Preview 2019 Grand Final - Richmond vs GWS, Saturday 28th September, MCG.

Collingwood played very average, most teams in the finals would have beaten them.
Agree with you and the fear in here is doing my head in. I think I’ll avoid this thread not only for my sanity, but for my PC. Apparently my PC is also getting the shits bc according to Avast Antivirus it had 48 Registry Dumps.

Agree with you and the fear in here is doing my head in. I think I’ll avoid this thread not only for my sanity, but for my PC. Apparently my PC is also getting the s**ts bc according to Avast Antivirus it had 48 Registry Dumps.

Don’t worry about it mate. Just your PC with the nervous shits too

I have a (sort of) nice problem and I'm not sure what to do. I was hoping to get the help of everyone.

A very nice family member has offered me his seat at the Grand Final so I can attend with my Grandfather, (Otherwise he will go (Is a Geelong Supporter)). Now some of you know of my Dad's health (Was diagnosed with a large Glioblastoma tumour in early April). He is now bedridden and has been told he has days to live now for about three months. I am torn because I'm not sure whether to go to the GF or watch it with my Dad.

My Dad, who is a Tigers supporter, from what I can tell, wants me to go. He is sleeping 18 hours a day and there is no guarantee he will be well enough to watch it with me on Saturday. I'm not sure what to do. I have spoken to different people and they have told me to do different things. I have until tomorrow night to decide.

I have a (sort of) nice problem and I'm not sure what to do. I was hoping to get the help of everyone.

A very nice family member has offered me his seat at the Grand Final so I can attend with my Grandfather, (Otherwise he will go (Is a Geelong Supporter)). Now some of you know of my Dad's health (Was diagnosed with a large Glioblastoma tumour in early April). He is now bedridden and has been told he has days to live now for about three months. I am torn because I'm not sure whether to go to the GF or watch it with my Dad.

My Dad, who is a Tigers supporter, from what I can tell, wants me to go. He is sleeping 18 hours a day and there is no guarantee he will be well enough to watch it with me on Saturday. I'm not sure what to do. I have spoken to different people and they have told me to do different things. I have until tomorrow night to decide.

You stay with your dad mate. Watch it with him whether he’s asleep or awake. It sounds like you won’t get another chance.

"THE CLUB with everything to lose versus the one with nothing to lose."

Honestly have nfi what Damian Barrett is getting at here. So the club that won a grand final 2 years ago and is lining up to do it again has everything to lose while the one that the AFL manufactured and compromised the entire league for years in order to establish has nothing to lose?
Teams like us, Bulldogs, Pies and Eagles have built our premiership/GF sides in a time when GWS have been handed everything as a leg up and probably should have won already. It is monumental that we have a flag and a 2nd GF coming up in this compromised time. Not sure how we have everything to lose. We can be super proud of where we are now, GWS have the pressure to perform given their help!

That’s sad news with your Dad mate and hope it can turn around for him.
In regards to your dilemma I would go bc it’s a high possibility Dad will sleep through most of it. I think your Dad has advised you wisely. Just take a lot of photos for him bc I reckon he’d love that more.

I'd probably go with your Grandfather (you not me sitting next to him). It's a once in a lifetime sort of thing. Grandfathers don't last forever and Richmond GF's don't come round every day. hopefully your dad will be OK and you can live the experience with him later.

But, either way it's a tough choice.

Your dad would probably want you to go and enjoy yourself. My Dad has been in hospital before and as always said go and live your life. Spend as much time with him before Saturday, go to the game and come back straight away. Try to get a family with FaceTime maybe to communicate with him at the game also. I was in a similar situation and I went out and my Dad was fine. I hope your Dad will be ok and make the best decision that you will be able to live with.

GWS have had such a taxing last 10 days and more to come

Green affair
Travel
Gruelling game v Pies
Non stop talk re who's fit who's not
Brownlow distractions
GF parade
Travel
BIGGEST GAME in THEIR history

I'm tired for them and its only Monday

mate there only travelling 45-60 mins in a plane

Stay with your old man mate.

Remember what Grundy did to Grigg 2018? If you don't, he just punched the ball into the forward line every time. I reckon Soldo should do that all game to Dumbford. The 6,6,6 rule was meant to advantage teams with a clear ruck advantage. We've got it this game. Let's start every centre bounce with an i50 thanks. Forget about trying to win centre bounces in the typical form as GWS are pretty good there.

I would have loved the chance to watch a Richmond grand final with my old man who passed from cancer eight years ago. I would say just play it by ear - see how he feels on Grand Final morning and if he's awake and lucid then watch from home, you'll be able to get the ticket in the hands of someone who wants it easily enough. Or if he wants you to go, listen to him!

Sorry to hear mate. I would stay with your dad. He might sleep through it all, but if he’s awake for the last five minutes and Richmond get up then that feeling will beat any experience at the G.

I’m warming to playing the Giants because every oppo will be wanting them to win except for a small few.

If we lift that cup,the feeling will be on another scale.

You know the hashtag.

The Higgins joke was 2018 I believe, right venue, right opponent, wrong year.

Other than that, nice work team!
Well that was my fault. And yes you are absolutely right.

Shit dude!! That's a huge burden for someone your age to be dealing with. Really sorry to hear about your Dad. I have wondered how he's going and I'm sorry I haven't asked from time to time.
The problem with this, as you can see already, is that you're going to get a 50/50 split on opinions from everybody and that probably doesn't help!! Ask yourself one question .. what do YOU think deep down you'd like to do? Your gut feeling is usually the right thing to do.
FWIW I think if you reckon your Dad wants you to go it would be awesome for him to know that you got the opportunity and took it, especially if he may not be awake. Did you go in 2017?
Best wishes in making your decision mate. If one option feels strongly to you like the right one, do it!

Gws have had two grinding games in a row - one in the wet.

They are going to be sore vs your lot had a nice workout to blow the weeds away against geelong.

Id like gws to win because it would be good for the game - but if i was betting my house....

Would have liked to have the collingwood matchup - possibly could have been a game for the ages - but not to be

I think you guys would get a lot more of the neutral support if collingwood had got up.

Now theres going to be at least 80k tiges at the g

Would your dad be well enough to go?

Whatever decision you make will be the right one, just speak to your Dad about it and you'll know what to do.

Also Im sure all of us on here can help you if you need anything, not just footy related, just ask.

Stay with your dad champ, it’s time you won’t get again.

You stay with your dad mate. Watch it with him whether he’s asleep or awake. It sounds like you won’t get another chance.

That’s sad news with your Dad mate and hope it can turn around for him.
In regards to your dilemma I would go bc it’s a high possibility Dad will sleep through most of it. I think your Dad has advised you wisely. Just take a lot of photos for him bc I reckon he’d love that more.
I'd probably go with your Grandfather (you not me sitting next to him). It's a once in a lifetime sort of thing. Grandfathers don't last forever and Richmond GF's don't come round every day. hopefully your dad will be OK and you can live the experience with him later.

But, either way it's a tough choice.
Your dad would probably want you to go and enjoy yourself. My Dad has been in hospital before and as always said go and live your life. Spend as much time with him before Saturday, go to the game and come back straight away. Try to get a family with FaceTime maybe to communicate with him at the game also. I was in a similar situation and I went out and my Dad was fine. I hope your Dad will be ok and make the best decision that you will be able to live with.
Stay with your old man mate.
I would have loved the chance to watch a Richmond grand final with my old man who passed from cancer eight years ago. I would say just play it by ear - see how he feels on Grand Final morning and if he's awake and lucid then watch from home, you'll be able to get the ticket in the hands of someone who wants it easily enough. Or if he wants you to go, listen to him!
Sorry to hear mate. I would stay with your dad. He might sleep through it all, but if he’s awake for the last five minutes and Richmond get up then that feeling will beat any experience at the G.
Thank you all for your advice. Sorry I can't individually respond to each one. It's going to be tough either way. Lovely to know the support everyone has on this board.

s**t dude!! That's a huge burden for someone your age to be dealing with. Really sorry to hear about your Dad. I have wondered how he's going and I'm sorry I haven't asked from time to time.
The problem with this, as you can see already, is that you're going to get a 50/50 split on opinions from everybody and that probably doesn't help!! Ask yourself one question .. what do YOU think deep down you'd like to do? Your gut feeling is usually the right thing to do.
FWIW I think if you reckon your Dad wants you to go it would be awesome for him to know that you got the opportunity and took it, especially if he may not be awake. Did you go in 2017?
Best wishes in making your decision mate. If one option feels strongly to you like the right one, do it!
Thank you for the lovely words. I did go in 2017, and was one of the best experiences of my life. Deep down, my opinion changes throughout the day. This morning, I was excited to go to the GF. I spoke to my Dad for five minutes this afternoon on the phone (Only as much as he can before getting tired) and then I was convinced of watching it with him but my opinion has shifted again. I am seeing him tomorrow (I live with my Mum) and hopefully we can discuss it more if he's awake and up to it.