Opinion 2021 Non-Crows AFL 3: Things Fall Apart!

Who sneaks in to 7th & 8th?

Delisting a best 22 and senior player, regardless of promising to redraft them is shafting him.

They assumed no one wanted him, he must have felt about that.

The end result probably says more about how Greenwood felt about it than the (no doubt) Suns PT team directed Tweet he put up.

Kind of reminds me of the Survivor tactic where an alliance is like "We'll put your name up as decoy, but don't worry, we have the numbers."

Never ends well. No one ever wants to be the decoy for good reason and more often than not ends up in the decoy switching sides to ensure their safety.

I too remember the gushing over Pendles the next year of "that's how you do a loser's speech Tex!" While we're all sitting here like, it was the same thing. Tex's biggest crime was he didn't spend 60 seconds sucking off Richmond and how great they were which greatly offended the Vics. Pendles lost to a WA side so pumping them up wasn't a concern.

Tex's speech verbatim:
"Firstly, congratulations Richmond, too good. Thanks to the sponsors. And sorry Crows fans we couldn't get it done but thank you very much for travelling. Thank you."

Pendles' speech verbatim:
"First off I just wanna thank fans, Collingwood fans, West Coast fans. Uh, it was an unbelievable experience to play out here today. To the Eagles boys, you were too good in the end, well done, enjoy the victory."
That monster

Hahaha, so I can list a few negative articles about North in SA media and say SA media is biased against my club? That isn't what bias means, especially if you are going to claim the entire state is biased against you. Is Rucci's unhinged criticism of the Crows evidence of SA media bias against the Crows as well?

When you think about it, it is nonsensical to have bias against other states, why? Because Crows play in SA? A third of your list is from Victoria. We just don't see SA or WA like we did in the VFL/SANFL/WAFL days. It has probably been more than 5 years since anyone drafted into the AFL was born before the last state of origin game.

Those days when we saw the different states as rivals are long gone.

The state based leagues are more important to SA and WA, but VFL is just a reserves grade competition to us and I couldn't tell you who won the flag in any given year. It doesn't make the news, at all. SANFL and WAFL don't make the news either, it isn't because of bias, these are just irrelevant to the vast majority of people.

If I browse the AFL articles on news.com.au the only "negative" articles are about Tex and the racism thing and I think it got the same reaction all over the country, including in SA. If there is clear bias I am happy to say I am wrong, but I spend an unhealthy amount of time on other club forums and everyone thinks they cop a hard time by the media that other clubs don't get, even my own club, our supporters are amongst the most unhinged on the forum and they do not like it when I inject a dose of reality. Sometimes clubs do dumb things, they are deserving of criticism, sometimes players do dumb things, they are also deserving of criticism. The media does it solely for revenue, journalists have varying individual biases but there isn't a campaign out to get any club or any state.

If you think north is equally hard done
by don’t you share a few examples of the negative articles you’re talking about.

the examples other posters are giving aren’t one articles, they’re stories that ran for months

Your forgetting that much of the media Victoria is suppose to have a national reach.

Watch Port tie this in with Russell
I fully expect them to do this. I hope they don't, it would be a tacky way to try and leverage Ebert's legacy.

Maybe Rucci should concentrate on having a shower occasionally and looking less like a homeless person than constantly brining this up over and over again.

I too remember the gushing over Pendles the next year of "that's how you do a loser's speech Tex!" While we're all sitting here like, it was the same thing. Tex's biggest crime was he didn't spend 60 seconds sucking off Richmond and how great they were which greatly offended the Vics. Pendles lost to a WA side so pumping them up wasn't a concern.

Tex's speech verbatim:
"Firstly, congratulations Richmond, too good. Thanks to the sponsors. And sorry Crows fans we couldn't get it done but thank you very much for travelling. Thank you."

Pendles' speech verbatim:
"First off I just wanna thank fans, Collingwood fans, West Coast fans. Uh, it was an unbelievable experience to play out here today. To the Eagles boys, you were too good in the end, well done, enjoy the victory."
This is the clearest example of bias you will ever see.

I fully expect them to do this. I hope they don't, it would be a tacky way to try and leverage Ebert's legacy.

Maybe Rucci should concentrate on having a shower occasionally and looking less like a homeless person than constantly brining this up over and over again.
The identity crises is strong with that club. Once they get the guernsey it will be the magpie and then the song. I do believe the wearing of the guernsey will be detrimental to their growth anyway. Pafc are desperate to go back to its traditional base. The only way they can do that is to alienate all their non port sanfl fans. Which in turn will return them to the tarp days.

On SM-N981B using BigFooty.com mobile app

This is the clearest example of bias you will ever see.
Considering that was the worst game of bias umpiring in history the afl world is lucky Tex didn't give the umpires the third degree. It was a horrendous embarrassment for the game that the umpires played out that game like they did and to expect a player to take it then call them a poor sport is a disgrace.

On SM-N981B using BigFooty.com mobile app

I dont see the fuss with Port wearing the PB jumper.

No different to any team wearing a clash (or indigenous) jumper that is different to their home one. We have worn plenty of clash jumpers that dont look like our home jumper at all.

The only reason Port really want to wear it is the revenue it earns. Let em do it.

Personally think it should be allowed to be used in the same way clash jumpers are used.

Having said that, it is pretty trashy to use Russell Ebert as a reason to wear that jumper. Yes he played for North, but it really has no relevance in that context.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Nope. Don't wear those non-colours ever. They belong to the Collingwood football club and not wearing them was a condition of entering the AFL competition.

On SM-A115F using BigFooty.com mobile app
The Suns wear our colours

And Fitzroy when we first entered. Brisbane Lions use our colours as a clash jumper.

Same colours, different designs.

Can you come up with any examples of when the Victorian media has had bias in a similar manner? I have seen comments similar to this a fair bit but nobody every substantiates it with some evidence where the Victorian media is biased against a different state. I can give you heaps of examples when they haven't been, like the many rorts Sydney have abused and the AFL has had to clean up loopholes afterwards. Nobody is changing the rules because 29 year old Greenwood is moving clubs.

How many times a year do you reckon some footy show telecasts the last minute of Adelaide v Fitzroy in 1991? And do you want to contrast that frequency with how often there's footage of Troy Pannell going on an 18-1 spree at Docklands, or John Harvey posing in the Hun with him and his whole family in North gear after a last quarter umpire assisted comeback, or the creative umpiring of Matthew Nicholls in the 2012 grand final?

It's also interesting that the "noise of affirmation" theory only became a limited media issue when West Coast were seen to be getting a good run in 2017. A breakdown of 23 frees to 8 in favour of West Coast in Round 2 was labelled as "historic" in the media, when literally 3 hours earlier Hawthorn finishing up 22-11 at the G versus the Crows was not worthy of comment. There was no evidence why the differential was deemed historic.

(Good pickup by the Roos to get Greenwood BTW.)

No, but Port believe they do ....and can backtrack on committments given upon entry to the AFL Comp

View attachment 1281928

It isn’t prison bars, they are wharf plyons. Don’t they know their own heritage.

Mind you, as it is today, prison bars would be more appropriate and reflective of their supporter base.

No, religion is the only thing in peoples lives. If they knew there was nothing after this life, they would be merry hell on earth. What would be the purpose of their existence? A life of misery and working your butt off for n9 tangible reward.

Religion has been the cause of so much death and destruction over the centuries. It has been used as a power play.

It has as I said earlier by the minority.
Religion for the vast majority has been a good thing.
I'm not talking about fanaticals which is what you seem to referring to.

I dont see the fuss with Port wearing the PB jumper.

No different to any team wearing a clash (or indigenous) jumper that is different to their home one. We have worn plenty of clash jumpers that dont look like our home jumper at all.

The only reason Port really want to wear it is the revenue it earns. Let em do it.

Personally think it should be allowed to be used in the same way clash jumpers are used.

Having said that, it is pretty trashy to use Russell Ebert as a reason to wear that jumper. Yes he played for North, but it really has no relevance in that context.

If port can wear the wharf jump as an away clash strip based on their history in the SANFL, surely we can wear this one as an away clash jumper since we are derived from ALL SANFL clubs.
1637119515831.png

If port can wear the wharf jump as an away clash strip based on their history in the SANFL, surely we can wear this one as an away clash jumper since we are derived from ALL SANFL clubs.
View attachment 1282056
I don't like it personally, but yeah why not.

For me it is not really about the "historical significance ", although after taking over the SANFL club they now logically own that history. Like the Chinese owned/made MG owns that history.

There are plenty of clash and Indegenous jumpers that are different to home jumpers and use colours not associated with the club wearing it.

To me this is just another one. Let em wear it as a clash jumper. Multiple times a season. Takes away this argument each year and dilutes the "importance" of them having to wear it.

Denying them makes the jumper a martyr. A rally point for their supporters.

I just don't see how the AFL can deny it other than some stupid agreement with Collingwood back in 1997 that has no real relevance now that clubs wear multiple jumpers with many quite different to the "traditional" imagery of the club they represent.

View attachment 1282056
Nah that’s what a cheap club does, we have our own history in our home jumper that’s basically unchanged.
That’s something to be proud of.
We should be wearing our home jumper if no clash which there’s not.

Nah that’s what a cheap club does, we have our own history in our home jumper that’s basically unchanged.

And each year we wear it, it becomes more of our history and heritage.

Our jumper line up is pretty much spot on now.

Yep and if we really must wear a clash guernsey, it should just be the original strip with the colours swapped around. I've never liked the weird artistic designs they come up with sometimes.

How many times a year do you reckon some footy show telecasts the last minute of Adelaide v Fitzroy in 1991? And do you want to contrast that frequency with how often there's footage of Troy Pannell going on an 18-1 spree at Docklands, or John Harvey posing in the Hun with him and his whole family in North gear after a last quarter umpire assisted comeback, or the creative umpiring of Matthew Nicholls in the 2012 grand final?

It's also interesting that the "noise of affirmation" theory only became a limited media issue when West Coast were seen to be getting a good run in 2017. A breakdown of 23 frees to 8 in favour of West Coast in Round 2 was labelled as "historic" in the media, when literally 3 hours earlier Hawthorn finishing up 22-11 at the G versus the Crows was not worthy of comment. There was no evidence why the differential was deemed historic.

(Good pickup by the Roos to get Greenwood BTW.)

Are you watching 20 year old reruns? Who plays that stuff any longer?

I think there is a pattern of noise influence biased umpiring when the majority of the crowd leans heavily towards one team, regardless in which state that happens. Kardinia Park is probably the worst of it here in Victoria and it is largely because it is difficult for non-Cats supporters to get access to the venue, similar issue with West Coast, very hard for a non-members to get access to seating for eagles home games.

If you look at pre-covid games where crowds weren't limited...

2019 Crows played 2 games at Docklands and 1 at MCG Total frees for 62, total against 62. Crows 10 home games in Adelaide against interstate teams, total frees for 179, total against 131 for a +48 differential.

Maybe that was a bad year.

2018 Crows played 3 games at Docklands and 2 at MCG. Total frees for 92, total against 90. Crows 10 home games in Adelaide against interstate teams, total frees for 222, total against 157 for a +65 differential.

I think there is a bit of a difference and Adelaide Oval and SA supporters aren't the worst of the problems, it is shocking at Kardinia Park or over in Perth. That isn't biased opinion, there is data that backs it up.

That's because you're probably a bogan who has never left the northern suburbs of Adelaide your entire life.
There is good and bad in religion, don't write off the good because you've had some bad experiences with certain people.
Havent lived in adelaide for nearly 20 years and i lived in the southern suburbs..

and you obviously didnt read my entire comment before replying.. the last point you made was the last point I made in my comment.