2021 Bendigo Football League

Christian Carter appointed coach of Golden Square. (Bendigo Advetiser).

Kyneton now the only club in the BFNL yet to appoint a coach.

Christian Carter appointed coach of Golden Square. (Bendigo Advetiser).

Kyneton now the only club in the BFNL yet to appoint a coach.

Further to the above Jack Geary has been appointed assistant coach to Chris Carter at Square. To me that's a pretty smart appointment by the Bulldogs as they will be a very respected and popular coaching combination and to my mind, this squashes any rumblings that not all is well at Wade street.

In other news Sharp sacked as Pioneers Manager and has been replaced by a female from the Ballarat Rebels

Ringo, are you aware of the reasons given for this decision?

Also, with your own expert knowledge and experience with the Pioneers, I'd be interested in your take on this decision.

Cheers

Albury

No worries mate. Plenty more could be said !!

Ringo I don't know much about the Pioneers set up. Can you explain who their Manager is employed by (and hence would have sacked Sharp) and were reasons given for this decision?

Also, unless I missed it, I would have thought this decision would have rated a mention in the media via likes of the Bendigo Advertiser. I am unaware of anything of Sharp's sacking in the media - was there any coverage?

Ringo I don't know much about the Pioneers set up. Can you explain who their Manager is employed by (and hence would have sacked Sharp) and were reasons given for this decision?

Also, unless I missed it, I would have thought this decision would have rated a mention in the media via likes of the Bendigo Advertiser. I am unaware of anything of Sharp's sacking in the media - was there any coverage?
Albury not as much as a sacking, but as much as being given a newly advertised/created position.

All AFL staff were stood down across the NAB League clubs, before new job descriptions and new roles we advertised.
All stood down staff were allowed to apply for only 2 positions that interested them if they so wished. Sadly a lot of experience people have walked away so it's going to be interesting how curriculum and requirements of the program is rolled out.

The club I do a little bit at had 4 staff stood down, and only two received new contracts. Our female talent person (like Sharpy) was not awarded a role anywhere, and there are many others in the same boat unfortunately.

Head coach will now overlook and coach all male/female programs, and at a club like ours, where 3 of us assist the U18 coach, with local development coaches on the peripheral helping younger squads - it now will look something like being head coach, 3 assistants and 2 development coaches at best to overlook U19 boys/girls, as well as U17 boys and girls development squads.

Importantly too is the requirement of gender balance in the coaching roles.

Coach to oversee talent ID, talk to schools, local clubs etc, with the second role (Talent Operations) to the best of my understanding is as much Club Admin support as anything else - but I’m sure experience in football as well as pathway talent etc was deemed an important factor.

Either way no one knows yet how it's all meant to look - bigger workloads with less resources.

Thankfully I have employment and footy has always been a a second interest/hobby, as not everyone around Australia (not just in football) have been so fortunate in 2020.

Albury not as much as a sacking, but as much as being given a newly advertised/created position.

All AFL staff were stood down across the NAB League clubs, before new job descriptions and new roles we advertised.
All stood down staff were allowed to apply for only 2 positions that interested them if they so wished. Sadly a lot of experience people have walked away so it's going to be interesting how curriculum and requirements of the program is rolled out.

The club I do a little bit at had 4 staff stood down, and only two received new contracts. Our female talent person (like Sharpy) was not awarded a role anywhere, and there are many others in the same boat unfortunately.

Head coach will now overlook and coach all male/female programs, and at a club like ours, where 3 of us assist the U18 coach, with local development coaches on the peripheral helping younger squads - it now will look something like being head coach, 3 assistants and 2 development coaches at best to overlook U19 boys/girls, as well as U17 boys and girls development squads.

Importantly too is the requirement of gender balance in the coaching roles.

Coach to oversee talent ID, talk to schools, local clubs etc, with the second role (Talent Operations) to the best of my understanding is as much Club Admin support as anything else - but I’m sure experience in football as well as pathway talent etc was deemed an important factor.

Either way no one knows yet how it's all meant to look - bigger workloads with less resources.

Thankfully I have employment and footy has always been a a second interest/hobby, as not everyone around Australia (not just in football) have been so fortunate in 2020.

Sorry mate but he was sacked! went for a promotion and a number of people called AFLVIC with a few home truths that lead to him being replaced as Pioneers Manager!

Fair enough mate, I'm only aware of the recently completed recruiting process I commented on and assumed Stephen fell into the same category as the others.
Wasn't aware there were other opportunities of potential promotion for those Regional TM's initially stood down, and personally I'd hate to lose that role, to then be put back into a lesser Operations type set-up anyway.

All good, dont change anything where I hope to remain, other than how the programs etc look going forward and how kids are (and aren't) affected.

Fair enough mate, I'm only aware of the recently completed recruiting process I commented on and assumed Stephen fell into the same category as the others. Wasn't aware there were other opportunities of potential promotion for those Regional TM's initially stood down.

All good, dont change anything where I hope to remain, other than how the programs etc look going forward and how kids are (and aren't) affected.
There are some opportunities in our system I think??

Yeh I'm aware that not all positions were taken up, but still yet to roll onto the main job boards, so assuming phones are ringing in the background first, maybe to some ex AFL Club folk recently let go???

The Chargers one a belter, and it includes the Vic Metro 18/19s job I think ... best pocket of land too regarding their boundary and the schools/local clubs within.

Yeh I'm aware that not all positions were taken up, but still yet to roll onto the main job boards, so assuming phones are ringing in the background first, maybe to some ex AFL Club folk recently let go???

The Chargers one a belter, and it includes the Vic Metro 18/19s job I think ... best pocket of land too regarding their boundary and the schools/local clubs within.
Would imagine the phones are ringing and that plenty of those coaches will be absorbed by the NAB and VFL. Chargers in a great spot there.

The whole system needs a complete overhaul. Too many "clipboard carriers" and people that have been in the system for way too long and don't have the required interpersonal/ leadership skills. From my experience with the system, there are too many so called experts who really have no idea what is going on and spend their whole time pushing their own agenda in order to climb the ladder. The majority of players in the system are not drafted and as result many just walk away from the game after being totally disillusioned with it all, especially after how they have been treated.

I have seen all the false promises, lies and rubbish and I certainly am no fan of the system. Whilst job losses are never great, there may be a silver lining through the system having a much needed and well overdue reboot.

Mark Bullen or Bernie Haberman are the names I’d heard but you’d think they’d have announced if it was either of those two
Bullen could bring money man from Deer Park with him but I’m notsure that’s what the tigers really need. I no Paul Chapman has moved up into the area as well. Those blokes don’t come cheap.

They need stability and a solid plan, for a club like them if they could get it right they could be a fantastic club for the BFL. But they haven’t got it right for 25 years. They have the best crowd attendance at home of any BFL club Big enough town, but need to get there juniors in order and finances in order.

Beatie did a fantastic job to bring some solidly in trying times. It seems from an outsiders point of view that before last year they were stuck having to pay good money for a lot of players in Melbourne. But I think turned it around last year when the played minimum money. Blokes like Huntley, Magin, govan are so important to driving the club culture into a greater future. There closer than they realise and I hope they get good kids flowing thru juniors to seniors and make the club a powerhouse again.

Mark Bullen or Bernie Haberman are the names I’d heard but you’d think they’d have announced if it was either of those two

I think you may find negotiations are still continuing Roota. Stay tuned as an announcement is not far away. As mentioned in another post, the arrival of Paul Chapman who has moved to Kyneton has also given the club another option to consider. The club is in a good position and credit should go to Nathan Thompson who is doing a lot of the “leg work” for the club too.

Chappy could do a good Darren chambers impersonation. At Kyneton.

I also see catchia has left square

2021 Bendigo Football League