• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

2021 Bendigo Football League

Yep I think when Weeks was in both league's, the gv was a top tier league, with Bendigo a tier below, the gv has joined Bendigo very similar standards, to Ballarat and Gippsland with Geelong and ovens and Murray clearly the top 2 league's now.

Also when Weeks first played at square he probably wasn't in their top 5 players, such was the strength of golden square, who enjoyed playing United in preseason games, when both were premiers. I think the consensus would be since 2000 the gv was in the Premier league group with Geelong and ovens and Murray, but has slipped in the last 5 years to now being similar to Bendigo.

I will add during this period the Bendigo league has had similar to Kyabram power sides that were well above the rest of the league, with Gisborne of the early 2000s and square of 2008-11 probably the best sides in the state.

I think it would be pretty even Strath and Kyabram from 2017-19, Strath exceptionally well coached, that may have got kys on field talent.

1. Geelong
2. O&M
3. Ballarat
4. GV
5 Gippsland
6. Bendigo

The current 2020 rankings are below :

1. Northern Football Netball League
2. Mornington Peninsula Nepean Football League
3. Geelong Football Netball League
4. Golburn Valley Football League
5. Ovens and Murray Football League
6. Hampden Football Netball League
7. Western Region Football League
8. Bendigo Football Netball League
9. Ballarat Football Netball League
10. Central Murray Football Netball League
11. AFL Outer East Football Netball League
12. Wimmera Football Netball League
13. Gippsland Football Netball League
14. Bellarine Football Netball League
15. Murray Football Netball League
16. Heathcote District Football Netball League
17 . Geelong District Football League
18. Riddell District Football League
19. Sunraysia Football League
20. North Central Football League

The current 2020 rankings are below :

1. Northern Football Netball League
2. Mornington Peninsula Nepean Football League
3. Geelong Football Netball League
4. Golburn Valley Football League
5. Ovens and Murray Football League
6. Hampden Football Netball League
7. Western Region Football League
8. Bendigo Football Netball League
9. Ballarat Football Netball League
10. Central Murray Football Netball League
11. AFL Outer East Football Netball League
12. Wimmera Football Netball League
13. Gippsland Football Netball League
14. Bellarine Football Netball League
15. Murray Football Netball League
16. Heathcote District Football Netball League
17 . Geelong District Football League
18. Riddell District Football League
19. Sunraysia Football League
20. North Central Football League

These rankings only go off interleague results.

Central Vic footy needs a massive overhaul. All the league's need to be bought under one umbrella and have promotion/demotion.

It's a huge task but it's the best way forward for everyone.

That's garbage, the only country league's that could work are Geelong and Mornington with promotion and relegation. It wasnt sustainable for Locky to play in the BFL Back in the 90s, and they were better equipped back then, than what they are now

Central Vic footy needs a massive overhaul. All the league's need to be bought under one umbrella and have promotion/demotion.

That's garbage, the only country league's that could work are Geelong and Mornington with promotion and relegation. It wasnt sustainable for Locky to play in the BFL Back in the 90s, and they were better equipped back then, than what they are now
Is it sustainable for Maryborough and Castlemaine to get belted every year?

For Inglewood to get belted every year?

For only 2 LVFNL clubs to have competitive U18s?

Where do you want me to stop?

The current format is broken. A better system needs to be in place.

I didn't say there isn't problems with the current format, but promotion relegation won't work in Bendigo.

Castlemaine and Maryborough need to find a lesser league to play in. So that means that the league needs to find new teams to join.

Is there too many teams around Inglewood, maybe they need to merge, expect some north central clubs to join the LV in the future. Clubs to the north in the LV also need to merge or have a junior feeder team from Bendigo otherwise they're on borrowed time, juniors are the lifeblood of footy clubs

Is it sustainable for Maryborough and Castlemaine to get belted every year?

For Inglewood to get belted every year?

For only 2 LVFNL clubs to have competitive U18s?

Where do you want me to stop?

The current format is broken. A better system needs to be in place.

Totally agree Bouncer.

I love your comment that it's CV that needs an overhaul.

If you compared CV to the QAFL teams in the QAFL travel from Plam beach to Noosa - 3 hours and over 250km - with more than 5 Divisions

A combined Bendigo / Ballarat top tier of 10 or 12 teams then 4 or 5 Divisions of promotion and relegation from Central Highlands, MCDFNL, Loddon Valley and Heathcote.

Wow-what a great comp that would be North Ballarat vs Strath, Mitiamo vs Locky or Hepburn, and finally competitive games for Dunolly, Inglewood and Leitchville and Heathcote. Not to mention all the competitive games for the middle of the road teams.

Travel is just not a big deal today (look at the numbers travelling from Melbourne each week). Mitiamo to Hepburn is only 1 hour 45min!

Again you are on the money Central Vic footy needs an overhaul.

Totally agree Bouncer.

I love your comment that it's CV that needs an overhaul.

If you compared CV to the QAFL teams in the QAFL travel from Plam beach to Noosa - 3 hours and over 250km - with more than 5 Divisions

A combined Bendigo / Ballarat top tier of 10 or 12 teams then 4 or 5 Divisions of promotion and relegation from Central Highlands, MCDFNL, Loddon Valley and Heathcote.

Wow-what a great comp that would be North Ballarat vs Strath, Mitiamo vs Locky or Hepburn, and finally competitive games for Dunolly, Inglewood and Leitchville and Heathcote. Not to mention all the competitive games for the middle of the road teams.

Travel is just not a big deal today (look at the numbers travelling from Melbourne each week). Mitiamo to Hepburn is only 1 hour 45min!

Again you are on the money Central Vic footy needs an overhaul.

Footy in Victoria as a whole needs an overhaul…the same issues here are happening all over the state

Maybe asking a silly question, but as an outsider, someone that gets along to the odd Gisborne game to drink cans and watch a few mates. It seems like the comp overall is in pretty good.
Is that not the case, like I know the last few years hasn’t been good for local footy but the league would have to be doing better than most

Maybe asking a silly question, but as an outsider, someone that gets along to the odd Gisborne game to drink cans and watch a few mates. It seems like the comp overall is in pretty good.
Is that not the case, like I know the last few years hasn’t been good for local footy but the league would have to be doing better than most
Hi RDFL,
It all depends on which games you drank cans on the hill for and would you also do the same if you lived in Maryborough, the Maine of Flat.
Attached are you teams results this year
1 Gisborne 13.13-91 v Strathfieldsaye 12.18-90
2 Golden Square 12.12-84 v Gisborne 10.12-72
3 Gisborne 23.14-152 v Kangaroo Flat 4.5-29
4 South Bendigo 16.7-103 v Gisborne 11.12-78
5 Gisborne 33.27-225 v Castlemaine 2.1-13
6 Eaglehawk 8.15-63 v Gisborne 9.13-67
7 Gisborne 22.17-149 v Kyneton 7.7-49
8 Gisborne 21.19-145 v Maryborough 2.3-15
9 Sandhurst 6.10-46 v Gisborne 17.10-112
10 Strathfieldsaye 10.15-75 v Gisborne 5.2-32

Strath, Square, South, and Slags enjoy the beer. How do you do think your equivalent supporters feels at Maine, Maryborough. Flat and Kyneton.

T
Hi RDFL,
It all depends on which games you drank cans on the hill for and would you also do the same if you lived in Maryborough, the Maine of Flat.

Strath, Square, South, and Slags enjoy the beer. How do you do think your equivalent supporters feels at Maine, Maryborough. Flat and Kyneton.
Floggings in footy are as old as time. I was aware there were a couple of clubs struggling. But is the comp really going that bad that it’s tear the whole thing down and merge into some 5 div AFL vic monstrosity like outer east

There's always weak teams in league's, wherever you look. The problem is Maine and Maryborough have been like this for a long time, and you can't see it being turned around. They both need to join the central highlands league, which leaves the league 2 teams short. The obvious one to join us maiden gully or for Bendigo and Ballarat to join for a two tiered comp.

The joining of major leagues into two tiers could occur in most of the state, gv and om as example. Do Kerang, koondrook cohuna join the Murray league , even Echuca, Rochy and ky as well and Swan Hill clubs go to sunraysia?

In saying that the Gippsland league struggles with the travel factor, many juniors around Drouin and Warragul, would rather play in the local west gippy or ellinbank league rather than travel 3 hours to Bairnsdale to play or an hour and half to sale and Wonthaggi. The ellinbank they travel 30 minutes most.

But expect big changes into the future in country footy with many league's joining together

Hi RDFL,

There's always weak teams in league's, wherever you look. The problem is Maine and Maryborough have been like this for a long time, and you can't see it being turned around. They both need to join the central highlands league, which leaves the league 2 teams short. The obvious one to join us maiden gully or for Bendigo and Ballarat to join for a two tiered comp.

The joining of major leagues into two tiers could occur in most of the state, gv and om as example. Do Kerang, koondrook cohuna join the Murray league , even Echuca, Rochy and ky as well and Swan Hill clubs go to sunraysia?

In saying that the Gippsland league struggles with the travel factor, many juniors around Drouin and Warragul, would rather play in the local west gippy or ellinbank league rather than travel 3 hours to Bairnsdale to play or an hour and half to sale and Wonthaggi. The ellinbank they travel 30 minutes most.

But expect big changes into the future in country footy with many league's joining together

Mid Gippsland and Alberton forced to join together by area review meaning teams from Morwell Moe area travelling down to foster tarwin with Trafalgar and Yallourn Yallourn Nth deciding to join Ellinbank and North Gippsland respectively leaving less travel for both clubs

I was going to say, it lead to two of the better teams jumping ship

Gisborne already have 2 seperate junior teams so it's likely they will have the capacity for another senior side. Although I think they'd play in the Riddell league. Sunbury lions should be chased to join, they are a power club and have a strong rivalry with Gisborne. Romsey is another town growing fast that could have a rivalry with Kyneton. At the moment Riddells creek, Macedon and Romsey are all stronger clubs than Castlemaine, Maryborough and Kyneton, so they need to be looked at.

The reason for maiden gully is it's like Strath, booming population, where I'm sure if they go into the bfl, they will be strong in 3-4 years, they'll have strong juniors, who they probably now lose to bfl clubs.

I think Rochy, Echuca and Moama would be gettwble, the gv may now be worse in standard to the bfl, it's a shorter drive from people commuting from Melbourne, but the league needs to decide which way they go, although there will be a big shake up in country footy once AFL Vic deliver their findings at the end of the year

you are delusional.
Macedon, Riddell and Romsey wouldn’t beat Castlemaine let alone get anywhere near Kyneton.

won’t matter anyway next year. Riddell will Pull the pin as a club . 4 sides already applied to move leagues. There won’t be any RDFL.

There’s two maybe 3 players who would play seniors at Kyneton on the entire Macedon list. An if I recall quickly I seen a couple messages this years offering Kyneton 18 year old fringe players $300+ a game to go play seniors at Macedon.

Good luck to Macedon in the Maryborough Castlemaine League next year. Will be a competitive match for them against Trentham

you are delusional.
Macedon, Riddell and Romsey wouldn’t beat Castlemaine let alone get anywhere near Kyneton.

won’t matter anyway next year. Riddell will Pull the pin as a club . 4 sides already applied to move leagues. There won’t be any RDFL.

There’s two maybe 3 players who would play seniors at Kyneton on the entire Macedon list. An if I recall quickly I seen a couple messages this years offering Kyneton 18 year old fringe players $300+ a game to go play seniors at Macedon.

Good luck to Macedon in the Maryborough Castlemaine League next year. Will be a competitive match for them against Trentham

you seen Castlemaine? I hope they can turn it around but mate you are dreaming if you think Romsey and Macedon wouldn’t clean them up. Can’t speak for Riddell as don’t know much about them…would be a shame if that club was wound up though..such a proud history

Dunno if they'd clean them up.

Castlemaine this year, was the worst major league team I've ever seen, when I saw them this year.

I haven't seen the rdfl seniors for a couple of years, but Macedon, Riddell and rupertswood and sunbury when they were they in and diggers rest were all better then kyenton this year. Macedon were second in the ladder before covid hit, pretty sure they'd be on par with Kyenton

you are delusional.

Roota and no offence to roota would be their best fwd at Castlemaine, he's 39 and being retired for a few years, I'm 39 and I'd walk into their midfield, I haven't played since I was 25.
Yeah nah. They're bad but let's not forget what league they're in, they'd be ok in quite a few lower leagues.

Castlemaine this year, was the worst major league team I've ever seen, when I saw them this year.

I haven't seen the rdfl seniors for a couple of years, but Macedon, Riddell and rupertswood and sunbury when they were they in and diggers rest were all better then kyenton this year. Macedon were second in the ladder before covid hit, pretty sure they'd be on par with Kyenton

that couldn’t be any more incorrect. If those RDFL clubs even from a couple years ago were in Bendigo league, they would be beaten by the likes of Strath and Golden Square by 200+ points every week.

Weak opposition playing each other will of course make them look better, but no RDFL SiDe is winning a game in the Bendigo league except maybe Castlemaine but even that I’m not certain

2021 Bendigo Football League