List Mgmt. 2018 St Kilda Trade Thread Part 3

He was probably nursing the mother of all hangovers from an end of season do mate. Give the bloke some credit.
I don't know about you guys but I don't bound around the supermarket like Richard Simmons, sucking in the air and high-fiving strangers like some High On Life maniac. I reckon if you looked at most of the other shoppers you'd probably say the same of them.

Re this GWS fella.

I get the whole “we need to throw more money at him because we’re a nothing club” argument. I really do.

And it seems that’s what we’ve done.

And it seems we still can’t convince him.

While he may well be a gun, and while we may desperately need someone like him, for me that’s where it ends.

If he won’t come to us for way more than others have offered, then I don’t want him coming to us for way more than our already way more offer.

Forget him and let him take the easy option at Hawthorn, or better still, wallow away at Carlton.

NB: The above is based on various rumours and mumblings regarding our offers, their offers, Shiel’s thoughts and intentions being in any way remotely accurate.

Yeah nah.

Arranged marriages work fine and even kidnap victims fall in love with their captors.

Shiel initially wouldn't have given 2 hoots about the fake franchise he was drafted into 7 years ago, but now he doesn't necessarily want to leave.

a preseason of blood, sweat and tears in the red white and black would put any commitment concerns to rest.

Plus the money truck in the driveway and pride in his own performance wont hurt.

Yep. Poorly thought out and executed, though I can see where they are coming from. That's what An Agressive Trading Strategy gets you.

We're that loser in a night club asking every girl for a root in the hope that the law of averages eventually allows one to say yes.

I think Dal was put on the spot a bit over his 'Shiel' rankings in terms of Carlton being ahead of us. He (Dal) said that Carlton want McGovern as a priority, and won't give up Pick 1 as part of a deal for Shiel. So where does that leave them? They can't possibly have the currency for both trades and retaining Pick 1.

I'll be pleased if we get Shiel, but not fussed if we don't considering we'll need to give up Pick 4 in some shape.
Why dont carlton just split pick 1 to adelaide for mcgovern and their 2 firsts then send those firsts to gws for shiel.
Cant see how you loose when you add mcgovern and shiel for pick 1. Then they get Luco.

Yep. Poorly thought out and executed, though I can see where they are coming from. That's what An Agressive Trading Strategy gets you.

We're that loser in a night club asking every girl for a root in the hope that the law of averages eventually allows one to say yes.
And I've been happily married since.

So you are saying we are the David King of AFL football clubs..

:(

They are just poking fun at all the so-called trade experts who have linked us with every player. Not saying that we are actually targeting every player. Hence the words “according to Twitter.”

Those trade accounts on Twitter are full of idiots guessing at trades in the hope one may actually happen.

They are just poking fun at all the so-called trade experts who have linked us with every player. Not saying that we are actually targeting every player. Hence the words “according to Twitter.”

Those trade accounts on Twitter are full of idiots guessing at trades in the hope one may actually happen.

That's right, just comes off better you're coming from a position of strength imo

Then 30 years later find ourselves on charges..

That's right, just comes off better you're coming from a position of strength imo

I think maybe they want to pre empt the “Saints chasing everyone, getting no one” narrative, putting it out there that a lot of it is BS. I can see the logic behind it.

It was a joke. We do take life far to seriously. It’s quite funny

This Rooey spoke to Shiel talk reminds me of the Rooey spoke to Kelly rumour last year. We can always trust Rooey to talk to people as part of our sell. Doubt it would compare to Shiel talking to Judd for Carlton. Or the appeal of playing in a midfield with Mitchel and O'meara.

What about the appeal of playing under Richo instead of Clarko? I reckon that sealed the deal.