2023/2024 Gold Coast Draft & Trade periods

no thats right.
I think his interest was brief. Around mid season. But in the end, made the right choice. He knows where he belongs.
Might just be personal opinion (and not specifically relating to Daicos here) but there's no way in hell I would have ever nominated father-son over going into an open draft. Especially if I was a lock for being a first round pick.

I understand the appeal from a fans point of view, but the opportunity to make a name for yourself rather than living off your parents reputation seems like a much greater incentive in sport to me. Guys like Marc Murphy or Jonathon Brown who are champions of a club in their own rights rather than just being 'the son of a club great' is much more respectable imo.

Plus if that report is true I completely get why he might be hesitant. The expectation on the kids shoulders is massive for someone who hasn't played a game yet.

Might just be personal opinion (and not specifically relating to Daicos here) but there's no way in hell I would have ever nominated father-son over going into an open draft. Especially if I was a lock for being a first round pick.

I understand the appeal from a fans point of view, but the opportunity to make a name for yourself rather than living off your parents reputation seems like a much greater incentive in sport to me. Guys like Marc Murphy or Jonathon Brown who are champions of a club in their own rights rather than just being 'the son of a club great' is much more respectable imo.

Plus if that report is true I completely get why he might be hesitant. The expectation on the kids shoulders is massive for someone who hasn't played a game yet.
GAJ made a name for himself at his time at geelong, no matter who his father was.

Nick will do the same. You can still be at the same club as your siblings/your family's footy club and still make a name for yourself. Majority of players prefer to play for their family club. They have a lot of connections there.

Its a lot of pressure yes, but all about how you deal with that. Once you enter a club, you make it your own and be the best you can be.

I do understand his hesitancy, but in the end, he made the right decision for him.

GAJ made a name for himself at his time at geelong, no matter who his father was.

Nick will do the same. You can still be at the same club as your siblings/your family's footy club and still make a name for yourself. Majority of players prefer to play for their family club. They have a lot of connections there.
I understand that that is just the way it is in Australian sports but I do wish it wasn't the case.

Imagine in the NBA someone like Kobe Bryant playing for Philadelphia instead of the Lakers just because his dad played for a few years there, or Steph Curry playing for Charlotte over Golden State because his father played a few years there. Those guys completely changed the fortunes for those franchises and created their own legacies outside of that already carved by their fathers. It would completely change the history of the game if those players were tied to a different franchise just because their dad played games there.

Just personal opinion, but a team shouldn't be rewarded with the best player (or any player) in a given draft just because their dad played games there. Like the bulldogs getting the number 2 ranked player this year just because his dad played for them years ago is just a huge rort of the system.

And yes I feel the same about academy picks.

I understand that that is just the way it is in Australian sports but I do wish it wasn't the case.

Imagine in the NBA someone like Kobe Bryant playing for Philadelphia instead of the Lakers just because his dad played for a few years there, or Steph Curry playing for Charlotte over Golden State because his father played a few years there. Those guys completely changed the fortunes for those franchises and created their own legacies outside of that already carved by their fathers. It would completely change the history of the game if those players were tied to a different franchise just because their dad played games there.

Just personal opinion, but a team shouldn't be rewarded with the best player (or any player) in a given draft just because their dad played games there. Like the bulldogs getting the number 2 ranked player this year just because his dad played for them years ago is just a huge rort of the system.

And yes I feel the same about academy picks.
Yeah maybe, but that's just something that makes our sport unique. We don't always have to copy the US. And I think that is what makes our sport different, because we have certain aspects that US sports don't. Sure its sentimental and a feel of romance to it, but I just think it enhences the connection fans have to their club. its special, and I wouldn't want it any other way.

But I understand your point.

My issue with father-son (and now father-daughter) is that clubs like the Suns don’t get them (and will not for another decade, really).

So the media moans about removing Academy picks because they damage the integrity of the comp (despite those clubs investing time and money into the programs), demanding the removal of NGA (which has similar arguments to traditional academies and target areas of AFL growth), but in the same breath are happy to keep father-son rules that, for the most part, only benefit all Vic clubs and a few other clubs outside that (and do nothing to grow the game further in communities).

I’m not saying it should go, but it’s probably the most inequitable rule in the draft right now.

My issue with father-son (and now father-daughter) is that clubs like the Suns don’t get them (and will not for another decade, really).

So the media moans about removing Academy picks because they damage the integrity of the comp (despite those clubs investing time and money into the programs), demanding the removal of NGA (which has similar arguments to traditional academies and target areas of AFL growth), but in the same breath are happy to keep father-son rules that, for the most part, only benefit all Vic clubs and a few other clubs outside that (and do nothing to grow the game further in communities).

I’m not saying it should go, but it’s probably the most inequitable rule in the draft right now.
Yeah in some aspects I agree. You could potentially have the two best players in the draft going to the Grand Finalists if they are father son that defeats the equalisation draft rules..

In saying that, footy is unique that you can have generations of players from the one family putting on the same jumper. That makes footy special.

I love the idea of father son.
Kids running around in their dads colours and even their grandads colours really makes this a special sport.

Hey Scotty, can you please explain to me in further detail why it makes it special in your eyes....cause it sure as h*ll doesn't make it "special" in my eyes. If they're running around in their grandads colours, then grandad played in a competition other than AFL.

Now I could agree with you if it was still the VFL, and that would make it pretty special I reckon, but its now the AFL, and times have changed, and the competition has changed.

So if Dad or Mum have reached 100 games in the AFL, or AFLW, then by all means go with the "father-son/daughter" rule, but games in the VFL, which should have no bearing on the AFL, shouldn't count towards games played in the AFL....nor should games in the SANFL, WAFL, NSWFL, QAFL.

I guess the whole crux of my argument is that any games in any competition other that AFL, should not count towards the "100 game" rule in the AFL, to be eligible for father/son..

Just my 2 bobs worth.....

Hey Scotty, can you please explain to me in further detail why it makes it special in your eyes....cause it sure as h*ll doesn't make it "special" in my eyes. If they're running around in their grandads colours, then grandad played in a competition other than AFL.

Now I could agree with you if it was still the VFL, and that would make it pretty special I reckon, but its now the AFL, and times have changed, and the competition has changed.

So if Dad or Mum have reached 100 games in the AFL, or AFLW, then by all means go with the "father-son/daughter" rule, but games in the VFL, which should have no bearing on the AFL, shouldn't count towards games played in the AFL....nor should games in the SANFL, WAFL, NSWFL, QAFL.

I guess the whole crux of my argument is that any games in any competition other that AFL, should not count towards the "100 game" rule in the AFL, to be eligible for father/son..

Just my 2 bobs worth.....
The VFL and AFL aren’t different competitions. It’s not like the VFL stopped and the AFL took its place. It was a name change so it’s the same league.

And that is the exact problem that those of us not born in Victoria face...............that whatever rules applied in the VFL should automatically be applied to the AFL........... and that the VFL and the AFL are the same thing....

I don’t think any club has ever been nervous coming up against our midfield but Witts, Miller, Parker and Rowell/Anderson with another year of development as our starting midfield could seriously compete against those top midfields. Would rather one of the best mids in the game and draft a tall, than try and pay overs for a CCJ/Lobb type. Having a stacked mid seems to have worked for the dogs and Essenscum this year

SUNS' PICK UP FOR GRABS
GOLD Coast will consider trading its prized No.3 pick for multiple early selections with an even top end of the draft looming.

The Suns hold the third live pick in the draft, although early bids on father-son pair Nick Daicos (Collingwood) and Sam Darcy (Western Bulldogs) could push that back by two positions.

The club is open to potentially 'splitting' its top pick for a package of picks which would allow it to grab a couple of highly rated players within the first round.

Clubs largely look at the top of the draft as being Daicos, Darcy, South Adelaide midfielder Jason Horne-Francis and Sandringham wingman Finn Callaghan but after that quartet there is an even group of prospects jostling for top-10 positions.

It means clubs with early picks could conceivably grab a player they rate by sliding down the order a number of spots while also accruing an extra selection, with rivals aware the Suns are open to offers.

The AFL has yet to confirm if the Suns will have access to pick No.19 at this year's draft, with the selection under review through the League's assistance package it handed the club in 2019.

Last year the Suns were blocked from being able to trade it as part of any future deal, but if it is granted this season Gold Coast will hold picks No.3, 19 and 22 heading into the trade period. –

SUNS' PICK UP FOR GRABS
GOLD Coast will consider trading its prized No.3 pick for multiple early selections with an even top end of the draft looming.

The Suns hold the third live pick in the draft, although early bids on father-son pair Nick Daicos (Collingwood) and Sam Darcy (Western Bulldogs) could push that back by two positions.

The club is open to potentially 'splitting' its top pick for a package of picks which would allow it to grab a couple of highly rated players within the first round.

Clubs largely look at the top of the draft as being Daicos, Darcy, South Adelaide midfielder Jason Horne-Francis and Sandringham wingman Finn Callaghan but after that quartet there is an even group of prospects jostling for top-10 positions.

It means clubs with early picks could conceivably grab a player they rate by sliding down the order a number of spots while also accruing an extra selection, with rivals aware the Suns are open to offers.

The AFL has yet to confirm if the Suns will have access to pick No.19 at this year's draft, with the selection under review through the League's assistance package it handed the club in 2019.

Last year the Suns were blocked from being able to trade it as part of any future deal, but if it is granted this season Gold Coast will hold picks No.3, 19 and 22 heading into the trade period. –

I really don't like this idea, how many times have we tried to be clever with this sort of thing in the past? We are already stocked with too many players. Trade for a star (unlikely) or pick best available at 3)

Remember the last time we traded pick 3?

It was to Melbourne, remember who they picked up with that pick?

Heres a hint

We traded picks 3 (Oliver) and 10 (Weiderman) to Melbourne for 6 ( Achee) and 9 (Brodie) the next year. Terrible, awful trade. Instead of a gun in Oliver we have one guy gone and the other they will give away this year.

GCS Need some luck and good recruiters , could draft McKay brother instead of Ah Chee and florini.

Could draft 2 out of Sam Taylor , Bayley Fritsch , Balta , CCJ etc instead of trading it out to Eagles for future 1st .
And drafted Crossley and nutting .

Remember the last time we traded pick 3?

It was to Melbourne, remember who they picked up with that pick?

Heres a hint

Now I hate defending Clayton because he was one of the worst things that happened to this club
BUT
he made this trade in the years before you could trade picks on draft night. If memory serves he was a massive fan of Oliver and had his eyes on him way out from the draft but at the time taking him with 3 would have been a huge reach. He was kind of rated as a pick 15 - 25 talent before absolutely rocketing up the draft rankings a few weeks out post combine. No way he could have expected that to happen.

Tbh we won’t be getting the third best player in the draft.. more so the 5th

with Daicos and Darcy being2 of the 3 top players who are tied to clubs already
Splitting the pick isn't a bad idea, because after the top 3-4 (Daicos, Horne, Darcy, Callahan) its pretty even.

I actually already think we have the guys who can go to that absolutely elite level in Luko, King, Anderson, Rowell and Touk.

What we need now is a further spread of talent that will be contributors with a lot of upside, similar to how Port came into the 2018 draft having picks 5, 12 and 18 and came our with Rozee, Duursma and Butters.

pick 3 (+probably 43 or a future second) for 7 and 16 from Richmond would be the dream