2018 WC - AFL need to shut down for 10 weeks

I Just read in the advertiser that Australia are in the box seat to host the 2018 Football World Cup, however, the guy form Brazil who assisted with their bid said that AFL And Rugby would need to shut down for a minimum of 10 weeks otherwise we had no chance of getting it at all! :eek:

Thats a load of bollocks.
FiFA did not dictate to the Americans in 1994 that they had to stop the NFL, NBA OR MLB...
They havent asked any other country to stop other leagues whilst hosting the WC Finals..
They won't here.

Thats a load of bollocks.
FiFA did not dictate to the Americans in 1994 that they had to stop the NFL, NBA OR MLB...
They havent asked any other country to stop other leagues whilst hosting the WC Finals..
They won't here.

FIFA needed America at the time more than America needs soccer. Therefore they are more likely to give them what they wanted.

208 nations have FIFA rankings.
That's 207 more nations than footy. Get a grip.

Most laughable quote on this board ever.

How many countries have soccer as the national sport. It is when virtually all countries have it as the national sport it will be A world game.
Currently it is the sport closest to being a world game, and hence is called the world game. I dont really have a problem with it being called the world game, its just that people sometimes think that it means all the countries other than Aust, NZ, USA etc have it as the national sport.

If Australia is chosen then whatever must be done has to be done. World Cup in our country will only happen once in our lives most likely.

The level of anti-soccer threads on BF are increasing at a ridiculous rate. Must be fear or something. Glad i'm not in that boat. AFL in the winter; A-League in the summer. Both don't compete with each other. Both can live with each other.

If we can have the season earlier for the olympics, i'm sure we can change for the biggest sporting tournament in the world.

Excuse me? You've just stated in your post that Soccer in this country is a Summer Sport - hence the reason the 2 sports don't clash - and then you go on to say that you wouldn't mind having the indigenous game shoved aside for a foreign import?

Doesn't make any sense.

If Soccer is a Summer sport here - then that is where it should have to hold its tournaments here. If that is not to FIFA's liking - well they can get lost as far as I am concerned.

One thing I never want to see is some international sporting federation of a competing sport (and with what you've said about moving seasons you have admitted they are in competition) like FIFA telling our own sporting administrators to get stuffed and close up their seasons for 10 weeks right in the middle! You have to be joking right, how on Earth can we have our major sporting leagues taking a 10 week break right in the middle of their seasons.

What does that do to the end of the seasons, or the start - it starts to impact on the cricketing seasons as well! What about injury management, momentum etc. etc. - it would just destroy the AFL and NRL seasons if they were forced to do Soccer's bidding.

I am totally against it.

The Rugby World Cup in this country was held in October/November - and as far as I am concerned, if FIFA are really serious about promoting their game they can adapt to our conditions and hold it at the same time - it is not up to other sports to bend over backwards for Soccer - it is for Soccer to make the effort themselves.

If that means shifting European League seasons - then that is what they will have to do. Otherwise - they can get stuffed.

I would not even worry about it. There is no chance of Oceania recieving the World Cup for a hell of a long time. Unless we are thrown a few games when it is hosted in somewhere like Sth Korea and the Asias. Australia/New Zealand hosting the cup is not even on FIFAs agenda.:thumbsdown:

Anyway, why would you need to stop for 10 weeks? The World Cup only goes for a month which is 4 and a half weeks. Do it in March and scrap the pre-season comp and move the footy season back a week.

Because FIFA demands as part of hosting that no other sports can use the World Cup Stadiums for a full month before the start of the World Cup - and then of course for the duration of the World Cup itself.

All up, that comes to about 9-10 weeks.

One thing I don't want, as a supporter of our native game - is to see it shoved aside, decimated and destroyed for the purpose of promoting a foreign game.

No way Jose.

I was going to say the same about AFL; ball goes up one end goal, ball goes up the other end goal (repeat ad nauseam). AFL - the basketball of kicking sports...

I guess being a richmond supporter you would find footy boring.

Whatching a game for 90 minutes where nobody scores , gee that sounds like a heck of fun.

If that is what HAS to happen I am more than happy to allow it. Soccer World Cup is one of the top sporting events in the world and would create absolute hysteria in Australia. The AFL would clearly have to think around it, but the World Cup is too good an opportunity to pass up and could severely dent our credentials. Also if we keep stopping Australia from having the tournament due to the footy, then we would never hold the World Cup would we? Naturally it would be stupid to completely cancel the AFL season (that would be very odd), so the brains trust at the AFL would have to think their way around it if it did really mean the season would have to be stopped for 10 weeks.

I am a FARRRRRRR bigger soccer fan than an AFL fan (although I love the AFL aswell).

YET

I think it would be unethical to halt two sporting leagues to host the World Cup. Can you imagine the outrage in Europe/South America/etc etc if there soccer leagues had to be halted to cater for another sport. And you may say, but there is no other sport that could hold the sort of influence like that than soccer can. And you'd be right. However, that still doesnt change the fact that you are imposing yourself onto other countries, and basically spitting in their face.

I also happen to believe that Australia doesnt deserve the World Cup. Since the rotation policy was scrapped, the bidding process will get A LOT tougher. And I believe that there are MANY countries ahead of Australia who deserve to host the World Cup more than us, as they have serviced the game much more greatly than Australia has.

Do you for a second think that America would have got the World Cup if the NFL tycoons knew that they would take use of their stadiums? FIFA was lucky that the NFL season starts late in the year.

And yes, the World Cup may be the biggest thing that could happen to Australia in terms of hosting global events, but in reality, we arent that big of a market. And heres the kicker...........

Theres a big battle in China right now between soccer and basketball. Now tell me, do you seriously think FIFA are going to let an upcoming superpower with 1billion+ people slip, and give it to a country with 20 million people, who in reality, dont matter in the world?

wikipediaAFLproject - Bringing Gallipoli into the argument is about as tasteful (not to mention it's nonsensical rubbish) as the Australian Cricket team pretending they are diggers and confirms you as a dopey bogan.

Universities are nothing but a money machine these days and will accept just about anyone. The fact that you've actually come out the other end and hold some of your views is merely proof that they don't necessarily take on the brightest sparks.

I am a FARRRRRRR bigger soccer fan than an AFL fan (although I love the AFL aswell).

YET

I think it would be unethical to halt two sporting leagues to host the World Cup. Can you imagine the outrage in Europe/South America/etc etc if there soccer leagues had to be halted to cater for another sport. And you may say, but there is no other sport that could hold the sort of influence like that than soccer can. And you'd be right. However, that still doesnt change the fact that you are imposing yourself onto other countries, and basically spitting in their face.

I also happen to believe that Australia doesnt deserve the World Cup. Since the rotation policy was scrapped, the bidding process will get A LOT tougher. And I believe that there are MANY countries ahead of Australia who deserve to host the World Cup more than us, as they have serviced the game much more greatly than Australia has.

Do you for a second think that America would have got the World Cup if the NFL tycoons knew that they would take use of their stadiums? FIFA was lucky that the NFL season starts late in the year.

And yes, the World Cup may be the biggest thing that could happen to Australia in terms of hosting global events, but in reality, we arent that big of a market. And heres the kicker...........

Theres a big battle in China right now between soccer and basketball. Now tell me, do you seriously think FIFA are going to let an upcoming superpower with 1billion+ people slip, and give it to a country with 20 million people, who in reality, dont matter in the world?

Good post as well

It sounds like a bullshit article. FIFA isn't demanding that we suspend the footy at all, just that the grounds hosting world cup matches be reserved. In Victoria, that means the MCG, but TD and KP are unaffected. Sydney may lose the use of Homebush but only if they decide against using the Sydney football ground. At any rate they will still have the SCG. They will probably use Suncorp in Brisbane, and at any rate, the Gold Coast can host a few matches. They would be mad to host soccer at footy park in Adelaide and would most likely build a new stadium. Perth teams can use either Subi or the new ground.

I guess being a richmond supporter you would find footy boring.

Whatching a game for 90 minutes where nobody scores , gee that sounds like a heck of fun.

Wow, that's almost as original as "you get a point for missing"

Out of interest here is the result of the most recent A-League match - played tonight:

Sydney 5-4 Central Coast

http://www.a-league.com.au/default.aspx?s=hal_newsdisplay&id=20798&pageid=1001

Yeah, that sounds like it was a real dull match.

So is the atmosphere at the soccer better?

See above :p

It sounds like a bullshit article. FIFA isn't demanding that we suspend the footy at all, just that the grounds hosting world cup matches be reserved. In Victoria, that means the MCG, but TD and KP are unaffected. Sydney may lose the use of Homebush but only if they decide against using the Sydney football ground. At any rate they will still have the SCG. They will probably use Suncorp in Brisbane, and at any rate, the Gold Coast can host a few matches. They would be mad to host soccer at footy park in Adelaide and would most likely build a new stadium. Perth teams can use either Subi or the new ground.

Agreed, although with a few differences:

Docklands may also be unavailable. It depends if they plan to upgrade the 31k Rectangular Stadium to 50k or not - if they do, I expect they will use the RS in preference to Docklands.

In Sydney, at the most, Homebush + SFS will be used, so SCG will be available.

(Only one city can have two stadia, so it would be safe to assume that the MCG and Homebush are shoe-ins - which means one out of Docklands, Rect. Stadium and SFS will being used, but that's beside the point)

The new Perth stadium will definitely be used, and I thought they were going to pull down Subiaco after the new one was built?

I expect Adelaide will have a new rectangular stadium (unless the AFL throws money at it to make it oval) and as you said, Brisbane will have Suncorp, so AAMI and the Gabba will also be available.

Most likely all other venues will be rectangular.

So there will be 3-4 oval stadiums in use - MCG, Homebush, and Stadium WA, with the 4th being Docklands. Three of those are convertible shape, so the MCG would be the only exclusive oval venue being used.

And as said before - the competition doesn't need to shut down for 10 weeks - just not use the above stadiums for 10 weeks. And I expect the AFL will make a business decision to take a break for the 4 weeks the WC is on - why play if people aren't really going to be paying attention?

Mind you, if the AFL decides to play all its games at the smaller stadiums, I'd gladly house swap (I live in Tassie) with a mad keen Melbourne/Sydney residing AFL fan for the duration of the WC :p