Looks like a Game Ready polar care / compression sleeve. Hopefully just a mild sprained ankle.That’s a crazy looking boot there.
Options for Queensland lads wanting to play high level football have dried up over the last few years for sure. Southport is now the only stand alone club in tier below AFL. What's worse is they aren't exactly known for playing local talent, the side being a who's who of recently delisted AFL players from around the country. So for a Queensland lad who misses out on the drafts, its either enjoy some club footy at QAFL level or pack the bags and to play VFL, SANFL or WAFL, which isn't a guaranteed gig for a young player, unproven at senior level. The top up situation has provided a handful of lads another option which is cool.I'm not familiar with the players the Vic clubs have as top ups. Our top ups are mostly in the 20 to 22 age bracket and would be considered some/most of the best young talent in the state not on an AFL/VFL list.
Half of our top ups this year, were half of our top ups last year. Triffett, Reville, Bowes, Abberley and Arnold were all part of our VFL top ups from last year.Options for Queensland lads wanting to play high level football have dried up over the last few years for sure. Southport is now the only stand alone club in tier below AFL. What's worse is they aren't exactly known for playing local talent, the side being a who's who of recently delisted AFL players from around the country. So for a Queensland lad who misses out on the drafts, its either enjoy some club footy at QAFL level or pack the bags and to play VFL, SANFL or WAFL, which isn't a guaranteed gig for a young player, unproven at senior level. The top up situation has provided a handful of lads another option which is cool.
I'm not sure the lads we have recruited compare very favorably to a best 22 VFL player at many of the other clubs, but they should be stronger than the half a dozen, very green top ups we used last year.
So far (fingers crossed) this is Mc Fadyen's first full pre-season since he's been at the club so realistically I think ***'s & Co just want to see something from him that confirms he has potential. As for being a regular in our best 22, at the moment he is a fair way off but that doesn't mean his progress can't be fast tracked should he really show some significant form. At this stage I would say McFadyen just needs to stay un-injured and show some incremental growth as an afl footballer.The guy I am looking forward to most this year is McFadyen. Last year preseason the Fox Footy analysts were pushing this new role of the "striker". Essentially bigger body midfielders that could also play as an undersized mobile key position forward. The archetype for this role were Bontempelli, De Goey, Dusty, Cripps, Fyfe etc. The idea being these guys would play at midfield stoppages and then slip out the front causing a mismatch in the forward line as either a smaller mid or tall back would have to go on them. They could then use size or agility to take advantage of the mismatch or use it to create more space and less contest for the true kpf. The role would also cause miscommunication errors when the midfielder and back would have to handover the assignment.
Raynor was built for this role. However, McFadyen has the exact same attributes. He is tall and rangy but also big in the shoulders and hips. He can go aerial or contest at ground level. He always looked a level above at NEAFL level before his ACL. If he can pair with Cam then that means we can keep the height in our forward line whilst rotating Omac through the bench. Oscar plays so much better when he is not fatigued. Instead of playing another ruck for rotation, we could go with Joe in the ruck with Cam, McFadyen and McStay as the talls for 5 minute spells.
Has surgery on his nose Monday. Out of action for a couple of weeks.Probably missed out on match sim last week due to recovery from his broken nose surgery a week or two ago in training.
Thats Linc all day every day....one of the hardest tacklers we have with excellent disposal when the ball is with him.I had high hopes for McFadyen last year but was pretty disappointed. I would be very happy to see him make a big jump this year. I would like a solid medium, goal kicking, marking forward who could give us quality time in the midfield.
He would be an absolute beast as a injury sub. Would come on with so much energy.
Mathieson really baffles me as a sub as all he can really do is inside mid. Possibly the worst tactical sub you could get.
Mitch has wing as his preferred role, but could easily play some inside mid, defensive forward.
And he'd be the sort of person not to sook about it.
Obviously you can't have a permanent sub but if he is not best 22 he should be sub as much as possible. Great player to come on in a big final.
The AFL will have a contingency plan to bring in “top-up” players from the state leagues to ensure clubs can field teams in the event of excessive COVID cases.
The AFL will be encouraging clubs to consider top-up options – such as from their VFL or WAFL and SANFL teams – in preparation for a COVID outbreak that would otherwise mean they wouldn’t have the numbers to field a team.
I've always thought Lester is a great option as well. Can cover a lot of roles in the teamYeah, Mitch would be a fantastic sub. Great energy, versatile enough to play on any line. The other one I like there is Tom Berry, who would bring that pressure as well. Ah Chee's versatility make him a decent option also, but I want him in the starting lineup. I reckon he's got plenty of improvement in him yet.
I agree, but it is also why both Robbo and AhChee are good options as well.I've always thought Lester is a great option as well. Can cover a lot of roles in the team
I'm guessing that's what Rayner and Cockatoo are in the team for.
We've had the opportunity to draft one in the previous two drafts, but went in other directions.
Didn’t he only just come back and play his first game after his ACL last year.I had actually hoped he would develop into a big bodied mid who could rest forward but the first step would be a forward who could go into the midfield. You are right that the latter is per Rayner and Cockatoo and with those two out for large parts of last year I had hoped that McFadyen would step up.
Fages will be hurting after this.
Well, that's interesting! William plays in the NBL so it makes sense it was Darryl Jnr. IIRC, Darryl is shorter.One of DJ's lads was having a run this morning, believe it was Darryl Jr.
Maybe not because of Friday nights intraclub at Morningside I believe.
If anyone can confirm?
About time !One of DJ's lads was having a run this morning, believe it was Darryl Jr.
Training with the squad?One of DJ's lads was having a run this morning, believe it was Darryl Jr.
Both William and Darryl play basketball. William for NZ Breakers and Darryl is playing with the Redland team in the QBL (or NBL One North as it's called now)Is he the basketball player?