Training 2022 Pre Season

Hey mate. I had a look down there today too.
Steel was on the field and doing plenty while I was watching.
Roughead took the best mark I saw all game and slotted the goal. King didn't get near it.
When I saw Gresh towards the end he was sitting on the oval with a beg of ice on his right knee and a bag of ice on his lefy hammy. Great.
Agree re. marshall and Higgins. Coff and Clarke looked great. Thought big Heath looked promising. Took a nice mark and kicked the goal. Howard looked in good nick. Jones was everywhere and Long was ivolved in plently.
Lots of players I didn't recognise. One of the new kids, must have been Windhager or whatever he's called, was really involved and is a great size. Looks a likely draft win.
I thought the skills looked pretty good on the whole but yeah Seb did some shocking stuff.
Joyce does some things that make you think he could be the answer to our missing fb but then he does something to remind you that the footy is a foreign thing for him. Bytel has lost a heap of weight and looks really fit. Hannas played and looked good.

Cheers. Don't know how I missed Steele. I think the Roughie mark was at the other end of field from me. Was it a bit of a climb from behind?

Yep. like the look of Windhager. Let me know when you are down there.

Cheers. Don't know how I missed Steele. I think the Roughie mark was at the other end of field from me. Was it a bit of a climb from behind?

Yep. like the look of Windhager. Let me know when you are down there.
The mark was at the Clubhouse end and yes, nice grab from behind.

Will do.

Training today was focused on match drills. Three colors - black, yellow, pink - rotating on and off the field. Drills were competitive and under pressure. Billings and Gresham mainly did leg work around the boundary. I did not see either of them do any competitive drills. Same for NWM. Someone in another thread said they thought NWM would play early this year - I am not so sure. He is VERY slight.

Standouts were again Higgins and Coffield. I'm thinking Higgins could have a serious breakout this year, maybe 40 goals. He is just so crisp with his touches and seems to me to be presenting in better places than I have seen before.

Sinclair had a great session today and has been pretty solid in all the sessions I have seen. Is he in the leadership group? Seems to be a natural.

Marshall had his best session. I thought last week he was struggling to find the pace of the sims and get involved. Was in everything today including bringing down some big marks.

Steele may have had a day off? I didn't see him out there but could have just missed him.

Seb Ross you will be pleased to know can kick just as poorly at training as in real time. Missed a couple of targets badly. Overall I would not have described our kicking game as precise. They also seemed to head deep into the pockets in attack. Not sure if that was just accidental, game plan or just to make the drill more involved.

Higgins' junior highlights were incredible. He has elite potential for sure.

Roughead took the best mark I saw all game and slotted the goal. King didn't get near it.
When I saw Gresh towards the end he was sitting on the oval with a beg of ice on his right knee and a bag of ice on his lefy hammy. Great.
Agree re. marshall and Higgins. Coff and Clarke looked great. Thought big Heath looked promising. Took a nice mark and kicked the goal. Howard looked in good nick. Jones was everywhere and Long was ivolved in plently.
Lots of players I didn't recognise. One of the new kids, must have been Windhager or whatever he's called, was really involved and is a great size. Looks a likely draft win.
I thought the skills looked pretty good on the whole but yeah Seb did some shocking stuff.
Joyce does some things that make you think he could be the answer to our missing fb but then he does something to remind you that the footy is a foreign thing for him. Bytel has lost a heap of weight and looks really fit. Hannas played and looked good.
Covid replacement players has been discussed in preseason. A pool of ex players or VFL players who might suit up for a match or two. Imagine Roughy coming back for a couple games with us. Send the terminator to work against Petracca and Bont

Did you think Hannas was number 10
in the black team? If so that actually was Paton - cap on backwards.
Agree, Bytel has trimmed down.

Didn't see the number, just thought it was him.
But if you're telling me he wasn't there then fair enough. I do need new glasses!
I was just passing through to walk the dog and noticed #10 in black and thought it was hanners then realised it wasn’t him but Paton when he came near the goals.

On Saintsational they are saying that the Swans have listed Paddy McCartin as a rookie. Its going to be a kick in the balls if he becomes the key back we are still chasing.

I'm glad we wont have to go into a game worrying whether he will get knocked out or knock someone else out behind play.

I am happy for the Swans to take on the future liability for the potential consequences of brain injury that Paddy may suffer down the road. I had hoped that Paddy would hang up the boots for his own good, but now the Swans (and the AFL ) will be on the hook.

From fox...

Paddy McCartin is back on an AFL list — and part two of his career will begin alongside his younger brother at the Sydney Swans.

McCartin on Monday officially joined the Swans as a rookie for the upcoming AFL season after signing during the pre-season supplemental selection period (SSP). He becomes an AFL-listed Swan following his promising form last season for Sydney’s VFL team.

After being selected with the first pick of the 2014 national draft, McCartin’s five-season stint at St Kilda was hindered by eight concussions, which restricted him to just 35 games and 34 goals.

McCartin then spent two seasons on the sidelines before being given a spot on the Swans’ VFL list for 2021. He produced a promising first two games before an off-ball punch to Geelong’s Aaron Black in his third match saw him handed a five-week ban by the VFL tribunal.

McCartin returned to play another VFL match for the Swans where he had 27 disposals and 11 marks against Footscray, before filling in for the Bombers’ reserves team in Queensland, booting 3.2 against Southport.

The 25-year-old joins his younger brother Tom — a first-choice key defender — on the club’s AFL list.

“It’s extremely exciting – it’s been a unique journey for me to get back to this point. It’s a path that not many people have taken, but my goal was to always try and get back to the elite level and to be able to do it with the Swans. To do it with Tom, in particular, is something that means a lot and is exciting,” McCartin said in a statement.

“I’ve loved training with the team and playing last year, so it’s good to get on the list. There’s a lot that we want to achieve as a group so I’m looking forward to getting stuck in with the guys this year.”

McCartin, who has spoken openly about the mental demons he has fought with over the journey, last year said a meeting with the AFL and a panel of specialists in 2019 had him preparing for life after footy.

Swans football boss Charlie Gardiner said McCartin had worked “extremely hard” over the past two years to get healthy and build a fitness base that help get him into a position to play AFL level again.

“To his credit, he has overcome several challenges and ultimately his strong VFL form last season and commitment to training over the pre-season has enabled him to earn another AFL opportunity,” Gardiner said.

“At just 25 years of age Paddy still has plenty of footy left to play, and his re-joining the senior list will provide the club with the flexibility of another tall option who can play at either end of the ground.

“We’re looking forward to seeing what Paddy can deliver this season. We know he and Tom are excited about the opportunity to continue training and playing together.” - Ben Waterworth

The tigers were adamant that they didn't want to lose him...just like GWS with Steel
I sort of feel for them, young player shouldn't be guaranteed a spot based on where he was drafted and IS inconsistent , but wants to play each week.
Do you pander to them, above other players who are also making the effort. Or do you take the hard line, and damn they lost him.

I sort of feel for them, young player shouldn't be guaranteed a spot based on where he was drafted and IS inconsistent , but wants to play each week.
Do you pander to them, above other players who are also making the effort. Or do you take the hard line, and damn they lost him.
I reckon jack will be a huge part of a flag in a Saints jumper.

From fox...

Paddy McCartin is back on an AFL list — and part two of his career will begin alongside his younger brother at the Sydney Swans.

McCartin on Monday officially joined the Swans as a rookie for the upcoming AFL season after signing during the pre-season supplemental selection period (SSP). He becomes an AFL-listed Swan following his promising form last season for Sydney’s VFL team.

After being selected with the first pick of the 2014 national draft, McCartin’s five-season stint at St Kilda was hindered by eight concussions, which restricted him to just 35 games and 34 goals.

McCartin then spent two seasons on the sidelines before being given a spot on the Swans’ VFL list for 2021. He produced a promising first two games before an off-ball punch to Geelong’s Aaron Black in his third match saw him handed a five-week ban by the VFL tribunal.

McCartin returned to play another VFL match for the Swans where he had 27 disposals and 11 marks against Footscray, before filling in for the Bombers’ reserves team in Queensland, booting 3.2 against Southport.

The 25-year-old joins his younger brother Tom — a first-choice key defender — on the club’s AFL list.

“It’s extremely exciting – it’s been a unique journey for me to get back to this point. It’s a path that not many people have taken, but my goal was to always try and get back to the elite level and to be able to do it with the Swans. To do it with Tom, in particular, is something that means a lot and is exciting,” McCartin said in a statement.

“I’ve loved training with the team and playing last year, so it’s good to get on the list. There’s a lot that we want to achieve as a group so I’m looking forward to getting stuck in with the guys this year.”

McCartin, who has spoken openly about the mental demons he has fought with over the journey, last year said a meeting with the AFL and a panel of specialists in 2019 had him preparing for life after footy.

Swans football boss Charlie Gardiner said McCartin had worked “extremely hard” over the past two years to get healthy and build a fitness base that help get him into a position to play AFL level again.

“To his credit, he has overcome several challenges and ultimately his strong VFL form last season and commitment to training over the pre-season has enabled him to earn another AFL opportunity,” Gardiner said.

“At just 25 years of age Paddy still has plenty of footy left to play, and his re-joining the senior list will provide the club with the flexibility of another tall option who can play at either end of the ground.

“We’re looking forward to seeing what Paddy can deliver this season. We know he and Tom are excited about the opportunity to continue training and playing together.” - Ben Waterworth

I can't help saying good on him.
Sydney as a Rookie, takes some of the heat off, and playing as a back is safer for him.
As a forward the old " oops i was trying to punch the ball and happened to hit the forward in the head " is absolutely rife, and the Umps have demonstrated they don't care. ( Which is stupid from a future liability point of view ).

I've always got the feeling there was more to his departure than just playing time.

The reception he got from Richmond players post game was frosty at best.

I can't help saying good on him.
Sydney as a Rookie, takes some of the heat off, and playing as a back is safer for him.
As a forward the old " oops i was trying to punch the ball and happened to hit the forward in the head " is absolutely rife, and the Umps have demonstrated they don't care. ( Which is stupid from a future liability point of view ).
Yeah good on him. We keep Paddy we probably don't have Max.
Paddy is so 2015. Do we really have to rehash this tired old topic?

Good on the Swans for putting the brothers together.
We will do the same at the end of the year.
Can’t wait to watch the Kings give the Mac Cartins a football lesson in 2023.😂
Jeepers we will be very blessed if we do get Ben - Lukosuis moving forward is a red flag to me - he was their best kick out of defence

Training 2022 Pre Season