Opinion 2021 Non-Crows AFL 3: Things Fall Apart!

Who sneaks in to 7th & 8th?

GWS you had 1 job to do..your finals place on the line and port literally squeaking home against sides having off days and getting key injuries during games..and you choose today to play a bad one. This was the game port should have dropped and it would have cost top 4..port have just got lucky. Hope their huge amount of luck runs out starting next week

GWS you had 1 job to do..your finals place on the line and port literally squeaking home against sides having off days and getting key injuries during games..and you choose today to play a bad one. Thos was the game port should have dropped and it would have cost top 4..port have juat got lucky. Hope their huge amount of luck runs out starting next week

Port gave them every chance.

Here’s a bit of research for you all… which full forwards get looked after?

Heres the current goalkickers table

7CCB1565-29F3-4605-B2C4-35B4CD43D71D.jpeg

Okay and here they are individually

2A8CAC60-B37D-4459-BD0A-7A8EF3D623B2.jpeg

Riewoldt, way more against, kicked 45

C8B6A244-4D2B-4BF4-98C8-147849FCACB1.jpeg

like Riewoldt, Hawkins way more against, kicked 46

F5E209DD-A629-43D7-A31D-17A1F6C9376C.jpeg
McKay, about even, leads with 48 (got more today obvs)

D641FA35-0946-4E28-A995-385401F4D6D0.jpeg

the man, the legend, like McKay, Walker is about even with 48 goals

2AB80E17-E4D7-4CAF-99DE-273F04144FD4.jpeg

Josh Bruce, under the count, but he’s kicked 45

2D16E544-F08F-437F-BEFE-3852176CBE43.jpeg

Ben King, way ahead to score his 43 goals

7C420E67-0727-4822-A687-242144073C0E.jpeg

the man, the master, the sniper - way down on frees, but he’s got 41 goals

64A53EAA-07AE-48BD-B2F6-CF870FF86B19.jpeg

lastly, Dixon. Way ahead on frees but behind everyone on goals with 37

Okay, conclusions

Looked After: Ben King & Charlie Dixon. And of course, though Dixon’s looked after the most, he has the least goals 🤣

About Even: McKay & Walker

Crucified: everybody else

Troy Selwood has quit as Collingwood's list manager after just 6 weeks in the role, surely he took a look a realised they've blown the cap and will get draft sanctions
Draft sanctions? Maybe if they disallow Coll from matching any bid on Daicos - that 'd like to see ... Eddie would explode from every orifice :laughv1: (and we might get Horne!)

Imagine how it'd look if they did blow the TPP and still end up with pick 1.

I replayed Himmelberg’s lining up for goal. From the instant he was directed into place by the umpire, he was given only 16 seconds before he was told to play on.

heckin'g incompetent umpiring.
And the commentators didn't even notice this? As soon as he was re-directed with the line the umpire had to reset the 30 seconds because he had to do his routine again.

****ing hilarious how offended Poort supporters get when you tell them how ****ing shit Derrrrsma's celebration is. They can't get over it. Forever in their head.

Port are looking annoyingly ok and a few teams we were banking on having their measure in finals have fallen over (West Coast, Richmond, Brisbane)

If this season counted I'd be getting a bit worried

Port are looking annoyingly ok and a few teams we were banking on having their measure in finals have fallen over (West Coast, Richmond, Brisbane)

The difference between them and Port is that Port, no matter how unconvincing it may look, still manage to win. The next 2 games are formalities but the Dogs in the last round will be a real indicator of where they sit with 4th spot potentially on the line.

Tex and Fog would kick 100 goals a season with decent delivery.

They must watch other games and think wow a kick to our advantage would be so nice.

I think Tex went his entire career without a mid who could kick lace out to him

Here’s a bit of research for you all… which full forwards get looked after?

Heres the current goalkickers table

View attachment 1193453

Okay and here they are individually

View attachment 1193454

Riewoldt, way more against, kicked 45

View attachment 1193455

like Riewoldt, Hawkins way more against, kicked 46

View attachment 1193456
McKay, about even, leads with 48 (got more today obvs)

View attachment 1193457

the man, the legend, like McKay, Walker is about even with 48 goals

View attachment 1193458

Josh Bruce, under the count, but he’s kicked 45

View attachment 1193459

Ben King, way ahead to score his 43 goals

View attachment 1193460

the man, the master, the sniper - way down on frees, but he’s got 41 goals

View attachment 1193480

lastly, Dixon. Way ahead on frees but behind everyone on goals with 37

Okay, conclusions

Looked After: Ben King & Charlie Dixon. And of course, though Dixon’s looked after the most, he has the least goals 🤣

About Even: McKay & Walker

Crucified: everybody else

Average Port flog, "Dixon gets scragged every week and never gets a free, I wish he got the same type of protection that other forwards get"

So from this point, Port can miss the top 4 by percentage if they lose to the Bulldogs in the last round and ...

Melbourne wins 2/3
Sydney wins 3/3

Sydney play saints, north and suns for their final 3 games, so very possible going 3 out of 3

The difference between them and Port is that Port, no matter how unconvincing it may look, still manage to win. The next 2 games are formalities but the Dogs in the last round will be a real indicator of where they sit with 4th spot potentially on the line.

It depends. Either the Bulldogs, or Port, or both, might be in a position going in to the game where a win or loss doesn't affect their ladder position. The final round always throws up anomalies.

If the Bulldogs in particular can't change position then a huge opportunity for Port.

It's an interesting season, WB a clear stand-up.

Geelong, Melbourne Port the next

Sydney seem to be in a group of their own.

Everyone else is garbage.

I don't even think Port board think Port are on same level as Geelong and Melbourne, especially after how Port played against Melbourne not too long ago.
My tip for premiership is Geelong. If not them then Dees.

The race for 7th and 8th is a ripper. You can rule a line through the Saints, with their shit %, they're effectively 2 games outside the 8 with games against Sydney and Geelong to come. As for the others:

Eagles
Demons (home)
Freo
Lions (away)

No easy games to finish. One win will be enough but, lose all 3, and there's potential to miss, especially with others having easy games on paper. Freo's mental fragility in derbies will secure them.

Freo
Lions (home)
Eagles
Saints (away)

Somehow sitting 8th and all of the games are winnable. The Lions aren't in great form and, in Perth, Freo are a great shot, and they've been presented with a golden chance to finally break their Derby drought. It's in their hands now, but 2/3 wins will be needed.

Giants
Cats (away)
Tigers (home)
Blues (away)

Need to beat the Tigers and Blues to make it. 1/3 won't be enough.

Bombers
Bulldogs
Suns (away)
Pies

Tough ask against the Dogs but two very winnable games to finish off. Win both of those and they'll be a huge chance to scrape in. Their strong % helps big time.

Tigers
North
Giants (away)
Hawks (Tassie)

After the Hawks win against the Lions, none of these are easy. They need to win all 3 to make it which is unlikely.

Blues
Suns (home)
Port (away)
Giants (home)

Amazingly, they could find themselves in the 8 after next weekend with a win over the Suns. Port here is a likely loss and it'll come down to the Giants match to make it. They'll just fall short even if they win 2/3.

FWIW, my ladder predictor has the Eagles 7th (Derby win) and the Bombers 8th. All in all, the last 3 weeks is going to be a hell of a ride with the spoon, finals and top 4 all up for grabs.

I agree, that's the problem, they are only okay but so is just about everyone else so the flag is wide open. I picked them a few months back and they are still my favorite. I just think things will fall into place at the right time.

I think they will beat the Bulldogs in round 23 who will potentially have nothing to play for.

I agree, that's the problem, they are only okay but so is just about everyone else so the flag is wide open. I picked them a few months back and they are still my favorite. I just think things will fall into place at the right time.

I think they will beat the Bulldogs in round 23 who will potentially have nothing to play for.
Your constant talking up of Port concerns me.

Brisbane cannot win the premiership this year. It is either the Bulldogs, Geelong or Melbourne that will probably win it all. Port and Sydney are a chance.