Training 2022 - 2023 Off-Season and Pre-Season training Watch

Life throws many curve balls and let’s hope Lewis recovers well but having the likes of Mitch, Simpson etc leading the group will bring us a lot of experience, calm, composure, focus and solutions to deal with things. Our drafting and list management in a short time has come along way. It may not have an impact immediately but in good time having a quality midfield that will give us better delivery into the forward line will have a much bigger impact on performance than losing a player to injury.

Well, yes, hence why I said you made a bad comparison.
My reference was about who we have is what we have, now

Moving on, if Jeka is a defender, who's place does he take out of blanck, sic, frost, dgb. Can't fit them all in. Now would be the time for mitch to move the magnets around and switch jeka fwd, imo. He has x factor and if it clicks voila, big if, and we also somewhat retain our structure/ game plan going forward

We now have mids aplenty, I'm sure at least one of them would be able to hit him on the chest. A far cry from tom's helicopter kicks to the forwards of the past

Moving on, if Jeka is a defender, who's place does he take out of blanck, sic, frost, dgb. Can't fit them all in. Now would be the time for mitch to move the magnets around and switch jeka fwd, imo. He has x factor and if it clicks voila, big if, and we also somewhat retain our structure/ game plan going forward

We now have mids aplenty, I'm sure at least one of them would be able to hit him on the chest. A far cry from tom's helicopter kicks to the forwards of the past
Agree. We've got 7 weeks to train up a new fwd line structure. All options on the table.

Crisis, if that’s what you wanna call it, creates opportunity.

Whether that be Sam looking to Greene, Meek, Ramsden, Serong or Jeka, the Lewis setback just opens the door for someone else to make a claim on their importance to our team and forward line going forward.

It’s kinda exciting in that regard.

Its unlikely we will be playing in games of consequence this season, so in that regard its not a blow.

A shame for us as fans though, as hes one of the bright lights for us up forward and a great player to watch in full flight.

Hopefully back sooner rather than later.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Jeka wont play forward because he continues to train as a defender. We will use greene and serong and the other inexperienced forward we have on our list yes lewis might miss a game or two maybe even 3 we r not changing our plans because of that. Lewis will be back and hopefully through some strong performances Jeka has made the side as a defender

Are you prepared to give yourself a 2 Sabbatical on big footy if wrong. You post with such authority (I like your posts) as if you're hearing this from one of the coaches. By the way, I agree but not with the same conviction. 👍
The conviction from me is the coaches actions and just experience of knowing that good coaches do not change their plans helter skelter they are generally patient in a course of action. Lewis's injury is a minor inconvenience in the scheme of things. We stay the course and its steady as she goes with the ship. Everyone knows their roles and ambitions. Everyone trying to do the the best they can to achieve the team goals as a group. To be honest i wouldnt care if i had a sabbatical enforced or not

Jeka wont play forward because he continues to train as a defender. We will use greene and serong and the other inexperienced forward we have on our list yes lewis might miss a game or two maybe even 3 we r not changing our plans because of that. Lewis will be back and hopefully through some strong performances Jeka has made the side as a defender
Wouldn't have thought Jeka was as integral as Sicily, Frost, DGB and Blanck to our defense, and even if he were, his status as a forward less than a year ago makes him much more likely for a move than anyone else. I agree we'll work with what we've got and it's unlikely Jeka goes forward, but I don't think you can dismiss it out of hand.

Sicily forward until Lewis comes back.

Let's give Jeka a shot in defence and see who else steps up there - we're stacked with good options in defence, forwards are bare.
Rather than trying inexperienced and underdeveloped guy as the number 1 forward target, Sicily just makes more sense.

Big test for Sam Mitchell's leadership.
I will burn my membership if Sicily doesn't go forward.

Wouldn't have thought Jeka was as integral as Sicily, Frost, DGB and Blanck to our defense, and even if he were, his status as a forward less than a year ago makes him much more likely for a move than anyone else. I agree we'll work with what we've got and it's unlikely Jeka goes forward, but I don't think you can dismiss it out of hand.
Jeka attributes his field kicking etc and that he was switched back late last year possibly saved his career. He has trained the whole pre season as a defender including today. Lewis's injury is not season ending he will be back. Blanck is still to make his mark as an AFL defender and frosty is one of our elder statesman its not about this year. If jeka holds down CHB best case scenario it makes Sicily much more dangerous as an attacking force in our backline. It also gives us another genuinely good field kick in the backline.

Sicily forward until Lewis comes back.

Let's give Jeka a shot in defence and see who else steps up there - we're stacked with good options in defence, forwards are bare.
Rather than trying inexperienced and underdeveloped guy as the number 1 forward target, Sicily just makes more sense.

Big test for Sam Mitchell's leadership.
I will burn my membership if Sicily doesn't go forward.
Lol mate that a knee jerk reaction lewis isnt done for the year

So heres the other reason what happens when lewis returns. Does Jeka go back again? The less disruption we have the better. I can see a few of u saying what if he is successful up forward. You then have to ask ureself how likely is that given Jeka's career to date

Reckon the most likely play from SMitch here is Frost up forward just to compete for a month or 2, given he already spent his last few games of 2022 there before he got injured, so clearly it was already something the coaches were evidently trying

What about giving DGB a go up forward. Wasn’t he a formerly a forward in junior footy? I’ve noticed the majority of people not having him in the best 23 so I’d much rather throw him up forward than not in the best 23 at all.
Not sure how far back you're going with him playing forward but he was definitely a backman when we drafted him

Rather him than frost or sicily
Would actually rather Scrimshaw is any of the backs went forward but we will most likely just use Kosi, Greene and a resting ruck which is a similar structure to what we used last year

Jeka, grab the bomber's full back by the horns, bamboozle him with your skills and talents, slap him down, and kick 6

FF is now yours on a platter, step up and devour it, son

On a side note, I'd like to see him tried out in a buddy 2013 style role
Just play him as a forward and if he’s no good, delist him. Simple.

So heres the other reason what happens when lewis returns. Does Jeka go back again? The less disruption we have the better. I can see a few of u saying what if he is successful up forward. You then have to ask ureself how likely is that given Jeka's career to date
100%. Some posts seem like reactions you’d expect if we were playing a prelim next week and the entire cupboard was bare.

We have a whole squad of forwards, mids and backs who have all been training all summer to particular structures and systems. No need to rip it all up and start again for certain players, particularly when Lewis might only miss a couple of games.

We don’t have to fit them all in. Competition for spots is a good thing.

I wonder if this actually opens up a new spot for one of our big mids with Kosi playing as a more pure kpf?
Could a Long or a Weddle come in to get more game time and some experience that they potentially wouldn't have gotten for several more seasons as they fill out?
Or does Serong and Ferg now work more in tandem and aggressively through that space?
It really sucks that Lewis is injured again, but like some have eluded to crisis breeds innovation and having a young team is the perfect place for innovation to occur.

Training 2022 - 2023 Off-Season and Pre-Season training Watch