16207 at Metricon
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Not surprising there were that many Blues fan earlier in the year It's the same with Essendon.Seriously you would of thought it was a Collingwood home game tonight. Easily 10,000 Collingwood fans at the game
Biggest home crowd for the suns this year16207 at Metricon
Seriously you would of thought it was a Collingwood home game tonight. Easily 10,000 Collingwood fans at the game
Looking forward to seeing how the Tiger supporters fare tomorrow. They’re contending, so you’d hope/expect the roaring army to be there in big numbers! 45,000 if they’re fair dinkum.
Bombers got 43,000 there today being 16th on the ladder and it felt like 70,000 with how loud we were.
Yes, it was a very good turnout for the bombers considering their ladder position. The swans as we know have big support here, at a guess 10-12K swans.
I watched the game and was barracking for the bombers, they were going off, especially in that last qtr. Did Ben Rutten shed a tear in the rooms? It looked like it.
Tomorrow, we play eagle's 17th. It's been a bit tricky to gauge what the crowds will be this year. Last week I thought the pies would get mid to high 30's V GWS and they got about 30K. That said, I'm thinking about 40K, but could be slightly more or could be slightly less.
Looking forward to seeing how the Tiger supporters fare tomorrow. They’re contending, so you’d hope/expect the roaring army to be there in big numbers! 45,000 if they’re fair dinkum.
Bombers got 43,000 there today being 16th on the ladder and it felt like 70,000 with how loud we were.
There’s no reason why they wouldn’t. Their crowds in the late 1990’s were comparable and this was in an era of lower membership, no 3 game tickets etc. I’ve always believed a performing Essendon will draw crowds every bit as strong as any club in Victoria.
Since 1997 the Swans away average just short of 32K. The Eagles just short of 29K so in essence all things being equal the Swans will outdraw the Eagles by about 3K.
But Richmond are competing for a finals place and Essendon are third last. See how it goes today, but I’m expecting 35,000.The only difference this year GT is that the swans are contending and will bring 10K+ of their own fans, the eagles are 17th and won't bring heaps maybe a few thousand.
Don’t know about that many. The Suns got 10,597 to its last home game against the Crows. Let’s assume 8,500 of them Suns fans. Last night heavily promoted with star power pre match concert theoretically would’ve dragged in an even better Suns roll up. I’d say there would’ve been between 9-10,000 Suns fans there last night. Best case, the Pies probably had almost half of last nights crowd (8,000). Thsts obviously terrific but also timely to recognise last night logically would’ve been as healthy a Suns turnout for several years given their very recent elevation to relevance the last 3-4 weeks. Overall I though the crowd was a little dissapiubting given the talk of sellouts and huge pre game billing. Still a good crowd though.Seriously you would of thought it was a Collingwood home game tonight. Easily 10,000 Collingwood fans at the game
And still the Crows fans give their team the arse! 20,000 down on capacity.Adelaide vs Melbourne = 30,702
Geelong vs North Melbourne = 18,091
Gold Coast vs Collingwood = 16,027
If the weather stays fine you would expect over 40,000.But Richmond are competing for a finals place and Essendon are third last. See how it goes today, but I’m expecting 35,000.
In part, yes. However there’s a sizeable portion of Essendon (and Carlton, Tigers, Pies) supporters who don’t like Marvel. It’s difficult to access, expensive, difficult to sit with friends and it’s dark and unfriendly.Surely that would be attributable mostly, of not all by MCC members and the far larger AFL members reserve?
Does anybody know why the AFL are continually changing the start times on Sunday’s? This Richmond v West Coast match should be at 1:10pm, not 2:10pm.
Agree. The Eagles still draw well in Victoria. They usually bring between 5-7,000 to MCG games. The Tigers are going reasonably well and should have more fans turning up compared to the Bombers. I was thinking a crowd of around 40-43,000. A few more Tigers fans (form lines) and a ~5,000 less opposition fans.Yes, it was a very good turnout for the bombers considering their ladder position. The swans as we know have big support here, at a guess 10-12K swans.
I watched the game and was barracking for the bombers, they were going off, especially in that last qtr. Did Ben Rutten shed a tear in the rooms? It looked like it.
Tomorrow, we play eagle's 17th. It's been a bit tricky to gauge what the crowds will be this year. Last week I thought the pies would get mid to high 30's V GWS and they got about 30K. That said, I'm thinking about 40K, but could be slightly more or could be slightly less.
9 | SEVEN’S AFL: SATURDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL | Seven Network | 291,000 | 12,000 | 174,000 | 21,000 | 39,000 | 45,000 |
RUGBY: 2022 WALLABIES V ENGLAND 1ST -MATCH | Nine Network | 412,000 | 189,000 | 41,000 | 94,000 | 21,000 | 67,000 |
4 | LIVE: AFL ADELAIDE V MELBOURNE | FOX FOOTY | 199,000 |
7 | LIVE: AFL GOLD COAST V COLLINGWOOD | FOX FOOTY | 180,000 |
8 | LIVE: AFL ESSENDON V SYDNEY | FOX FOOTY | 176,000 |
you missed the really bad one.
9 SEVEN’S AFL: SATURDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL Seven Network 291,000 12,000 174,000 21,000 39,000 45,000
The 39,000 in Adelaide is pretty poor!
The AFL well beaten by the RU Test.
RUGBY: 2022 WALLABIES V ENGLAND 1ST -MATCH Nine Network 412,000 189,000 41,000 94,000 21,000 67,000
Fox figures
4 LIVE: AFL ADELAIDE V MELBOURNE FOX FOOTY 199,000
7 LIVE: AFL GOLD COAST V COLLINGWOOD FOX FOOTY 180,000
8 LIVE: AFL ESSENDON V SYDNEY FOX FOOTY 176,000
Spot on. Channel 7 have a double header in Perth, 12pm Richmond v West Coast followed by 3pm Fremantle v Port.I presume it's so the TV broadcast doesn't start too early in Perth