List Mgmt. 2021 Trade, FA and Draft Chat

The evidence is that he was selected in the best 22. He only came out of the team because of injury.

Can't say how long it takes to get back to AFL level after rupturing a testicle, but if he was good enough at the start of the year, then I expect he'll be good enough next year too.
What??

What team exactly? He was even named round 1.. he played practise match against the doggies for a quarter until he got injured. Same game that Vandenberg and Bedford played in. So according to your theory here both Vanders and Bedford are best 22 and will be good enough for next year as well.

Right.

What??

What team exactly? He was even named round 1.. he played practise match against the doggies for a quarter until he got injured. Same game that Vandenberg and Bedford played in. So according to your theory here both Vanders and Bedford are best 22 and will be good enough for next year as well.

Right.
You're really worked up about this. Don't take everything so personally.

If this is bothering you, why don't you tell us what it is that you don't like about him? Maybe you have some insights that can enlighten us.

he likes a man with unexploded testicles. can't blame him tbh

I think the more important question is who comes in. I don't see us taking too many in this year's draft and we may grab a few from trade/free agency.
We'll have more than enough players to delist and I think we'll prob keep more than people would expect.

Lol..I don't get worked up over this stuff. I'm actually trying to make sense with you, but your argument has more holes then a Swiss cheese.

Again... point out where I said I didn't like him? Did you miss my post about me stating being a big fan of Lockhart and thought he was stiff to be dropped last year?

If you're wanting my 'insight' then I'll have to keep it simple for you because it's clear it takes you a while to generate simple information.

Reason why I had Lockhart down as a delist options was because I think its evident that he's clearly being overtaken by Rivers, Bowey, Hibberd and lesser extent Jetta throughout the year. There was times where I thought he could have come in to give Rivers a rest or even Hibberd as well. What's potentially the nail in the coffin was Bowey getting selected ahead of him only a few weeks ago. That to me unfortunately doesn't bode well for Lockhart.

The other aspect is he hasn't even been named emergency once this year even though his form at VFL has been solid in my eyes. So again that's telling for me that coaching staff haven't even considered him at selection table at all this year.

I know some have soft spots for certain battlers but realistically players need to be cut at the end of the year and Lockhart being uncontracted, not even close to selection and having a number of players ahead of you probably doesn't bode well for him.

People might compare this it to Joel Smith situation, but Smith is actually highly rated by the club and has been named emergency numerous of times throughout the year even though he's missed more games then Lockhart through injury. So he's actually been right on the cusp of selection.

I could be writing all this and Lockhart re-signs this week for a 1 year deal....

Lol..I don't get worked up over this stuff. I'm actually trying to make sense with you, but your argument has more holes then a Swiss cheese.

Again... point out where I said I didn't like him? Did you miss my post about me stating being a big fan of Lockhart and thought he was stiff to be dropped last year?

If you're wanting my 'insight' then I'll have to keep it simple for you because it's clear it takes you a while to generate simple information.

Reason why I had Lockhart down as a delist options was because I think its evident that he's clearly being overtaken by Rivers, Bowey, Hibberd and lesser extent Jetta throughout the year. There was times where I thought he could have come in to give Rivers a rest or even Hibberd as well. What's potentially the nail in the coffin was Bowey getting selected ahead of him only a few weeks ago. That to me unfortunately doesn't bode well for Lockhart.

The other aspect is he hasn't even been named emergency once this year even though his form at VFL has been solid in my eyes. So again that's telling for me that coaching staff haven't even considered him at selection table at all this year.

I know some have soft spots for certain battlers but realistically players need to be cut at the end of the year and Lockhart being uncontracted, not even close to selection and having a number of players ahead of you probably doesn't bode well for him.

People might compare this it to Joel Smith situation, but Smith is actually highly rated by the club and has been named emergency numerous of times throughout the year even though he's missed more games then Lockhart through injury. So he's actually been right on the cusp of selection.

I could be writing all this and Lockhart re-signs this week for a 1 year deal....
Wow, mate. I get that people are stressed so I'll give you some slack. Or maybe you're just a school kid... in which case you deserve some slack. I haven't read your post past the first two lines but you seem really worked up.

I would suggest that you get out for a walk and get some fresh air. It's a great way to de-stress.

Wow, mate. I get that people are stressed so I'll give you some slack. Or maybe you're just a school kid... in which case you deserve some slack. I haven't read your post past the first two lines but you seem really worked up.

I would suggest that you get out for a walk and get some fresh air. It's a great way to de-stress.
Bro, you asked me why I would delist Lockhart 🤣 Gave you an honest answer and you try and then deflect the argument completely irrelevant to footy discussion because it didn't suit your narrative.

Shit form.

Entering the big Lockhart debate, he’s not best 22 and I can’t see him becoming best 22. But with Jetta on the verge of retiring and Hibberd turning 32 this summer I think it’s worth keeping him purely as depth.

Does that change if we do end up getting Maynard? Probably another point I didn't take into consideration.

Next year our small to mid defenders could be Bowey, Hunt, Hibberd, Rivers, Salem and Deakyn Smith. Add Maynard and that's potentially 7 players that Lockhart will have to contend against.

Does that change if we do end up getting Maynard? Probably another point I didn't take into consideration.

Next year our small to mid defenders could be Bowey, Hunt, Hibberd, Rivers, Salem and Deakyn Smith. Add Maynard and that's potentially 7 players that Lockhart will have to contend against.

Fair point for sure.

I think there’s an AFL standard footballer in Lockhart. Wouldn’t mind trying him as a mid/forward before we delist him, as that’s an area we have less depth in.

How’s Deakyn Smith looking? I haven’t seen much about him this season, forgot about him to be honest.

Fair point for sure.

I think there’s an AFL standard footballer in Lockhart. Wouldn’t mind trying him as a mid/forward before we delist him, as that’s an area we have less depth in.

I agree. Also speaks to his character that he kept grafting and was drafted a little bit later. At the risk of posting this same thing every three weeks until October, by the time Jones, Jetta, Nietschke are gone - and add (IMO) likely Baker, at least one of Bedford/Chandler, possibly Bradtke, likely Hore (he wasn't as highly rated internally as many of us have him, and now has to come back from an ACL) - I would be surprised if we couldn't find room for a good role player like Lockhart. The question may actually be whether another Club has a more prominent role for him.

I liked the look of both Declase and Turner in the games I saw. Hoping we can give them another go, particularly given our later picks and less exposed form in the juniors the past 2 years meaning we presumably don’t want to be taking too many kids in this draft.

Agreed, Turner will still only be 20 at the start of next year aswell and the club seen something they like in him. I haven’t seen either of them at VFL level but Declase sounds like he’s looking alright aswell. Both deserve a full preseason at it.

I believe Turner signed a one year contract, Declase signed a 6 month contract. Highly doubt either are delisted. Somebody correct me if I'm wrong on their contracts.

I hope we're keeping an eye on the market for key forwards over the next 12 months. Assuming Weid departs, that leaves us with Brown and McDonald who have both had their struggles with injury and form at various stages. Regardless of how they perform during this finals series, I think we should be looking for better/younger options who may be tempted to move for a shot at success.

The Tigers and Cats have both done this recently with Lynch and Cameron despite already having quality key forwards on their respective lists.

I hope we're keeping an eye on the market for key forwards over the next 12 months. Assuming Weid departs, that leaves us with Brown and McDonald who have both had their struggles with injury and form at various stages. Regardless of how they perform during this finals series, I think we should be looking for better/younger options who may be tempted to move for a shot at success.

The Tigers and Cats have both done this recently with Lynch and Cameron despite already having quality key forwards on their respective lists.
Shake Ben King loose.

Does anyone have a snippet of this from the west Australian?

AFL draft 2021: Melbourne recruiting boss Jason Taylor see ‘significant improvement’ in father-son prosect Taj Woewodin

I cant access this article, but THIS might be worth a listen.

Jump to the 11.30 minute mark if you just want to hear about Taj..

Melbourne recruiting boss Jason Taylor has seen “significant improvement” in hard-working WA father-son prospect Taj Woewodin this season.

The East Fremantle colts captain has enjoyed a purple patch of form since returning from WA under-19s duties, averaging 26 disposals, six marks and four tackles in his past three matches.

The 18-year-old son of Brownlow medallist Shane was best-afield in the Sharks’ 116-point thrashing of reigning premiers Subiaco on Saturday with 26 possessions, seven marks and two goals.

Taylor noted the Aquinas College graduate’s improved midfield craft after starting mainly across half-back and half-forward.

“He’s a terrific young man, Taj, and he really works hard on his game,” Taylor told AFL.com’s Road To The Draft podcast.

“We’ve seen some significant improvement throughout the year, particularly in his midfield craft.

“I think his introduction into the State program over there in WA has really continued to help him to blossom.

“He’s putting a pretty good month together and his midfield game is really starting to grow.

“He’s played a fair bit of footy off half-back as that grounder opener at half-forward.”

Taylor said while coronavirus border restrictions prevented Woewodin, whose dad played 138 of his 200 games at Melbourne to go with 62 at Collingwood, from spending time at the club, they have been in contact with him several times and would continue to track his progress.

“Obviously we’ve spoken with Taj along the journey and we’ve interviewed him,” Taylor said.

“It’s been difficult, we’ve been blocked a couple of times about getting him to the club so that’s been a frustration.

“As it sits now, we’ll just continue to track his progress and we’ll cross that bridge later in the year.”

Woewodin is one of nine Sharks in the State 19s squad ahead of the national carnival opener against South Australia at Mineral Resources Park on August 29.

He joins Finn Gorringe, Josh Browne, Jack Williams, Corey Warner, Judd McVee, Jed Hagan, Ed Curley and late addition Josh Cripps.

His colts coach Adrian Ricciardello endorsed his leader for an AFL gig, highlighting his leadership, versatility and work ethic.

I really do hope that he finds his way onto an AFL list,” Ricciardello said earlier this month.

“He’s going to give it everything he’s got and he’ll get the best out of himself whichever way he can so I think that’s one of the strongest characteristics you need to make it at AFL level.

“He’s taken his game to another level and leads by example. I’m super pleased with how he’s come back from the State games and how much confidence he’s playing with.”

Melbourne already have an East Fremantle connection with Luke Jackson and Trent Rivers recruited from the club in the 2019 national draft before becoming regulars in the best 22.

From a father-son point of view, the Demons invited fellow West Aussie Kobe Farmer, the son of club great Jeff, to train last pre-season with the potential of getting a spot on their rookie list but he was eventually overlooked.

Farmer, 18, has since returned to the WAFL where he’s been playing colts for Swan Districts.

Interesting comments from Pendlebury:

'Pendlebury revealed that he would have to consider rival offers if they tied in a coaching role after his playing days'.

"If they want to offer me future coaching gigs, for a couple of years time I'll have a look at it."

Interesting comments from Pendlebury:

'Pendlebury revealed that he would have to consider rival offers if they tied in a coaching role after his playing days'.

"If they want to offer me future coaching gigs, for a couple of years time I'll have a look at it."
He's probably my favourite non-Dees player but looked pretty cooked this year. Wouldn't say no, but a team like North or GC might be able to offer a better deal.

There’d be a few suitors I reckon. Probably not us though. Carlton wouldn’t be the worst shout.

List Mgmt. 2021 Trade, FA and Draft Chat