2023/2024 Gold Coast Draft & Trade periods

Doing nothing this morning, so here is Barrett today

IF ...​

Jason Johannisen would be a nice pick-up ...

THEN ...​

he's not going to be a season-shaping one. Surely there is another target in mind.
He's right, JJ is injury prone, I'd take him if he's cheap but surely we have another possible target.

I doubt. We are after short-term temporary solution for HB injuries. That's it most probably for us. Unless due to some magic top gun is interested in joining us.

With all this talk of bringing in high priced recuits i think the onus is on Dew to do better with what he already had, become more flexible. His inability to use Brodie for perceived weaknesses rather than obvious strengths or to use 2MP as a leading forward rather than bombing it on his head and the lack of development across the board with the exceptions of Touk and Noah.

I honestly believe that if it wasn’t for the Recruitment of Chol and Levi falling into our lap that this year would’ve been a complete disaster and you would hundred percent be gone

With all this talk of bringing in high priced recuits i think the onus is on Dew to do better with what he already had, become more flexible. His inability to use Brodie for perceived weaknesses rather than obvious strengths or to use 2MP as a leading forward rather than bombing it on his head and the lack of development across the board with the exceptions of Touk and Noah.

I honestly believe that if it wasn’t for the Recruitment of Chol and Levi falling into our lap that this year would’ve been a complete disaster and you would hundred percent be gone
So I guess Ballard, King, Powelly, Ranks, Ainsworth, Eli or Mally Rosas haven't shown any development under Dewy?

BTW, Brodie and 2MP would still not me on my best 22 team.

So you think that Ballard, Powell, Ainsworth, King, Rankine, Budarick, Jeffrey, Rosas, Hollands, Davies, Andrew, Moyle, Brock, Ace were not developing/progressing recently? By the way, I would say more responsibility goes to development and other coaches than Dew.

Personally, I would say Sharp and Flanders disappointed me this year. Also Bowes and Luko did not take next step but both had significant injuries. Rowell with groin injury in the off-season performed probably as I expected.

Fiorini's people have had talks with Collingwood - he's 2nd choice if they don't get Tom Mitchell from Hawks.

Hawks have talked to Sam Flanders people.
Hawks also talking to other young players from other clubs (Bergman, Bruhn, Duursma) so lots of competition.

Both their people are Hemisphere Management.

If they have been tasked with moving them on - good call, as they have strong ties with Collingwood and Hawthorn (and manage a couple of fringe Hawks)

Just chatting atm - SO I'M TOLD

I assume this counts as more 'runs on the board' then?

I have been told that Fiorini is only an option if Mitchell doesn't sign. As of last night Mitchell was Pies bound - until another suitor threw their hat in the ring. So it's a wait and see proposition.
It's a non-Vic team. I believe it's Port Adelaide.

I'm getting nothing about Flanders,so I'm led to conclude that as my source isn't talking,then at least there is genuine interest from BOTH sides.
The initial offer was a 3rd rounder (this year - not future,I dunno why people can't be bothered to read properly).
This is interesting as Hawthorn think they have Bruhn in the bag,so to go after Flanders shows they rate him.

Thomas is still unsettled. Clarkson can't attract anyone,and they have 'clashed' I'm told. I have no info on any further meetings between us and North.

Really amazed Hunter Clark is on the table - quality player. If breaking his jaw, then breaking his nose and cheek, then his shoulder make him 'injury prone' - then so be it.
Stupid comment.

If he is free - he should be a target asap. Potential A grader.

Starting to warm to Lachie Cowan with the Brisbane pick if we get it...

MEDIUM-SMALLS​

What’s required: Quick players with the running capacity to get to the fall of contests, and spark transitional play with a blend of dare and elite kicking.

AFL prototype: Adam Saad

Best available:

Lachlan Cowan (Tasmania Devils/Allies)
1/12/2004 | 188cm | 81kg | RMC rank: #23

Cowan embodies much of what a quality medium defender can do. At 188cm, he really catches the eye with his flair and work across the ground. Possessing explosive athleticism, the Tasmanian dashes off the last line and can launch the ball 70-odd metres with his booming boot. Handily, he also uses his speed to close in defensively and impacts aerially, making for a well-rounded packed among the top 25 prospects.

MEDIUM-SMALLS​

What’s required: Quick players with the running capacity to get to the fall of contests, and spark transitional play with a blend of dare and elite kicking.

Best available:

Cowan embodies much of what a quality medium defender can do. At 188cm, he really catches the eye with his flair and work across the ground. Possessing explosive athleticism, the Tasmanian dashes off the last line and can launch the ball 70-odd metres with his booming boot. Handily, he also uses his speed to close in defensively and impacts aerially, making for a well-rounded packed among the top 25 prospects.
Also equal Morrish Medal winner. Definitely worth consideration

MEDIUM-SMALLS​

Best available:

I read till I saw a 70mtr kick and then lost all interest in what this person was saying

Im not sure it would be worthwhile for fiorini going to Collingwood to most likely be further down the order than he currently is and get less games than being in and out of our side as a next man up player?

Brodie clearly wasn't up to it at the Suns, lots of rumours of poor fitness/lack of professionalism. Seems a clear case of moving clubs giving him the kick in the arse he needed to realise his talent. Partly that's on Dew/The Suns for not getting the best out of him, but partly that's on Brodie too which gets glossed over.

Regarding the big salaries, isn't the minimum 95% of the cap? So the club essentially has to pay someone right? I guess the issue is the length of contracts, but it's kind of a no win situation.
Lived near Will ,the one thing he was not was unprofessional.
Was a fitness fanatic running the streets of Mermaid and Nobbys plus the beaches almost on a daily basis during the off season.
Definitely let down by coaches who refused to give him the opportunity to prove his worth.
Suns were the big loser in this trade.

Im not sure it would be worthwhile for fiorini going to Collingwood to most likely be further down the order than he currently is and get less games than being in and out of our side as a next man up player?
I thought that initially - but Taylor Adams is at a career crossroads (injury is severe),Pendles and Sidebottom are getting on,plus JDG seems to be unsettled, so only leaves Lipinski, Josh Daicos and Jack Crisp as longer term options,until Nick Daicos can get up to midfield fitness.
Quaynor, Poulter and Bianco are 50/50 for me wether they will make it,so I guess maybe 2023 might be tight for games,but 2024 - he should be a best 22 starter.
Have a storming pre-season,and he starts in 2023.
It's up to Brayden - but his cards are well and truly stamped at GCS is would appear. Being shopped to every AFL club with a midfield spot up for grabs.

We’ve offered JJ 3 years.

Was up here yesterday meeting with the club according to media.

His missus is heavily pregnant,and unwell (Logan Shine) - not sure JJ would move interstate until that's sorted?
His 2nd kid is due ? Nov/Dec
Preseason starts Dec,so they either move up when she's heavily preggers - and try to find new Obs Consultant /house etc or stay in Melb with family support after bub is born - which means he misses pre-season.

Not what I'd want from a 30 yr old with soft-tissue injuries - a delayed pre-season.

Just don't see it as anything other than a retirement gig for JJ.

Hard,hard pass.

Exactly......
this quote from McClure in that article says it all....

“This is what Geelong do though, they promise you the best lifestyle away from footy."
You can live a country lifestyle away from Footy while the MCG is an hour up the road. It's one of the biggest advantages in the AFL and people wonder why they don't have to pay players that much to stay.

It's also why when players get drafted out of the Geelong Falcons they usually return sooner of later.

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

So I guess Ballard, King, Powelly, Ranks, Ainsworth, Eli or Mally Rosas haven't shown any development under Dewy?
half your list are top 6 picks, I ask you have they developed to the level you think the Clarksons / Longmire of the world would of got out of them

Lived near Will ,the one thing he was not was unprofessional.
Was a fitness fanatic running the streets of Mermaid and Nobbys plus the beaches almost on a daily basis during the off season.
Definitely let down by coaches who refused to give him the opportunity to prove his worth.
Suns were the big loser in this trade.
Fair enough.

The stories of him knocking 30 seconds of his pb in his last time trial at the Suns must be false then. He was regularly under 65% TOG this season too. Which doesn't sound like a fitness fanatic to me, he's been in the system long enough to do better than that.

Agree that the coaches could have got more out of him though.

I assume this counts as more 'runs on the board' then?

I have been told that Fiorini is only an option if Mitchell doesn't sign. As of last night Mitchell was Pies bound - until another suitor threw their hat in the ring. So it's a wait and see proposition.
It's a non-Vic team. I believe it's Port Adelaide.

I'm getting nothing about Flanders,so I'm led to conclude that as my source isn't talking,then at least there is genuine interest from BOTH sides.
The initial offer was a 3rd rounder (this year - not future,I dunno why people can't be bothered to read properly).
This is interesting as Hawthorn think they have Bruhn in the bag,so to go after Flanders shows they rate him.

Thomas is still unsettled. Clarkson can't attract anyone,and they have 'clashed' I'm told. I have no info on any further meetings between us and North.

Really amazed Hunter Clark is on the table - quality player. If breaking his jaw, then breaking his nose and cheek, then his shoulder make him 'injury prone' - then so be it.
Stupid comment.

If he is free - he should be a target asap. Potential A grader.

Thanks for that stupid comment mate

He’s never played a full season,

So please tell me more how he isn’t injury prone? He’s clearly best 22

Interesting that clarko can't attract anyone because North supporters seem to believe he can attract everyone 😆. If all the players north have been connected to come to fruition they will have trouble trading them in because they have pick 1 then 55. Maybe this is where we come in with a trade for pick 1 or TT.

Thanks for that stupid comment mate

He’s never played a full season,

So please tell me more how he isn’t injury prone? He’s clearly best 22
Salty.
Ok, I'll play. He is 23.
Debuted in 2018 as a 19 yr old - played 15 games (no injuries)
2019 - dropped purely on form - played 14 games (no injuries)
2020 - Covid year, played 18 out of 19 games (no injuries)
2021 - injured his shoulder, came back, played up until Rd 13 when a dave McKay high hit left him with a broken Jaw.Came back in round 20 v Carlton - and got cleaned up again.Out for season with concussion.
2022 - started season until his own teammate ran into him leaving him with 3 facial fractures.

https%3A%2F%2Fprod.static9.net.au%2Ffs%2F86fd910d-26f3-4145-87da-361b43ad594e

If this is "injury prone" then you are a harsh judge mate!
He needed surgery - came back and played the last 5 rounds of the year.

He's 23, played 68 games over 5 seasons - only missing games early due to form as a teenager.

His injuries - shoulder surgery and 2 bouts of facial surgery.

No soft tissue injuries. No recurrent injuries. Just bloody unlucky.

Amazed he is on the trade table - I'd suggest the player wants out, not the club pushing him.

Not sure what your point is,as you could have looked this up as easily as I did and saw that his exclusions from the team were form and contact injury related.

You don't think he's good enough for the mighty GCS, but 30 yr old journeymen,or washed up A graders are?

This club really gets what it deserves at times.

He would be a brilliant pick-up.