Opinion 2020 Draft picks 1/9/22/23/40/56/66/80 (2021 + Melb 2nd, 4th, Haw 4th)

which mythological creature you think would win in a fight, Bigfoot or Santa?

Nov 24, 2007
DTC Frat House
Team Lambda Variant

Crows Draft Hand Tweet

KEY DATES

Oct 30 – Nov 6: AFL Free Agency Period
November 4 – 12: AFL Trade Period
November 20: List Lodgment 1
November 27: List Lodgment 2
November 30: AFL Draft Nominations close
w/c December 7: NAB AFL Draft and Rookie Draft (exact date to be confirmed in due course)
Mid-December: Final List Lodgment & TPP estimates​

As God is my witness, finding anything useful on the AFL.com.au site is practically impossible, may whoever designed it burn in hell.

Said months ago, a young kruezer.
Which is still quality.

Sorry missed that, I'd agree however Thilthorpe looks more developed physically than Kruezer was before draft.

If anything Thilthorpe in 4 years may be the biggest unit in the AFL meaning he will be better then Kruezer.

Sorry missed that, I'd agree however Thilthorpe looks more developed physically than Kruezer was before draft.

If anything Thilthorpe in 4 years may be the biggest unit in the AFL meaning he will be better then Kruezer.
I think mason Cox has him covered, and even Tim English 🙂

Again, the underrating of Thilthorpe on this board is astonishing - he is no slouch and has been right up there with Westies seniors from the reports coming from them

here is shifter's take

Riley Thilthorpe

West Adelaide FC -SANFL / Goodwood Saints
Height: 201cm
Weight: 100kg
07/07/02

Highly promising tall forward/ruckman who has already played 15 games at senior level for West Adelaide over the last two years after missing last year’s NAB AFL Under-18 National Championships due to injury. Star at Under-16 level in Championships in 2018 for South Australia winning All Australian honours and last year prominent in NAB AFL Futures match on AFL Grand Final day with his overhead marking, agility and repeat efforts all part of his arsenal. Shows some of the traits of Richmond’s Tom Lynch with his presence as a marking target up forward.

Draft Central rate him exactly where I do. Pick 6

Yea and we do LM.
you need key forward and so do we.

And don’t listen old man rendell, he’s an idiot, we taking at present LM

Remember in WA news interview on Chanel 7 odriscal let it slip, he said the crows have spoken to our families and are trying to pair Logan at myself up. That’s fact.

so there is merit in the above trade for you based on your reasoning

in 2000 we took Laurie Angwin’s (7) best mate Michael Handby (38) to try and pair them up.

how did that work out do you reckon?

Cox when interviewed said he saw himself as a Centre half Back in the AFL for what it's worth.

I understand, Yet like Fischer McAsey can play either forward or back and either Cox or McAsey could develop into a good key forward allowing good flexibility early in a rebuild as we shape a side over the next 3 years. Keeping in mind both Cox & McAsey when played forward has kick bags of goals of 4/5.

What is attracting with Nik Cox is there is a lot of untapped potential and has great hands above head and for a 200cm plus player and pulled off an 80cm running vertical jump at the combine, In comparison he has the same traits as Eric Hipwood as a forward (potentially) or even similar with his athleticism as Joe Daniher.

All my post was about, is if we decided to take a midfielder in Hollands with our first pick there is still really good tall players with Reid/Cox that may be around with our second pick. Yes there is a big difference between good & great with these players but I don't see Thilthorpe or McDonald being a necessary pick this year for our rebuild.

Hollands & Cox would be big wins and there is an under the radar key forward who I rate very highly with Jackson Callow and may be around in the second round.

Said months ago, a young kruezer.
Which is still quality.
No.

He's bigger and more physical than Kreuzer and should be able to hold himself in a contest better than Kreuzer did.

BTW - Lynch grew from 16. Played CHF and CHB in his TAC year - probably the time in defence was what made people a bit hesitant to take him.

I understand, Yet like Fischer McAsey can play either forward or back and either Cox or McAsey could develop into a good key forward allowing good flexibility early in a rebuild as we shape a side over the next 3 years. Keeping in mind both Cox & McAsey when played forward has kick bags of goals of 4/5.

What is attracting with Nik Cox is there is a lot of untapped potential and has great hands above head and for a 200cm plus player and pulled off an 80cm running vertical jump at the combine, In comparison he has the same traits as Eric Hipwood as a forward (potentially) or even similar with his athleticism as Joe Daniher.

All my post was about, is if we decided to take a midfielder in Hollands with our first pick there is still really good tall players with Reid/Cox that may be around with our second pick. Yes there is a big difference between good & great with these players but I don't see Thilthorpe or McDonald being a necessary pick this year for our rebuild.

Hollands & Cox would be big wins and there is an under the radar key forward who I rate very highly with Jackson Callow and may be around in the second round.
Cox is also an amazing two sided kick of the footy for any sized player, let alone a 200cm one. Do you really see him as a key forward though? If he can become that then you are right, Holland’s and Cox would be great.
i agree with Callow, who has just amazing hands, I also think Baldwin will end up a really good key forward, assuming the best injury wise, but I would risk it in the second round with him. Point is, there are options later if we are desperate for a key forward, and midfield is still our area of greatest need.

No.

He's bigger and more physical than Kreuzer and should be able to hold himself in a contest better than Kreuzer did.

BTW - Lynch grew from 16. Played CHF and CHB in his TAC year - probably the time in defence was what made people a bit hesitant to take him.

rubbish.
Kruezer was much stronger than Thilthorpe ever will be.
Kruezer was a warrior.

And yet when Kreuzer played his side was a lot better. You can’t hang the rest of the side being sh*t on Kreuzer
people are taking it the wrong way, Kruezer was a gun when fit. Thilthope should be flattered to be compared to Kruezer.

Two things.

I never rated Kreuzer. Yes my disdain of all things Carlton is well known, but for a 1 pick, when he actually got on the park, pfft. He just wasn't that good.

Also, Then is causality and time. Than is size.

We threatened to match if we didn't get pick 2 for Crouch then we folded like a cheap suit. It made us look like bigger idiots than usual.

You get a like because I've always been a big fan of the Unabomber.

Does anyone have access to a decent highlights package on the SA kid Cook? I just realised I’ve never actually seen him kick a Sherrin.

I heard a whisper the other day that he may be a late bolter come draft night

people are taking it the wrong way, Kruezer was a gun when fit. Thilthope should be flattered to be compared to Kruezer.
Exactly. Kreuzer was taken pick 1 and when fit was an awesome player. It’s not underselling Tillthorpe at all. It’s just about the areas our side are deficient and who will make the most effect on it going forward.

unfortunately my honest belief is that if Tillthorpe was from Victoria, there would not be 1 person on this board wanting us to take him.

Does anyone have access to a decent highlights package on the SA kid Cook? I just realised I’ve never actually seen him kick a Sherrin.

I heard a whisper the other day that he may be a late bolter come draft night
There are a few good match highlights of his if you search him on YouTube. Pretty sure they're posted by the panthers' channel.

Well if you want a direct comparison then McDonald‘s Perth and Thillthorpe’s Westies both kicked 81 goals for the season while they were playing.
Thillthorpe 5 out of 81 - 6% of their goals.
McDonald 22 out of 81 - 27% of their goals
Thilthorpe ended up playing most of the season in ruck which he isn’t ideally a primary ruckman.

And yet when Kreuzer played his side was a lot better. You can’t hang the rest of the side being sh*t on Kreuzer
Still didn't make them any more successful.

Zero impact on their club's fortunes