2019 Members Convention

I was really only talking about those we dropped from the team before the 2017 EF.
The inability of our coaching group, over an extended period, to realise when players are out of form is quite staggering. Remember 2016 Tom Jonas... He’d been woeful for weeks, maybe months, and all the world could see he needed a spell. What do the PAFC brains trust do? They mike him up on prime time and we get to see him sitting on the bench with his head in his hands for 3 minutes during the half time recap. Even then I think he got another game before being given a rest.

Now I’m told the solution to our forward line woes is Brad Ebert to a key forward post. **** me do I live in the upside down? Should a big footy collective sit on the coaching panel/selection panel/board?

So we have been trying to find that missing piece and adding players to our squad when the secret to instant premiership success was getting rid of one of our most talented players. Genius!

Looking forward to to the ports dinasty while hawthorn languish at the bottom of the ladder. Ckarko has got no idea!

So we have been trying to find that missing piece and adding players to our squad when the secret to instant premiership success was getting rid of one of our most talented players. Genius!

Looking forward to to the ports dinasty while hawthorn languish at the bottom of the ladder. Ckarko has got no idea!

To play the way we want to play - the pressure on turnover that Montgomery is advocating - you need players that are willing to sprint 150m to provide an option in the forward line and then still put in the effort to lay a tackle at the point of turnover.

That’s what Marshall did in footage shown at the convention. Wingard wouldn’t do that in a million years. Talented player, but lazy.

Clarkson is playing a different system suited to Wingard. I reckon it’s about now that Chad is wondering if it was worth it.

They asked for a show of hands on who supported the AFLX idea, and not a single hand went up followed by a crowd-wide giggle and they mentioned Robbie having a "tickle in the knee" and the crowd laughed.

The video Monty showed illustrating the concept of drift in team defence was really instructive. Port went into the forward 50 with a kick from just outside half forward. The kicker was supported by 3 or 4 players who just drifted with the play, not attacking, not defending. Three Giants defenders immediately sprinted unchecked to the grandstand wing expecting to win the contest, which they did and took the ball into their attacking zone in the blink of an eye.

What Monty is impressing upon players is what will you do in this passage of play. If you have a role to play in the passage of play upfield, get to it. If you don't, find a way to impact the play through defensive action. You always have a role to play.

There was a lot of talk of mindfulness during the day and even before then. It applies most commonly off-field where you take the time to care for your team mates and live in the moment. But it also applies on-field, to be mindful of your role in the team.

Yeah. Its all well and good to have two good ruckmen but our centre clearance work has been ordinary for years and years. I can easily picture 4-5 quick goals against us and our inability to push people back to stop it.

The centre mids need big improvement this year

Do you mean the way we clear the ball or the amount of times we clear it because we are

Centre Clearances
2018 - 7th
2017 - 7th
2016 - 8th
2015 - 3rd

All clearances

2018 - 1st
2017 - 3rd
2016 - 3rd
2015 - 2nd

Do you mean the way we clear the ball or the amount of times we clear it because we are

Centre Clearances
2018 - 7th
2017 - 7th
2016 - 8th
2015 - 3rd

All clearances

2018 - 1st
2017 - 3rd
2016 - 3rd
2015 - 2nd
Is that differential or raw numbers?? Teams have wanted to have heaps of stoppages against us for years because we're incredibly poor out of a stoppage and most of those are turn overs and end up in opposition plays.

Its the average number of clearances per game over the season. This is why I asked if it was the way we clear the ball (IE win clearance but turnover) or the amount of clearances we win

To play the way we want to play - the pressure on turnover that Montgomery is advocating - you need players that are willing to sprint 150m to provide an option in the forward line and then still put in the effort to lay a tackle at the point of turnover.

That’s what Marshall did in footage shown at the convention. Wingard wouldn’t do that in a million years. Talented player, but lazy.

Clarkson is playing a different system suited to Wingard. I reckon it’s about now that Chad is wondering if it was worth it.
Well pehaps Ken could have designed a different system?

Centre Clearances
2018 - 7th
2017 - 7th
2016 - 8th
2015 - 3rd

All clearances

2018 - 1st
2017 - 3rd
2016 - 3rd
2015 - 2nd

Our clearance numbers have been high since 2014 because of our 2013-2014 run. Opposition worked out that the best way to reduce our run was to cause stoppages wherever possible. Our games since 2014 have always had more than the average numbers of stoppages and given we have won our fair share of these, our clearance numbers have been high.

The new rules are designed to open the game and reduce stoppages. If we can turn the clock back to 2014 and outrun the opposition they will find it much harder to close that run down. If.

Coinciding with a certain ginger becoming Midfield Manager. Who is still on the payroll.

Nah, it was bad the two years before he came alonf as well

I have commented sporadically throughout the thread, but having had time to now reflect on the day, I do think it was really good day. Say what you want about Ken/KT/Kochie etc, we all have opinions.

I, like many share the frustrations with our coaching group and our lack of results in the past few years, however, I am keen to see just how we respond this year. In saying that, I am giving a fresh slate to all and sundry.

My key takeaways – some of which were not specifically stated but how I interpreted:

• There will be co captains. KT’s closing remakrs about us ensuring we retain a value set, but embracing change was a clear message that we will be going down this path.
  • Polec wanted too much coin. Wingard lacked professionalism. I am comfortable with both of these calls.
  • It seems as though Voss has been moved away from any sort of tactical strategy implementation and is in charge of connection, managing the coaches and players and ensuring there is a healthy conduit between the two. I think this is perfect for him.
  • I also get the sense that Ken has been told he needs to give much more freedom to his lines coaches. Kens strengths are in motivation and managing people. I don’t see him as a master tactician (cue the sarcastic responses here from all ken haters on BF [i.e. “no shit Sherlock” etc etc]. I see it as not dissimilar to what happened at Collingwood and Richmond in years gone past.
  • I spoke to a prominent Port person prior to the members function who is not long out of the game and he said Brett Montgomery is the most switched on/deepest thinking footy strategist/scholar of the game he knows. Monty displayed this in the way he spoke and the content of his delivery. He explained some tactical stuff so clearly and then followed it up with examples. Like any good orator, explain a concept and give a live example.
  • Schofield was not as technical, but he as clear and simple. His message was clear and I loved Scott Thompson's analysis of our inside stoppage work, and the need to far more cognisant of the setups at stoppage (and holding ground outside stoppage).
  • Agree with others that Bassett seemed a bit smug, but still was streets ahead of Lades preso last year.
  • New rules will significantly alter the way games are played; namely:
    • The new 50m rule, is going to infuriate fans.
    • Kickouts will be super interesting given you can likely get the ball to the middle of the ground. There will also be significant benefit if, when under pressure in D50, to try and rush a behind. I think more fan fury here, with deliberately rushed behinds will be front and centre.
    • 6-6-6 clearly means a dominant ruck will be critical. Notwithstanding, some sharp, nippy players with express pace from stoppage will be equally valuable [I can see a scenario where a Motlop will start a lot of centre bounces inside the square with an SPP/Wines/Rockliff type on a wing.].
    • Also, the one warning if you are not setup correctly (i.e. 6-6-6 and one in each goal square) then the next infringement resulting in a FK will also infuriate fans, but lazy players not paying attention will get caught out.
  • Gupta is a very good thing for us. Not only is it good $ but its 5 years. We will have $ to spend on what we need.
  • We have $ to go after a free agent at the end of this season. I reckon we should load up and offer big coin for Josh Kelly.
  • List building is a fascinating game. Planning happens years out.

This is all I can remember…. J

• We have $ to go after a free agent at the end of this season. I reckon we should load up and offer big coin for Josh Kelly.
This is all I can remember…. J

Abso-****ing-lutely.

Cutting North Melbourne's lunch after they ****ed us over with Polec would be sweet, sweet justice.

The video Monty showed illustrating the concept of drift in team defence was really instructive. Port went into the forward 50 with a kick from just outside half forward. The kicker was supported by 3 or 4 players who just drifted with the play, not attacking, not defending. Three Giants defenders immediately sprinted unchecked to the grandstand wing expecting to win the contest, which they did and took the ball into their attacking zone in the blink of an eye.

What Monty is impressing upon players is what will you do in this passage of play. If you have a role to play in the passage of play upfield, get to it. If you don't, find a way to impact the play through defensive action. You always have a role to play.

There was a lot of talk of mindfulness during the day and even before then. It applies most commonly off-field where you take the time to care for your team mates and live in the moment. But it also applies on-field, to be mindful of your role in the team.

It's easy to blame fitness, work rate or game plan when players get caught out of position, the opposition have loose players, etc. But often, it's the decision making in those moments that make all the difference. Some of it's experience, some of it's inate.

Monty has always struck me as being a very switched on footy person. I look forward to seeing what he can do with our young back line.

Given that they acknowledged that they didn't bring in a back up for Paddy knowing they would be getting Lycett a year later it wouldn't surprise me if they let Polec go knowing they had another player lined up to accept those $$ in 12 months time.

I can't see it being Kelly though.
It most likely is a South Aussie coming home, or a Vic country player who wants to get out of Qld. Isn't going to be a star player who grew up in Melbourne.

Big trades/free agents since Hinkley
Monfries SA player, Polec SA player, Ryder WA but driven by drugs scandal, Dixon Queenslander playing for Qld club, Rockliff Vic country player, playing in Qld, Motlop NT kid with SA roots, Burton, Lycett and Mayes all SA players.

I reckon we will hunt Lukosius, Hately and Rankine pretty hard in years to come.

Yep. They even alluded to it on the day mentioning "a lot of South Australian talent will be out of contract in a year or two." or words to that effect.

The whole we knew we had Scotty Lycett coming is still a horrible excuse
How hard was it to put Zac Clarke on the list for one year
Pure bullshit by the club.

If our list management team were mechanics, when it cames to ruck strategy, they would take something from the differential to fix up a carburetor problem, and say she'll be right - in the long run.

2019 Members Convention