Unofficial Preview 2020 Draft Discussion

He reckons a few recruiters believe DGB will be the best player in this draft and I agree. Hope Sydney take McDonald. Hollands to the Kangas is the most likely as they are in full tank/rebuild mode and can afford to be patient with him. Thilthorpe to the Crows gathering speed. If McDonald slides to us reckon a trade with the Bombers is a chance with our strong interest in both Cox and Perkins!
We take all 3 off Dodo or we take him. Point blank.

It just wipes out 24. Our second would be our first pick in the 40s.

We've mentioned that we'd look to trade out that pick if a bid comes for Downie before it. Exactly what for and how exactly? Does anybody have a theory?

I don't have any understanding of the draft points or how picks come up after matching a bid etc.

Would we be cutting our losses and looking to trade our second pick into next years draft?

Has Twomey ever got pick 1 wrong? My recollection is that he's usually close to bang on with the top 5. Very interesting.

How many Phantom Drafts does he have..?

heaps! they started months ago

The mock draft on the podcast last week with Kevin Sheehan was based on "club needs"

He posted a Phantom Form Guide last week, and at the time said: "The Phantom Draft, predicting where players will be drafted, will be released next week."

Did my own research on his top 10 from past 5 years:

2019: 8/10
2018: 9/10
2017: 4/10
2016: 8/10
2015: 10/10

Pick 1 correct every year. 78% strike rate on top 10s. 2017 the outlier.
I count 5 in 2017

1 - Rayner
3 - Dow
7 - Clark
8 - Coffield
9 - Naughton

And he had Brayshaw to Freo, just with 5 instead of 2. Great analysis though

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

I really just cannot imagine McDonald getting through to our pick, but it’ll be hilarious if he does.

I really want us to take Will Phillips with pick 4 as he ticks all the boxes, but on the other hand I wouldn’t mind us getting McDonald just to see the melts on bigfooty.

Tls18wfrqyFNA9lvWq7kyXitIgErJIb0CdgYOylqQO5YwHxG7p3xH0EzOM9eSBaIEvKb1NQQKIyz8lT3svUC9RcRZDc_pPso2TpGmYVgko4DLbCtikfxFE3ZQ2a32-tr-qZvvqXbTYAeQyv5MXsmpvQ_uw=w316-h212

I personally wouldn't be surprised to see Logan slip to us.... probably because I think he is an overrated lead up forward who will become Jack Watts average at AFL level. Lacks the elite traits of the others ahead i.e. hollands - skills, DGB - Aerial, Thilthorpe - Agility, speed, versatility, whereas Logan has bang average hands, a clunky running style, lack of explosiveness, lack of balance - but good endurance and can kick a footy long and straight. But alas, mine is just a nuffy opinion, like most others, and I don't have the hubris to pretend I know more than recruiters, so if they pick him bring on 200 games and a couple of Colemans and I'll happily eat my hat.

But in the meantime, I would be on the #splitthepick bandwagon with a table for 1. Or is anyone else joining me?
I like your posts, but if we pick up McDonald, I’m afraid I’m going to have to consider you a complete failure at talent spotting....
(edit - because whoever we pick is the best thing since sliced bread, and anyone who says different is crazy!)

In terms of swaps for 23, I doubt we get a 2nd rounder, unless it’s the Cats. On the Basis of 27 for the Dees future third, a second rounder for 24 is optimistic.

He’s that stupid, I think he would. #TheFistPumper

The beauty of keeping the pick is trading before draft you’re not sure if player you want will be there. If Logan is there at 4 our perfect play is 4 and 24 for 6/7/8. If Dodo wants him as bad as rumoured you call him.

Phillips goes to GC then Perkins, Bruhn and another who we rate. Take Downie with a pick in 40’s. I think that’s the play I’d try.

Otherwise take pick 4. Logan, philips or Perkins.

Always a bit nervy about focusing on output rather than skill set/potential.

Will Day is a perfect e.g. being a skinny dude with awesome hand-eye and a long kick but not convincing body of work before the draft.

Obviously McDonald did good in the WAFL as an 18 year old which is impressive, just wondering if he's got traits to the stand out at AFL level? I dunno enough about him but he sounds more the Josh Kennedy-type great lead and will grow into a better contested player rather than your explosive Naughton-type forward

Question to our draft freaks...

Live trading....how does it work ? I’m talking actual ‘timing’ ?

eg. Come our Pick 4, if McDonald is still there, do we contact Ess & say ‘give us pick 6,8 and 2021 first rounder....ya got 90 seconds Dodo ?’