Preview 2022 Rd 4 Carlton vs Gold Coast Sunday 10th April 4.10PM @ Metricon Stadium

Who will win?

Fitness has long been his concern, it appears as though now we're utilising him in a way that best suits him and generates the most impact.

~30 disposals a game is a good return for someone who plays 85% gametime so if he's managing it at about 70% I've no problem with it.

Yep. We are using Kennedy superbly. Maximum impact.

We also have the depth of quality to allow us to minimise his minutes. Our mids are complimenting each other as much as possible. We pack more power than any other midfield but our weakness is the quick running power on rebound of the oppo. Footscray and Hawthorn are 2 of the best at that, and got hold of us when the game was on their terms. But we beat them both.

We'll stick with our strengths, as our strengths are now the best types of strength, and do our best in areas we are not crash hot at. We can even add to our strength more by adding Dow to our power mids if we choose. Imo, teams will be hard pressed beating our ball winning, field position winning midfield for long enough to beat us most weeks.

Win the contest with freshish mids, and get it into our Keys. Then do our very best with the other areas through method and discipline etc.

We've got a REAL team. And a REAL squad. And a REAL mob instituting a winning method.

The days of midfielders only running towards goal are over as we saw with Melbourne last year their transformation was all about the likes of Oliver and Petracca working harder to get back and help their defenders. A large part of the reason we are better this year is because our midfielders are running harder both ways than they have in the past. I’d imagine one of the main reasons Dow is out of the team is because he hasn’t been able to show he can run defensively enough. If/when he gets his chance he will need to show he’s improved that part of his game otherwise he’ll be back in the 2’s pretty quickly.

Watch from 1:35:00

Game on the line - 1 soft effort, 1 tackle, a non-attempt to go up for a mark, outmarked by a mid, out bodied in centre clearance leading to goal, sure I picked a few bad minutes but that’s when I tuned into the game and then left feeling deflated

I recognise he did a lot of good things during the match as well

I like what Dow brings as an inside mid who can explode from the pack and he also has the ability in the twos to get a few kicks

But …..

If you are an inside mid in the AFL we need you to compete unconditional, I think he will struggle to force current players out, sure the current players need to work on their disposal efficiency but Dow wasn’t getting 25-30 touches at 80%DE either when he played consistently last year

I'd like to see Walsh pushed out to the wing to play in the wide open spaces, while giving Dow a chance on the inside as the forward facing mid ready to burst out with the other 3 circling/tackling. Walsh looked a bit stressed in the bustle yesterday and I think he would get a lot out of a week with more uncontested ball. He can then float in and out of the packs as he chooses, have 30+ possies and maybe kick a couple of snags.

Give LOB or Setters a break for a week. Just to give it a go.

If Saad is right to come in, then an obvious replacement for Boyd.

We need Martin in the team. We missed his class in the forward half yesterday.
We could take TDK out and change the structure (assuming Pitto is right to go), or otherwise one of Fisher or Owies.
Martin for TDK - yes please
Will be slippery up there.

You could be the first poster i have blocked on this site..so that's a fair effort

He's been on my radar for a while for having strange in/outs pretty much every week :drunk:

DJ has a "special" way of looking at things. Truly unique.

Just remember - block him and you'll miss out on his encyclopedic insights and knowledge.

You'll be doing yourself an enormous disservice.

After last week getting abused for comparing Newman to Williams and wondering why one gets abused weekly... I did find it funny that Williams fumbled and second grabbed a heap of ball on the weekend.

Abused? Not sure about that.

Certainly questioned though when you brought his salary into the conversation as though it had any relevance at all.

I'd like to see Walsh pushed out to the wing to play in the wide open spaces, while giving Dow a chance on the inside as the forward facing mid ready to burst out with the other 3 circling/tackling. Walsh looked a bit stressed in the bustle yesterday and I think he would get a lot out of a week with more uncontested ball. He can then float in and out of the packs as he chooses, have 30+ possies and maybe kick a couple of snags.

Yeah Gnar

But this is completely irrelevant - if Kennedy spent more time on ground - let’s say 85% - his disposal count would probably be lower that it is now because he wouldn’t have the stamina to go at it 100% of the time. I think it’s because he is being managed on the bench that allows him to attack each contest as if it’s his last and is what is making Kennedy 2022 spectacular. So while it’s nice to point out that Kennedy is doing more with less - it’s also intentional.

An interesting hypothesis - unproven at this point of the season.

And one I don't support.

If Saad is right to come in, then an obvious replacement for Boyd.

We need Martin in the team. We missed his class in the forward half yesterday.
We could take TDK out and change the structure (assuming Pitto is right to go), or otherwise one of Fisher or Owies.

It was folly not playing Martin.

Though Voss might be trying to send Jack a message....one quarter isn't enough!

He'd be stiff. Fisher had a shocker yesterday, but I'm not sure that's enough to drop him. I'd be inclined to leave out a ruck.
But whichever way we go, Martin should be in the team. We really missed his class.

Motlop with 4 in the VFL as well, knocking on the door.

None of the smalls in the seniors are playing bad per se, but strong VFL form eventually needs to be rewarded.

Potentially, but I don't think it's going to be an automatic swap in like some people think.

Stock is going to have to earn it. I don't really think Newman has put a foot wrong this year....by my recollection he's played 3 solid games.

No small forwards have kicked a bag on us and his kicking has been fine.
Closest to like for like.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

I suggest you watch the game with your eyes open.

Or maybe you could answer the question?
You didn't bother to address it last week either, that Williams had 9 score involvements (equal 2nd) to Newman's 3.
I would think that's a pretty significant difference, eyes open or closed?

I don't think LOB or Setters want or need a break after 3 rounds, and especially not so we can bring Dow in off the back of a few good offensive performances "just to give it a go".

LOB and Setters are playing niche, team-oriented roles. I don't think Walsh does any more than either of them in those roles, so it's essentially a trade-off of Walsh's incredible midfield workrate which sees him involved in offensive and defensive play, for Dow's pure stoppage impact.

Given we're already scoring heavily from centre bounces, and getting challenged on opposition rebound, it feels a bit greedy and probably counter-intuitive to double down on the stoppage dominance at the cost of defensive workrate.

Leave Dow in the ressies. Challenge him to steadily improve his defensive impact without compromising his offensive impact. He doesn't need to reach Walsh levels, but any improvement is good for him and good for the team when he eventually cracks the seniors.

Motlop with 4 in the VFL as well, knocking on the door.

None of the smalls in the seniors are playing bad per se, but strong VFL form eventually needs to be rewarded.

I liked how Motlop moved up the ground and found a bit of footy against Box Hill, which is something Durdin and Owies are very good at.

It is important for the smalls to push up and provide options on the lead, particularly when we slow the tempo.

Have no doubt Motlop has it around goal, if he can continue to prove he is capable of finding 12-15 touches and impacting in other ways I have no doubt he’ll be in soon.

I liked how Motlop moved up the ground and found a bit of footy against Box Hill, which is something Durdin and Owies are very good at.

It is important for the smalls to push up and provide options on the lead, particularly when we slow the tempo.

Have no doubt Motlop has it around goal, if he can continue to prove he is capable of finding 12-15 touches and impacting in other ways I have no doubt he’ll be in soon.
He had 19 touches.

I don't think LOB or Setters want or need a break after 3 rounds, and especially not so we can bring Dow in off the back of a few good offensive performances "just to give it a go".

LOB and Setters are playing niche, team-oriented roles. I don't think Walsh does any more than either of them in those roles, so it's essentially a trade-off of Walsh's incredible midfield workrate which sees him involved in offensive and defensive play, for Dow's pure stoppage impact.

Given we're already scoring heavily from centre bounces, and getting challenged on opposition rebound, it feels a bit greedy and probably counter-intuitive to double down on the stoppage dominance at the cost of defensive workrate.

Leave Dow in the ressies. Challenge him to steadily improve his defensive impact without compromising his offensive impact. He doesn't need to reach Walsh levels, but any improvement is good for him and good for the team when he eventually cracks the seniors.

I've noticed that our wingers are the one's sprinting back first and tucking in behind the play as soon as the opposition gets moving forward. They are playing like soccer wing-backs. They get back into D50 way before the mids do, and offer defensive pressure much sooner, and a wide outlet if we win the ball in defence from the entry. Walsh is a machine, and would own his side of the field offensively and defensively. He's played plenty on the wing, and imo gets the ball facing forward more often in that position especially once we win a clearance and the ball comes out laterally, which gives him the opportunity to score or at least take time to find a target I50 (which we lacked for 3 quarters yesterday).

The point is why not be greedy and more strategic while we have all of our mids fit and a good bolter from VFL? Dow is a limited player who does well in packs and can break forward when there's a gap. Walsh is unlimited in talent and athleticism, so why not play him in a position that offers more creative freedom where he can choose when he tucks into play contested, or when to spread off the pack and play in space. He's a smart player so chooses correctly more often than not, and could find the valuable time and space that we seemed unable to find when they game was against us.

We have shown almost no weaknesses in clearances and contested footy so far, but we have in quality distribution forward after winning a contest. More space, more time, better distribution on the outside of packs and hopefully more than 19 scores from 67 entries. Walsh is by far the best ball user to play that role.

An interesting hypothesis - unproven at this point of the season.

And one I don't support.
Not sure either.
I reckon Kennedy simply gets less minutes because he's swapping off with Cripps Walsh Hewett who all get priority for minutes. Cerra didn't get a lot of time either, probably more likely due to being underdone.
To get Kennedy more time means one of the others taking a wing, or getting less minutes themselves.

I've noticed that our wingers are the one's sprinting back first and tucking in behind the play as soon as the opposition gets moving forward. They are playing like soccer wing-backs. They get back into D50 way before the mids do, and offer defensive pressure much sooner, and a wide outlet if we win the ball in defence from the entry. Walsh is a machine, and would own his side of the field offensively and defensively. He's played plenty on the wing, and imo gets the ball facing forward more often in that position especially once we win a clearance and the ball comes out laterally, which gives him the opportunity to score or at least take time to find a target I50 (which we lacked for 3 quarters yesterday).

The point is why not be greedy and more strategic while we have all of our mids fit and a good bolter from VFL? Dow is a limited player who does well in packs and can break forward when there's a gap. Walsh is unlimited in talent and athleticism, so why not play him in a position that offers more creative freedom where he can choose when he tucks into play contested, or when to spread off the pack and play in space. He's a smart player so chooses correctly more often than not, and could find the valuable time and space that we seemed unable to find when they game was against us.

We have shown almost no weaknesses in clearances and contested footy so far, but we have in quality distribution forward after winning a contest. More space, more time, better distribution on the outside of packs and hopefully more than 19 scores from 67 entries. Walsh is by far the best ball user to play that role.

But Walsh is already doing that, per your own comments. So ditching LOB, pushing Walsh to that wing, and bringing in Dow results in one less mid getting back to support the defence.

The 19 scores from 67 entries wasn't down to the lack of another clearance mid. Our forward 50 efficiency dropped from 50% in the first two rounds to 30% this week, because we lost the ability to break the lines coming out of the defensive 50, not the ability to clear the ball from stoppages.