List Mgmt. 2021 Trade Targets

Impey and Alir, do you really want to compare them with the likes of Dunkley, Daniher and Merrett? Give me a spell mate.

LOL ... I was referring to the respectful manner in which their trades were conducted, not their equality as players or their value. Probably too much for you to grasp.

Yes because trading All Australian quality players will always go as smoothly as trading battlers 🥴

Essendon can match for +1 FRP, and then do a wink wink deal with Port for another +1 FRP (i.e. FRP for a fringe player that they don't want anymore).

It's happened with other clubs in previous trade periods.
I thought the Crows tried to do something somewhat similar with Crouch (take a player like Dunstan as a salary dump, the Saints spend that extra cash on Crouch, Crows get a better compo pick as a result of Crouch's contract going up) and got shot down by the AFL?

You reckon other clubs would be happy with that? Ya kidding yourself.

Lol why would other clubs give a shit about us screwing over Essendon? Newsflash, every other club hates Dodoro as much as we do.

Anyway, if Essendon finish bottom 6 and Merrett wants to go to a contender, I don't see how Dodoro will be silly enough to match. He can huff and puff and demand more than pick 6 if he wants, but a contending club won't have a better pick than that and can't just magic one up to give to Essendon even if they wanted to. When faced with the reality of the situation with Merrett being uncontracted, he'll take the pick, just like he did with Daniher last year.

You’ve got no idea how these things work,
And I take it you do, given your wealth of inside knowledge in AFL trade circles?

Or could it be that you're just some flog guessing on the Internet like the rest of us, except with a hugely inflated opinion of your own self-worth?

Anyway I seem A few port Adelaide fans like Patrick Lipinski even though he is a bulldogs fan he may still move for opportunity at the end of the year. Even Lewis young might look for opportunity in his home state

If guys like Lipinski and Young want more opportunity, we're probably not the club to give it to them unfortunately. Would be happy to have them on the list, but not much point in either of them moving from one club where they wouldn't be best 22 to another.

That’s way I deleted my comment don’t think you will be interested

Because you muppets keep quoting me with your fantasy theories on how you are going to pull the wool over Essendon’s eyes landing Merrett, he may well end up at Port Adelaide but it’ll be in a situation that favours Essendon.

Yes via Band 1 compo and nothing more. Enjoy. :rainbow:

We couldn't afford what Lukosius would be worth as a developing tall forward prospect and we shouldn't pay what GC would want for the quarterback-style player they are turning him into.

Merrett kind of reminds me of Rockliff in that he isn't particularly quick but works hard to find space, accumulates the ball and will pick options that are achievable with his disposal ability. He will cop a bit from people saying he plays soft but he is just a good outside player, something we need to balance the midfield. He'll attack the ball and player when he needs to. Not sure how him returning to the leadership group affects the prospect of him leaving but hopefully we've put the work in to convince him.
too slow in my opinion, has the skills though

not what our midfield needs. We need more speed through the middle.

Richard Tambling and Bryce Gibbs spring to mind.

Lol I had to check Tambling. I thought you might have been extracting the urine.
:tearsofjoy:

Ronnie Burns and Luke Lowden prove this theory is a complete fallacy.

What's a Luke Lowden?

Mate, the front loading part means nothing, Essendon just have to match the overall contract.

Short of paying him well over a million dollars a season, Essendon will match any offer and potentially force a trade, then it’s up to Port to pay ridiculous overs for him in a trade, I can’t see how he’ll end up at Port.

Based on where Essendon list sits I’d suggest that would also be a terrible move for Essendon and in line with Dodoros failure to move on Daniher when Sydney came knocking.

Dodo talks a big game and he does it for the media attention. He is a list manager at a big Vic club. You need to get ahead of the deal, you need to look like you’re in control and driving a hard bargain. I’m sure he actually is a pain to negotiate with but he gets the Dons in the media and keeps them there

Now all of that being said - what ridiculous deals have actually happened? Usually the trades get done and most seem reasonable. Saad, Daniher, Raz, Ryder, Monfries (assume this was him?), etc, etc.

It’s why I can’t see a deal for Merrett being matched. Apart from Cameron, what other deals have been matched?

Dons get an extra top 5 pick and lose a player that has said he wants to leave (if he agrees to a FA contract I mean, he hasn’t decided yet). Why force a trade? What’s there to gain? It makes the situation messy for all and it’s unlikely something good comes out of it.

Now Port have a history of being honest and getting the deal done. If the Dons did force a trade then Port sort that. I just don’t think it would happen and it wouldn’t be as useful to the dons. For example pick 12-18 + Williams (let’s say - good player, Vic boy) - that better than Horne or some other top 5 draft pick? If losing Daniher and gaining Cox has shown us anything, is that those top 8 or so picks are like gold.

So if the Essendon poster wants a reasonable chat, the starting point would be why would the dons match a bid and what would they realistically expect in a trade? Cause I certainly can’t see why they do it and what Port would realistically give up.

List Mgmt. 2021 Trade Targets