Opinion 2022 Player X vs Y vs Z

Don’t feel the love for Weller personally.
Love Brayshaw though and wondering if he can step in up another notch this season.
Would have to go Cripps and Heeney provided Heeney is definitely playing mid and Crippa back to looking like his old self.
What’s not to love? 26 touches and taking majority of the kick ins.

Never heard of him.

IMO he (Weller) is someone you would watch to bring in once he has started to show us things are truly different this year. I don’t see him hurting any teams who don’t start him.
And thats fair enough but the role is there and the evidence from last year shows that players moving to half back can have a massive spike in points. His past scores are irrelevant as they were all in a different role. Just like Ziebell's past premium scores as a midfielder were irrelevant to how he would perform as a gull. I'm not entirely sure on what happened to Bowes last season but you can even see proof of a Gold Coast defender excelling in the same role, despite it only being a small sample size.

Add in the fact that the ball should be down there a lot, assuming he takes most of the kick ins, it's hard to see him not average 95+ which would be a win for a forward regardless. I'm fairly confident other Weller owners are hoping that the rest of the comp have the same though process as you.

And thats fair enough but the role is there and the evidence from last year shows that players moving to half back can have a massive spike in points. His past scores are irrelevant as they were all in a different role. Just like Ziebell's past premium scores as a midfielder were irrelevant to how he would perform as a gull. I'm not entirely sure on what happened to Bowes last season but you can even see proof of a Gold Coast defender excelling in the same role, despite it only being a small sample size.
Add in the fact that the ball should be down there a lot, assuming he takes most of the kick ins, it's hard to see him not average 95+ which would be a win for a forward regardless. I'm fairly confident other Weller owners are hoping that the rest of the comp have the same though process as you.
Yes a move to half back CAN cause a spike in SC scoring . Key work been CAN. It’s not a given and we are assuming he also takes most of the kick outs. What if this is not the case?

Say you don’t start with Weller and he starts off well how much do you think he is honestly going to hurt the teams who don’t start him?
For those who don’t start him, he is easy enough to pick up early in the season if he does go bang.
You could start Heeney at just 50k more with his apparent role change to more mid time which to me seems like a much better option as well as Zac butters. If either 2 of these options didn’t pan out the way you were hoping and Weller was going off early in the season it’s an easy trade and pocket the remaining cash.

All I’m basically trying to say is I just can’t see Weller hurting any teams that don’t have him. He will always be able to be picked up a reasonable price early once he proves himself which he has never done.
Wouldn’t you rather wait and see? It’s not like he is 600k and will be hard to bring in early.

Someone could correct me if i'm wrong, but its not a new role for Weller right? I could have sworn he played half back a couple of years ago and it didn't seem to benefit his scoring that much. Probably didn't have kick outs then, but who knows if they alone could propel him to keeper territory.

Yes a move to half back CAN cause a spike in SC scoring . Key work been CAN. It’s not a given and we are assuming he also takes most of the kick outs. What if this is not the case?

Say you don’t start with Weller and he starts off well how much do you think he is honestly going to hurt the teams who don’t start him?
For those who don’t start him, he is easy enough to pick up early in the season if he does go bang.
You could start Heeney at just 50k more with his apparent role change to more mid time which to me seems like a much better option as well as Zac butters. If either 2 of these options didn’t pan out the way you were hoping and Weller was going off early in the season it’s an easy trade and pocket the remaining cash.

All I’m basically trying to say is I just can’t see Weller hurting any teams that don’t have him. He will always be able to be picked up a reasonable price early once he proves himself which he has never done.
Wouldn’t you rather wait and see? It’s not like he is 600k and will be hard to bring in early.
Eh I think it goes both ways. I think there’s a scenario where he CAN get out of reach.

Someone could correct me if i'm wrong, but its not a new role for Weller right? I could have sworn he played half back a couple of years ago and it didn't seem to benefit his scoring that much. Probably didn't have kick outs then, but who knows if they alone could propel him to keeper territory.
Kick outs were never a stat until the last few seasons. It’s the reason most defenders went up in scoring.

I thought it always had been but they don’t need to kick it to themself first anymore, and the man on the mark has been moved right back as well. Either way it’s not really fair in regards to SC scoring compared to other parts of the ground.

The OG gull in Lloyd has been gaining that free stat for years. Watching him kick it to himself then pass it 8m to a team mate is one of the Biggest me me me moments you‘ll see on a footy field.

I thought it always had been but they don’t need to kick it to themself first anymore, and the man on the mark has been moved right back as well. Either way it’s not really fair in regards to SC scoring compared to other parts of the ground.

The OG gull in Lloyd has been gaining that free stat for years. Watching him kick it to himself then pass it 8m to a team mate is one of the Biggest me me me moments you‘ll see on a footy field.
I love how hard he runs to get cheap hand ball receives then just gives it back to the same player. He never runs that hard to make a tackle. It's that kind of desperation for a stat that makes him a SC gun.

Wish he wouldn't run out of the square then hand ball though, losing points there.

Yeah you’re right, my bad. It definitely increased how often players played on though, which has been huge for the scoring of defenders. I personally don’t buy that Ridley played lock down bs, I’m convinced his scoring suffered when Redman and Heppel started taking more of the kick ins.

Yeah if you single out any player that will hog their teams kick ins regularly they have to be looked at.

What is it a free 15 odd points per game on average? Maybe more, not sure.

Was mentioned on the Suns board that Weller was kicking it 30m then running to receive back again (which will help the Suns more than bombing long constantly). From kick in's.

That's the sort of high-level gulling we're hoping for.

Don't worry if others don't want him, they can pay $500k+ for him at round 6/7 if they like.

Yeah if you single out any player that will hog their teams kick ins regularly they have to be looked at.

What is it a free 15 odd points per game on average? Maybe more, not sure.
Especially in the lower teams, which are going to concede more so there are more kick-in's.

Was mentioned on the Suns board that Weller was kicking it 30m then running to receive back again (which will help the Suns more than bombing long constantly). From kick in's.

That's the sort of high-level gulling we're hoping for.

Don't worry if others don't want him, they can pay $500k+ for him at round 6/7 if they like.
I only watched the first quarter but there were at least two occasions where he wasn’t the closest person to the kick in ran from 20+ metres away to take it. I loved it

Sicily with his intercepting or Hewett with his new midfield role?
Had both but need to flog off one of them in order to pay overs for these bullshit wookies.

Sicily easily - Hewett a career high avg of 88 PASS

1D4F717E-80C2-4F66-88AF-122CB11C0EA9.gif