List Mgmt. 2019 Draft/Trade/FA Thread - Final Wrap

It’s funny reading the Draft and Trade pages. Often seems like there are more Brisbane posters standing up for the Suns, than there are Suns posters at times.
You'll find that's because people up on those main boards see a Gold Coast flair and see fit to take pot shots, It's only cute to cheer for us when we're about to upset a team someone doesn't like.

But if you guys are going into bat for us then I can respect that. Cheers.

Yes and no, I'm probably less clever than I think I am. For example, I was reflecting that last year I probably wouldn't have drafted Ben King due to flight risk, but he looks like a ridiculous steal right now, great move by the Suns. It's not hard to go to bat for what's right, and those foolish Victorians and Adelaidians are somehow even more ignorant about the Suns and the Gold Coast in general than they were about the Lions until recently. I swear those pompous fools think their clubs are God's gift to the universe.

At the end of the day it's your forum, and myself and the other Brisbanites are all guests here, I don't want to step on any toes. I think Bods has a point and I can understand some of the resentment, every fanbase has its fair share of idiots but the Broncos fans seem especially obnoxious. And I can see how that disgust would carry over to the Lions when you're potentially losing a player to us while we're riding high, after many defections in the past. If it were the Lions in your place I'd be annoyed too.

Anyway, back to Suns recruitment. I figured last year with the drafting of Lukosius, Rankine and McLennan that the Suns could be positioning themselves as a sort of third SA club, but with better weather and no Adelaide media frenzy. I wonder if Betts and Burgoyne are continuing the same idea, both SA legends (and NT too for Burgoyne as has been pointed out). It'd be a good counterpart to Brisbane's Vic Country recruitment strategy.
You, I like you.

Every club is a potential premiership club when you're 21 you twat

On SM-G960W using BigFooty.com mobile app
Let's not resort to name calling please, It may be the equivalent to getting pulled up by the principal on the last day of school but don't think I won't hand out some slaps.

Opposition supporters - We enjoy having you on here but please keep in mind we've had a rough year and we're still licking our wounds so read through your post and make sure it doesn't unintentionally come off as smug or condescending.

Suns supporters - Not saying you can't defend the club but let's not arc up at every foreign visitor that has a different view point, Variety of opinion and debate is the spice of life (and the off-season)

... Ball came out in the tackle, play on >_>

Sorry to intrude as a Lions fan I know exactly what you guys are going through. But there's also the appeal of potentially being a premier ship player.
The flip side being those guys who aren’t in your best 22 and playing neafl and miss out on an AFL premiership.

For those guys there is the added appeal of playing at AFL level, instead of neafl.

So when you’re stuck behind a young and fairly entrenched best 22 you may decide to look elsewhere.

I hope we are talking to cox, Joyce, ballenden, McFadden, Smith, hinge
Etc...

Can’t really understand Carlton’s interest in Betts? Reckon they might be faking interest to try twist our arm over Martin.

Just don’t think we’re THAT into Eddie....

They are at least holding firm on contract lengths and prices.. not sure what Cal was on but we didn’t sell the farm to make sure he stayed.
Did the Lions need to sell the farm to entice him to leave though? As I said earlier, would love to know the dollar differential. Sometimes it’s as little as $25k / year. Also surprised we couldn’t offer a 3 year contract to a bloke we invested pick 8 in, has a dynamic style of play we lack and is still only 21 years old, if the rumours are true. Cal was seen as WA’s best player the year he was drafted. Besides his relatively minor injuries that have prevented him from getting any continuity in his game, he has shown enough talent to keep persisting with surely.
There’s a lot more going on here than any of us here seem to know or be telling.

The flip side being those guys who aren’t in your best 22 and playing neafl and miss out on an AFL premiership.

For those guys there is the added appeal of playing at AFL level, instead of neafl.

So when you’re stuck behind a young and fairly entrenched best 22 you may decide to look elsewhere.

I hope we are talking to cox, Joyce, ballenden, McFadden, Smith, hinge
Etc...

Cox, Joyce for Ah chee

lionshine
I don’t know the ins and outs of those earlier recruitments you mentioned but have heard A.Lynch say in the past few weeks that rischa wanted to get out of BRISBANE as he was dangled as part of a fev trade. Seems you made your own bed on that on.

Yep 100% we did. I have no ill will towards those players. Was more just arguing that we’re hardly starting a poaching war when both clubs have recruited players from each other in the past. That’s all:thumbsu:

Return favour one day? You've already done it x3(Riska/Brennan/Hanley) mate. Memories seem a bit short on here. Sorry mate but don't act like we're coming in and stealing your players. Saying it's "on" because we're targeting an injury prone 4th year player seems a bit extreme. It's not as if we're targeting Ainsworth or Bowes. And if we want to talk about cross town poaching you guys started it with Rischitelli, Brennan and Hanley... We still to this day haven't recruited any players from the Suns with the exception of Lyons who was delisted. So don't whinge about us stealing your players when you've poached three of ours over the years. Just seems a tad "woe is me" type of attitude from some on here. You guys were more than happy to celebrate landing Riska/Brennan/Hanley at the time. Now the shoe is on the other foot all of a sudden Brisbane are the big bad guys starting a poaching war? Give us a break.
I finally got a bit more time to reply.

First, I prefer you don't call me mate. Definitely not mates.

Who is whinging? I just expressed that I started to develop dislike for Lions and hope that Suns go after their young players too. I am sure I am allowed to do that especially on Suns forum where you are a guest which you probably forgot considering your aggressive language. But hey if admins are happy with that, I have no problem.

To be honest I did not even think about the past. Mostly focusing on new era under Fagan and Dew where we are supposedly friends working together against Melbourne VFL for betterment of QLD footy.

Rischitelli is probably not good example as Lions tried to ship him out in Fevola trade. Yes, Brennan and Hanley I would call poaching. Both did not turn out that well for Suns. I still remember Hanley looking absolutely mentally cooked in this last year with Lions, giving up chase and I was shaking my head why Suns are getting him. On a positive side for Lions, I believe they were well compensated.

How do you know that Lions did not ask about Ainsworth, Bowes? I am sure any team would love to have them. Ainsworth was happy to be drafted to Lions so I would expect the question was at least asked from Lions.

Lyons is an interesting case. Most Suns fan were ok with him to leave and I always thought he will be a good fit for Lions and wished him well. Fo those interested, listen to Cameron interview on SEN from the last trade season. In his exit interview, Suns told Lyons that they can't guarantee his position in the best 22 and contract extension beyond 22019 and were happy for Lyons to explore trade. According to Lyons agent there was apparently no interest from other clubs. Then after trade period, surprise, surprise Lyons comes up with request to be delisted as Lions offered him a contract. Little doubt Lions were into him and were aware Sun would be happy to let him go to relieve salary cap pressure and play kids in midfield.

Ah Chee is a different case for me. I personally, value him higher that other fans. I believe he will be a steal for Lions and be in your best 22. Great talent, his injures are not serious. He seems finally developed his body. In his only game this year he looked damn good. Probably more to his story why he leaves but I am disappointed in him that he leaves supposedly for more money, longer contract and does not stick with a young core, disappointed that Suns don't keep him and disappointed that Lions were into him.

Now enjoy your finals and your dream run.

And you were probably one of the lions upporters who was thinking that if the crows didnt agree to your 2nd rounder then you could get Cameron for a PSD selection

Apologies for the intrusion.

Cameron was contracted for another year so would be strange if anyone thought that.

The Suns bashing never stops. I think the same question should be asked to get Max up on the coast. Ben is going to be a gun, to lose him would be devastating.

The good news with SA teams being in shambles atm there is no major incentive for Luko to go home

Go the Suns
http://m.afl.com.au/news/2019-08-30/sliding-doors-prefinals-bye

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Thought the same thing when I read this. Why wouldn't the Suns ask the very same question - Max, how about coming up to the GC and play with your brother? Same question from both clubs. STK would have a bit of a stronger pull given they both supported them as kids but we shouldn't lie down and let the Vic media manipulate and distort all options that are available.

I remember North supporters offering up their newborns as collateral to Sportsbet they were so sure Dave Swallow was going to North
But in the end it was Andrew who came to the Suns, and if you talk to Dave that was always the most likely scenario

Don’t take the bait.

Bodsy is a very angry poster who dishes it at every opportunity, but can’t take it back.

Just let him yell and move on.

Sorry to intrude as a Lions fan I know exactly what you guys are going through. But there's also the appeal of potentially being a premier ship player.

I don't mind the debate. But the two things that wont be tolerated by opposition supporters coming in are

• Comments which borderline on personal attacks or go past it
  • Comments which at moderator discretion appear to have an aspect of smugness or trolling. Remember where you were two years ago Lions fans

Not all of our supporters are perfect and I certainly don't agree with all their opinions. But remember which board they are posting on.

Sorry to intrude Suns fans.

News on Silk is encouraging. I hope he chooses you. I'd love a player like that mentoring at Tulla. Hopefully he ends up at GC and brings your club forward.

I'm keen to know about Jack Martin;
What's his stamina like and is he capable of being a running receiver and distributor full ground? I'm thinking of a Whitfield type. We haven't had that type of player since Stanton retired.
Also, how would you rate his kicking?
Not sure what you see as equitable as a trade... fancy Laverde there anywhere?

I think it's really important for you guys to secure some mature guys like Jenkins, Betts, Greenwood, Josh Bruce, and the like...
And I purposely don't mean bring in 1 superstar, but a group of experienced players (don't need another Ablett scenario IMO)

I think you are in a good position to develop the young talent on the list, but you need these older guys for multiple reasons

- obviously their output on the field
- On field they take the oppo best match up leaving your kids to match up on 2nd/3rd best oppo
- off field development of your talent

I think it will look a little like GWS in years one and two, the benefit for you is that your kids are obviously well advanced compared to 17/18 years old when the Giants did this.

GWS brought it Power, Brogan, Cornes and the older bloke from Melb whos name escapes me...

I'm hoping you get a few up there this year to help with that development, as Dew showed early that he has the right things in place to generate that growth.

Sorry to intrude Suns fans.

News on Silk is encouraging. I hope he chooses you. I'd love a player like that mentoring at Tulla. Hopefully he ends up at GC and brings your club forward.

I'm keen to know about Jack Martin;
What's his stamina like and is he capable of being a running receiver and distributor full ground? I'm thinking of a Whitfield type. We haven't had that type of player since Stanton retired.
Also, how would you rate his kicking?
Not sure what you see as equitable as a trade... fancy Laverde there anywhere?
Let's see, he's a 24yo who can play pretty much any position on the field & has twice finished in the top 3 in our B&F. I'd reckon that's the sort of player we should be getting in return. Have you got any of them to offer?

List Mgmt. 2019 Draft/Trade/FA Thread - Final Wrap