Position 2022 Rookies

WTF is going on around these parts? You all COVID infected or some sh*t? What happened to this board? This is madness. You don’t spend 600k on three rookies.

Doesn’t it depend what scored you think they are going to get?

If you think they’ll average 70/80 and go up 1-200k , then surely it’s better than some that will give you the same but not add value

Absolute madness.

Have fun with your 123k rookies who are stinking up your bench Jisk, but don’t come crying when you have SFA cash gen and burn through trades just to get someone who’s playing lmao

You have to remember that the 2021 crop of rookies had two years at Under 18 level ruined due to Covid. Some of these kids have played as little as a dozen games since the end of 2019 and that’s not through injury. Only the lucky ones like JHF and Rachele among others got to play more footy. It’s a massive reason why so many aren’t ready yet and why this year different to most, is why we have so little cheap rookies available.

Have fun with your 123k rookies who are stinking up your bench Jisk, but don’t come crying when you have SFA cash gen and burn through trades just to get someone who’s playing lmao

You have to remember that the 2021 crop of rookies had two years at Under 18 level ruined due to Covid. Some of these kids have played as little as a dozen games since the end of 2019 and that’s not through injury. Only the lucky ones like JHF and Rachele among others got to play more footy. It’s a massive reason why so many aren’t ready yet and why this year different to most, is why we have so little cheap rookies available.
Even the ones who are ready wont have the tanks yet.
More weights less running through covid.

Even the ones who are ready wont have the tanks yet.
More weights less running through covid.

Absolutely. You can do all the running in the world but it doesn’t come close to representing the running patterns you would do in a game over 4 quarters. For these kids it’s more about getting into good training habits and lifting their standards before they play AFL footy.

Absolute madness.

Madness is starting players that will play 1 game this is called insurance and I still have 12 premos and 8 midpricers on ground.

Absolutely. You can do all the running in the world but it doesn’t come close to representing the running patterns you would do in a game over 4 quarters. For these kids it’s more about getting into good training habits and lifting their standards before they play AFL footy.
I think we have more sub risks this year than we realise.
Rookies who score in the third and fourth quarters will be golden.
It should make for some epic melts which is the main reason I play the game.
"OH MY GOD I CANT BELEIVE PRUESS GOT SUBBED'
Good times.

what? running was the one thing you could do.
was hard to get into a gym though.
Match practise improves running a massive amount.
Running patterns improve so your wasting less fuel.
Every young bloke with a chance to be drafted would have some sort of weights at home.
The self motivated few will have done the running. Which seems to be how it has played out.
SA and WA blokes have had a big advantage the last few years being able to get on the park.
It is usually the other way around as Nab league shits all over their U18s.
This years crop are noticeably bigger to my eye.

WTF is going on around these parts? You all COVID infected or some sh*t? What happened to this board? This is madness. You don’t spend 600k on three rookies.

b9996ff5aa516bbed92b180d80b4e355.gif

Yeah, but the bomber board also thought Hird was treated too harshly for running a doping program.

Come on man, every supporter base has crap supporters who talk outta there arse. I mean Dominic03 is still sprucing Hawthorn have the best group of under 25 players in the comp. (news flash, they're not even in the top 10 imho)

Yeah I didn’t see sook at all with Sonsie, I saw a kid told he would go here or here and completely overcome with emotion in that moment when it didn’t eventuate, fantastic moment when Tiges called his name out. Loved it.

Simon Goodwin my type of bloke too. Good talker, appears genuine and more importantly, loves footy, beer and a punt!
I met Goodwin at the GF After Party. He came across as a a massive d-head. Had a punchable smirk face TBH.

In a preseason praccy game where no-one gives a stuff. Only preseason form you can bank on is contested ball IMO.
I disagree.

He’s shown in his SANFL career that he can score while playing forward.

In his two practice games he’s scored well playing forward.

He’s also the most AFL ready of all the rookies having spent the better part of the last two years playing against men, in comparison to the Vic kids who’ve had interrupted NAB leagues to prepare.

Yes that doesn’t make him a guarantee but his form line suggests he will score at AFL level. Obviously you can bet against that but I reckon there’s more risk going against the form then there is in backing it to continue.

I don’t get the love for JHF. sh*t role and isn’t likely to score well. Surely you want 80+ from a guy worth 208k??

MacDonald I think is a cracker at his price. Would much rather field him than the two Stephens.

I‘m warming to Xerri. Surely he gains DPP as well as cover.
No guarantee MacDonald starts. I would hope he does, but he is hardly worth banking as a certainty even this close to the start.
Given we play Sunday he won't get confirmed until Friday/Saturday depending upon if Hawks marketing want to talk up the new faces earlier in the week.
Might actually be better from a SC point of view if he gets a few matches down at BH first. Comes in rd 3/4, trade him in rd 5/6. Winning.

Really not keen on paying up for a Hinge or Gibcus.
Is there any def rookies not likely to play rd1 but should get games early I can put at d8?
Don't anyone dare say Gould
NOD. Plus being a DPP and a price where you can do most rookie corrections. If you are strapped for cash Dean likely plays when his foot as recovered, so at his price point can't be ignored. Not sure what that timeline is.

I might still start JHF but it would involve having him and Ward at M8/9 which seems ridiculous.

Current mids are 4 SP Rowell Berry Daicos Ward with three 123k or less on the bench, which I’m pretty confident we will get.