Position 2022 Rookies

nothing from Port yet. Kenny usually announces debutants early - are we waiting on a presser?

not holding much hope for Sinn or Mead
I reckon Mead and McEntee are no chance.
Sinn the only chance, but I think they're pretty settled.

from the praccy match:
McKenzie in for Clurey
Motlop in for McEntee

and Robbie Gray is playing

Each of them are there due to injured senior players - St K have a number of medium term wing types unavailable due to injury or mental health, WC woes well known, Adelaide have Dawson, Milera and Hinge, although all likely to play, all vulnerable, apart from Seedsman's ongoing concussion battles, Tom Lynch retiring and Pedlar having a hammy issue. Soligo has played senior footy in the SANFL.

So, the answer to your question is a pineapple. JS comes down to performance with the given opportunity. 1 or 2 might stick, none might. They do all have solid grounding in the roles they are playing though, so none of them are spare parts.
Soligo is from Victoria.

He has played no SANFL footy.

Nick Martin can't be playing. They called mum and announced it to the group for Baldwin. They can't not do that for Martin.
Back to the drawing board...

Is Dixon confirmed at least?

Soligo is from Victoria.

He has played no SANFL footy.
Yeah, sorry, not sure where I got that lodged in my brain from. He has at least played some VFL footy with Richmond apparently, but that isn't what I thought I knew either.

Nick Martin can't be playing. They called mum and announced it to the group for Baldwin. They can't not do that for Martin.

I think Dixon would be lucky to get a month with Darling and Allen to return having said that JK should get a spell at some stage.

Martins a mature ager so I dont think they do that :)

You want JS for 189k. No doubt about the scoring potential. Who knows... WCE need pace desperately. Now Connor West is injured too. Shuey will get injured again. Yeo always gets injured...
Could be worth it...last chance saloon will give it everything you would think!
58SC from 37% game time in AAMI

Just looked into the praccy match to confuse myself with worthless stats for the Owens vs Soligo argument...

Owens (came on after the Saints mids got injured):
27 AF, 39 SC, 4 kicks, 1 mark, 3 tackles, 3 CP, 3 clearances, 4 CBAs, 24% ToG

Soligo (started the game):
48 AF, 45 SC, 5 kicks, 4 handballs, 2 mark, 3 tackles, 1 goal, 6 CP, 1 clearances, 0 CBAs, 66% ToG

Owens clearly the better scorer, though it looks like he's playing midfield in the absence of HClark and ZJones. Soligo started, surely that means Laird doesn't really effect him? Didn't get any CBA's, playing outside or as a half forward (I dunno, I didn't watch)

I reckon Soligo has the better JS. So do you take the bloke who will get CBAs, will get some clearances and can score better, or do you take the slow burn? Soligo could be Sam Berry 2.0, peaked at $245k

I know it's literally a coin toss, but doing my due diligence will make me feel better when I undoubtedly have to do a correction trade in rd3 to the one I didn't take lol. At least I tried I guess

What’s the consensus on Durdin from both scoring and JS sense?

He’s in my team at the moment, along with Xerri, Rachele, Baldwin and Martin(?)

He’s only in as he has a green dot. I have no idea about him otherwise.

Just looked into the praccy match to confuse myself with worthless stats for the Owens vs Soligo argument...

48 AF, 45 SC, 5 kicks, 4 handballs, 2 mark, 3 tackles, 1 goal, 6 CP, 1 clearances, 0 CBAs, 66% ToG

Owens clearly the better scorer, though it looks like he's playing midfield in the absence of HClark and ZJones. Soligo started, surely that means Laird doesn't really effect him? Didn't get any CBA's, playing outside or as a half forward (I dunno, I didn't watch)

I reckon Soligo has the better JS. So do you take the bloke who will get CBAs, will get some clearances and can score better, or do you take the slow burn? Soligo could be Sam Berry 2.0, peaked at $245k

I know it's literally a coin toss, but doing my due diligence will make me feel better when I undoubtedly have to do a correction trade in rd3 to the one I didn't take lol. At least I tried I guess
I used to be indecisive, but now I'm just not too sure :p

My instincts was Owen, but your analysis was enough to sway me towards Soligo having a better JS.
There's no use having 80avg if you only play two games!

So JS trumps better scoring in this case - me think.
I'm sticking with Soligo, as he's already in my team now and give me a chance to have an Adelaide player in my team.
From an SC perspective - this is very important, as it force you to at least glance at the game :straining:

What’s the consensus on Durdin from both scoring and JS sense?

He’s in my team at the moment, along with Xerri, Rachele, Baldwin and Martin(?)

He’s only in as he has a green dot. I have no idea about him otherwise.
If I'm willing to spend the $$$, then Durdin is locked.
But, sadly I don't have the spare $$$

I'm touching neither.

Owens will undoubtedly score better - made from the Jack Steele mould - 191cm, marks, tackles, clearances, midfield opportunity (not heaps of CBA, but some), but I assume JS would be poor once a few of those boys get back. The flip side is our injuries are usually ongoing, and if he plays well, he might stay in.

I'm not touching Soligo whatsoever. Outside, small, not an accumulator. You have said he played with Laird, so he won't get dropped for him, but Dawson, Milera, Smith (for one game) weren't playing in some of those games either. Looking at the team sheet, I think you will find he gets dropped for Laird and Milera / Dawson will move to a wing with CBA attendances.

If I was to risk one, it would be Owens.

MacDonald, Hough are both better prospects imo.

I get we are excited with the 117k rookies being announced
But with these announcements are people being put off starting Stephens (swans) at m9?
Or still sticking fat and going McDonald and Hough at m9/10

Atm I’m comfortable with that setup. Not sure what I’d do with the extra 50k for soligo or owens anyway, if Stephens flops and 1 of those two pop off it’s an easy correctional trade in 2 rounds time after we get a look at them hey?

But with these announcements are people being put off starting Stephens (swans) at m9?

Atm I’m comfortable with that setup. Not sure what I’d do with the extra 50k for soligo or owens anyway, if Stephens flops and 1 of those two pop off it’s an easy correctional trade in 2 rounds time after we get a look at them hey?
So. Much. This.

Exactly. Structured my team with Stephens at m9 and sticking with it. Worst case we just trade him down. Rather cop a trade than potentially miss out on Stephens being a juicy cow

Who are people rolling with down back for rookies? I've got Mccartin and deK D5 D6 with hinge and odriscall on the pine. Surely I can't be paying $180 for Hinge!?

Hinge is a fine pick
If he gets injured as predicted though, It’s a free for all 😅

Sinn is my ultimate get out of jail free card in hopefully a months time when he’s locked into that port team after a few stand out games in the sanfl 👏🏼

If hinge lasts til the Daicos dpp change in round 6 we’ll all be laughing our way to an easy first upgrade

Happy to start him as both outcomes seem okay to me

Hinge is a fine pick
If he gets injured as predicted though, It’s a free for all 😅

Sinn is my ultimate get out of jail free card in hopefully a months time when he’s locked into that port team after a few stand out games in the sanfl 👏🏼

If hinge lasts til the Daicos dpp change in round 6 we’ll all be laughing our way to an easy first upgrade

Happy to start him as both outcomes seem okay to me
Can he actually play though?