List Mgmt. 2018 Trade, Free Agency & Draft Thread MK 3 [JP✔️ JPII✔️ Hall✔️ BScott✔️ Tyson✔️ Clarke➡️ Preuss➡️]

Before people get all riled up about this Plan B - Josh Kelly talk, it’s not a consideration and is pure click bait.

Fact not Fiction

C'mon, these crocodile tears for Mountford. It is always sad to see kids cut but we are starting to focus on midfielder recruitment now, if you weren't in the best 22 as a midfielder atm you were in serious strife unless there was a ton of expectation on you. For some who have been best 22, the future is bleak, ie Clarke.

Our best 22 midfield atm is:
Hall Jacobs Polec
Goldstein Cunnington Higgins
I: Dumont Anderson Ahern McDonald

Even McDonald is shaky in that group. Walker the best of the rest. Plus we have LDU and will have Thomas who will effectively rocket up the order and hopefully we don't **** up getting Kelly next year.

Hopefully the club is looking at possibly a younger midfielder on the move, there might be someone else that can be hit out of the GWS Pinata.

McDonald very shaky - although things can change quickly. I predict that LDU will tear a spot out of someone's hands next year and won't give it up until he retires.

Before people get all riled up about this Plan B - Josh Kelly talk, it’s not a consideration and is pure click bait.

Fact not Fiction
You made a comment about Gaff not signing and we had a much better target lined up.

Provide the name, or people will assume you're not being sincere.

C'mon, these crocodile tears for Mountford. It is always sad to see kids cut but we are starting to focus on midfielder recruitment now, if you weren't in the best 22 as a midfielder atm you were in serious strife unless there was a ton of expectation on you. For some who have been best 22, the future is bleak, ie Clarke.

Our best 22 midfield atm is:
Hall Jacobs Polec
Goldstein Cunnington Higgins
I: Dumont Anderson Ahern McDonald

Even McDonald is shaky in that group. Walker the best of the rest. Plus we have LDU and will have Thomas who will effectively rocket up the order and hopefully we don't **** up getting Kelly next year.

Hopefully the club is looking at possibly a younger midfielder on the move, there might be someone else that can be hit out of the GWS Pinata.

I agree re the tears for Mountford. It's not Mountford per se, it's the idea that we delisted a player a full month before we actually needed to on the ASSUMPTION his replacement was coming. Not actually signed, nothing on paper, just a verbal commitments and a feeling. And we cut a player and might have ended his career. It could have been anyone. It just so happened to be Dec but that is absolutely negligent list management, man management, and everything in between

It wasn't like Mountford was sitting in Gaff's list spot. We didn't need to do it. Why did we? Who made that decision?

McDonald very shaky - although things can change quickly. I predict that LDU will tear a spot out of someone's hands next year and won't give it up until he retires.

It is hard to tell with inside midfielders, if he was a fast outside mid I would be more optimistic of a faster turnaround. We aren't really hurting for insiders atm so I am not fussed if he takes a bit longer. The beauty of LDU long-term is that he will be able to play a variety of roles/positions due to his class, will be a massive upgrade in the future.

My gut says McDonald will have a strong pre-season and have a good 2019. He has recognised 2018 was shit and he has a lot of work to do this pre-season. He doesn't have much time to get his shit together though.

I agree re the tears for Mountford. It's not Mountford per se, it's the idea that we delisted a player a full month before we actually needed to on the ASSUMPTION his replacement was coming. Not actually signed, nothing on paper, just a verbal commitments and a feeling. And we cut a player and might have ended his career. It could have been anyone. It just so happened to be Dec but that is absolutely negligent list management, man management, and everything in between

It wasn't like Mountford was sitting in Gaff's list spot. We didn't need to do it. Why did we? Who made that decision?

This may be accurate but IMO there's every possibility that Mountford was getting cut either way.

It is hard to tell with inside midfielders, if he was a fast outside mid I would be more optimistic of a faster turnaround. We aren't really hurting for insiders atm so I am not fussed if he takes a bit longer. The beauty of LDU long-term is that he will be able to play a variety of roles/positions due to his class, will be a massive upgrade in the future.

My gut says McDonald will have a strong pre-season and have a good 2019. He has recognised 2018 was shit and he has a lot of work to do this pre-season. He doesn't have much time to get his shit together though.

I think fitness and a bit of muscle will tell the story with LDU for 2019, agree he's not pacy but I reckon he has a very good set of hands and could quite easily play a more utility style role as well if being right in the middle isn't the time yet. Just a feeling. Hope you're right about McDonald. If he has any pride he'll hit preseason hard and smash the start of the year.

Is this Mountford thing confirmed though?

Maybe I am giving the club too much credit but if we were only going to delist him if Gaff signed, I find it hard to believe we'd delist him without the contract actually being inked, especially given Martin verbally committed to us last year too.

Another time I met Gaff:

I took my nephew to get a new tank top a few years back. His side muscles were getting so big that he was popping out of his wife beater at school, and it was causing a problem because all the girls were distracted, they couldn't keep their eyes off of him.

So we were in line at Bunnings, and this guy bumps into my Achilles tendon with his shopping cart. I turned around and this s.o.b. was laughing at me. Not even a sorry. It was none other than Andrew Gaff. I told him to go back to Melbourne and get them to ask for another priority pick. He got mad and asked me where all my hair was. I was going to touch him with my jab, but the shopping cart was shielding him from my line of fire, so I picked up a bag of Skittles and launched it at his face.

He got out of the way, and the Skittles bounced off of this little girl's head. She started crying, and next thing I knew, Dean Cox hits me over the head with a shovel. My nephew began to swing on him, and I got up and tackled Cox. I pulled down his pants and hit him in the groin.

Gaff thought it was pretty funny, so I threw him inside of his shopping cart and pushed him into a pallet of ozito drills. I didn't even pay for the shirt. My nephew and I just headed for the door. This old guy at the door who only had one arm tried to stop us. My nephew shook his hand and I touched him with the jab. He went down before I could even throw the right.

As I was getting into the truck, this police officer tried to put me in hand cuffs. I spun around twice and hit him with the deadly uppercut. My fourteen year old nephew started the ute, so I jumped in the back and we sped home. It was a close one, but at least my nephew got a bigger shirt and I got to show Gaff who was boss.

This may be accurate but IMO there's every possibility that Mountford was getting cut either way.

Not necessarily about Mountford. It's about cutting someone before you have a commitment on paper

It's like quitting your job before you have your replacement job lined up

Then you're left with your dick in your hand

It isn't draft tampering, you can offer a player a contract above the minimum. First year players sometimes get contracts above minimums. It is a minimum award, not a maximum.

Is he worth it? Some experts have put him in the 20 of a super draft. What do you think?

At this point in time, I don't think he will choose us by default. Why wouldn't you do everything you could to change that.
No, it’s a fixed amount for all first-time draftees as a measure against draft tampering.

I know that people are upset, but surely it's a bit much to actively be wishing harm on the bloke? It's fine to say that he hopefully never wins a premiership at that club, but it's pretty classless to wish injury on anyone.

Agree.