Preview 2022 Round 3 Carlton vs Hawthorn Sunday April 3rd 1.10PM @ MCG - Team Post #1413

11 hitouts to advantage to 2 at half time. 11 HOtoA in a half of footy is pretty damn good. Not sure how many were Pitto and how many TDK. Just thought it was worth highlighting.

I'd like to club to ask the AFL for clarification on Pitto constantly getting called for blocks at the centre bounce. Both weeks. I saw a few the other way that I thought were the same action as his and they weren't called. Reckon most have been due to the umpire's bounce of the ball.
Great call. That’s four times Pitto has been called for the ‘block’ by umpire 22. I’m totally confused, as all seemed genuine ruck contests with both ruckman jumping at the centre line.

11 hitouts to advantage to 2 at half time. 11 HOtoA in a half of footy is pretty damn good. Not sure how many were Pitto and how many TDK. Just thought it was worth highlighting.

I'd like to club to ask the AFL for clarification on Pitto constantly getting called for blocks at the centre bounce. Both weeks. I saw a few the other way that I thought were the same action as his and they weren't called. Reckon most have been due to the umpire's bounce of the ball.
yeah, the blocking calls just seem so crazy to me. You get penalised because the other ruckman jumps into you going after a bounce that heads in your direction? Just seems such a stupid rule in the way it's being interpreted

OUT: Newman, McDonald (inj), Pittonet, Fisher/Fogarty, Plowman

IN: Williamson/Dow, Young, Cerra, Martin/Dow

I think we need more mobility, and we've got personnel options to inject that through an extra midfield number, or from either end of the ground.

Fisher vs Fogarty is a toss-up for mine, with Fogarty able to play more roles, particularly forward roles.

Dow vs Williamson is a question of which direction we want to go in with Walsh: defensive wing primarily, or moving into the stoppage looks more.

I'm even 50/50 on Martin, and keen to see if Dow can shake things up when we start to get challenged at centre bounces.
in what world do you drop fisher or pitto :joycat:

Beating Tim English to the tap is not an achievement to be crowing about. In the second half the Doggies adapted and used him as an extra mid more and more, opening their game up.

Pittonet then proceeded to fade into the background.
Pittonet isn't flashy mate but you aren't appreciating what he brings to the side and around the centre bounce.

He isn't being dropped.

People are over rating Fisher atm - If you see where the opposition finds holes it is in HFF flanks - Fisher and Fogarty got pantsed in Q3/4 neither could go with their opponents. As for Fisher making an impact in his cameo CB attendances - watch again. Owies and Durdin had to make up for lack of run in Fisher and Fogarty on numerous occasions and that took its toll on the structure. In my mind Fisher/Fogarty are about equal over 4Q. Fogarty is a neater footballer - but Fisher is a bigger tease. I'm guessing Voss will give him a very extended run because Philp/Cuningham/Honey are all unavailable like for like substitutes atm - and Kemp is probably considered to be a spare thrid tall at this stage - which si unfortunate in my books.

Midfield missed Cerra's 4 quarter run - big time. Martin's marking and defensive hardness was missed - they are both automatic ins if fit.

Pittonet is improving every week at this stage - TDK was less influential but they will be playing because they compliment each other and both are required players in my book.

I'm concerned about McDonald being out - Weitering trusts him and I think he reinjured his lower back - very early in the game judging by the repeat shanks he delivered - the first thing that goes when you do your lower back is the ability to kick. McDonald's absence really tested the defensive structure.

The good news is 10-day break and a theoretically weaker opponent - this one has to be an opportunity to post a big margin another test of how hungry the players really are - Carlton owes Hawforn quite a few years of pain.

It may well be the case that Young becomes a default IN for his height - but no doubt the Club will be looking at beefing up its KPD stocks.

Here's the thing about Durdin....he was quieter than last week, but that was mostly because the talls were clunking them and slotting goals early, and late in the game we couldn't get it forward.

There's a real penchant on BigFooty for reactionary changes. Someone has a quiet week, may as well drop them and see if someone else can do more. I'm pretty confident that's not the right approach, nor is it the one the coaches will take.

No "omitting" players after a single quiet outing, especially those in roles which are traditionally feast-or-famine.

The only issue is, someone is coming out for Martin, whether we like it or not. This is not an omission on the back of 1 measly game, sometimes you are incredibly unlucky and have to make way.

Great call. That’s four times Pitto has been called for the ‘block’ by umpire 22. I’m totally confused, as all seemed genuine ruck contests with both ruckman jumping at the centre line.
yeah, the blocking calls just seem so crazy to me. You get penalised because the other ruckman jumps into you going after a bounce that heads in your direction? Just seems such a stupid rule in the way it's being interpreted
He might be doing something wrong. This week and last week he's had multiple calls against him for the same thing, but TDK and the oppo ruck haven't got any. To my eye he seems to be competing fairly with the bounce they've given, but would be good to know in case he needs to change something before it starts hurting us on the scoreboard.
Last night, their ruck had two jumps at it in one contest and got nothing. First jump he made contact with Pitto and stopped him from jumping. Probably would have been a fair contest if he'd touched the ball, but got fresh air, then jumped again and tapped the ball.

Based on Voss' comments re. Dow, they won't be dropping a forward to fit Cerra into the side. One of LOB and Setterfield are going to be very very unlucky.

Yep,

Martin in for Fogarty.

Cerra in for O’Brien who panic’s in the heat, can’t panic in September.

Young for McDonald if necessary.

Kemp for Silvagni if necessary.

Stocker for Newman when ready.

Docherty McDonald McGovern
Williams Weitering Saad
Walsh Cripps Setterfield
Martin Curnow Durdin
Owies McKay TDK

Pittonet Hewett Cerra

Kennedy Silvagni Stocker Fisher

People are over rating Fisher atm - If you see where the opposition finds holes it is in HFF flanks - Fisher and Fogarty got pantsed in Q3/4 neither could go with their opponents. As for Fisher making an impact in his cameo CB attendances - watch again. Owies and Durdin had to make up for lack of run in Fisher and Fogarty on numerous occasions and that took its toll on the structure. In my mind Fisher/Fogarty are about equal over 4Q. Fogarty is a neater footballer - but Fisher is a bigger tease. I'm guessing Voss will give him a very extended run because Philp/Cuningham/Honey are all unavailable like for like substitutes atm - and Kemp is probably considered to be a spare thrid tall at this stage - which si unfortunate in my books.

Midfield missed Cerra's 4 quarter run - big time. Martin's marking and defensive hardness was missed - they are both automatic ins if fit.

Pittonet is improving every week at this stage - TDK was less influential but they will be playing because they compliment each other and both are required players in my book.

I'm concerned about McDonald being out - Weitering trusts him and I think he reinjured his lower back - very early in the game judging by the repeat shanks he delivered - the first thing that goes when you do your lower back is the ability to kick. McDonald's absence really tested the defensive structure.

The good news is 10-day break and a theoretically weaker opponent - this one has to be an opportunity to post a big margin another test of how hungry the players really are - Carlton owes Hawforn quite a few years of pain.

It may well be the case that Young becomes a default IN for his height - but no doubt the Club will be looking at beefing up its KPD stocks.

If Cunners ever gets fit, I think he's the best option to replace Fisher in that role. Can win the ball around the arc and slot goals on the run or hit a forward target, can push deep and crumb the packs and stoppages, can run the wings on transition and cut into the corridor very effectively, and can go into the centre and add a point of difference when needed.

That being said, as much as Fisher is still a bit ho-hum at times, like LOB I think he'll benefit from playing this role consistently for most of the year. As you said, he teases. He can do it, just needs to find ways to do it more often/more consistently. Would love to see a few more tackles, because one per game so far is disappointing for a guy whose role is going to be built on a foundation of forward pressure.

Confucius say: revenge is a dish best served with a 10-goal drubbing.

Pretty sure.

Yes,
Hawthorn, more than any other club have treated Carlton with utter contempt over the years.
Been waiting for this one and i hope the club go in with a ferocious mindset and desire to inflict maximum damage on the hawks !!

Pitto needs to play, super competitive and strong body allows TDK to jump all over the oppo rucks when it is his time.
TDK at this point in time can not do it on his own.
I would be surprised if Pitto was not top 5 in our B&F right now.

The only issue is, someone is coming out for Martin, whether we like it or not. This is not an omission on the back of 1 measly game, sometimes you are incredibly unlucky and have to make way.

But why? Martin bobbed up for a late (and admittedly important) goal against the Tigers last week, but outside of that I'm not sure he did anything to justify being an automatic in to replace someone who is playing well. Durdin and Martin are very different players, and are complementary not comparable. Makes no sense to drop our best young small forward in years, who is clearly entrenched in the 22, just because the KPF's marked everything and starved him of crumbs - to make room for a medium forward who plays tall and goes missing for long patches.

If Martin doesn't replace Fogarty or Fisher, with someone from the midfield making way for Cerra, then I don't see where Martin fits.

He might be doing something wrong. This week and last week he's had multiple calls against him for the same thing, but TDK and the oppo ruck haven't got any. To my eye he seems to be competing fairly with the bounce they've given, but would be good to know in case he needs to change something before it starts hurting us on the scoreboard.
Last night, their ruck had two jumps at it in one contest and got nothing. First jump he made contact with Pitto and stopped him from jumping. Probably would have been a fair contest if he'd touched the ball, but got fresh air, then jumped again and tapped the ball.
I’m sure someone from club will be contactive AFL to get clarity
Then it simply gets passed into pitto for improvement so he knows how to slightly modify
Other than that he going great

Gov may not be playing this week. Sensing after the Rioli case McGovern is gonna get looked at for the bump. LOB as well they may choose to make an example of him with the throwing the head back thing. Dont agree but after the criticism the AFL copped last week they will want to look tough.

Any idea when the MRO releases findings for yesterdays match?

Gov may not be playing this week. Sensing after the Rioli case McGovern is gonna get looked at for the bump. LOB as well they may choose to make an example of him with the throwing the head back thing. Dont agree but after the criticism the AFL copped last week they will want to look tough.

Any idea when the MRO releases findings for yesterdays match?
But then Selwood would suffer a little too?
In any spirt
You win some you lose some
All good

Plenty of calls on SEN this morning noting "plenty out there enjoyed kicking us when we were down, and we're not going to miss them on our way back up"

The Hawks and their arrogant supporters describe that dynamic as good as any.

They revelled in destroying us consistently in many dark years. And in the instances we would get a sniff, they would do something like break our captain's collarbone on field and display absolutely zero remorse in doing so. campaigners like Jordan Lewis would even continue with this approach in their years spend beyond their time at Hawthorn. Matters we were also generally never provided suitable justice for at Match Review Panel, with an AFL that was all too happy to look after their good blokes. Ofcourse all matters that were sanctioned by that little angry garden gnome of a coach who we have history with as well.

Triple teaming Fev with all sorts of dirty tactics to stop him getting 100 too.

Now the tables have turned, and it is time to return the favour to these campaigners. I want a 10 goal win, and I want to see their kids hurting from well pointed knees and crunching tackles.

And I am going to absolutely revel in seeing it from the outer the way they were all too happy doing the same to us over many years.

**** Hawthorn

But then Selwood would suffer a little too?
In any spirt
You win some you lose some
All good
Yeh of course Its not like Obrien is the only one that has done it. Hopefully its just a fine if anything. But players do it every week. Its just SEN picked on Obrien so it will get attention. Do findings get released today for a Thurs game?

I don't think that's a given. Martin's pre-season form was very average, and against the Tigs was poor for 3 quarters. Had an excellent last quarter. But does that guarantee a game coming back from Covid over the likes of Durdin & Owies? Martin as sub for me.

22 is Nathan Williamson - usually does WA games. Consistently terrible - would be in the bottom 4 or 5 umps in the comp. We always seem to cop it from him - though usually it's against a WA team.

Plenty of calls on SEN this morning noting "plenty out there enjoyed kicking us when we were down, and we're not going to miss them on our way back up"

The Hawks and their arrogant supporters describe that dynamic as good as any.

They revelled in destroying us consistently in many dark years. And in the instances we would get a sniff, they would do something like break our captain's collarbone on field and display absolutely zero remorse in doing so. campaigners like Jordan Lewis would even continue with this approach in their years spend beyond their time at Hawthorn. Matters we were also generally never provided suitable justice for at Match Review Panel, with an AFL that was all too happy to look after their good blokes. Ofcourse all matters that were sanctioned by that little angry garden gnome of a coach who we have history with as well.

Triple teaming Fev with all sorts of dirty tactics to stop him getting 100 too.

Now the tables have turned, and it is time to return the favour to these campaigners. I want a 10 goal win, and I want to see their kids hurting from well pointed knees and crunching tackles.

And I am going to absolutely revel in seeing it from the outer the way they were all too happy doing the same to us over many years.

fu** Hawthorn
A pox on Pox Hill.