Opinion 2020 Draft picks 1/9/22/23/40/56/66/80 (2021 + Melb 2nd, 4th, Haw 4th)

which mythological creature you think would win in a fight, Bigfoot or Santa?

Nov 24, 2007
DTC Frat House
Team Lambda Variant

Crows Draft Hand Tweet

KEY DATES

Oct 30 – Nov 6: AFL Free Agency Period
November 4 – 12: AFL Trade Period
November 20: List Lodgment 1
November 27: List Lodgment 2
November 30: AFL Draft Nominations close
w/c December 7: NAB AFL Draft and Rookie Draft (exact date to be confirmed in due course)
Mid-December: Final List Lodgment & TPP estimates​

As God is my witness, finding anything useful on the AFL.com.au site is practically impossible, may whoever designed it burn in hell.

Why do you think that. I know he doesn’t like rucking, but let’s be honest he kicked 5 goals in 9 games as a key forward for West, and most of his disposals came in the short time he spent in the ruck.
You go and watch him playing for Team Brown on grand final day and tell me he isn’t a ruckman who will play forward sometimes.

I agree in your views that Thilthorpe with being a ruckman that rest forwards however there is a lot of comparisons & potential that Thilthorpe can be very much like Brad Ottens.

Worth looking into anyhow and making your own judgement because it isn't as clear & dependant on how he develops.

Why do you think that. I know he d
I agree in your views that Thilthorpe with being a ruckman that rest forwards however there is a lot of comparisons & potential that Thilthorpe can be very much like Brad Ottens.

Worth looking into anyhow and making your own judgement because it isn't as clear & dependant on how he develops.
So, please tell me why every reference anywhere(including BF) refers to Thilthorpe (& McDonald) as a KPF? He rucked in the forward lines for Westies & averaged approx 7 hitouts. Just because he only kicked 5 goals(in a really weak team) doesn't mean he's a ruckman first & foremost. They have a ruckman, Andre Parrella who averaged approx 35 hitouts in the games they lined up together.

So...

A 200cm, goal kicking foward that is athletic, mobile and very good below the knees and can also chop out in the ruck and be bloody good at it is “just not an area of great need for us”???

Really??... because last i looked at our forward line we have;

1) Tex who’s cooked and 2021 will probably be his last
2) fog who i still think will become a gun but so far hasnt really set the world on fire
3) Himmelberg who has shown a bit at the end of 2020 but still cant be relied upon in front of the sticks
4) stratchen (spelling?) who looks to be a break glass if really desperate type..
5) a full back we took with pick 6 last year who “could” become a forward..

I reacon getting one of the two big KPF’s is an extremely bloody big need tbh..

And its hard to pick which one but id probably go Thilthorpe because they are both same, same but one is guaranteed to hang around.. if the other one would is anyones guess..

they arent the same at all mate. thilthorpe is prolly the better contested mark. the other is more a leading forward with a huge tank. mcdonald isnt a forward/ ruckman either. he's just a kpf.

Why do you think that. I know he doesn’t like rucking, but let’s be honest he kicked 5 goals in 9 games as a key forward for West, and most of his disposals came in the short time he spent in the ruck.
You go and watch him playing for Team Brown on grand final day and tell me he isn’t a ruckman who will play forward sometimes.
Agree. If you can't kick a bag of goals in the sanfl you definitely won't do it in the AFL. Fogarty is case in point. He has never dominated a game at sanfl level which has directly transferred to the AFL. We also don't need another ruck as ROB is locked in as our ruck for the next 8 years.

The crows need players on all lines. We must take the best whether that be a forward, mid or back. For mine the best back is DGB, the best mid is Phillips and the best forward is McDonald. I definitely wouldn't take a key back at 1 and know that an elite key forward is the hardest thing to find. Who have been our elite key forwards over our existence? Tony Modra and Darren Jarman who wasn't a KPF and was more in the Dustin Martin forward mould. In regards to Hollands he may be the next Dustin Martin or may end up another Jared Polec. For me the opportunity to take him ended when we didn't get pick 2. At this point in our rebuild I am not taking any risks and his ACL and the fact that he has predominantly played forward and is unproven as a mid is too great a risk. I think we must take a forward at 1 and if Hollands is desperate to get to the crows the club and himself should be able to facilitate a trade at some point in his career.

I can see that, probably a very good comparison actually.
Brad was a bloody good footballer, however if you look at his stats, he averaged 17 hit outs and 1 goal per game Over a 14 year career. my question is whether this is the type of player we need with O’Brian and Himmelberg both just starting their careers. It’s not a knock on him as a player, its just that if we are looking for a true key forward then McDonald is the guy. He averaged 2.3 goals a game at league level against Thilthorpe averaging .6 goals per game.

Agree. If you can't kick a bag of goals in the sanfl you definitely won't do it in the AFL. Fogarty is case in point. He has never dominated a game at sanfl level which has directly transferred to the AFL. We also don't need another ruck as ROB is locked in as our ruck for the next 8 years.

The crows need players on all lines. We must take the best whether that be a forward, mid or back. For mine the best back is DGB, the best mid is Phillips and the best forward is McDonald. I definitely wouldn't take a key back at 1 and know that an elite key forward is the hardest thing to find. Who have been our elite key forwards over our existence? Tony Modra and Darren Jarman who wasn't a KPF and was more in the Dustin Martin forward mould. In regards to Hollands he may be the next Dustin Martin or may end up another Jared Polec. For me the opportunity to take him ended when we didn't get pick 2. At this point in our rebuild I am not taking any risks and his ACL and the fact that he has predominantly played forward and is unproven as a mid is too great a risk. I think we must take a forward at 1 and if Hollands is desperate to get to the crows the club and himself should be able to facilitate a trade at some point in his career.
I also find it interesting that like no one sees thilthorpe as a no. 1 pick. its just a couple of adelaide big footy posters saying it.

Brad was a bloody good footballer, however if you look at his stats, he averaged 17 hit outs and 1 goal per game Over a 14 year career. my question is whether this is the type of player we need with O’Brian and Himmelberg both just starting their careers. It’s not a knock on him as a player, its just that if we are looking for a true key forward then McDonald is the guy. He averaged 2.3 goals a game at league level against Thilthorpe averaging .6 goals per game.
Yes, I do agree with that. We don't need another "key" ruckman, we need a KPF to replace the ageing Tex. I'm just confused because as I posted before, up until your description of RT everyone here has been referring to him as a direct comparison with McDonald.

I don’t understand why people underrate small and medium forwards. They are at least as important as big ones these days.

So, please tell me why every reference anywhere(including BF) refers to Thilthorpe (& McDonald) as a KPF? He rucked in the forward lines for Westies & averaged approx 7 hitouts. Just because he only kicked 5 goals(in a really weak team) doesn't mean he's a ruckman first & foremost. They have a ruckman, Andre Parrella who averaged approx 35 hitouts in the games they lined up together.
Draft Central’s write up on him.

#6 Riley Thilthorpe
West Adelaide/South Australia | Ruck/Key Position Forward
7/07/2002 | 201cm | 100kg

In a welcome change from last year’s crop, key position prospects will be in abundance at the top end. Thilthorpe is one of them, an athletic ruck/forward who possesses enormous running capacity and can dominate the airways. In his ruck duties, the 201cm West Adelaide product plays more like a fourth midfielder, able to follow up at ground level and cover the ground like a small. He has been utilised in a more forward-oriented role for the Bloods at SANFL League level though, with his goalkicking attributes and diverse skillset already making him a handful for senior players with more mature bodies. Ask any of the South Australian Under 18s who they were most looking forward to playing alongside in 2020, and Thilthorpe was almost always among them. Jot the name down, he should be among those you are most looking forward to watching, too.

He is definitely not ready to play ruck at league level against big bodies, and that is one of the issues with taking him btw, as he will not be starring for a few years, but his strengths are speed, endurance, clearances and work below his knees. This translates to being a real handful as a mobile ruckman who dominates around the ground and slips forward to be a real X factor. As I said he will be a star, just not in the areas we are particularly deficient in.

I don’t understand why people underrate small and medium forwards. They are at least as important as big ones these days.
Totally agree. By the end of the year there was a case to say that Macadam had become our most important forward. Also, despite the debate about Dangerfield’s midfield time, it is as a forward that he dragged them over the line in a couple of finals.
I can see Hollands being someone talked about in the same way as Danger is in a few years. Capable of changing a game as either a midfielder or as a forward.

Totally agree. By the end of the year there was a case to say that Macadam had become our most important forward. Also, despite the debate about Dangerfield’s midfield time, it is as a forward that he dragged them over the line in a couple of finals.
I can see Hollands being someone talked about in the same way as Danger is in a few years. Capable of changing a game as either a midfielder or as a forward.
Loved how much mcadam improved, i think he is only going to get better. Love the way he plays

Nah he'll be a forward who chops out in the ruck. He's forced to ruck almost due to his size.

I also wouldn't put much, if any credence in his goal tally for a garbage West Adelaide. They barely kicked any goals.

Watch his league game against Sturt, he'll be a very very tough forward match up.

I don't underrate small and medium forwards but structurally a KPF allows a Dustin Martin or Jack Riewoldt to perform at their best. Look at the difference in performance from week 1 of the finals between Richmond v Brisbane where Lynch didn't play and the following two finals where he did play. Structurally Tom Lynch is the most important player to the success of their team and why Richmond chased him so hard.

Nah he'll be a forward who chops out in the ruck. He's forced to ruck almost due to his size.

I also wouldn't put much, if any credence in his goal tally for a garbage West Adelaide. They barely kicked any goals.

Watch his league game against Sturt, he'll be a very very tough forward match up.
Well if you want a direct comparison then McDonald‘s Perth and Thillthorpe’s Westies both kicked 81 goals for the season while they were playing.
Thillthorpe 5 out of 81 - 6% of their goals.
McDonald 22 out of 81 - 27% of their goals

Well if you want a direct comparison then McDonald‘s Perth and Thillthorpe’s Westies both kicked 81 goals for the season while they were playing.
Thillthorpe 5 out of 81 - 6% of their goals.
McDonald 22 out of 81 - 27% of their goals
Again, not putting much credence in those numbers.

If I was a KPD I know who I'd rather play on, and it's not the 200cm, 100kg forward who is as good on the deck as anyone I've seen his size.

The easiest thing to do is refine comparisons of the draftees and stack them into the best 22to see if there is a fit. And who is Logan McDonald best compared to?

From my opinion McDonald's ceiling could be Nick Riewoldt & floor could be M.McGovern yet I see Thilthorpe being very close to Otten/M.Kruezer where the celling and floor are not so far apart.

It also adds questions to myself on where the intentions are to play Fogarty? and how critical we are looking for a key forward. At later picks we can get Cox, Callow, Reid that all can be very good along side Fog & Himmleberg just not great.

Putting these compassion's on paper McDonald would be a best fit if he hits the ceiling.

The easiest thing to do is refine comparisons of the draftees and stack them into the best 22to see if there is a fit. And who is Logan McDonald best compared to?

From my opinion McDonald's ceiling could be Nick Riewoldt & floor could be M.McGovern yet I see Thilthorpe being very close to Otten/M.Kruezer where the celling and floor are not so far apart.

It also adds questions to myself on where the intentions are to play Fogarty? and how critical we are looking for a key forward. At later picks we can get Cox, Callow, Reid that all can be very good along side Fog & Himmleberg just not great.

Putting these compassion's on paper McDonald would be a best fit if he hits the ceiling.
Cox when interviewed said he saw himself as a Centre half Back in the AFL for what it's worth.

If I was a KPD I know who I'd rather play on, and it's not the 200cm, 100kg forward who is as good on the deck as anyone I've seen his size.
Pointless comparison given Thilthorpe played plenty of Ruck this season.

Worth noting also Thilthorpe played SANFL League in 2019 as well, McDonald did not play any WAFL League in 2019.

Look at the results of the u16's Championship 2 years ago. Therein lies your answer.
That means I have to do research .....you know I hate that until 3 months out from the Draft

You do the research and give me the answers ;)

That means I have to do research .....you know I hate that until 3 months out from the Draft

You do the research and give me the answers ;)
Vic Metro dominated.

See make-up of the U16 All Australian team dominated by Vic Metro (7). Vic Country (5), SA (3), WA (3). Qld (2), Tas (1). NSW/ACT (1), NT (1) Over Ager Brodie Lake

Is there anyway to update or delete the tweet in the pinned post at the top of the thread?

Everytime I see we don't have pick 23 I have an aneurysm.

Do they take a huge risk and go for 3 mids with the 1st 3 picks knowing likely to get a mid next year with a top 5 pick and say take Baldwin at pick 23.

Give Fogarty and Himmelberg a serious go and hope Baldwin gets over his knee. If not Baldwin who else? McAsey forward?

In 2 years throw the cheque book at a KPF if it doesn't work out.
We should have heaps of cap space by then.

At least we should have a deep midfield that might be enticing for Luko or TT to come home to.

Drafting 2 guys with knee reco's is suicide usually and imagine the melts.
Midfield of the following potentially becomes one of the strongest in 4-5 years with multiple goal kicking options
Holland's
Perkins/O'Driscoll/Powell
Maher/Poulter/Cook,
Horne,
Hately, Milera, Jones, McHenry, Schoenberg, MCrouch, Laird, Smith

If I were a kpd i'd much rather play on Thilthorpe than McDonald.
McDonald would run rings around any defender.