pity those d**ks that are vandalising Perth war memorials atm , have no such respect. I want to hurt them.

Skipped over heaps of this thread as I've been flat stick with work, so this may have already been dealt with, but I have noticed that people have said a number of times that Max King often takes pack marks but in the footage that I have seen all his marks are one on one.

Could someone share some footage of King taking pack marks or clunking some 2 vs 1?

Hang on we actually have a couple of decent father-sons next year?!
Rookies at best. I stand to be corrected, but researching this a while back I found Voss's name once, and Milne not at all. Things change, young guys develop, but they seem a bit unlikely.

Skipped over heaps of this thread as I've been flat stick with work, so this may have already been dealt with, but I have noticed that people have said a number of times that Max King often takes pack marks but in the footage that I have seen all his marks are one on one.

Could someone share some footage of King taking pack marks or clunking some 2 vs 1?
For what it’s worth I’ve personally seen him take pack marks. His hands are huge and always takes it at its highest point, I’ve seen him play approx 5-6 games in the tac each time left amazed. None in the school footy but he certainly takes pack marks.

Just re-watched the highlights vids of King and Rankine.

How bloody exciting is that we could very easily have one of these two running around putting on a show for us for potentially the next 15 or so years!? :)

Could be some serious silver lining on a black cloud of a year.

How anyone would be literally upset to have either one of them at our footy club just has me baffled. To me that's like being pissed off that someone's given you a Ferrari rather than a Lamborghini! "Oh no, not the Ferrari!" :mad: :D

If Max is indeed 204cm and still growing and is at least as quick as Ben (who did a 2.96sec 20m sprint at the combine, which is lightning for someone that tall), he could be bloody anything (even if he loses some of that speed when he bulks up- Kouta said he lost a lot of his speed when he bulked up, yet he still dominated), and watching that vid is also a reminder that he could do the rucking inside 50 for his team, which allows whoever is doing the main rucking to sit a kick or two behind play, which would be very handy.

Be bloody stoked to have either of these two playing for us from next year! Or if it's Bailey Snith he seems to fit our needs to a tee and is the type you'd love to have wearing your club's jumper.

For what it’s worth I’ve personally seen him take pack marks. His hands are huge and always takes it at its highest point, I’ve seen him play approx 5-6 games in the tac each time left amazed. None in the school footy but he certainly takes pack marks.

More importantly, how was his kicking on goal in those 5-6 games you saw? Be brutally honest too. :think: