AFL 2021 Brownlow Medal (any results after no posting is automatic card)

Nice count man! It will be thereabouts I reckon. Would like to see J.Steele get up though haha

I think he forgot to factor in two indisputable facts:

Fact 1. Jack Steele is by any and every measure- objectively far more attractive than clarry and bont.

Fact 2. Science has proven time and again that attractive people have an advantage over less attractive people.

Ergo, if it's close- the man of steele has the edge.

The defence rests your honour. :)

I think he forgot to factor in two indisputable facts:

Fact 1. Jack Steele is by any and every measure- objectively far more attractive than clarry and bont.

Fact 2. Science has proven time and again that attractive people have an advantage over less attractive people.

Ergo, if it's close- the man of steele has the edge.

The defence rests your honour. :)
Would you class Petracca as attractive by that definition? James Brayshaw keeps referring to him as 'The Italian Stallion'.

;)

Welcome aboard.

You're doing it wrong mate.

You need to big note yourself as someone who has picked heaps of amazing winners in the past (while offering up no proof).

Then you need to spruik your dodgy website where you attempt to charge people money for your half baked ideas/guesses which were gleaned by watching footy all year while stuffing a family size bag of doritos down your gullet.

But all the while pretending like you are just a regular, generous punter looking to help others out

Or something like that eh Mrose45 ?

Thanks mate.

I actually had a good chuckle at that.

They're not shy with spruiking that website are they!

Would you class Petracca as attractive by that definition? James Brayshaw keeps referring to him as 'The Italian Stallion'.

;)

The spreadsheet i was responding to had a oliver bont steele trifecta separated by 2 votes so I hadn't considered trac.

But I will now at your request.

I would say that objectively the bont and trac are on level pegging- ie not unattractive... but not necessarily headturners in most eyes.

As such their level of beauty may squeeze them an extra 1 vote edge (if they are lucky) against an unfortunately featured fellow like clarry.

Steele is a certified breathtaking headturner though.
I would declare that a certified headturner like him could well gain a 1 vote edge over mid level guys like bont and trac and a 2 vote edge over mr unfortunate clarry.

It's science, so it must be true.
Adjust your wagers accordingly ladies and gents.

Just make sure you pay close attention to where Bruce Mcerveneys hands go if the man of steele takes charlie home.

The spreadsheet i was responding to had a oliver bont steele trifecta separated by 2 votes so I hadn't considered trac.

But I will now at your request.

I would say that objectively the bont and trac are on level pegging- ie not unattractive... but not necessarily headturners in most cases.

As such their level of beauty may squeeze them an extra 1 vote edge if they are lucky against an unfortunately featured fellow like clarry.

I would declare that a certified headturner like him could well gain a 1 vote edge over mid level guys like bont and trac and a 2 vote edge over mr unfortunate clarry.

It's science, so it must be true.
Adjust your wagers accordingly ladies and gents.
Adam Cooney says hello.

I'm not saying butterface's can't win brownlows.
All I'm saying (with tongue firmly planted in cheek), is that all else being equal- spectacularly beautiful people are looked upon more favourably than dropped pie heads in all facets of life.

No reason why brownlow vote deliberations would be any different.

Coondog beat the very handsome simon black by a single vote.

Perhaps he would have won by more if he was more pretty?

In order to test my theory I am willing to state that if the count is very close this year (ie 1 or 2 votes separating the top 2 or 3)... and steele is amongst those top 2 or 3- i reckon he wins it.

Actually not that far fetched, here's an interesting study into hair color and voting

Attractiveness could well be a factor we haven't considered :tearsofjoy:

1631075856343.png

There is an old saying that "thicc thighs reach Brownlow highs". Steele, for all his modelling manliness, will be limited by his chicken thighs.

If Franklin outpolls Greene I will stop punting

And I probably will have to sell my belongings cause I have put every single multi around it

You are INSANE !!!! Bud polls super and Toby had one out of the box last year.
I will mark this post as the biggest disaster of 2021.
Bud a better than 50/50 chance to knock him over.

I will look out for your Gofundme page.

I'm trying to get as many counts as possible into an aggregate model. It's still pretty early days, only started last night, but generally the more samples you get, the less bias your average is. Did the same last year and had a solid ROI from it (although I luckily predicted Greenwood might pip Rowell so avoided him in quite a few multis).

If anyone has a count they've posted that I've missed, or wants to contribute theirs, let me know

Was scrolling Facebook and this is another count that has been done, no idea who these people are or their history but one of the worst I’ve seen.

Attachments

• 56E97444-9F3C-4B00-80F6-A98B314500B2.png
    56E97444-9F3C-4B00-80F6-A98B314500B2.png
    326.8 KB · Views: 176
Was scrolling Facebook and this is another count that has been done, no idea who these people are or their history but one of the worst I’ve seen.

Funny thing is these guys counts were included in MRoses downlowbrownlow leaderboard last year. This is the quality of the “data” you’re paying for

You are INSANE !!!! Bud polls super and Toby had one out of the box last year.
I will mark this post as the biggest disaster of 2021.
Bud a better than 50/50 chance to knock him over.

I will look out for your Gofundme page.
I have been called crazy before.

Just being light hearted, it’s not the be all end all, probably got 1% of my total Brownlow units staked on it.

who needs gofundme anyway - I’ll just tout off some special picks using expert analytical data

I have actually listened to every single one of their Podcasts (The AFL Brownlow Bar) on Spotify since the beginning of the season (and last season when they started).

There's three blokes doing the Podcasts and each one goes for about 60-80mins. They provide quite a bit of detail and reasoning behind their votes. I've found that at times they are spot on with their picks, then other times they are giving two votes to players that wouldn't even be in the top 5 on field, and other times not giving a single vote to players in the top 2 on field.

For example, round 7 Sydney (90) v Geelong (88) - From the general counts I have seen as well as my own votes, Oliver Florent and Tom Hickey were easily the best two players on the field, with Guthrie close behind (in my opinion). The three Brownlow Bar boys didn't offer a single vote for Florent between the three of their counts, and Hickey picked up 3 votes in one of their counts and Nil on the other two votes.

Aside from the odd vote predictions they sometimes put out (I'm quite certain that they don't watch every single game and rely on stats and the match report for their votes), they are still good to listen to and give some different perspectives on how they see the games.

Just my 2 cents and observation!

I'm trying to get as many counts as possible into an aggregate model. It's still pretty early days, only started last night, but generally the more samples you get, the less bias your average is. Did the same last year and had a solid ROI from it (although I luckily predicted Greenwood might pip Rowell so avoided him in quite a few multis).

If anyone has a count they've posted that I've missed, or wants to contribute theirs, let me know

Bloody oath mate that's fantastic work.

With the average gap between 4th & 5th being 4.5, it really makes me wanna throw heaps on Sportsbet boxed 4 @$4 (Oliver, Steele, Bont, Wines to finish top 4 in no order)

I can't be the only one?

Bloody oath mate that's fantastic work.

With the average gap between 4th & 5th being 4.5, it really makes me wanna throw heaps on Sportsbet boxed 4 @$4 (Oliver, Steele, Bont, Wines to finish top 4 in no order)

I can't be the only one?
I have Petracca at 26-28 votes, potentially pushing 30.

Only takes 1 out of Wines/Petracca/Steele/Bont to underpoll in any game for this to not work. The risk of underpolling is magnified with 4 players all need to rank top 4.